REV. JOHN LABAR, retired Methodist minister, of Wyoming borough, was born November 5, 1825, in Pittston township. He is a son of Jacob and Margaret (Fox) LaBar, natives of Pennsylvania and of French and German extraction, respectively, who reared a family of seven children, four of whom are living. Our subject was fifth in the order of birth, was educated in the common schools, and at the age of twenty-three rented a farm at Hanover, Pa., following agricultural pursuits for five years, during this time preaching occasionally. In 1854, he joined the Wyoming Conference, and has been minister-in-charge at the following places: Newton (two terms), Northmoreland, Trucksville, Factoryville, Wyoming, Carverton (two terms), Plymouth, Lackawanna, Dunmore, and Forty Fort. He retired in the spring of 1880 and moved to Wyoming, building his fine residence in 1881, where he has since resided. Since his retirement, he has preached two years at Scranton, six months at Plymouth, four months at Wilkes-Barre, and two months at West Pittston. Mr. LaBar was married December 31, 1846, to Mary A., daughter of Lorenzo and Mary (Bennett) Ruggles, natives of Pennsylvania and of English origin. This union was blessed with nine children, five of whom are living, viz.: Mary Margaret (Mrs. Frederick Atherton), Pauline (Mrs. James Lindslay), Lorenzo G., commission broker, Scranton; William S., painter, Wilkes-Barre; and Reuben N., a hardware merchant, Lock Haven. Mr. and Mrs. LaBar attend the Methodist Church, and Mr. LaBar is a member of the F. & A.M.; he is a Republican in principle, but votes independently.
HENRY R. LACEY, wholesale dealer in Chicago beef, Wilkes-Barre, was born in Laceyville, Wyoming Co., Pa., June 13, 1846, and is a son of George G. and Susannah (Scott) Lacey. His paternal grandfather, Henry Lacey, a native of Connecticut and a farmer by occupation, was a pioneer of what is now Laceyville, and from him the borough derives its name. He married a Miss Northrop, and by her had nine children: Lydia A. (Mrs. Cyms Stevens), Ebenezer, Zeruah (Mrs. George Spalding), Sally (Mrs. Miner Terry), Polly (Mrs. T. L. Spring), George G., Canfield J., M. Antoinette (Mrs. Henry Kinney), and Charles. Of these, George G., father of subject, was born and reared in Laceyville, where he followed general merchandising, dying there in 1861. His wife was a daughter of Davis Scott, a pioneer of Montrose, Susquehanna Co., Pa., and by her he had three children: George, Henry R. and Elizabeth (Mrs. J. A. Bosworth); his second wife was Harriet Norton, by whom he had one daughter, Theresa (Mrs. A. B. Christian). The subject of this sketch was reared and educated in Laceyville, and in 1868 he embarked in the coal and lumber business there, which he carried on until 1874, when he removed to Wilkes-Barre, and commenced in the produce commission business, in which he successfully continued up till 1889. In 1882, he also engaged in the wholesale meat business, and was the original dealer in Wilkes-Barre for Armour & Co. in Chicago dressed beef; has now establishments in Freeland and Nanticoke, and has built up a lucrative business. On December 31, 1868, Mr. Lacey married Clara H., daughter of Hamlet and Temperance (Cooley) Hill, of Wyoming county, Pa., and has four children: George, Hettia, H. Roberts and Louise. Politically, Mr. Lacey is a Republican. He is one of Wilkes-Barre's most enterprising business men.
EDWIN G. LaFRANCE, a retired carpenter, Wyoming borough, was born May 7, 1845, and is a son of Lot and Amny (Gregory) La France, natives of Pennsylvania, and of French and English origin, respectively. They reared a family of seven children, five now living, Edwin G. being the seventh in order of birth. Our subject was educated in the common schools, and at the age of sixteen he went to New York City, where he worked as ship joiner for ten years; he then returned to Wyoming and followed farming ten years, after which he built his present fine residence. Again he went to New York and was engaged there as ship builder and returning home in a year, he worked at general carpenter work until 1887, when he retired. Mr. La France was married, July 6, 1868, to Miss Margaret, daughter of Jesse B. and Elizabeth J. (Breece) Schooley, natives of New Jersey and Pennsylvania, respectively, and of English origin. This happy union was blessed with children as follows: Hattie A., born May 29, 1869, died January 6, 1871; Christine, born August 24, 1875, died July 23, 1876; Gershon B., born April 11, 1877, is attending the Wyoming Seminary; Jennie L., born August 31, 1878, is a student at the Menken Convent, Wilkes-Barre; James S., born March 7, 1880, at the private school of Mary L. Reeves, Wyoming borough; Eva H., born July 13, 1881, died November 4, 1884; Anna S., born January 1, 1884, died June 5, 1884. The mother of this family died July 1, 1889. She was a member of the Presbyterian Church, a loving wife, and a kind and gentle mother, whose Christian influence is sadly missed by the interesting family left behind. Mr. La France and children attend the Methodist Church; he is a member of the I.O.O.F., the Jr. O.U.A.M., and in politics is a good Democrat.
JAMES D. LAIRD, harness maker, Wilkes-Barre, was born in Wilkes-Barre July 13, 1818, and is a son of Gilbert and Charlotte (Mattley) Laird, the former of whom was born in Ireland and came to Wilkes-Barre when he was seven years old. The paternal grandfather, James Laird, a native of Scotland, came to America about 1800; was a shoemaker by trade, and died at Forty Fort, this county, where he is buried. His wife was Ann Cashore, born in Ireland of Scotch parents, and by her he had five children: Glover, James, Gilbert, Mary and Ann. The father of our subject was reared in Wilkes-Barre, and after attaining his majority opened the first drug store in Wilkes-Barre. He was also a shoe merchant and a baker, and for many years was proprietor of a stage freight line between Wilkes-Barre and Philadephia—running a four-horse team for that purpose. He was the father of eight children: John, Ann (Mrs. James Snyder), James D., Mary (Mrs. Joseph Easterline), Charlotte (Mrs. Joseph Schooley), Hattie (Mrs. William Neiman), Glover and Gilbert. Our subject was reared in Wilkes-Barre, learned his trade in Newark, N.J., serving there an apprenticeship of five years. In 1840, he embarked in business on his own account in Wilkes-Barre, in which he has since successfully continued, with the exception of twenty months he was located at Lock Haven. In 1847, Mr. Laird married Patience, daughter of William Jackson, and has four children living: Lottie (Mrs. Jesse Carpenter), Ann (Mrs. Daniel Lodrick), Emma (Mrs. James Hughes) and Florenia (Mrs. Lee Stanton). Mr. and Mrs. Laird are members of the M.E. Church. In politics, he is a Republican. He is the oldest native-born citizen of Wilkes-Barre living at the present time in the city.
DAVID H. LAKE, M.D., physician and surgeon, Kingston, is a native of Carmarthen, Wales, and was born July 26, 1863, a son of Rev. L. and Margaret (Hughes) Lake. The family came to this country in 1872, and located at Youngstown, Ohio, where they remained about four years, when they removed to Pennsylvania, residing in Mahanoy City for a time; thence removed to Scranton, where they remained until 1885, when they proceeded to Knoxville, Tenn., where Rev. Mr. Lake is now pastor of the Welsh Congregational Church. Our subject was prepared for college under the preceptorship of his father, and entered Marietta College; after completing his course, he taught school in Scranton for a time, and then began his medical studies under Dr. Allen, a very prominent member of the profession, at Scranton. In 1882, he entered Jefferson Medical College, at Philadelphia, where he was graduated in the class of 1885; then received the appointment of resident physician of the Philadelphia (Blakeley) Hospital, where he remained fourteen months. He then removed to Drifton, Pa., and practiced with Dr. Wentz for a short time; he also had charge of the hospital there. He remained there but a short time, however, when in 1886, he located at Kingston. He has since been engaged in his professional work in that place, and his skill has crowned his efforts with success. Dr. Lake was married, December 25, 1889, to Miss Mary, daughter of Thomas Layshaw, of Kingston, and this union has been blessed with one child, Louise, born December 19, 1890.
CHARLES C. LAMOREUX, farmer, P.O. Huntsville, was born September 14, 1843, and was reared and educated in Jackson township. He is a son of Wesley and Emeline (Brown) Lamoreux, both of whom were born in Jackson township. Wesley was a son of Thomas, a native of France, who came to this country about 1815, locating in Jackson township, where he followed farming with marked success. He died at the age of fifty years. His family numbered eleven children, two of whom are now living. Wesley, the father of our subject, lived all his life in Jackson township, following in the footsteps of his father, and was a loyal citizen and an industrious farmer. He died at the age of fifty, having reared a family of eight children, all of whom grew to maturity, Charles C. being the second in the family. Charles C. Lamoreux has always confined himself to farming, and at the age of twenty-one began life for himself, working by the month. On December 4, 1872, he married Miss Emma, daughter of Charles and Margaret Smith. To this union were born five children, three of whom are now living: Maggie E., Morris H. and Minnie P. Mrs. Lamoreux was born in Trucksville, Pa., November 13, 1851; her ancestors on her mother's side were the oldest settlers this side of the mountain. At the age of nineteen, Mr. Lamoreux enlisted, in 1862, in Company D, Thirtieth Pennsylvania Emergency Corps, from which command he was honorably discharged. He is now a farmer of considerable means, and has a comfortable home and luxurious surroundings. In 1873, he moved to his present home of 150 acres, where he has ever since remained. Our subject is a member of the Grange, and politically is a Republican.
D. M. LAMOREUX, farmer, P.O. Silkworth, was born in Plymouth township, February 26, 1851, and is a son of Nathan and Kate (Benedict) Lamoreux, the former born August 17, 1807, in what is now Jackson township, the latter January 13, 1810, in Kingston township. Nathan was a son of James, also a native of this county, and a son of Thomas Lamoreux, who was a Frenchman, and one of the first of the Lamoreux to remove to this county. Nathan lived in Plymouth township all his life, and, like his forefathers, followed a farmer's calling. He was a worthy citizen, a good neighbor and an indulgent parent. He held several township offices. He died March 10, 1883, aged seventy-six years, having been preceded by his wife February 26, 1878, at the age of sixty-eight years. Their family consisted of nine children, seven of whom grew to maturity, and six of whom are now living. D. M. is one of a pair of twins, and the last of the family. He always followed farming and within the limits of Plymouth township. In April, 1876, he married Miss Mary J., daughter of Isaac and Sarah Cragle, and there have been three children born to them: Gershom, born in 1877; Devolsom, born in 1880, and Daisy R., born in 1883, all of whom are living. Mrs. Mary J. Lamoreux was born in Lehman in 1853. Mr. Lamoreux is a practical farmer; he owns sixty-five acres in Plymouth township on which he resides, also sixty-five acres in Lehman township. Mr. Lamoreux is a member of the Jr. O.U.A.M., patriotic in the extreme. His four brothers, George, Josey, Josiah and Philip, served in the Civil War; Josey died in Belle Isle Prison in March, 1864. Politically our subject is a Republican.
FLETCHER LAMOREUX, farmer, P.O. Huntsville, was born January 12, 1823, and reared and educated in Jackson township. He is the son of Thomas and Mary (Boston) Lamoreux, the former born in Jackson township, the latter in or near Sunbury, Pa. Thomas was a son of Thomas Lamoreux, who was one of the first to locate on the north side of the mountain. Thomas Case, A. Skadder, Mr. Ruggles and Jesse Brown were the others. Thomas Lamoreux, Sr., is supposed to have come from New York State. The Lamoreux were all tillers of the soil, honest and conservative. His son, Thomas, Jr., settled in Jackson township near Brown's Corners, where he always followed farming. He died at the age of thirty-eight, leaving a family of eight children, all of whom grew to maturity. Fletcher, who is the fifth in this family, received a common school education, and has always confined himself to a farmer's life, and he has always lived on the farm on which he was born, which he has improved and beautified to perfection. The old homestead consisted of eighty acres, but by patient toil and a close eye to business, Mr. Lamoreux has purchased land on all sides of him, until now his farm counts 200 acres of valuable and fertile soil. At the age of twenty-six, he married Miss Mary, daughter of William and Jane Ransom, and children were born to them, all of whom grew to maturity, viz.: Frank, Emma, Ellen, Wilbert, Addie, Clara, Ira and Eudora. Of these, Emma married Henry Johnson; Ellen married Weldon Harter; Addie married Eugene Davenport, and Clara married Wesley Morton. Mrs. Lamoreux died after a peaceful wedded life of forty-two years. Her death occurring July 10, 1890, when she was aged sixty years. Mr. Lamoreux is a prosperous and wealthy farmer, who can look with satisfaction on the labor of his honest and diligent hands. He lives within easy access of Plymouth market, about four miles from that town. Politically, he is a Democrat.
FRANK LAMOREUX, farmer, P.O. Huntsville, was born in Jackson township, March 28, 1853, and is a son of Fletcher and Mary (Ransom) Lamoreux, both of whom were also born in Jackson township. Fletcher is a son of Thomas, who was also born in Jackson township. Thomas was a son of Thomas Lamoreux, who was one of the first to locate north of the mountain. The family are all farmers, industrious and honest. Fletcher is a prosperous farmer, and lives on the same farm on which he was born. His family consisted of eight children, all of whom grew to maturity. Frank is the eldest in the family, and was reared and educated at the common schools in Jackson township, where he has always lived as a loyal citizen of the Commonwealth. On December 12, 1877, at the age of twenty-four he married Miss Lizzie, daughter of Miles and Betsy Davenport. By this union were born eight children, seven of whom are now living: Maude, Rush, May, Eugene, Ethel, Edith, and one unnamed. Mr. Lamoreux is a thrifty farmer and lives on a 134 acre farm of fertile soil. The house in which he lives and in which the subject of this sketch has resided for twelve years, was built about fifty years ago by John Lamoreux.
PHILIP LAMOREUX, farmer, P.O. Outlet, was born in Jackson township, May 29, 1844, a son of Nathan and Kate A. (Benedict) Lamoreux, the former born in Jackson township, the latter in Wilkes-Barre. Nathan Lamoreux is a son of James, who was a son of Thomas, who was the first of the family to come over the Plymouth Mountain. They are of French descent, and it is said that their forefathers came over with Gen. LaFayette during the Revolutionary War, and fought in that struggle with their countrymen. The Lamoreux family first located in Orange county, N.Y., from which place they removed to Plymouth, Pa., subsequent to the Massacre, and thence to Jackson township, Thomas settling on the farm now occupied by Ira Ransom. His son, James, occupied 150 acres in the same neighborhood, which he cleared and beautified during his lifetime; he was a good moral man, whose life was uneventful. Some twelve of his grandsons served in the defense of their country during the dark days of the Rebellion. His family consisted of ten children, all of whom are dead. Nathan Lamoreux remained in Jackson township until he reached his majority, when he purchased a farm of seventy-five acres in Plymouth township, on which he ended his days. He was a hard working, industrious man, and a consistent member of the Baptist Church. He reached the age of seventy-five years and reared a family of seven children, six of whom are yet living, and four of them he sent to the defense of his country, one of whom died in Libby prison (Jose). Philip Lamoreux, the subject of this sketch, was reared and educated in Plymouth township, and always confined himself to agricultural pursuits. In 1864, he became a member of Company F, Two Hundred and Third P.V.I., for the term of one year, and served to the close of the war, having participated in the battle of Fort Fisher and other minor engagements. He was honorably discharged, and is now a member of the G.A.R. In 1869, he married Miss Maria, daughter of William and Ann Hoover, and by her had five children: Arthur, Clarence, Lavina, Norman and Morgan. In 1886, Mr. Lamoreux married, for his second wife, Miss Laura, daughter of Jesse and Elmira Dexterly, by which union he had two children: Jose and Vernie. In 1872, Mr. Lamoreux removed from Lehman to the place on which he now resides. He has a neat farm of 100 acres, fifty of which are well under cultivation, and he has made vast improvements in the clearing of the fields, planting of orchards, and the erecting of buildings. He is a thorough going man, a practical farmer, and a hospitable gentleman. Politically he is a Republican.
JOHN S. LAMPMAN, Wilkes-Barre, is known throughout the United States as one of the most successful oculists and aurists in the country. He was born at Pittston, Pa., December 20, 1838, and is a son of Norman and Phoebe (Engle) Lampman. His father, who was a native of Columbia county, N.Y., settled in Pittston, Pa., in 1810, married there, and had eight children who grew to maturity: George, John S., Norman, Joseph, Edward, Elizabeth, Frances and Mary A. The father of subject was skillful in treating diseases of the eye, and the latter early manifested great talent in locating, and applying proper remedies. He applied himself to make discoveries, and succeeded in bringing into use remedies unknown to any other oculist in the world, rendering his method of treatment entirely original, and he began his practice by treating and curing an afflicted sister in 1863. During that year, his father died, and our subject assumed his practice, residing at Pleasant Valley, near Pittston, until 1876, when he removed to Wilkes-Barre, where he has since resided, and built up an extensive and lucrative business. Our subject married, January 25, 1872, Margaret, daughter of Charles Shales, of Kingston township, and by this marriage has two children: Frank and Ralph. Dr. Lampman has established such a reputation for skill in his special line, that further comment is unnecessary. He is a prominent member of the Society of Good Fellows, and in politics is a Democrat.
LEWIS B. LANDMESSER, postmaster, Wilkes-Barre, was born in Hanover township, March 5, 1850, a son of Lewis Landmesser, one of the earliest settlers of this county. The latter was a native of Prussia, and immigrated to this country in 1836. Lewis B. Landmesser was educated at Wilkes-Barre Institute, Hopkins Grammar School, New Haven, and at Yale College; he was graduated from the latter in the class of 1871, and afterward spent a year and a half in Germany attending lectures at Heidelberg and the University at Berlin. He then returned to Wilkes-Barre, and entered the law office of Hon. L. D. Shoemaker as a student. He subsequently read law with Hon. H. B. Payne and Hon. Stanley Woodward, and was admitted to Luzerne county bar April 15, 1875. For three years, Mr. Landmesser was examiner of the Orphan's Court, and in 1888, at the request of Hon. D. L. Rhone, Judge of the Orphan's Court, he revised and arranged the present "Rules of the Orphan's Court." In politics, he affiliates with the Republican party, and has always taken an active part in State affairs, and for the past three years has been chairman of the Republican County Committee. He is also a prominent Mason, being Past Master of Lodge No. 61, F. & A.M., one of the oldest lodges in the State, constituted in 1794, and past high priest of Shekinah Chapter No. 182, R.A.M.
M. J. LANGAN, mine superintendent for the Newton Coal Company, Pittston. The successful operation of such vast mining industries as this company carries on requires men of experience and ability at the heads of the various departments, and in this respect it may be truthfully said of Mr Langan that no man is better fitted for his position than he is. His good judgement, supplemented by years of experience, renders him well capable to deal readily with all perplexing questions, of whatsoever nature, that may arise around him. He was born in Pittston, Pa., October 5, 1851, and is a son of James and Mary (Besnan) Langan, natives of Ireland. He was educated in the public schools of Pittston, and when about ten years of age commenced work as a slate picker. Mining seems to have been the mission of his life. He has worked in every capacity around the mines from that of a slate-picker to his present position of trust and responsibility. In 1877 he was appointed mine foreman, and in 1885 was promoted to superintendent. He was united in marriage April 26 1876, to Miss Mary Finan, of Carbondale, and to them have been born eight children, viz: James, Ambrose, Mame, Edgar, Michael J., Vincent, Richard and Maggie. Mr Langan is one of Pittston's most widely known and highly respected citizens, and has always been a stanch Democrat.
JOSEPH J. LANGDON, miner, Henry Shaft, Plains, was born in Cornwall, England, in 1862, a son of Joseph and Elizabeth (Martin) Langdon, the former of whom was a locomotive engineer. They reared a family of nine children, six of whom are living, viz.: Julia (Mrs. Thomas Butts, Plains), Elizabeth J. (Mrs John Hayes, Plains), Mary M. (wife of William Pengelby, a gold-miner in Australia), Joseph J., Rosina (who lives with her parents in England) and Albert H. (who came to America in 1886, and has since been engaged in the Henry Shaft, where he lost his arm by a fall of rock; he now lives with his brother, and tends the foot of the slope). Our subject came to America in 1881, and engaged as laborer in the Henry Shaft three years, since when he has followed mining. In 1887 he built and removed to his present residence. Mr Langdon was married August 10, 1887, to Miss Phebe, daughter of William George, of Plains, and they have had five children, viz.: William G., Elizabeth, Joseph Gilbert, Edgar, and Esther Lillian, who died March 1, 1892. Mr Langdon and family usually attend the Methodist Episcopal Church; he is a member of the Sons of St. George; in political sympathy with the Republican party, he held the office of constable in Plains township, from 1888 to 1892.
JOHN LANING, retired, Wilkes-Barre, was born in that city, October 7, 1836, and is a son of A. C. and Amanda E. Laning, now deceased. He received his education at the old academy on the Public Square, preparatory to his entering LaFayette College in 1854. After a three years' course at that institution, he entered College at Schenectady, N.Y., and was graduated from the latter in 1858. Immediately following his graduation, he was employed as draughtsman, and afterward as bookkeeper for Laning & Marshal, at their machine shop on Canal street, now the Dickson Manufacturing Company. He was a member of the town council the year Wilkes-Barre became a city. Mr. Laning was united in marriage September 19, 1865, with Helen C. Brower, of New York, and they had six children, three of whom are living: Augustus C., Elizabeth V. and John Jr. From 1866 to 1879 he was engaged in the lumber business, running a planing-mill in connection with his lumber yard. In 1880 he became superintendent of the Hollenback Coal Company, holding that position until 1887, when he retired from active business life. He has been conspicuous in improving the city of Wilkes-Barre, notably in erecting the Laning Building. He is a director of the Miners' Savings Bank, the Wilkes-Barre Bridge Company and the Wilkes-Barre & Wyoming Valley Traction Company.
ENOCH LANNING, a farmer of Fairmount township, P.O. Ripple, was born in New Jersey, April 29, 1824, a son of Daniel and Rebecca (Huffman) Lanning, natives of New Jersey, and of English and German origin respectively. Daniel was a miller, stone-mason and farmer by occupation, and departed this life in 1867, at the age of seventy years. Enoch Lanning is the third in order of birth in a family of five children, three of whom are living. He was reared on a farm, educated in the common schools, and when twenty-one years of age began life for himself as a farm laborer. This he followed until 1857, when he purchased his present farm—then a wilderness—and proceeded to clear it up and build thereon. It is three fourths of a mile south of the Ripple postoffice, contains ninety acres, and is today one of the leading farms in the township. Mr. Lanning was married, March 29, 1848, to Mary A., daughter of George and Susan Vosler, natives of New Jersey, and of German origin. She is the eldest in a family of eight children and was born September 7, 1829. This union was blessed with two children, viz.: Sarah E., born October 13, 1850, died June 7, 1867; and John W., born July 9, 1853, living with his father and working the farm (he married Eliza E. Blaine, daughter of Joseph Blaine, and they have one child, Alfred C., born November 3, 1877). All the family are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church. In 1864 Mr. Lanning enlisted in Company C, One Hundred and Ninety-ninth P.V., served with his regiment through the remainder of the war, and was discharged June 28, 1865. He has been auditor of his township three terms, supervisor one term, school director three years, and town treasurer for three years. In politics he is a Republican.
ALVIN LAPE, Nanticoke. Among the leading men of Nanticoke borough may well be noted the gentleman whose name appears at the head of this sketch. He was born in Nanticoke January 20, 1839, son of Adam and Elizabeth (Croop) Lape, natives of Luzerne county, of German lineage; he is the fourth in a family of seven children. He was educated in the common schools of Luzerne county, and began life for himself at about the age of twenty, following boating for about three years on the lower Susquehanna. He then lived on a farm for a time, at the same time engaging in the butcher business. He continued in this until 1863, when he left the farm and came to live at Nanticoke, devoting his entire attention to the meat market. Mr. Lape carried on business alone until 1870, when he entered into a partnership with J. H. Hildreth, under the firm name of Lape & Co., and, since that time, they have conducted the largest meat market in the Wyoming Valley. July 10, 1863, he was united in marriage with Miss Amelia James, an accomplished young lady of Nanticoke. This happy union has been blessed with seven children: Bessie, married to Frank Levenworth, of Wilkes-Barre; Andrew C., a bookkeeper; Carrie, married to I. E. Leonard, of Athens, Pa.; Harry; Helen; Joseph, and Frank. In politics Mr Lape is a Republican, and has been a member of the borough council of Nanticoke; he has also served as chief of the Nanticoke Fire Department two years. Socially he is a member of the F. & A.M.
HARRY LARNED, farmer, Huntington township, P.O. Huntington Mills, was born in Exeter township, April 20, 1824. He is the son of Theopholis and Elizabeth (Smith) Larned, natives of Connecticut and Pennsylvania, respectively, of English origin; the father was a farmer by occupation, and came from Connecticut to the Wyoming Valley, in 1798, when but seven years of age; he died in 1873. Harry Larned is the sixth in order of birth in a family of twelve children, ten of whom are now living. He was reared on a farm, educated in the common schools, and after reaching his majority worked two years for his father on the homestead farm, when he bought his present farm of sixty-eight acres, one and one-fourth miles from Huntington Mills postoffice, on the Shickshinny turnpike. He was married, February 25, 1847, to Sarah J., daughter of Caleb and Hannah (Forbes) Hoyt, natives of Pennsylvania, and of English origin. By her he had three children, viz.: Charles H., born December 23, 1847; Mary E. (Mrs. E. C. Stanley), born March 7, 1850; and William A., born May 17, 1861. Mrs. Larned died November 13, 1887. He was afterward married June 6, 1889, to Priscilla (Snyder) Zimmerman, widow of Samuel Zimmerman. She is a member of the M.E. Church. Both are members of the P. of H. and Mr. Larned has held the following offices: School director, supervisor and tax collector: in politics he is independent.
FREEMAN LARNERD, contractor, Dupont, was born in Pittston township, March 12, 1841, a son of John and Ruth A. (Mulligan) Larnerd, the former born in Gouldsboro, the latter in Jenkins township. John was a son of Lyman Larnerd, who removed to this county about 1812, locating in what is known as "Brier Patch," where he bought a lot of land, on which he remained several years. From there he removed to Florida, where he died. He married Catherine, daughter of John Naugle, and by her was born one son, John, who was reared and educated in this county, and by occupation was a blacksmith. He, too, was a resident of Brier Patch, and was a man of sound principles, of sterling integrity, one who through life practiced the "golden rule." He died May 8, 1859, at the age of forty five years; his wife died December 15, 1881, aged sixty-three years. His family consisted of six children, all of whom are yet living, and in good circumstances. Freeman, who is the second by birth, was reared and educated in this county, and always confined himself to lumbering. Between the ages of twenty and twenty-one years he showed his patriotism when his country sounded the alarm, and called her loyal citizens to protect the Union by offering their services in its defense. He became a member of Company L, Pennsylvania Cavalry, for the term of three years, and during this service, he showed heroic courage worthy of an old veteran, participating in the battle of Perryville and others. He was honorably discharged, and afterward enlisted in the M.M.B. (marine service) in which he was promoted to the rank of sergeant. Here, too, he showed himself worthy of his stripes. After serving his time he was honorably discharged, and again he became a defender of the stars and stripes, by becoming a member of the Forty-eighth P.V.I., in which he served to the close of the war in 1865, when he was honorably discharged. During his last years service he participated in the downfall of Petersburg. During his service on the gunboat "James Adams," while on a land engagement at Collins Cross Roads, he got his leg broken, but, notwithstanding the excruciating pain, he fought his way through to victory, and triumphed in his ability to be small factor in the preservation of the union. His courage was also displayed at the battle of Vicksburg, and other hard-fought battles. On his return to citizenship, he again gave his attention to the lumber business in Pittston township. In 1866 Mr. Larnerd married Mrs. Catherine Sterling, daughter of Michael Beaver, but she died six months after marriage, and on March 21, 1868, he married, for his second wife, Mrs. Mary A., widow of Frederick Urns, and daughter of Caleb Lidy, by which union he had nine children, five of whom are living: John, Gertrude, Freeman, Charles and Bessie. In 1869 Mr. Larnerd removed to the village of Dupont, where he has resided ever since. He owns several houses and eight lots in Dupont; his wife owns six houses and six lots in Dupont, and one lot in Avoca, in her own right. Formerly our subject was engaged somewhat in merchandising, and also carried on a butcher business. He is a man of some influence in his town, and was the prime mover in having the postoffice established at Dupont. He is a stanch Republican, and is a member of the I.O.O.F., N.H., and G.A.R., George Hill Post No. 540. Mr. Larnerd is a whole-souled and large hearted man.
WALTER LATHROP, physician and surgeon, Miners Mills. Dr. Lathrop, although a young man, stands among the leading medical men of his county in his profession. He was born in Montrose, Susquehanna Co., Pa., May 23, 1867, a son of Dudson R. and Sarah (Dimmock) Lathrop, natives of Pennsylvania, and of New England origin. Dr. Lathrop was educated in private schools and the University of Pennsylvania, where he was graduated in 1890, receiving the degree of Doctor of Medicine. He then came to Wilkes-Barre, where he had charge of the city hospital for one and one-half years, when he removed to Kingston, where he acquired a large and increasing practice. He has since removed to Miners Mills, where he is now practicing his profession.
ALEXANDER LATTA, miner, P.O. Inkerman, Jenkins township, was born in Schuylkill county, Pa., April 14, 1849, a son of Colon and Jeanette (McGregor) Latta, natives of Scotland. His father, who was a miner, came to America in May, 1848, and died October 25, 1852, at the age of thirty years. The family consisted of four children, two of whom are living: Alexander, and Thomas, a hotel keeper in Aspen, Pitkin Co., Colo. Our subject was educated in the public school, and in the select school of Benjamin Evans, Pittston, and at the age of eleven years began working about the mines, which vocation he has since followed, including twenty-one years mining. He built his present residence in 1887. Mr Latta was married August 17, 1878, to Miss Jane, daughter of William and Barbara (Laird) Robertson, natives of Scotland. They have two children, one of whom is living, Jessie. He and his wife attend the Presbyterian Church, of which Mrs. Latta is a member. He is a member of the K. of P., and is a Republican in his political views.
EDWIN F. LAUBACH, farmer and merchant, Huntington township, P.O. Cambra, was born December 4, 1859, in Columbia county, a son of Andrew and Eveline (Stephus) Laubach, natives of Pennsylvania and of German and English origin, the former of whom is a merchant at Guava, Columbia Co., Pa., a son of Frederick and Mary (Larish) Laubach. Our subject, who is the seventh in a family of ten children, eight of whom are living, was reared on a farm, and educated in the common schools. When nineteen years of age he started out for himself, and has since been engaged in various occupations, as follows; one year as a farm laborer; taught school, two years; clerk in his fathers store, one year; in lumber business a year; proprietor of the "New Columbus Hotel," two years; partner in his fathers store until 1888; then opened a store in New Columbus borough, and conducted same until 1891; then he moved on to the William Bellas farm of 115 acres, where he now lives, operating a store in conjunction. Mr. Laubach was married, November 4, 1882, to Miss Mary E., daughter of William and Catharine (Ash) Bellas, natives of Pennsylvania and of German origin. Mr. Bellas was a farmer by occupation, and was killed by lightning, June 14, 1888. Mrs. Laubach is the second of a family of five children (two of whom are living), and was born September 18, 1862. This union is blessed with two children, viz.: Nora B., born September 7, 1883, and Mary C., born May 31, 1890. The family are members of the Presbyterian Church. Mr. Laubach is a Democrat, and held the offices of treasurer of New Columbus borough, and school director. On December 10, 1891, he had the misfortune to lose his left hand by having it caught in the cogs of a corn-husking machine.
THOMAS F. LAUBACH, alderman, city of Hazleton. This gentleman was born at Coles Creek, Columbia Co., Pa., November 10, 1831, and is a son of Frederick and Mary (Larrish) Laubach, the former a native of Coles Creek, Pa., and the latter of Light Street, same county, both being of German extraction. In their family there were seven children, of whom Thomas F. is the fourth. Or subject was reared and educated in his native village, devoting some of his boyhood days to working on a farm, and then engaged in lumbering in Fairmount township, this county, which occupation he followed fifteen years. He then moved to Hazleton, and engaged in the butchering business, which he carried on two years, at the end of which time he went to Beaver Meadows, Carbon county, where for two years he continued in the meat business. After passing two years more in the grocery business at that place, he returned to Hazleton, and was engaged as collector for several newspapers for about ten years, or until 1887, when he was elected alderman under the new city charter, and was the first alderman to take the oath of office in the city of Hazleton. Mr. Laubach was married, February 25, 1853, to Miss Phebe J., daughter of Ami and Sarah (Wilkinson) Harrison, of Huntington township, this county, and of New England origin. Mr. and Mrs. Laubach have had born unto them five children, viz.: Emma L., widow of Harry Drew (deceased), Ida R., now Mrs. M. D. Williams, of Hazleton; Fred A., in Hazleton, married to Miss Jennie Wynn, of the same place; Sally, married to Thomas Stephens, of Hazleton; and Gertrude, single. The family are members of the Presbyterian Church, with the exception of Mrs. Laubach who is a Methodist. Mr. Laubach is one of Hazletons most respected citizens, and in his political views he is a Democrat.
CHARLES LAUX, farmer, P.O. Dallas, was born, April 27, 1859, in Wilkes-Barre, where he was reared and educated. He is a son of Jacob and Mary (Schwab) Laux, both of whom were born in Rhine Pfalz, Germany. They came to this country in 1856, landing in New York, August 7, their first home being in Wilkes-Barre where they resided for about eleven years. During their stay in Wilkes-Barre, Mr. Laux followed various vocations, and was always an honest and industrious man. In 1867 he bought the property known as the "Snyder Place," a farm of sixty acres under cultivation. In 1868 they moved on it, and remained in full possession till April 2, 1891, when death claimed the father at the age of sixty-nine years. Jacob Laux was a hard-working man, honest, industrious to a fault, a good citizen, a loving husband, and an indulgent father. His family consisted of ten children, six of whom grew to maturity and are now living, as follows: John, Maggie, Augustus, Charles, Mary and Phebe. Charles has always confined himself to farming. He is a promising young man of natural abilities, and has helped, under the supervision of his father, to make many improvements on the place. Although still a young man, he has been honored with several township offices. His mother has descended from good German ancestry, some of whom were judges of the German court. In religious belief, they are Catholics; politically our subject is a Democrat.
CHARLES LAVIN, tailor, Wilkes-Barre, was born in County Mayo, Ireland, August 20, 1847, a son of Bryan and Margaret Lavin. He was reared in Ireland until eighteen years of age—four years of which time he served an apprenticeship at his trade—and then went to England; here he spent four years in Manchester and Blackburn, working at his trade as a journeyman. In 1870 he came to America and located in Wilkes-Barre, where he has since resided, and engaged at his trade. August 20, 1869, Mr. Lavin married Miss Mary, daughter of Augustine and Mary (Haddigen) Finn, of County Mayo, Ireland. He is a member of the Catholic Church, and of the Father Mathew Total Abstinence Society. In politics, he is a Democrat, and has represented the Second Ward as councilman since 1889.
THOMAS LAVIN, merchant, Hanover township, was born in County Mayo, Ireland, November 27, 1849, and is a son of Michael and Mary (Leech) Lavin. His father, who was a farmer and saloon keeper, reared a family of eleven children, seven of whom are living, viz.: Thomas; William, a brick layer, of Chicago; George, of San Francisco; Catherine, married to Thomas Brady, deceased, in Nebraska; Bridget, married to Matthew Spencer, of Sedgwick, Colo.; Michael, in Denver, Colo.: Maria, married to John V. Rogers, in Kansas. The family came to America in 1867, and after a short time passed in Brooklyn, removed to Waterville, Kans. The mother is still living with Bridget in Colorado. Our subject remained in Brooklyn about eight months, and afterward resided a few months in Philadelphia, thence coming to Hanover township, this county, where he worked on the gravel train a few months, and then entered the employ of the Lehigh & Wilkes-Barre Coal Company, in which he remained till 1889, including sixteen years mining. He built his present residence and place of business in 1886. Mr. Lavin was married August 23, 1872, to Miss Hannah, daughter of John Murphy, of County Mayo, Ireland. The issue of this union has been eleven children, seven of whom are living, viz.: Michael, Mary, George, William, James, Catherine and Martin. This gentleman and family are members of the Catholic Church. He is a member of the Father Mathew Society, A.O.H., and E.B.A. He is a Democrat in his political views, and has held the offices of school director and tax collector in Hanover township. He is a man loyal to his convictions and the principles of his party to which he has rendered much valuable aid, by the respect and influence which he commands in the community in which he lives.
JOHN A. LAW, coal operator, Pittston. This gentleman, who ranks among the prosperous and active young business men of this county, was born in Carbondale, Pa., March 4, 1857, and is a son of Andrew H. and Helen (Aitken) Law, both of Scotch descent. His father was a prominent citizen of Pittston and for thirty years was engaged in mercantile business in Pittston in the old Odd Fellows Block, and was one of the members of the firm of Law & McMillian, which was organized there in 1857 and continued until 1879, when the death of Mr. Law caused the dissolution of the firm. The parents had a family of six children, viz.: Jean, wife of W. L. Watson, cashier of the First National Bank, Pittston; Helen, wife of James P. Moffatt, and engineer in the employ of the Pennsylvania Coal Company at Barnum Shaft, with residence in Pittston; Helen, who resides in New Brunswick, N.J.; Martha, wife of James W. Johnson, member of the firm of Johnson & Johnson, manufacturers and wholesale dealers in druggists sundries, of New Brunswick, N.J.; John A. and Andrew (twins), the latter of whom is an engineer in the employ of the Pennsylvania Coal Company. The mother died March 6, 1888. Our subject passed his boyhood in Pittston, and was educated in the public schools of that city, and the commercial department of the Wyoming Seminary. While a boy he entered his fathers store, and there acquired a practical business education far superior to any college training, and which was the foundation of his success. He was connected with this business until after his fathers death, was appointed by him as executor of his estate, and he was engaged in settling and closing out the business until 1890. In 1885 Mr. Law began to turn his attention to coal operations, and that year made some judicious investments in coal lands in the vicinity of Pleasant Valley, that soon developed into a paying investment. Since the closing out of his fathers business he has devoted the greater part of his time to coal operations, and in this line, as in all other things to which he has laid his hand, he has been very successful. To-day he stands in the front rank of the brilliant and successful young business men of the county, and has among the people of his native county a multitude of friends who love and respect him for his intrinsic worth. Mr. Law is a member of Valley Lodge No. 499, Pittston Chapter No. 242, Wyoming Valley Commandery No. 57, Keystone Consistory of Scranton, and Lulu Temple of Philadelphia; he is now master of Valley Lodge, F. & A.M. He is also a member of Thistle Lodge, I.O.O.F. Politically Mr. Law is a stanch Republican.
JOHN B. LAW, general manager of the Newton Coal Mining Company since September 1, 1892, and formerly mine superintendent Pennsylvania Coal Company, was born at Archbald, Pa., November 28, 1852, a son of William and Catherine (Bryden) Law, natives of Scotland. His father came to America in 1842, locating at Carbondale, Pa., where he was a miner, and in 1850 removed to Dunmore, where he had control of the Pennsylvania Company Coal Mines until 1851, in which year he went to Archbald and was superintendent of collieries there until 1854, when he was made superintendent of the Pennsylvania Company's mines at Pittston, in which position he continued until his death December 25, 1889. His children were seven in number; Margaret (Mrs. Alexander Bryden), John B., Jane (Mrs. Adam Harkness), Elizabeth (Mrs. C. C. Bowman), Alexander, Annie and Nettie (Mrs. W. R. Teeler). Our subject was reared in Pittston, where he attended the public schools until fifteen years of age, and then entered the Riverview Military Academy at Poughkeepsie, N.Y., remaining there one year; then entered LaFayette College, Easton, Pa., where he was graduated in 1872. Having made mine engineering a special study, he at once accepted a position on the engineer corps of the Delaware, Lackawanna & Western Coal Company, which he held nine months, after which he took charge of the Pleasant Valley Collieries at Pittston, for the Pennsylvania Coal Company, as foreman, a position he held six years, at the end of which time he assumed charge of the Mining Engineering Corps and superintended the engineering for all the collieries in Pittston until 1880, when he accepted a position with the Roberts Iron Co., at Robertsville, Canada, as superintendent of works. After one and one-half years service there he was compelled to resign on account of ill health, and returning to Pittston was assistant superintendent under his father until the death of the latter, since which time he filled the position until September 1, 1892. Mr. Law was married September 22, 1874, to Jennie, daughter of John McDougall, of Pittston, and has two children: Janet and Jean. Our subject is a prominent member of the F. & A.M., and of the Presbyterian Church; in politics he is a Republican.
WILLIAM H. LAWALL, conductor on the Reading Railroad System, Hazleton Division. This popular railroad man was born at Hazleton in May, 1852, and is a son of Thomas and Catharine (Geiger) Lawall, natives of Pennsylvania. William H. was reared in Hazleton, and educated in the public schools of that city and at the Wyoming Seminary, Kingston. At the close of his school days he secured a position as manager of the supply store operated by A. Pardee & Co. He occupied this position for six years, and at the end of that time began railroading on the Lehigh Valley Railroad System, and since 1881 has been passenger conductor between Hazleton and White Haven. His courteous manners and obliging ways have won for him hosts of friends, not only among railroad men, but the traveling public in general. Mr. Lawall was married in February, 1887, to Miss Martha, daughter of William Powell, Sr., the only surviving partner of the Upper Lehigh Coal Company. Two children have been born to this union: William P. and Thomas G. Mr. Lawall is a member of the F. & A.M., and the family attend the Presbyterian Church.
THOMAS FRANCIS LAWLESS, lumber dealer, Kingston, is one of the three members of the prosperous business enterprise of Luzerne county, known as the Kingston Lumber Company, whose business headquarters are located at Kingston. He was born at Tobyhanna, Monroe Co., Pa., December 4, 1859, and is a son of Thomas and Margaret (Duffy) Lawless, both being natives of Ireland. Mr. Lawless received his education in the common schools of his native county, and the city of Philadelphia. After leaving school he accepted a clerkship in the office of Albert Lewis, at White Haven, where he was employed two years, when he was transferred to the Bear Creek office of Mr. Lewis, taking full charge of his lumber interests there for eight years, thence coming to Kingston, and embarking in his present business. He was married, January 23, 1888, to Miss Mary Eliza, daughter of Richard and Eliza (McAsy) Caffery, both natives of Ireland. This union has been blessed with one child, Richard, born November 30, 1890. Mr. and Mrs. Lawless are members of the Catholic Church. In politics, he is a Democrat.
HENRY A. LAWN, tinner, Conyngham, was born in Sugar Loaf township April 29, 1848, a son of Henry and Caroline (Brown) Lawn. His maternal grandfather, Daniel Brown, a native of Lehigh county, was a weaver by trade and a pioneer of Sugar Loaf township, where he cleared and improved a farm on which he lived and died; his wife was Salome Remaly. Henry Lawn, father of subject, was a native of Germany, and came to America during the "thirties." He was a brickmaker by trade, and settled in Sugar Loaf township, where he cleared a farm, manufactured brick, and died in 1880 at the age of sixty-eight. His children were Sarah (Mrs. Christopher Ulrich), Henry A., John A., Clara M. (Mrs. Nathan Wagner), Lena (Mrs. Jonas Hartz), Louisa (Mrs. George Beedman), Anna (Mrs. Henry A. Wachter) and Daniel C. Our subject was reared in Sugar Loaf township, and educated in the common schools. He served three years apprenticeship at the tinners trade, afterward working as a journeyman thirteen years, and since 1884 has been in business for himself at Conyngham. Mr. Lawn has been twice married, his first wife being Martha J. Dennis, of New York State; his second wife was Jennie McAllister, of Danville, Pa. By the latter he has four children: Bessie, Rebecca, Ethel and Myrtle M. Mr. Lawn is a member of the Church, and of the F. & A.M.; in politics he is a Democrat.
JOHN LAYAON, farmer, was born in Montreal, Canada, May 2, 1834, and is now residing in Jackson township, P.O. Cease's Mills. He is a son of John and Mary (Chevelier) Layaon, both of whom were born in Canada. The father was a son of Joseph, who at the age of forty-one was going to occupy Government land, but was captured by the Indians. He had a varied and trying experience among them, having during his stay of twenty years passed through seven tribes, as one tribe over-powered the other. He was finally released and returned to his friends. John, the subject of this sketch, was reared and educated in Montreal, Canada. In his early life he learned the carpenters trade, at which he has worked for forty years, proving himself to be an adept at his calling. He came to the United States in 1851, and located at Ballston Spa, N.Y., where he remained nine months. He then moved to Saratoga Springs, at which place he completed his trade. Mr. Layaon enlisted in the army August 21, 1862, for the term of three years, becoming a member of Company C, Seventy-seventh New York Infantry. He participated in the battles of Chancellorsville, Antietam, Fredericksburg, Gettysburg, and second Bull Run. He served under Gen. Sedgwick, Third Brigade, Smiths Division, and at the close of the war returned to his family. He came to this county in 1863, locating in Plains; soon moved, however, to Jackson township, on the farm on which he now lives, consisting of sixty-three acres, situated about four miles north of Nanticoke; he settled here in 1868. Mr. Layaon is a practical farmer, making the most of his time and opportunities. His farm, though rough, is a model one, he having changed it from a stony waste to its present fertile condition. In 1878 he was so unfortunate as to lose his barn, stock and farming implements by fire. His kind neighbors willingly offered their services; among these were Martin Meyers, Johnson Meyers and Jacob Smith. Mr. Layaon markets all his surplus produce, doing his own selling from his wagon as he moves from house to house. His nearest markets are Nanticoke and Plymouth. Our subject was married December 12, 1854, to Miss Mary, daughter of Isaac and Emily Larabee, and their family numbered fourteen children, eleven of whom are living: John, William, Margaret, Lizzie, Frank, Charles, George, Rosamond, Selina, Kate and Theresa; five of these are married: John, William, George, Margaret and Lizzie. Mr. Layaon is a member of the Roman Catholic Church.
HENRY A. LAYCOCK, landlord, Wyoming borough, was born in Warren county, N.J., November 11, 1834, a son of Jacob (a farmer) and Christian (Young) Laycock, also natives of New Jersey, and of English and German origin, respectively. They reared a family of nine children, five of whom are now living, Henry A. being the third in order of birth. Our subject was educated in the common schools, and at the age of eighteen shipped before the mast on a whaling vessel, on which he circumnavigated the globe in a two-years' cruise; he then went to Bloomsburg, Pa., and worked as molder in an iron-mill for two years; thence came to Pittston, same State, where he was hotel clerk for three years; then proceeded to California, where he worked in the gold mines for about two years. At the end of that time (in 1861) he joined a regiment under Col. Lippet, but this regiment not being received into the service by the President, Mr. Laycock returned to Luzerne county, raised a company in Pittston, and went to the front as first lieutenant of Company I, Fifty-sixth Pennsylvania Volunteers. He was promoted to captain after the battle of Antietam, to major on December 23, 1864; to lieutenant-colonel for gallant service in the battle of White Oak Road, Va., May 13, 1865, and to colonel on June 12, 1865, for similar meritorious conduct in the battle of Five Forks. He received several letters of thanks from his generals for bravery on the field. He was conspicuous at the battle of Borden Plank Road, March 29, 1865, for refusing to dismount, and, riding at the head of the regiment, under a heavy fire, he had two horses shot from under him, and his elbow shattered by a rifle ball at the battle of Gravity Run; refusing to go to the hospital, he fought the next days battle at Five Forks with his arm in a sling, winning new laurels and many thanks from his general. The Fifty-sixth regiment entered the service in the latter part of the year 1861, was assigned to Gen. McDonell's corps in the spring of 1862; then stationed around Fredericksburg, Va., and in August, 1862, started on the memorable campaign known as "Pope's Retreat." This regiment took a very active part in the second battle of Bull Run; also participated in all the subsequent engagements fought by the army of the Potomac. In 1864 the regiment re-enlisted for three years, and was the regiment that opened the first fire at the battle of Gettysburg, under the command of Col. J. W. Hofman. The Fifty-sixth participated with credit in the following battles: Rappahannock Station, Sulphur Springs, Gainesville, Groveton, Manassas, South Mountain, Antietam, Union, Fredericksburg, Chancellorsville, Beverly Ford, Gettysburg, Mine Run, Wilderness, Spottsylvania C. H., North Anna, Tolopotomy Creek, Bethesda Church, Cold Harbor, Petersburg, Weldon Railroad, Peebles' Farm, Chapel House, Hatchers Run, Bellfield, Dabney Mills, Boydton Plank Road, Gravelly Run, Five Forks, Sailor's Creek, and was at the surrender of Lee. The regiment was mustered out of service July 1, 1865, at Balls Cross-Roads, Va., and was put en route for home on Sunday morning. The following is a list of the field and staff officers of the regiment: Colonel, Henry A. Laycock; lieutenant-colonel, John A. Black; major, George F. Michaels; adjutant, George E. Guier; quartermaster, S. J. Slocum; surgeon, J. T. Shoemaker; assistant-surgeon, P. H. Pennsyl; chaplain, B. R. Smith.
Mr. Laycock was married November 15, 1871, to Miss Emma Long, of Wilkes-Barre, and they have two children: Gertrude, born January 18, 1875, and Harry, born July 18, 1881. The family are Presbyterians. Mr. Laycock is a Knight Templar, a member of the Knights of Honor, and in politics is a strong Republican.
ROBERT K. LAYCOCK, carriage smith, Wyoming, was born in Warren county, N.J., January 24, 1839, and is a son of Jacob and Christiana (Young) Laycock, natives of New Jersey and of English and German origin, respectively. The father was proprietor of the "American House," Bloomsburg, Pa., at the time of his death, which occurred in May, 1854. He reared a family of nine children, five of whom are now living, Robert K. being the fifth in order of birth. Our subject was educated in the common schools, and at the age of fourteen commenced to learn his trade with Hagge, Brown & Wertman, of Milton, Pa., where he worked eighteen months; then two months for Strawbridge & Wilson; six months for Mathias Appleman, of Rohrsburg, Pa.; six months for George Stricker, of Catawissa, Pa., at the end of which time he moved to Wyoming, Pa., and here worked sixteen months for David B. Polen; thence moved to Lock Haven, and worked for Amos T. Brisel, eight months, when he returned to Wyoming, May 3, 1863, and formed a partnership with A. J. Crouse for the manufacture and repair of wagons, sleighs, etc., the business being known as the Laycock & Crouse Carriage Factory, where are employed about twelve men. Mr. Laycock was married, December 19, 1867, to Mary E., daughter of Almond and Ruth (Jenkins) Church, natives of Pennsylvania and of English origin, the former of whom is a farmer by occupation. He reared a family of four children, three now living. Mrs. Laycock was born July 17, 1842. This union has been blessed with one child, Ruth Anne, born March 6, 1877. Mrs. Laycock and daughter are members of the Presbyterian Church. Mr. Laycock is a member of the K. of H., and is a Knight Templar. Politically, he is a Democrat, and served as councilman for one term.
GEORGE LAZARUS, farmer, Wilkes-Barre township, was born in Buttonwood, Hanover township, this county, May 22, 1847, a son of Thomas and Rachel (Miller) Lazarus. His father was born in Cherry Hollow, Monroe Co., Pa., and died, on the old homestead at Buttonwood, December 13, 1888, at the age of seventy-two years. His mother was born in Harmony, N.J. and died on the Lazarus homestead, July 30, 1889, at the age of seventy-two years; both parents were of German extraction. His grandparents, George and Mary (Hartzel) Lazarus, came to Hanover township in 1816, and became the possessor of 1,360 acres of land, about 1,100 acres of which proved to be one of the most valuable coal tracts in the Wyoming Valley. They had seven children: John, Betsy (Mrs. Dewitt Stocker), Catherine (Mrs. Fritz Deitrick), Sarah (Mrs. John Blanchard), George (formerly proprietor of the "Eagle Hotel," Pittston), Mary (Mrs. Azel B. Blodget), who is the only survivor, and Thomas. Thomas followed farming and the management of his portion of the estate, which he leased to the Lehigh & Wilkes-Barre Coal Company for a term of ninety-nine years, including all the coal. When the estate came to be distributed among the heirs, there arose a technical point of law, the decision of which has since governed many large coal properties throughout the State, including the coal and iron portion of the Girard estate of Philadelphia. The case was argued before an auditor, who held that as the lease included all the coal there could be no reversion, and hence the coal was personal, and not real estate. The court of Luzerne county decided to the contrary, but the supreme court of Pennsylvania reversed the decision of the lower court, and sustained that of the auditor. The family consisted of eight children, seven of whom reached maturity: Emily E. (Mrs. William Harrison), Lucy A. (Mrs. A. B. Leuder), George, Margaret D. (Mrs. R. D. Bennett), Lucinda M. (Mrs. Manly Brundage), Chester B. and Stella (Mrs. J. C. Brader, deceased).
Our subject was educated in the public schools of his native town and the Wyoming Seminary, from which he was graduated in 1869. He has since followed farming and the management of the coal and other estates, in which he has shown ability and shrewdness seldom found, and he has succeeded in accumulating a handsome fortune. He removed to Wilkes-Barre in September, 1891. Mr. Lazarus was married March 16, 1876, to Miss Emma, daughter of George and Margaret (De Reamer) Major, natives of Pennsylvania, of English and French origin respectively. The issue of this happy union is one child, George F., a student in the Harry Hillman Academy. Mr. Lazarus and family worship at the Baptist Church, of which Mrs. Lazarus is a member. He is a member of the Hanover Green Cemetery Association. He is a Republican in his political views, and has held numerous offices in his native town. In 1890 he was appointed census commissioner of Hanover township, and has been also commissioned to collect samples of cereals in Luzerne county for the Columbian Exhibition.
BYRON A. LEACOCK, farmer, of Fairmount township, P.O. Ripple, was born October 8, 1843, in that township, and is a son of James F. And Julia A. (Grotz) Leacock, natives of Pennsylvania, and of English and German origin, respectively. James Leacock, who was a farmer and mason by occupation, died February 28, 1879, aged eighty-five years. He was a son of John Leacock. Our subject, who is the eleventh in a family of thirteen children, six of whom are now living, was reared on a farm, educated in the common schools, New Columbus Academy and Wyoming Seminary. In June, 1863, he enlisted, at Harrisburg, Pa., in the service of his country, and was sergeant of Company F, Twentieth Pennsylvania Cavalry, service being picket duty on the Shippensburg Turnpike; was on duty at Falling Water, Va., Clear Spring on the Potomac River, etc., and was discharged in August, 1863. After a few months rest he re-enlisted, this time in Company D, One Hundred and Ninety-ninth Regiment Pennsylvania Volunteers, and was mustered in as a private September 5, 1864; promoted to sergeant September 12, 1864; transferred to Company B, January 5, 1865. Service—First Brigade, First Division, Tenth Corps, October, 1864; fatigue and picket duty with Army of the James, winter of 1864 and 1865; First Division, Twenty-fourth Corps, January, 1865; January, 1865, crossing of the James river, Virginia; March 28, in the charge of Fort Gregg and Fort Alexandra; April 2, front of Petersburg, Va.; April 2, fall of Petersburg and Richmond; April 6, Rice Station; April 6, wounded on skirmish line, near Rice Station, Va., when his watch was forced into his right groin by a gunshot, the watch thus saving his life. He was discharged May 27, 1865, by order of the War Department, dated May 3, 1865. Returning to the pursuits of peace, he worked the homestead farm on shares four years; then was contractor in Wilkes-Barre four years; then was traveling salesman for J. F. Hammes, a marble dealer, two years, after which he took a trip of several months through the West, and returning to Parsons, Pa., drove a supply wagon two years; then worked as a car-runner at Pine Ridge for one year; afterward went to work for the Lehigh Valley Coal Company as stable-boss, in which he remained seven years; and in 1876 he moved on the farm he now owns. Mr. Leacock was married October 12, 1865, to Harriet L., daughter of Nathan and Mary A. (Swank) Kleintob, and who was born April 8, 1843, the eldest in a family of seven children. This union was blessed with four lovely children, viz.: Fannie M., born August 28, 1866, died February 16, 1874; Harry N., born November 26, 1877; Stephen R., born August 26, 1879; and Charles A., born September 11, 1882. The family are members of the M.E. Church. Mr. Leacock is a member of the I.O.O.F. and G.A.R. In politics he is a sound Democrat, and is assistant postmaster.
GEORGE LEASER, Hanover township, engineer on the Central Railroad of New Jersey, was born in Germany, August 11, 1848, and is a son of Peter and Martha (Drexell) Leaser, the latter being a member of a very wealthy family. The father, who was a carpenter by trade, came to America in 1850, and located at Summit Hill, Carbon Co., Pa., where he remained but a short time. Losing everything he had in a fire, he removed to Tamaqua, where he had charge of all the pumps in Rimer's Run for four years. In 1856 he removed to Wilkes-Barre, built the Stanton Breaker, worked later in Newport township, and in 1858 came to Ashley, where he also followed his trade and built locks on the Lehigh Canal. Mr. Leaser served nine months in Company D, One Hundred and Thirty-second P.V.I., after which he worked at mining for some time and then again at his trade. On December 18, 1869, while gunning with the boss carpenter, Philip Manhart, he was accidentally shot by the latter, nine buckshot passing throug his body and killing him instantly. The family of Peter and Martha (Drexell) Leaser consisted of nine children, viz.: George (born in Germany); Anna (Mrs. John Vogal); Joseph (who died at the age of two years); John, a fireman in Ashley; Mary (Mrs. Charles Martin), who died at the age of thirty-two; Ella, who lives with her brother John; Elizabeth (Mrs. David Welden); Margaret (Mrs. John Baker), and Emma, who died at the age of one year.
Our subject was educated in the public schools of Tamaqua, Wilkes-Barre, Wanamie and Ashley, and at the age of nine years began working about the breaker. This occupation he followed for eight years, and was then successively engaged in braking on the Central Railroad one year, as conductor two years, and firing seven years, and was promoted to his present position in 1878; he built his comfortable home on Ridge street in 1886. Mr. Leaser was married, November 13, 1873, to Jane A., daughter of George and Mable (Morgan) Lawrence, of early New England families. To this union were born six children, viz.: Morris, a brakeman in Ashley; Harry, a painter, also in Ashley; Lawrence P.; Charles; Walter, and Lucy J. This wife died November 17, 1886, and he was married, the second time, on March 29, 1890, to Mrs. Jennie Murphy, daughter of Michael and Annie (O'Brien) Burns, natives of Ireland, and widow of Michael Murphy, by whom she had two children, Joseph and Annie. Mr. Leaser and wife are members of the Episcopal and Catholic Churches, respectively; he is a member of the B.L.E. and F. & A.M., and is a Republican in his political views
JOHN W. LECKIE, M.D., Hazleton, was born in Baltimore county, Md., December 12, 1835, and is the oldest in a family of four children born to Roland and Mana (Mason) Leckie, the former, a native of Raleigh, N.C., the latter, of Baltimore, Md. The subject of this sketch was educated in his native county, receiving a very thorough classical training under private tutors. In 1863 he entered the university at Lewistown, where he took a theological course. He was soon after ordained at Lock Haven, and followed the calling of a minister of the Gospel until 1881, when he became interested in medicine, and began a course of study at the Hahnemann Medical College, Philadelphia, where, after taking the regular course, he graduated in 1883. He immediately afterward located at Hazleton, where he has built up a large and lucrative practice. Dr. Leckie was united in marriage, March 14, 1863, with Miss Ellen S., daughter of Ludwig and Catharine (Rahn) Study, natives of Littlestown, Pa., and to this union have been born five children, namely: Ida M., wife of Ira J. Mandeville, of Newark, N.J.; Carrie L.; John W., a student at Hahnemann University, Philadelphia; Mary B.; and Edwin R. S. (deceased). In politics the Doctor votes the Republican ticket; he is a member of the Homoeopathic State Medical Society; the family attend the M.E. Church. [Copied from Addenda.]
ANDREW LEE, foreman, Jeansville, was born at Pictou, Canada, March 4, 1843, the second in a family of three children born to Robert and Jenette (Weir) Lee, natives of Scotland. The family removed during 1849 from Canada, locating at Hazleton, where the children were reared and educated. The subject of this sketch began life by working about the mines, and did general work until April 19, 1861, when he enlisted in the United States army, in Company C, Eleventh P.V.I, for three months' service, and when the term of his enlistment expired, Mr. Lee re-enlisted, September 11, in Company D, Eighth Pennsylvania Cavalry, under Col. Cormon. He served until August 21, 1865, and was in the campaigns of the army of the Potomac, participating in 135 engagements. In March, 1865, Mr. Lee took command of Company D, as lieutenant, and was at the head of his company in the last engagement fought between the North and South. After returning from the war, Mr. Lee devoted his attention toward coal mining, and was employed in a variety of positions about the mines until 1870, when he was appointed machine boss for the Harleigh Coal Company. He held this position for nine years and, in 1879, was made general outside and inside foreman of the works, which position he held until 1882, in which year he went west to accept the position of general superintendent for the New York & Ohio Coal Company of Sherodsville, Ohio. In 1886 he returned east, and became general outside foreman under Pardee, Bros. & Co., at Lattimer, Pa., remaining there until 1890, when he was appointed general foreman of the stripping gang for J. C. Hayden & Co., which position he now holds. Mr. Lee was united in marriage December 19, 1865, with Miss Sarah, daughter of Thomas and Belle (Baird) Wallace, natives of Scotland. To this union have been born seven children, namely: Jeneatte (deceased), Belle, Blanche, Nettie, Howard (deceased), Stella (deceased) and Orio. In political matters Mr. Lee is an untiring Prohibitionist; he is a member of the G.A.R., I.O.O.F. and F. & A.M.; he attends the Presbyterian Church.
CONRAD LEE, lumber dealer, and proprietor of the Wyoming Planing Mill, Wilkes-Barre, with residence at No. 142 North Franklin street, was born in Hanover township, Luzerne Co., Pa., November 3, 1842, and is a son of Stephen and Jane (Lines) Lee, natives of Newport township, this county. His maternal grandparents, Conrad and Mary (Fairchild) Lines, and his paternal grandfather, James Lee, were pioneers of Newport and Hanover townships, this county. The parents of our subject were married February 10, 1834, and moved to Delaware county, Ohio, where the father at times worked at his trades of plasterer and brick-layer, while clearing and improving a farm. After a residence in Ohio of six years, he returned to Luzerne county, locating in Wright township. He then erected a sawmill, engaged in lumbering and farming, and resided there twenty-two years, when he removed to Wilkes-Barre and purchased the planing-mill on Canal and North streets. He resided in Wilkes-Barre until his death, which occurred when he was at the age of sixty-two years, June 12, 1874. His widow is still living at her home on North street, at the age of seventy-eight years. He was the father of seven children, of whom five are now living: John R., Conrad, Mary, Priscilla and Amanda. Conrad Lines, the maternal grandfather of subject, was a blacksmith by trade; was born July 26, 1789, and spent all his married life (about fifty-two years) in Newport township, and accumulated a valuable coal tract of over 200 acres. He was the father of six children. The subject of this sketch was reared in Luzerne county, educated at Wyoming Seminary, Kingston, and in early manhood taught school several terms. On attaining his majority he visited the west, teaching one term of school at Rome Corners, Delaware Co., Ohio. He then accepted a position as yard foreman for John L. Gill & Co., Columbus, Ohio, in their lumber department, which position he held until the close of the war, after which he returned to Luzerne county, and dealt by way of speculation in Government mules and western cattle, purchasing the latter in the west, and disposing of them in the principal cities of the country. When but twenty-three years of age, he was appointed outside superintendent of the Avondale Mines, which position he held twenty-one years. During that time (September 6, 1869) occurred the great disaster at the mines, by which 108 men lost their lives. In his younger days our subject became thoroughly familiar with the lumber business through assisting his father at the mill in Wright township, and after the latter's death in 1874, he became interested in the Wyoming Planing Mill and lumber business in Wilkes-Barre, which his father had conducted seven years. Since 1886 he has been the sole proprietor, and by his energy, thrift and industry, has built up an extensive business. He was also formerly interested in mercantile business at Avondale, and is now a member of the lumber firm of Scouton, Lee & Co., of Parsons, Pa. He is the owner of considerable real estate, in which he deals quite extensively. Mr. Lee was married July 26, 1868, to Agnes, daughter of Martin and Jane (Govan) Weir of Hazleton, formerly of Renfrewshire, Scotland, and the issue of this union is four children: George, Margaret, Jean and William. Mr. Lee is a prominent and well known citizen of Luzerne county, and takes an active interest in all public matters and enterprises tending to the prosperity of the community at large. He is a member of the Presbyterian Church and of the Board of Trade; and in politics he is a Republican.
HENRY LEES, merchant, Plymouth. This genial gentleman was born at Summer Coats, England, February 14, 1841, and is a son of George and Anna (Ashley) Lees, also natives of England. Our subject came to America in 1862, and settled at Plymouth, Pa., where he engaged in mining. This he followed out for a short time, when a desire to see the "Great West" seized him, and he went to Helena, Montana, where he was engaged in mining for five years. He then returned to Plymouth, and established his present store, which contains a full line of gentlemen's clothing, a merchant tailoring department, and a complete line of boots and shoes. The store is a spacious one, being two combined, and is one of the largest establishments in the borough. The subject of this sketch was married January 25, 1872, to Miss Lorinda, daughter of Oliver and Liva (Ransom) Davenport, natives of Wyoming Valley. To this union has been born one child, Rush O. Lees, who is at present attending the Wyoming Seminary. Mr. Lees is a Republican, politically. The family are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church.
LEWIS LE GRAND, of the firm of L. Le Grand & Son, carriage manufacturers, Wilkes-Barre, was born in Providence, R.I., January 3, 1818, and is a son of Lewis and Eliza (Anthony) Le Grand, the former of whom was a native of France, the latter of Newport, R.I. Our subject was reared in Providence, R.I., and Cornwall, N.J., receiving a common-school education, and served a five-years apprenticeship at the carriage blacksmith trade in Newark, N.J., afterward worked as a journeyman three years, during one of which he was employed in Wilkes-Barre, where he located in 1840. In 1841 he embarked in business for his own account, carrying on carriage blacksmithing up to 1869, when he engaged in carriage manufacturing, in which he has since successfully continued, being now the pioneer of the business in the city, and enjoying the reputation of dealing in only first-class work. He was married February 16, 1842, to Helen, daughter of Parley Lyons, of Plains, this county, and has the following-named children: Mary (Mrs. Jacob Batt), Luther, and Charles, the latter of whom has been associated in business with his father since 1889. Mr. LeGrand was among the emergency men in the Civil war, serving in Company F, Forty-first Pennsylvania Militia from June 29 to August 3, 1863, when he was honorably discharged.
STEPHEN H. LEIBENSBERGER, of the firm Leibensberger & Sons, wholesale and retail lumber dealers, Hazleton, was born in Maxatawny, Pa., March 19, 1839, and is a son of George and Hettie (Miller) Leibensberger, also natives of Pennsylvania. Stephen H. was the fourth in a family of fourteen, was reared and educated in Berks county, and early in life learned the carpenter's trade, which he has always followed. In 1870 he removed to Hazleton, and he continued at his trade until 1890, when he associated with him his sons Oliver and Jonathan. Their business consists of contracting and building, besides dealing in lumber, both wholesale and retail. Our subject was married, in June, 1860, to Miss Elizabeth, daughter of Daniel and Elizabeth (Reinhart) Dreis, natives of Berks county, and ten children have been born to this union, viz.: Oliver, Charles, Jonathan, Mary, Eugene (deceased), Ada, Lillie, Gertie, Jennie W. (deceased), and Harry. Mr. Leibensberger votes the Republican ticket; he is an adherent of the English Lutheran Church, and is a member of the I.O.O.F., the Sons of America, Shields of Honor, and Knights of Malta.
OLIVER LEIBENSBERGER, the second partner of this firm, was born in April, 1861, in Berks county, and early in life learned the carpenter's trade, which he has always followed. He has been twice married, his first wife being Miss Jennie Krinkle, to whom he was united May 11, 1881, and three children were born to this union, namely: Carrie, Maud, and Artum. This wife died in August, 1885, and was again married on May 26, 1889, this time to Miss Dora, daughter of Peter Engleman, a native of Schuylkill county. One child, Charles, has blessed this union. Our subject votes the Republican ticket, and is a member of the Knights of Malta.
JONATHAN LEIBENSBERGER, the youngest member of this firm, was born in Schuylkill county, September 15, 1864. He was reared in this county, receiving his education in the public schools, and afterward took a course at Price's Business College, Philadelphia. He learned the carpenter's trade, and has followed that occupation since leaving school. He was married, September 13, 1889, to Miss Annie, daughter of Henry Shaffer, of Hazleton, Pa., and one child, Ethel D., has been born to this union. Jonathan Leibensberger is a member of the Knights of Malta and Sons of America, and in politics votes the Republican ticket.
CLARENCE H. LEIGHOW, foreman of Colliery No. 4, Delaware & Hudson Canal Company, Plymouth division, Plymouth. Among the many important positions about the mines perhaps there is none in which the responsibility is greater than that of the outside foreman, the general management of the work being under their supervision. The subject of this sketch, who occupies such a position, was born at Danville, Montour county, September 14, 1855, and is the eldest in a family of six children born to Charles and Sarah (Ernest) Leighow, also natives of Pennsylvania. Clarence H. was educated in the public schools of Danville, and after leaving school learned the machinist's trade, at which he worked two and one-half years. He then came to Plymouth and did general outside work at No. 12 Colliery, Lehigh & Wilkes-Barre Coal Co., remaining there two years. He then went to Colorado, and was engaged by the Chicago, Burlington & Quincy Railroad Company, working with the civil engineering corps, where he was employed two years, returning at the end of that period to Wilkes-Barre, where he was given the position of railway conductor, which he followed for three years. He then returned to Plymouth in September, 1889, and was given the position of weigh-master at No. 4, Delaware & Hudson Canal Co., occupying this place until 1890, when he was made outside foreman of this colliery, in which capacity he has since been retained. At this shaft there are one hundred and twenty-five men employed on the outside, and two hundred and seventy-five, including the ninety-seven men, on the inside. They go to a depth of 665 feet, taking out, on an average, 1,000 tons daily. Mr. Leighow was united in marriage, July 6, 1878, with Miss Jennie, daughter of Ziba and Martha (Moyer) Van Loon, natives of Luzerne county. One child blessed this union, but she was called away when but eighteen months of age. Mr. Leighow is a Democrat in politics. The family attend the Lutheran Church. As a foreman, Mr. Leighow is trustworthy, and merits the confidence of his employers, and as a man he is respected by all.
ALBERT C. LEISENRING, superintendent for the Upper Lehigh Coal Company, Upper Lehigh, is one of the most successful managers of coal mining in the anthracite region. Every feature of the works, where he has charge, indicates the practical application of the most scientific methods of mining, everything, from the breaker to the mules, being kept in first-class condition. Mr. Leisenring was born near Summit Hill August 9, 1855. He is a brother of Walter Leisenring of Sandy Run. He received his education at Nasereth Hall, the celebrated Moravian school at Bethlehem, the Montrose high school, Montrose, Pa., and Swarthmore College. At the latter place he took the courses in mining and civil engineering. He then entered the employ of the Upper Lehigh Coal Company, as mining engineer, holding this position until 1883, in which year he was appointed to his present situation. In 1883 Mr. Leisenring was married to Miss Lillian, daughter of Judge W. H. Jessup, of Montrose, Susquehanna county. They have three children: Mary, Louise and Jessup. Mr. Leisenring is a prominent member of the F. & A.M., and in politics is a Republican. The family are members of the Presbyterian Church.
GEORGE D. LEISENRING, business manager of the Pittston Gazette, Pittston, was born in Lehigh county, Pa., November 26, 1851, and is a son of William and Clarissa (Shisler) Leisenring, natives of Lehigh county and of German origin. The father was a tanner by trade, but is now retired from active business; they are both living, and reside in Lehigh county. They had a family of four children, viz.: Lavinia (the wife of Will S. Rodearmel, yard-master for the Lehigh Valley Railroad Company at Allentown, Pa.,), George D., Peter G. (deceased), and Tillie (deceased). Our subject passed his boyhood in Allentown, and had the advantages of a limited common-school education. When eleven years old he entered the office of the Allentown Friedensbote, a German newspaper, and began to learn the printer's trade. He worked on that journal for about four years, and then, as a journeyman printer, in different places in Connecticut, Massachusetts, New York and New Jersey; then returned to Allentown, and was again engaged on the paper where he had learned his trade; from there he proceeded to Mauch Chunk, Pa., and thence, in the fall of 1869, to Pittston, where he assisted in establishing the Wyoming Valley Journal, on which he worked two years, and then in different places in Kentucky, Ohio, Illinois, Missouri and Indiana. Returning to Pittston, he was here united in marriage, May 22, 1873, with Mary H., daughter of Henry Stevens, a retired mechanic of Pittston. Once more moving to Allentown, he was there for a few years more engaged on the paper where he had learned his trade; he also assisted in establishing the Evening Telegram in that city. After remaining there a few years he removed to Atchison, Kan., and was engaged on the Atchison Champion; then returned to Allentown, where he edited the Daily Critic. In 1885 he returned to Pittston, and was foreman of the Gazette job rooms until the spring of 1891, when he was made business manager of the Gazette, which position he now occupies. Mr. Leisenring has had a family of nine children, viz: Gertie May (deceased), Nettie E., Cora B., Florence J., George S., Clara M., William A., Mary A. and Theodore H. Our subject and wife are members of the Luzerne Avenue Baptist Church. He is a strong and earnest worker in the church, and fills the position of official secretary. He is also a member of the Y.M.C.A. at Pittston. Politically he is a stanch Republican. Mr. Leisenring is prominent in all the enterprises that lead to the advancement of his adopted city, and has by his integrity and social qualities gathered around him a host of friends.
WALTER LEISENRING, superintendent for M. S. Kemmerer & Co., coal operators, Sandy Run. In 1759 John Conrod Leisenring emigrated from Germany to America and located at White Hall, Lehigh county, this State. He was the great-great-grandfather of the subject of this sketch, and the first member of the Leisenring family, of whom we have any record, in this country. Walter Leisenring was born at Summit Hill, Carbon county, September 19, 1860. His father (whose name was also Walter) married Mrs. Mary Ann (Price) Kemmerer, widow of Charles Kemmerer, by whom she had had two children: Anna M. and Mahlon S. (the latter is now senior member of the firm of M. S. Kemmerer & Co.). To the union of Walter and Mary Ann Leisenring were born five children, viz.: Gertrude H., who married Thomas M. Righter, coal operator, of Mount Carmel, Northumberland Co., Pa.; Ada L., who married Dr. H. M. Neale, of Upper Lehigh; Albert C.; Walter (the subject of this memoir) and Mary W., wife of Dr. W. C. Gayley, of Hazleton. In 1866 Walter Leisenring, Sr., removed from Carbon county, where he had been a contractor for the Lehigh Coal & Navigation Company, and located at Upper Lehigh. He was one of the original members of the Upper Lehigh Coal Company and was secretary of same. He died at Upper Lehigh in May, 1877. Mrs. Leisenring is a native of Monroe county and a descendant of an early New Jersey family. She now resides at Upper Lehigh. Walter was educated at Swarthmore and Princeton Colleges, and at the age of twenty began life as a mining engineer at Sandy Run, in the employ of M. S. Kemmerer & Co., and two years later succeeded Mr. Righter as superintendent, which position he now holds. This mine has been in operation since 1877, and the company now employes over four hundred and fifty men, and ships about five hundred tons of coal per day.
FRANK P. LENAHAN, M.D., a prominent young physician of Wilkes-Barre, was born in that city, May 16, 1864, and is a son of Patrick and Elizabeth (Duffy) Lenahan. The father was a native of Newport, County Mayo, Ireland, and emigrated to America in 1846; the mother was a native of Wilkes-Barre township, a daughter of Bernard Duffy, a native of County Louth, Ireland, who emigrated to America in 1831. Our subject was reared in Wilkes-Barre, educated in the public schools and afterward taught school two years. He studied medicine with Dr. C. W. Spayd, of Wilkes-Barre, and was graduated from the Medical Department of the University of Pennsylvania, May 3, 1888. He then spent one year as resident physician of St. Mary's Hospital, Philadelphia, and in 1889 located in Wilkes-Barre, where he has already built up a lucrative practice. The Doctor is a member of the Luzerne County Medical Society, and of St. Mary's Roman Catholic Church; in politics he is a Democrat.
JOHN THOMAS LENAHAN is a son of Patrick and Margaret (Durkin) Lenahan, and was born at Port Griffith, Luzerne Co., Pa., November 15, 1852. The father was born at Newport, County Mayo, Ireland, May 17, 1825, and came to this country in 1846, remaining for a time successively at Apalachicola, Fla., New York City, and Butterwick Falls, Wyoming county, Pa., before removing to Port Griffith. Here he was a successful merchant and leading citizen for nine years, filling at different times a school directorship, and other local offices. In 1860 he removed to Wilkes-Barre and again began business as a merchant, continuing thereat until 1879. At the outbreak of the Civil war, Mr. Lenahan entered the service as second lieutenant of Company D, Eighth P.V., continuing with that organization during its term of three months. His company was enlisted under President Lincoln's first call, which was for three months. Mrs. Lenahan was a daughter of the late Hugh Durkin, a native of Tyrawley, County Mayo, Ireland. John Thomas Lenahan was educated at the college at Villanova, Delaware Co., Pa., conducted by the Fathers of St. Augustine, and graduated from that institution in 1870. He read law first, with Messrs. Wright & Harrington, and afterward with Judges Rhone and Lynch, and became a member of the Luzerne bar, October 27, 1873. (He was the Democratic nominee for district attorney of Luzerne county in 1879, but there were three tickets in the field, one of which (the Labor ticket) drew nearly all its strength from the Democratic ranks, and the Republican nominee was elected, though by a minority vote). He has been repeatedly solicited to be a candidate for office, but his extensive legal practice has been his sufficient excuse for refusing. He has been active in county committees and conventions, has been delegate to State conventions, and was present in that capacity at the National Convention held in Chicago in 1892. He is the president of the Columbia Club, a thoroughly Catholic organization of Wilkes-Barre. He was one of the projectors and original directors of the new bridge. Mr. Lenahan married April 26, 1880, Mary Donovan, a daughter of William Donovan, of Philadelphia, and they have five children: William Donovan, Gertrude Eleanor, Edwin, Marasita and John T. Jr.
ABRAHAM J. LENTZ, carpenter foreman for Coxe Bros. & Co., Eckley, was born in Washington township, Lehigh county, March 25, 1865, son of Gedian and May (Fensmaker) Lentz, both natives of Lehigh county. Mr. Lentz began life working in a brickyard in his native county, and followed this business for nearly two years, when he came to Eckley. Here he worked at blacksmithing just one year, and then began the carpenter trade, which he followed as journeyman until 1889, in which year he was made foreman, which postion he still holds. January 7, 1891, he was married to Miss Lizzie Wagner, of Eckley. They have one child, Gordon. Mr. Lentz is a member of the P.O.S. of A., Knights of Malta, Junior Order American Mechanics, and in his political views is a Republican.
PATRICK LEONARD, retired, Sebastopol, was born in County Mayo, Ireland, January 4, 1839, and is the youngest of six children born to Patrick and Sarah (Malia) Leonard, also natives of the same place. Our subject left Ireland in 1850, going to Scotland, where he worked until 1860, in which year he came to America and settled in Sebastopol, where he now resides. He received employment as laborer in the mines with the Pennsylvania Coal Company, with whom he stayed until the time of his retirement. Mr. Leonard was united in marriage August 12, 1864, with Bridget, daughter of Michael and Mary (Guinley) Malia, natives of County Mayo, Ireland. She died January 26, 1877, leaving the following children: Sarah, born July 21, 1865, married November 26, 1890, Patrick Carroll, a brakeman, of Sebastopol; Mary, born December 24, 1866, married on October 26, 1892, Martin Rutledge, a fireman (they reside on Pine Street); Ellen, born May 19, 1868; Patrick, born June 17, 1871; Joseph, born July 21, 1873, and Margaret, born July 24, 1875. He is a member of the Roman Catholic Church, and in politics is a Republican.
LATON W. LETTEER, farmer, Fairmount township, P.O. Fairmount Springs, was born in Lackawanna county, April 28, 1838, and is a son of Joseph and Phoebe (Stine) Letteer, natives of New Jersey, of German origin. They came to Pennsylvania in 1822, and died in October 1885, aged eighty-three years. Our subject is the sixth in a family of eight children, seven of whom are living. He was reared on a farm, educated in the common schools, and when twenty years of age learned the shoemaker's trade, following same for fifteen years , when, owing to a broken leg, which has made him a cripple ever since, he was obliged to give up his trade, and has since devoted his time to farming. His property is three-fourths of a mile east of Fairmount Springs postoffice. He married January 1, 1862, Miss Almira, daughter of Lewis and Diana (Boston) Harvey, by whom he has five children, viz: Edith E., born December 1, 1862 (Mrs. Harry Berlin); Harvey E., born February 16, 1865, a candy maker at Oxford, Pa.; Jennie O., born September 24, 1868, and Myrtle V., born May 28, 1874, both teachers; and Lottie I., born August 10, 1877. This family are members of the M.E. Church. He has been constable, tax collector and treasurer, and politically, is a Democrat.
ANDREW FULLER LEVI (deceased) was born at Wilkes-Barre, Pa., September 19, 1845, and is a son of David and Mary Levi. He received his education at the Wyoming Seminary, Kingston, Pa., and was reared in Plymouth, same county. After completing his course of studies, he embarked in the grocery business, and later opened the first book store at Plymouth, which he carried on until his health failed, and he was compelled to retire from active life. He was an influential citizen of the town, prominently connected with the Methodist Episcopal Church, and a member of the F. & A.M. it was through his efforts that the first weekly newspaper, The Plymouth Index, was started in Plymouth, he being one of the editors and proprietors. Mr. Levi was united in marriage with Ellen O., daughter of Oliver and Lydia (Ransom) Davenport, natives of Plymouth. No children were born to this union. Mr. Levi died December 20, 1885, mourned by the entire community. He wa a useful citizen, broad, generous in all his business ideas, and ever loyal to the town of his adoption.
JACOB G. LEVISON, cigar manufacturer, Wilkes-Barre, was born in Easton, Pa., May 17, 1851, a son of Henry and Bertha (Goldsmith) Levison, natives of Germany. His parents came to America bout 1846, locating at Easton, Pa., where the father was employed as traveling salesman for a wholesale house several years, and in 1861, embarked in the manufacture of cigars, continuing there until 1882. He then removed to Wilkes-Barre, where he established a similar business with his sons, Jacob G. and Myer N., in which they have since successfully continued, being among the leading and prominent manufacturers of the State. The children of Henry Levison now living are: Vena (Mrs. Moses Hertz), Jacob G., Myer N., Anna (Mrs. Anthony Turkes) and Amelia (Mrs. Samuel Walters). Our subject was reared in Easton, educated in public schools, and learned the cigar maker's trade in his father's factory, with whom he and his brother have been associated in business since attaining their majority. Mr. Levison is a member of the Jewish Synagogue. Politically, he is a Democrat.
DANIEL LEWIS, mine foreman for the Hanover Coal Company, Sugar Notch, was born in Merthyr Tydvill, Glamorganshire, Wales, February 26, 1842, and is a son of David and Ann (Jones) Lewis. His father, who was a miner by occupation, reared a family of seven children, four of whom are living: Daniel, Ann (Mrs. David Morgan, in Wales), Mary (Mrs. Benjamin Edwards, in Fullerton, Pa.), and Susan (Mrs. Isaac Reese, in Wales). Our subject began working in the mines in his native country at the age of seven years, and followed that occupation until March, 1869, when he came to America and located at Plymouth, Pa., working there in the mines a few months, and then, removing to Ashley, mined coal for William R. Maffet, until No. 1 stopped in 1870. He then removed to Wanamie, where he mined until 1877; then went to Jacksboro, Tex., where he purchased a farm which he operated for nine months. He then returned to Ashley and timbered in No. 10 till it caved in, afterward doing various kinds of Company work in the Jersey Slope until December 26, 1882, when he was appointed to his present position; he built his present comfortable home in 1888. Mr. Lewis was married, April 7, 1866, to Miss Catherine, daughter of Rhys and Mary (Francis) Reese, and they have had seven children: Benjamin, driver-boss in the Hanover Shaft; David, who lost his right hand March 6, 1891, while acting as brakeman on the Central Railroad of New Jersey, and is now tax collector in Sugar Notch borough; Mary A.; Elizabeth; Rhys; Daniel and Arthur. Mr. Lewis is a member of the K. of P. and I.O.O.F., and is a Knight Templar; he is a Republican in his political views, and is now serving his third term as a member of the Sugar Notch school board, having been its president for three years.
DANIEL B. LEWIS, mine foreman, No. 11 Lehigh & Wilkes-Barre Coal Company, Plymouth. This competent and intelligent mine foreman was born June 5, 1854, in Schuylkill county, Pa., and is the sixth in a family of nine children born to Thomas T. and Cecilia (Bennet) Lewis, natives of South Wales. In 1865 the family removed to Coalburgh, Ohio, where Daniel received part of his education, completing the common branches in Plymouth, whither the family came in 1870. The subject of this sketch started life as a clerk in the store of Edward Jenkins, where he served one year. He then did Company work about the mines for about six months, and thereafter entered the employ of David Jones, as clerk, staying with him for about one year. He next went with his father, who was a miner at the Gaylord, as assistant, for several years, during which time he became skilled in the art of coal cutting. He then did company work about the Gaylord until he became a practical miner, working at it there for four and one-half years, at the Nottingham, one year, at the Washington one year, and at No. 11 Lehigh & Wilkes-Barre, four years. He was then given the position of fire-boss at No. 15 Lehigh & Wilkes-Barre, which position he occupied for one and one-half years. At the end of that period he was promoted to the position of mine foreman, which he has since creditably filled. Mr. Lewis has under his charge about three hundred and eighty-seven men, who put out about 1,500 tons of coal daily.
Mr. Lewis was united in marriage, May 10, 1877, with Miss Elizabeth, daughter of Rolland and Maria (Jones) Jones, natives of Wales, her father being one of the victims of the Avondale disaster. Three childen have been born to this union: Maria, born June 11, 1881; Cecilia, born March 25, 1885, and Rolland M., born July 6, 1889. Mr. Lewis is a member of the Knights of the Mystic Chain and Knights of Pythias. He is a communicant of the Pilgrim Congregational Church, having been deacon in same, and is one of its founders; he is also superintendent of the Pilgrim Church Sunday-school. Politically he is an independent voter.
GEORGE LEWIS, butcher, Kingston, was born in Franklin township, Luzerne Co., Pa., July 30, 1841, and is a son of Nathan and Nancy (De Witt) Lewis, the former a native of New York, the latter of Pennsylvania. This progressive gentleman was educated in Luzerne county, and at the age of twenty-two launched out in business for himself. His first venture was the opening of a meat market at Kingston, remaining there, however, but a short time, subsequently removing his establishment to Edwardsville, where he now commands a thriving trade. On December 25, 1877, Mr. Lewis was united in marriage with Amanda, daughter of Andrew Strunk, of Kingston, Pa., and one child, Andrew, was born to this union, March 18, 1879. In his political views Mr. Lewis had always followed the precepts of the Democratic party.
GEORGE CHAHOON LEWIS was born in Wilkes-Barre, August 14, 1844. His father, Josiah Lewis, one of Wilkes-Barre's prominent business men, was born in Kingston, November 15, 1815, and died at Wilkes-Barre, July 4, 1890. His mother, Arabella D. Chahoon, was the daughter of George Chahoon, prominently connected with the early growth of the city. Mr. Lewis is a great-grandson of William Lewis, who was admitted to practice in the court of common pleas at Philadelphia, December term, 1773. On July 4, 1776, the Declaration of Independence suspended, till a new organization, all the business of the courts. The first session of common pleas, when the style of process was altered from "The King" to "The Commonwealth", was held in September, 1777. Only six attorneys were entered as admitted to practice, viz: John Morris, John Haley, William Lewis, Andrew Robeson, Jacob Rush and Jonathan D. Sergeant. William Lewis was elected a member of the Pennsylvania Legislature in 1787, and was re-elected in 1789. On September 26, 1789, he received from the Father of his country the appointment of attorney for the United States for the District of Pennsylvania, and July 14, 1791, was appointed judge of the District Court of the United States for the Pennsylvania District. The commissions signed by George Washington, President, are now in the possession of his great-grandson. Mr. Lewis' grandmother, Margaret Delany, was the daughter of Sharp Delany, one of the early patriotic Irish settlers in America, who so liberally furnished financial and other aid to the American army while encamped at Valley Forge, and who was appointed, by the President, the first collector of the Port of Philadelphia. On September 6, 1876, Mr. Lewis was married with Miss Mary Pomela Squires, of Chenango Forks, N.Y., a descendant of John Barker, one of the first settlers of Broome county, and after whom the town of Barker was named. They have three daughters, Anna C., Ruth H., and Mary S.
GEORGE M. LEWIS, blacksmith and hotel proprietor, Parsons, was born in Sussex, England, June 21, 1840, and is a son of Thomas and Martha Lewis, also natives of England. The gentleman whose name heads this memoir was reared and educated in the town of his birth, and there learned the trade of blacksmith. In 1864 he came to America and located in Scranton, Pa., where he worked at his trade for about a year, when he removed to Parsons, this county, and has here since been in the employ of the Lehigh Valley Coal Company; he is also doing a thriving hotel business. Mr. Lewis was married August 15, 1871, to Miss Anna Morgan, of Parsons, a lady of Welsh lineage. Our subject and wife are members of the Baptist Church. He is a member of the I.O.O.F. and the K. of L.; in politics he is a Republican, and has been councilman of Parsons borough two terms.
G. MORTIMER LEWIS was born in Wyalusing, Bradford Co., Pa., a son of Augustus and Sarah (Stone) Lewis. The ancestor, the first American Lewis, came to Massachusets, from England in 1630. His descendant, Thomas Lewis, was born at New London Connecticut, in April, 1745, the second by birth in a family of four children: John, Thomas, Jemima, and Martha. Thomas married Mary, daughter of Capt. James Turrell, of New Milford, Conn., whose father, David Turrell, was one of the original proprietors in Connecticut, resident at Milford. Mary Turrell was born, March 17, 1748, and was married to Thomas Lewis in 1768, by which marriage were born nine children, viz: Sarah, Deborah, Ebenezer, Jeremiah, John, James, Amy, Justus and Mary. Justus Lewis, the son of Thomas Lewis, the grandfather of the subject of this sketch, was born at Wyalusing, Pa., August 21, 1787. His father, Thomas Lewis, was a soldier during the Revolutionary war; was with the Northern army under Gen. Montgomery, and was instrumental in the construction of the bridge over Lake Champlain, and was prominent at Fort Ticonderoga. He was also, with his brother John, participant in the battle, when Denbury was burned, and caught Gen. Wooster when he was shot and falling from his horse. It is also related in tradition that when the enemy had torn the planks from the bridge, Justus Lewis led the horse of Gen. Washington across the stream upon the stringers of the bridge. These facts show that Thomas Lewis did good service for his country in the hour of its greatest need. After the close of the war, he came to Wyalusing in 1776, his wife, even, being compelled to come on horseback, in those days, through the wilderness intervening between Connecticut and Pennsylvania. There being no such things as roads, they could only follow the trails through the wilderness. Arriving in the Wyoming Valley, he followed thence, up the Susquehanna, to the destination, where he was four miles from a neighbor on one side and forty miles on the other, and settled upon lands granted him by Connecticut, in consideration of the services rendered during the Revolutionary war. Justus Lewis, December 3, 1812, married Polly, daughter of Elisha Keeler, also of Connecticut, who had located in the same community with him. Of this marriage were born children as follows: Milton, Elisha, Lucy, Augustus, Adelia, Burton E., Mary and Eliza. Justus Lewis was reared and educated in Wyalusing. In 1814 he united with the Presbyterian Church, and became one of the most efficient workers in the faith, giving largely of his means for the support of the church. He was prominently and actively engaged in temperance work during most of his career, and was one of the prominent anti-slavery reformers; an outspoken, fearless man in his opinions. In 1808 he was a prominent Federalist. In 1824 he took a deep interest in the success of the National Republicans; from 1840 to 1848 was a supporter of the Anti-Slavery Whig party, and in all public enterprises was foremost.
The subject of this sketch is the son of Augustus Lewis (son of Justus and Polly (Keeler) Lewis), and was born at Merryall, Wyalusing, county of Bradford, Pennsylvania, November 23, 1848. Augustus Lewis, his father, was for many years a prominent merchant at Wyalusing, and was afterward largely interested in the manufacture of lumber. When the North Branch Canal was first opened, the first canal-boats passing through were built for him to carry the freight connected with his business. On his mother's side, the subject of this sketch is descended from a distinguished line. His great- grandfather, Jonas Ingham, was of Quaker origin whose father was one of the most bigoted and arrogant of the sect, and disinherited his son because he took part in the warlike affairs of the Revolutionary war. Jonas was a captain, and was wounded at Valley Forge. He married Rebecca, daughter of —— Beaumont, of Bucks county, Pennsylvania. [Vide "History of Bucks County," by Gen. W. W. Davis.] His mother's name was Bye. Her father came on the vessel with William Penn and Logan when they arrived for settlement in this country. His nephew became Secretary of the Treasury of the United States under Jackson. The daughter of Jonas, Sarah, married Rafael Stone, who had come into Pennsylvania with the first settlers from Litchfield, Conn.; they came originally from England in the first settlement of the country. In tradition it is said that a branch of this family was, in the early history of the country, pirates on the high seas, trading with the West Indies. It seemed to be the only way to account for the wealth they acquired. G. Mortimer Lewis, the subject of our sketch (son of Augustus and Sarah (Stone) Lewis), was three years at LaFayette, and graduated there in 1873. He had been previously taught at the Wyalusing Educational Union, and was especially prepared to enter college by his uncle, Rev. Darwin Cook. His study of the law was in the office of the late Edward P. Darling, one of the State's most distinguished practitioners, and he was admitted to the bar of Luzerne county, Pa., September 6, 1875. For a number of years he was a member of the law firm of Ryman & Lewis, but latterly has practiced alone, giving, however, a good part of his time to the organization and management of general business enterprises. In the prosecution of this work his name became a familiar one, not only in Luzerne county but throughout the State of Pennsylvania. He is a pronounced Republican, but does not take an especially active part in politics. He was one of the originators of the Electric Light Company, and also one of the original directors, and originated and brought about the combination of the Street Railway companies of Wilkes-Barre and vicinity. The combination has become one of the most notable in the State of Pennsylvania; the system including the Wilkes-Barre & Kingston; the Wilkes-Barre & West Side; the Coalville Passenger; the Wilkes-Barre & Suburban; the Pittston Street Car Company; the West Pittston & Wyoming; the Pittston, Moosic & Pleasant Valley; the Nanticoke Street Railway and the Plymouth Street Railway—covering the territory of the Wyoming Valley from Nanticoke to Scranton, and having a trackage, when complete, of sixty miles. Mr. Lewis is also president of the Mt. Vernon Coal Company. He was also the originator of, and is a director in, the Wilkes-Barre & Shawnee Bridge; also director in the famous Colorado Marble and Slate Companies, and, also, of the Elk Mountain Railway Company, of Colorado, operating and developing large and valuable tracts of lands in Gunnison and other counties in that State. — [H.E.H.]
HIRAM B. LEWIS, miner, Plymouth, was born in Berks county, Pa., November 4, 1839, and is the fourth in the family of five children of Samuel and Sarah (Olds) Lewis, also natives of Pennsylvania. He attended school in his native county, and when he was fifteen years old the family removed to Columbia county, where our subject completed his studies. He was reared on a farm, and followed that vocation until the Civil war broke out, when he obeyed his country's call and enlisted in Company A, Sixth Regiment, Pennsylvania Reserves, under command of Capt. Wallace Ricketts. He participated in the following engagements: Drainesville, fought December 20, 1861; the Seven Days' fight in front of Richmond; Bull Run, August 28, 29, 30, 1862; South Mountain, September 14, 1862; Antietam, September 16 & 17, 1862; Fredericksburg, December 13, 1862; Gettysburg, July 1, 2 and 3, 1863; Bristol Station, October 14, 1863; Mine Run, November 27, 1863; Wilderness, May, 1864 (ten days); Spottsylvania Court House, May, 1864 (vicinity five days); North Anna, May, 1864, and Bethesda Church, May, 1864. It seems almost incredible that one participating in so many battles should come out unscathed, but such is the case with the subject of this sketch. As a soldier, Mr. Lewis was true and fearless, and fought bravely for his country, and the debt we owe these noble veterans for grasping the Union from the hand of dissolution can never be repaid. Mr. Lewis was discharged June 11, 1864, and came directly to Plymouth, where he began work at the mines, first as a coal loader, at which he worked one year, then as a miner at the Avondale Colliery, where he has been mining for twenty-eight years. He was married March 18, 1867, to Mary E., daughter of Francis and Elizabeth Stumm, natives of Germany, and to this union have been born eight children, namely: Samuel T., Francis S., Albert E., Sadie L., John W., Walter E. (deceased), Elvina M. and Muriel. Mr. Lewis is a Prohibitionist, and is a member of the G.A.R. The family attend the Methodist Episcopal Church.
JAMES LEWIS, assistant chief of police, Plymouth, was born in that town, September 19, 1843, and is a son of Wesley and Dorothy (Shonk) Lewis, also natives of Plymouth. There were two sons in this family, James being the younger. He was educated in the public schools of Plymouth, and at an early age began mining. This he continued until the war broke out, when he enlisted, October 18, 1861, in Company H, Seventh Pennsylvania Cavalry, under Col. Whinnecoop. He participated in the following battles: siege of Atlanta; Battle of Nashville, Tenn.; Franklin, Tenn.; Galeton, Tenn; and at Brentwood, Tenn.; where he was taken prisoner and cast into Libby Prison, where he remained some time, and from there he was paroled and sent to parol camp at Annapolis, Md., where he was exchanged. After returning from the war Mr. Lewis again entered the mines and has worked as a miner ever since, having been employed at the Avondale for over twenty-three years. He has been for two terms chief of police, and is at present assistant chief. As an officer Mr. Lewis is always considerate, and although he does his duty promptly and bravely, he is never over-hasty or cruel. He was married December 25, 1862 to Miss Fannie, daughter of Zepheniah R. and Mary (Tilbery) Barber, the former a native of New Jersey, the latter of Plymouth. To this union have been born seven children, viz: James, who is married and resides at Plymouth; Mary, wife of Frank Knecht, of Jersey City, N.J.; Henry, who is married and resides at Plymouth; Laura, wife of Elmer Erwine, of Plymouth, Pa.; Emma, wife of Thomas Jones, of Plymouth; Mark and Wesley, both at home. In politics Mr. Lewis is a Republican. The family attend the Christian Church.
JOHN J. LEWIS, engineer at the Parrish Breaker, was born July 15, 1844, in Carmarthenshire, South Wales, and is the fifth in the family of eight children of John and Margaret (Lloyd) Lewis, also natives of Wales. Our subject was educated and reared in Wales, learned engineering at an early age, and engaged at the Coalbrook Colliery, where he followed his trade for a short time, afterward proceeding to the Ferndale, where he remained until 1878, in which year he came to America. He located in the State of Kansas, and worked as a miner at the Osage Mines about one year, coming from there to Houtzdale, Pa., and there worked at mining one year. He then removed to Nanticoke, and was employed by the Susquehanna Coal Company as slope engineer, and later at No. 2 Shaft under the same company. There he remained four years, at the end of which time he came (1887) to the Parrish Breaker and took charge of the slope engine, which position he has since held. Mr. Lewis was married, May 29, 1880, to Lizzie, daughter of John and Elizabeth (Jones) Griffith, natives of Wales, and four children blessed this union, namely; Maggie, Edith (deceased), Hettie and Willie. The family attend the Welsh Independent Church. Mr. Lewis is a Republican, and is a member of the F. & A. M. and the I.O.O.F.
SALMON LEWIS, farmer. P.O. Harding, was born (September 23, 1883), reared and educated in Exeter township. He is a son of Levi C. and Hannah (Shay) Lewis, the former of whom was born in Connecticut, the latter in New Jersey. Levi C. was a son of Oliver, who was a native of Connecticut, and removed to this county about 1828, locating in Exeter township, on the farm now occupied by Alexander Swartwood. He was one of the first settlers in the town, and suffered all the hardships of pioneer life; but by honest labor and incessant activity, he succeeded in a measure, in subduing the natural forest, causing it "to blossom as the rose." He reared a large family of thirteen children, who became sturdy farmers and the wives of farmers, who proved themselves worthy citizens of this county, causing the forest to give place to the golden grain, and the rude log cabin to give way to a more pretentious dwelling house. Oliver Lewis lived to be eighty-six years of age. Levi C., his son, removed from Connecticut, his place of birth, to New Jersey, where he lived for several years. During his residence there he was married to Miss Hannah Shay, by whom he had nine children, all of whom grew to maturity, and four of whom are now living: Rev. J. S., Salmon, Vincent L. and Giles B. In early life he followed the carpenters trade, at which he worked for a number of years. In 1830 he removed from New Jersey, to Exeter, purchasing about four hundred acres of land, 120 of which were cleared during his lifetime. He was a hard-working man who, by honest labor, became a successful farmer. While he was not a leading politician in the town, yet his influence was felt in his party. He was a leading man in the M.E. Church, holding the office of steward and class-leader in that body. He took a special interest in the advancement of the Gospel, and was the leading spirit in the erection of the church building at Mount Zion. He made ample provision for all his children, his estate being divided between them previous to his death, which occurred in September, 1881, at the age of eighty-two years. Salmon is the fifth member of his family in order of birth, and always followed farming as his natural calling, though in early life he taught school very acceptably and successfully for over ten years. He married April 7, 1859, Miss Clarinda, daughter of Abiathy and Lucretia Shippey. By this union there were born seven children, four of whom are now living; Eva, Emma, Levi S. and Arthur. Emma has been teaching school with great success. In 1859 Mr. Lewis removed to Kansas, where he purchased a farm of 330 acres, on which he reisded for six years. He then, in 1865, returned to Exeter and pruchased eighty-five acres of the old homestead, on which he has erected fine buildings and outhouses, capable of accommodating his large dairy. Mr. Lewis is a wide-awake farmer, who looks after the interest of "Sol," and keeps well abreast of the times. He is a man of influence in his neighborhood and an active worker in the Grange. His special line of farming is vegetables, dairying and fruit culture. Besides the farm on which he lives, he owns 265 acres in Wyoming county, on which Peter Harris settled in 1798. Mr. Lewis is a practical man as well as a practical farmer. Politically he is a Republica.
THOMAS HART BENTON LEWIS, was born in Trucksville, Kingston township, this county, February 22, 1835. His father was James Rowley Lewis, who came from Schoharie county, N.Y., and practiced as a physician in this county for more than half a century. Our subject's mother's maiden name was Nancy Ferguson, and she was a daughter of Alexander Ferguson, who lived at Delaware Station, Warren county, where his daughter was born, but afterward removed to Dallas, Luzerne county, where he died. Thomas Hart Benton Lewis was educated at the Wyoming Seminary, and at Bucknell University, from which latter institution he graduated in 1858. He studied law with the late Hon. Charles Denison, and was admitted to the bar August 22, 1860. In 1874 he was chosen a member of the Lower House of the Pennsylvania Legislature for the Second district of Luzerne county, which was then and still is largley Republican. Though Mr. Lewis was the Democratic nominee, and is an ardent advocate of the doctrines of that faith, he won in the District by a considerable majority. He served in the judiciary general committee, being secretary of the same. He served also upon several other committees. He has served as a member of the borough council of Kingston, as secretary of that body, and in the school board of the borough, being secretary of the board. He has been a ruling elder in the Kingston Presbyterian Church for twenty-four years, and secretary of the session nearly the whole time, and was superintendent of the Sunday school for eight years. On May 17, 1865, Mr. Lewis married Rosa M. Atherton, daughter of J. A. Atherton, of Bridgewater, Susquehanna Co., Pa., and they have six children.
THOMAS P. LEWIS, miner in the Mill Creek Mine, Miners Mills, was born in South Wales, April 14, 1844, and is the son of Thomas and Mary (Bousher) Lewis, in whose family there were eight children, two of whom are living, viz.: Elizabeth (Mrs. Jacob Davies, of Wales) and Thomas P. Our subject came to America in 1866, and engaed in mining, which has been his occupation from boyhood; he has been successively employed at Elizabeth, Pa., one year; Wyoming, one year; Morris Run, six months; Wilkes-Barre, five months; and then moved to his present residence, which he built in 1870. Mr. Lewis married, December 25, 1868 to Miss Jane, daughter of Richmond and Mary A. (Allen) Burridge, natives of England, and they have had born unto them children as follows: Richmond T., who was killed in the Pine Ridge Shaft at the age of fifteen years; Susannah, Abigail, Mariam, who died in infancy; Mary A., Daniel Wm.; John, Mariam (second), who died in infancy; Raymond P.; James B., and Elizabeth J. Mr. and Mrs. Lewis are members of the Primitive Methodist Church, he is a member of I.O.O.F. and Encampment; and his politics is Republican.
CHRISTIAN LEYH, dealer in furniture and picture framing, and undertaker, Ashley, was born in Pottsville, Pa., December 19, 1845, a son of Henry and Dorothy Leyh, natives of Germany, who emigrated from that country before their marriage. The father, a weaver by trade, raised a family of seven children, viz: Christian, William, Henry, Dorothy (Mrs. George Kyneet), Amelia, Daniel, and Louisa, who died at the age of fourteen years. Our subject was educated in the public schools at Pottsville and Orwigsburgh, Pa. At the age of seventeen he moved to Hazleton, where he served four years' apprenticeship at cabinet making, and then went to White Haven, entering the employ of Henry Price. After six months he became a partner in the business, but next year entered the employ of the Lehigh Coal & Navigation Company at that place, and in Ashley, September, 1867, engaged in business for himself, in White Haven. In January, 1868, he accepted a position in the shops at Ashely, remaining there until October, 1883, when he purchased a half interest in the furniture firm of Skillman & Co., in Union Hall block, and in the spring of 1886 became sole proprietor. He suffered severe loss from the burning of this block, May 12, 1890, but soon resumed business on North Main street, and took possession of his present place in the Fenner block in December of the same year. May 9, 1867, Mr. Leyh married Hannah E., daughter of Charles and Matilda (Lehr) Sassaman, natives of Allentown, Pa. The family settled there at an early date, and Mrs. Leyh's maternal grandfather was a Revolutionary soldier. Our subject has several children: Matilda, wife of William Wilcox, painter, Ashley, by whom she has two children; Ralph; Charles, brakeman on the Central Railroad of New Jersey; William H., painter in the shops at Ashley, and Flora M., who is in the store with her father. Mr. Leyh is a member of the Evangelical Association, of the P.O.S. of A., and of the Jr. O.U.A.M. He is a Republican in his political views. His wife belongs to the Methodist Episcopal Church.
WILL W. LEYSON, commercial traveler, Wilkes-Barre, was born at Summit Hill, Carbon Co., Pa., August 22, 1866, a son of John W. and Susan (Wintersteen) Leyson, natives of Pennsylvania and of German descent. The father followed the trade of builder, at which he was very successful. They were the parents of two children, of whom Will W. is the younger. Our subject was educated at the Wilkes-Barre high schools, and after graduating he entered the employ of the Western Union Telegraph Company, with whom he remained three years, and then accepted a position with Bodmer & Co., brokers, remaining two years. Afterward he accepted a postion with the Hillman Vein Coal Company; later was employed by the Mill Creek Coal Company, and afterward was with the Philadelphia & Reading Coal Company, Pottsville. After serving one year with this company, he took a western trip, and also a four months trip through Europe. Upon his return, he accepted a clerkship at the "Hotel Elsmere," Washington, D.C., and afterward became clerk at the "Hotel Brunswick," Philadelphia. Remaining there some time, he finally accepted a position with the Claus Shear Company, which he is holding at the present time. Mr. Leyson was united in marriage June 9, 1890, with Emily, daughter of Conrad B. and Mary Van Horn Silliman, by which union there is one child. Mr. and Mrs. Leyson are members of the Presbyterian Church, and he is a member of the famous Clover Club of Washington, D.C. In politics he affiliates with the Republican party.
JOSEPH W. LIEM, of the firm of J. W. Liem & Co., general hardware merchants, Wilkes-Barre, was born in that city April 17, 1860, a son of Frederick and Barbara (Kaiser) Liem, natives of Eisenberg, Germany, who came to America in 1851, settling in Wilkes-Barre, where the father, who was a tinsmith by trade, followed his occupation thirty-two years. He was a son of Joseph and Frederica Liem, who settled in Wilkes-Barre, in 1848, and his children are Emma (Mrs. Philip Geritz), Joseph W. and Charles F., the latter of whom married Susan, a daughter of William and Caroline (Young) Ferder, of Wilkes-Barre. At the death of Frederick Liem, in 1883, his sons succeeded to the business established by him, in 1857, which they have since successfully continued under the firm name of J. W. Liem & Co. Our subject was reared and educated in his native city, learned the tinsmith trade with his father, and is among the enterprising and popular hardware merchants of the city. He is a member of the I.O.O.F., and in politics is a Democrat.
GEORGE W. LIGGETT, locomotive engineer, Hanover township, was born in what is now Atglen, Chester Co., Pa., September 25, 1856, and is a son of Ezekiel and Martha (Young) Liggett, natives of Pennsylvania and of Welsh and English-Welsh origin respectively. He is a grandson of Caleb and Margaret (Wilson) Liggett and Thomas S. and Margaret (Black) Young; a great-grandson of Samuel and Mary (Coburn) Young; and a great grandson of Ninian Young, who by some authorities was an Irishman, but by others a native of Great Yarmouth, County of Norfolk, on the east coast of England, whence he emigrated to America, and is first mentioned in Fallowfield township, Chester Co., Pa., in 1745. The family came to Luzerne county in 1867, and to Ashley in 1868, where the father was a foreman in the blacksmith department of the Ashley shops, and where he died July 19, 1885; the mother still lives with our subject. The family consisted of seven children, four of whom are living, viz: Margaret (Mrs. Thomas Blodgett), Mary M. (Mrs. Collins Girton), Elizabeth (Mrs. Robert Winder), and George W. The subject of this sketch was educated in the public shools of Philadelphia and Wilkes-Barre, and then served an apprenticeship of four years in the Ashley machine shop; he then fired four and a half years on the Central Railroad, and in 1880 was promoted to his present position. Mr. Liggett was married April 25, 1878, to Miss Lucy, daughter of Robert and Clarinda (Garey) Johnson, respectively, natives of Ireland and Pennsylvania and of Irish and Yankee extraction. Mrs. Liggett died December 21, 1891, leaving five children, viz: Clarence E., Clarinda M., Charles K., George T., and Martha Y. Our subject, as was also his wife, is a member of the Baptist Church at Wilkes-Barre; he is a member of the B.L.E., and in his political views is a Prohibitionist. In 1888 he built his present beautiful residence on Ridge street.
H. W. LILLY, cabinet-maker, Pittston, was born in Lehigh county, and while he was an infant his parents removed to Northampton county, settling at Bethlehem. He is a son of Joseph and Kate (Mensin) Lilly, natives of Northampton county, the former of whom died in 1880, and the latter now resides at Bethlehem. At the age of seventeen our subject began learning the cabinet-making trade, and worked at it until September 15, 1862, when he enlisted in Company D, One Hundred and Fifty-third Pennsylvania Volunteer Regiment, and was at the battles of Chancellorsville and Gettysburg. At Gettysburg he received a gunshot wound in the hip, and was compelled to lie on the field seven days without any attendants, in his terribly mangled condition. He was then sent to the Portsmouth Grove Hospital, Rhode Island, where he remained four months, when he was discharged. He finally returned to Bethlehem, and after recovering sufficiently resumed cabinet-making and worked at it there until 1865, when he came to Pittston, where he has since followed the same. He was married in 1882 to Miss Anna Bussard, of Pittston. In politics, he is a solid Republican.
L. C. LINDEMAN, Conyngham, was born in Butler township, this county, April 4, 1869, a son of Hartman and Elizabeth (Adams) Lindeman, both natives of Germany. The father was a resident of Luzerne county for many years; first at Hazleton, where he worked at the carpenter's trade, and afterward engaged in the liquor, coal and mercantile business; in later life he removed to Butler township, where he followed farming, and there died. He was a successful man, and though landing in America poor, he in a few years accumulated a handsome competency. His children who grew to maturity were Jacob, Philip, Frederick, Lewis C. and Charles. Our subject was reared in his native county, and was educated in the public schools, State Normal School, at Millersville, and the Wyoming Seminary. He is now a resident of Conyngham. In politics he is a Democrat.
EDEN LINDEMUTH, merchant, and contractor in painting and paper-hanging, Ashley, was born in Pottsville, Pa., May 9, 1857, and is a son of Henry ( a miller) and Elizabeth (Brenner) Lindemuth, natives of Pennsylvania, and of very early German origin. They reared two children, Eden and Charles, the latter of whom died at the age of two weeks; the mother died September 3, 1891, at the age of fifty-seven years. The subject of this sketch was educated in the public schools of his native town, and at the age of fourteen took a clerkship in a store which he held three years, and then learned his trade which he has since followed. In 1879 he removed to Ashley, built his store and paint shop in 1884, and his residence in 1885. In May, 1890, when twenty-eight miners were killed in the Jersey Slope, leaving nearly as many destitute families, it was largely due to the efforts of Mr. Lindemuth that several thousand dollars were raised for their relief and placed in the hands of a board of relief, of which he has since been treasurer. Mr. Lindemuth was married January 25, 1882, to Miss Mary E., daughter of John and Anna (Ebert) Albright, natives of Royer's Ford, Pa., and of German origin, and they have had five children, two of whom are living, Frank and Ethel. He is a member of the I.O.O.F., Jr. O.U.A.M. and the K. of H. He is a Republican in his political views, and is now president of the borough council, of which he has been a member three years; he was also borough treasurer one year.
JACOB M. LINN, contractor and builder, Edwardsville, was born in Plymouth February 27, 1841, and is a son of Jaze R. and Jane (Devins) Linn, natives of Pennsylvania, the former of Irish lineage, the latter of Dutch. On August 4, 1861, our subject enlisted, at Wilkes-Barre, in Company C, One Hundred and Forty-third Pennsylvania Volunteers, and participated in the following engagements: Gettysburg, Wilderness, Cold Harbor, Spottsylvania, Chancellorsville and Hatcher's Run. He was mustered out of the service June 12, 1865, returned to Plymouth, and has since been engaged in carpenter work a greater part of the time in that vicinity; he is now an extensive contractor and builder. On November 7, 1868, Mr. Linn was married to Miss Margaret, daughter of Michael and Margaret (Pace) Murphy, of Larksville, Pa., and they have four children: Marshal, Estella, William and Etta. In politics he is a thinking Republican, and is always ready to support a good principle, regardless of what party advocates it. He has been a member of the borough council.
JOSEPH LINTERN (deceased) was born in Somersetshire, England, and was married April 29, 1851, to Amelia, daugher of John and Jane (Evans) Barnes. On May 1, 1851, they sailed for America, and settled in the western part of Pennsylvania, locating in June, same year, in the village of Canonsburg. Subsequently, in 1852, they came to Luzerne county, making a final settlement in Jenkins township. They had three children, viz: John, George and Robert C., of whom John, born January 7, 1853, is an engineer in the employ of the Pennsylvania Coal Company; he is married. George was born February 6, 1855, is without trade, and is living at the old home in Sebastopol; in his political predilections he is a Republican. Robert C. was born August 7, 1859, in Sebastopol, Pa., was educated in the common schools, and in 1883 finished with a commercial course at Wyoming Seminary, Kingston, this county; at the time the first data for this sketch were obtained, he was in the employ of the Butler Mine Company, limited, as chief shipper, but is, at present writing (November, 1892), outside foreman at the Stevens Breaker, in Exeter township; he is unmarried; he is a member of the Methodist Protestant Church, and of the following Societies: Knights and Ladies of Honor, Knights of Pythias and Sons of St. George. The family home is situated on the main street of Sebastopol, just south of the line of the borough of Pittston. Joseph Lintern, the father of these gentlemen, enlisted in the fall of 1862, in Company A, One Hundred and Fifty-second Regiment Heavy Artillery, Pennsylvania Volunteers. At Smithville, Va., February 1, 1864, he was taken prisoner, and he died in Andersonville Prison, Georgia, June 3, same year.
CHARLES F. LIPPINCOTT, train-master from Solomon Gap to Scranton, on the Central Railroad of New Jersey, was born in Mauch Chunk, Pa., July 9, 1849. He is a son of Charles Lippincott, a native of Pennsylvania, of early English Quaker origin. His father, who was a hardware merchant, now living in retirement in Philadelphia, reared a family of three children, of whom Charles F. is the eldest. He was educated in the public school at Mauch Chunk and the Lehighton high school, and was then station agent at Mauch Chunk one and a half years, clerk in the Company office at Ashley one and a half years, timekeeper and paymaster's clerk, Mauch Chunk, one year, superintendent's private clerk at that place thirteen years, and in 1885 was promoted to his present position, which he fills with satisfaction both to his employers and those under his charge. Mr. Lippincott is a member of the Lutheran Church, a Knight Templar, and a Republican in his political views.
JOSEPH LITTLE, miner, Parsons, was born in Yorkshire, England, and is a son of James and Anna (Sunderland) Little, in whose family there were twelve children, Joseph being the third. Our subject came to America in 1887 and engaged in mining in New York, but remained there only a very short time, coming to Parsons, this county, where he has since been engaged in mining. Mr. Little was married, in 1860, to Miss Sarah Daily, of York, England, and this happy union has been blessed with four sons and four daughters, viz: Kate, Joseph, John, Eliza, Frederick, Hannah, Arthur and Mary. In his political preferences Mr. Little is a Republican.
EDWARD LITTLETON, proprietor of flour, feed and grain store, Hazleton, was born at Light Street, Columbia Co., Pa., August 24, 1830, and until the age of eleven years resided in his native place. He then went to New Jersey, where he was engaged in various occupations, among which may be mentioned railroad and canal work, until 1848, when he was employed by Hampton & Rider, lumber dealers and merchants; in 1858 he was made superintendent of their business. On retiring from this position he purchased a stage and during two years drove the route from Mauch Chunk to Berwick. In June 1861, he enlisted in the U.S. Army, Company A, Twenty-eighth Pennsylvania Volunteers, under Col. Geary; served three years, and was in the army of the Potomac until after the battle of Gettysburg, when the Twelfth Army Corps, to which he belonged, was transferred to the West, where it remained until the close of the war. Mr. Littleton was mustered out in June 1865, and although he was a participant in many fiercely-fought battles yet came out unscathed. After returning from the war, he was employed as outside foreman at the Mount Pleasant Mines, operated by Daggert & Halsey, which position he held until 1872, when he was appointed coal and iron policeman. In that capacity he served during the seven years that were fraught with so great danger owing to the machinations of the desperate Molly Maguire organizations. In 1872 he established his present business, as wholesale and retail dealer in flour, feed, grain, oils and ice. In this extensive business Mr. Littleton employs thirteen men as assistants; has also five teams for delivery purposes. Mr. Littleton was united in marriage in 1870 with Miss Anna K. Young, of Hazleton, and two children have been born to them: Alexander S. and Ray. Mr. Littleton, in political matters, is an independent voter.
EBENEZER LLOYD, mine foreman at the Pettebone Mine, was born February 9, 1844, and is of Welsh descent, being a son of John and Margaret (Hughs) Lloyd, natives of Wales. Our subject was the second child in a family of eight, four of whom are living. He was educated in the common schools, and, at the early age of fourteen, went to work for an uncle on a farm where he remained four years, after which he worked in the mines of Wales until 1870. He then came to America and engaged in loading coal in the mines at Bellegrove, Lebanon Co., Pa., and after two years commenced mining, continuing the same until 1880. Then he changed to the Holsted Mine, and for nine months had charge of the sinking of the shaft, after which he did general work until 1884, when he came to Wyoming and spent five years in charge of the Fuller Mine. From here he went to Forty Fort, taking charge of the Pettebone Mine until a year ago, when he moved to Dorranceton. In 1865, Mr. Lloyd was married to Elizabeth, daughter of Owen Edwards, a native of Wales, and to this union were born six children, five of whom survive: John, a miner, married to Sarah Smale; Helen, married to Charles Crouse, a carriage maker, of Wyoming; and Maggie L., Owen J., and Mary, at home. The mother of these children died in 1882, and in 1883 he married Mary Ann, daughter of Reese and Margaret (Morgan) Williams, natives of Wales; by her he has five children: Claudie, Deborah, Lydia D., Ebenezer and Myfanwy. Mr. and Mrs. Lloyd are members of the Baptist Church, and politically he is a strong Republican.
THOMAS LLOYD, miner and farmer, Yatesville, was born in Wales, February 15, 1841, and is a son of Benjamin and Sarah (Plummer) Lloyd, natives of England. They reared a family of six children, of whom Thomas is fourth in order of birth. Our subject received his education in Wales, and worked in the mines there. In 1861 he came to the United States, settling at his present location, and has worked all the time in the employ of the Pennsylvania Coal Company as miner. He was united in wedlock December 28, 1860, with Anna, daughter of John and Marie (Hopkins) Evans, natives of Wales, and they have been blessed with the following issue: Marie, born August 8, 1862, married December 12, 1883, to John Pierce, miner, Yatesville; John born August 3, 1864; Benjamin, born January 18, 1866; Jennie E., born April 24, 1867; Margaret A., born April 19, 1869, married November 12, 1891, to Benjamin Sleicher, fireman, Wilkes-Barre, and Thomas T., born July 14, 1872. The family are members of the Methodist Church. Our subject is a Republican, and was a member of the borough council from 1880 to 1883. He is a member of the I.O.O.F. and I.O.R.M.
CHARLES C. LOCKHART, farmer, P.O. Beach Haven, was born November 6, 1856, on the farm where he now resides in Salem township, and is a son of James and Susan (Santee) Lockhart. His paternal grandfather, Joseph Lockhart, and great grandfather James Lockhart, were natives of Scotland, and came from Ireland to America in the latter part of the eighteenth century, settling in Salem township, this county, and lived and died on the farm now occupied by subject. The wife of Joseph Lockhart was Annie Cameron, by whom he had ten children, and of them James, the father of our subject, was the eldest. He was born on the homestead, in Salem, in 1802, and resided there until his death. His wife was a daughter of James and Rachel (McNeil) Santee, the former of whom was a son of Valentine Santee, one of the first settlers of Salem township. James Lockhart reared a family of six children: Mary, Elizabeth, Maria (Mrs. Dr. I. E. Ross), Rachel (Mrs. George W. Harter), Hamilton (deceased) and Charles C. Our subject is the fourth generation to occupy the Lockhart homestead, and is one of Salem´s representative farmers and citizens. In politics he is a Republican.
FRANKLIN P. LONG, station agent at Nanticoke, Reading System, Jersey Central Division. This genial and intelligent young man was born September 2, 1866, at Elliottsville, Pa., the only child of Levi and Catherine (Smith) Long, natives of Pennsylvania. Franklin P. was reared and educated in Lehigh county, and began life for himself as freight agent at Tripoli, for the Reading Railroad Company, where he remained for four years. He was transferred April 1, 1888, to his present position. Mr. Long is independent in politics. He is a member and trustee of the Presbyterian Church at Nanticoke, and is secretary of the Sunday-school. He is a member of the F. & A.M.
HENRY W. LONG, farmer, P.O. Irish Lane, was born in Fairmount township, May 16, 1854. He is the son of Lewis and Lavina (Wolfe) Long, the former born in Ross township, the latter in Fairmount. Lewis was a son of Elias Long, who was also born in Fairmount township. Elias was a son of John, who was of German descent, and the first of the Longs to settle in Huntington township. Elias began his active career as a farmer in Fairmount township. He removed to Ross township about 1826, on a lot of 140 acres, and devoted his entire time to agricultural pursuits. He was a hard-working man of good principles and pure morals. Politically Mr. Long was a stanch Whig. He died at the age of seventy-three years, his wife at the age of eighty-one. Their family consisted of eight children, all of whom grew to maturity. His son, Lewis Long, began his business life as a farmer in Ross township, afterward removing to Fairmount township, where he purchased 100 acres of timber land, most of which he cleared during his lifetime. He was a very industrious man, honest to a fault, and hard-working in the extreme. He died in 1862, aged thirty-six years. His family consisted of eight children, seven of whom are now living. Henry W. Long is the third of the family in order of birth. He was reared and educated in Ross township, and was but eight years of age when his father died, at which time he went to live with his uncle, George F. Long. Here he remained until he was twenty-one years of age, after which time he worked for various parties. He was engaged in burning charcoal by contract, at which he succeeded financially. In 1875 and 1880 he bought some land in Ross township, which he soon sold, it being too small for a man of his enterprise. He bought another farm of over 100 acres, which he works to perfection, for he is a thorough-going man and practical agriculturist. He is a general farmer, but runs his farm principally to hay. Mr. Long married, in December, 1881, Miss Permelia, daughter of S. and "Frona" Williams. To this union have been born five children, all of whom are living: Sophia, Ann M., James B., Josephine and Charles. Mrs. Permelia Long was born in Huntington township in 1855. Politically, Mr. Long is a Republican.
J. R. LONG, merchant, Sweet Valley, was born February, 1851, in Ross township, where he was reared and educated. He is a son of Benjamin and Rhoda M. (Flanagan) Long, the former born in Ross township, the latter in Plymouth. Benjamin is the son of George Long, who was one of the first pioneers of Huntington township. He removed from there to Ross township when there were only a few settlers in that part of the county. He was a useful pioneer—a man who dared express himself in behalf of right. In politics he was a stanch Whig. His family consisted of ten children, nine of whom grew to maturity. His son Benjamin began his business career on a farm of fifty acres in Ross township. He was a carpenter by occupation and a first-class mechanic. His wife, Miss. Rhoda Flanagan, owned 130 acres in her own right. The Flanagans are old and prominent settlers in Ross township, of Irish origin. Benjamin Long held several offices of some importance in the township. He was a firm believer in the truth of Christianity, and was a member of the Christian Church. Like his father, he was a strong Republican. He died in 1886, aged sixty-six years. His family consisted of six children, four of whom grew to maturity. J. R. is the second in order of birth. In early life he learned the carpenter's trade, but confined himself principally to farming, and agricultural pursuits of various kinds. He owns a farm of 150 acres, a part of the old homestead, a third interest in other lands, and a house and lot in Sweet Valley. He embarked in the mercantile business in 1891, and keeps the best general store in the village. His stock is new and fresh, and while his goods are cheap, they are not cheap goods. His store is well stocked with a full line of staple articles to supply the home demand, consequently his place of business is the center of attraction; his fair dealing warrants him success. In 1869 he married Miss Keziah J., daughter of Eliza and John B. Wesley. There were born to this happy marriage ten children, seven of whom are living: John J., Mary I., Mattie E., Tacy M., Benjamin J., Rhoda M., and Buel. John J. married Miss. Nora Masters. Mr. Long is a popular man socially, a stanch Republican politically, and in religion a member of the Christian Church. His wife and three of his accomplished daughters are also members of the same church. Mrs. Keziah (Wesley) Long was born in Ross township in 1853.
WILSON LONG, carpenter and farmer, P.O. Irish Lane, was born in Ross township January 13, 1838, where he was also reared and educated. He is the son of Joseph and Margaret A. (Park) Long, both of whom were born in this county, the former December 3, 1812, the latter September 17, 1811. Joseph was a son of Elias and Sarah Long, the former born in Mount Bethel, Northampton county, October 13, 1762, the latter in Huntington township, in August, 1790. Elias was a son of Elias and Betsy Long. They removed from Northampton county in the very early settlement of the place. His family at that time numbered twelve children. They settled in Huntington township, where they owned a large tract of land. Elias, Sr., served his country well and faithfully in the Revolutionary war. He lived to be over eighty years of age. His son, Elias, Jr., began his public career near Harveyville, on a farm of ninety acres. He was a hard-working and industrious man. At one time he owned and operated a distillery. Politically, he was a stanch Whig, and a man of leading influence in his neighborhood. He died in 1853, aged ninety-one years. Elias Long was married twice, by which marriages there were born to him sixteen children, all of whom grew to maturity. Joseph Long, his son, began his active life in Huntington township, also as a farmer, where he owned thirty-five acres of land. In 1850 he removed to Ross township where he built a log house which stands today (1892), and he confined himself to agricultural pursuits. He was a man much respected by all. Mr. Long died in 1884, aged seventy-two years. There were nine children born to him, seven of whom grew to maturity and are now living.
Wilson Long is the eldest of the family. In early life he learned the carpenter's trade, at which he has since worked in conjunction with farming. June 27, 1861, he was mustered into the service of the United States as a private in Company F, Seventh Pennsylvania Reserves, Thirty-sixth in line, for the term of three years. He took part in all the leading battles of the army of the Potomac till that of the Wilderness, where he was made a prisoner of war. He was confined in Andersonville from May to August, then removed to Florence, S.C., where he remained till December 31, when he was released. His term of service was almost four years, and during this time he was never marked unfit for duty. On February 27, 1865, he received an honorable discharge with the rank of corporal. On his return to citizenship he confined himself to his trade, residing in Wilkes-Barre, where he worked for eight years. In 1861 he bought his father´s old place, and made it his home ever since. Mr. Long is a member of the G.A.R.; has served three years as jury commissioner, and has also held various township offices. He is unmarried. Margaret A. Park, the mother of Wilson Long, is a daughter of Joseph and Martha Park, the former born October 23, 1757, the latter November 6, 1767. They removed to this county about 1810, locating in Sugar Loaf township, and afterward removed to Huntington township. There were thirteen children born to them. Joseph Park died in 1844, aged eighty-six; his wife, in 1852, aged ninety years. They were prominent people in their township.
W. H. LONG, clerk, Hunlock Creek, was born in Union township July 6, 1845, where he was educated at the common schools. In early life he learned the shoemaker's trade, which he followed in conjunction with other work for a number of years. He is a worthy gentleman, well posted in mercantile business, and has faithfully served James E. Bergan for five years. In 1869 he was united in wedlock with Miss Rebecca, daughter of Peter and Mary Baer, and to this union were born five children, four of whom are living: Joseph, Elizabeth, Ava and Samuel. Of these, Joseph married Miss Rosetta Cadwallader. Mr. Long removed to Hunlock Creek in 1887, where he purchased a lot on which he has erected a neat cottage, and besides this he owns a farm of fifty-four acres in Hunlock township. He is much respected by his neighbors, and enjoys the full confidence of his fellow citizens. He and wife are acceptable members of the Baptist Church. William H. Long is the son of Joseph and Elizabeth (Search) Long, the former of whom was born in Ross township, the latter in Union township. Joseph died not long after his marriage with Miss Search, who is yet living. He was a promising young man. There were two children born to him and wife, named William H. and Lydia.
W. R. LONGSHORE, M.D., was born in Beaver Meadow, Carbon Co., Pa., September 10, 1838, and is descended from Revolutionary families on both sides, paternal and maternal. His father, Ashbel B. Longshore, worked on the same engineer corps as did the late A. Pardee, afterward was a merchant at Beaver Meadow and Berwick, then studied medicine and practiced in Wyoming and Luzerne counties, later moving to Beaver Meadow. Our subject spent part of his boyhood days in Philadelphia and vicinity, and when fourteen years old came to Hazleton, this county. He was educated in Kingston Seminary and Lewisburg University, studied medicine with his father in Hazleton, and attended Jefferson Medical College and the Pennsylvania College of Medicine in Philadelphia, graduating at the latter institute in 1860. He then served as an assistant to Dr. Kirkbride at the Pennsylvania Hospital for the Insane, in Philadelphia, until the fall of 1862, when he entered the army as first lieutenant and assistant surgeon of the One Hundred and Forty-seventh Regiment, Pennsylvania Volunteers, which was attached to the First Brigade, Geary's Second Division, Twelfth Army Corps. He was promoted to major and surgeon in October, 1863, and took part in the campaign of Wauhatchie Valley and the battles of Lookout Mountain and Missionary Ridge. After the Twelfth and Eleventh Corps had been consolidated into the Twentieth Corps, they were sent to re-inforce Sherman; then went into camp at Wauhatchie Valley part of the winter of 1863-64, and afterward into permanent winter quarters at Bridgeport, Ala. At this place Dr. Longshore had charge of the Brigade Hospital, and was acting brigade surgeon on Sherman's march from Chattanooga to Atlanta, which march was commenced May 1, 1864. After the capture of Atlanta, he was made acting brigade surgeon, and as such went with Sherman to the sea, afterward taking part in the march through the Carolinas. At Goldsborough, N.C., he obtained leave of absence, and coming north reached Philadelphia the night of the assasination of President Lincoln. He then proceeded to Hazleton, and was married, April 25, 1865, to Miss M. A. Carter, daughter of William Carter, a coal operator of Beaver Meadow. Returning to the army May 7 following, he took part in the review of Sherman's command in Washington, and was mustered out with his regiment during the latter part of July, same year. He then settled in Hazleton, where he has practiced medicine ever since. On March 5, 1874, the Doctor was commissioned surgeon of the old Ninth Regiment, N.G.P., and served until the regiment was disbanded; was with his command during the riots of 1874. In June 1890, he was commissioned surgeon of the Ninth Regiment Infantry, Third Brigade, N.G.P. He is a member of the Pennsylvania Commandery of the Loyal Legion; Robinson Post No. 20, G.A.R.; the various degrees of Freemasonry; the Luzerne County Medical Society; the Carbon County Medical Society; the Lehigh Valley Medical Association, the State Medical Society, and the American Medical Association. Politically he has always been a Republican, and cast his first vote for Abraham Lincoln in 1860
EUGENE B. LONGWELL, farmer, P.O. Orange, was born in Vernon township, Sussex Co., N.J., October 7, 1844, a son of John and Sarah J. (Boughton) Longwell, both of whom were also born in Sussex county. John Longwell was born in 1816, a son of Andrew Longwell, who was a native of Ireland, and after emigrating to this country settled in that part of New Jersey as a prosperous farmer. He reared a family of six children. John Longwell was only seven years of age when his father died, and always followed farming, at which he became an expert. On September 29, 1838, he married Miss Sarah J. Boughton, after which he removed to this county. He first located in Kingston township in 1850, but remained only a few months, when he removed to Franklin township, where he purchased seventy-six acres of land, most of which was unimproved; but by industry and economy he cleared the farm, causing the harvest fields to succeed the forest, and the rude log-cabin to give place to a more modern structure, thus helping by his labors the onward struggles to a higher civilization. He was a man of deep sympathy, whose home was always open to the oppressed, and whose hand was ever ready to lift or help the weak and needy. A man of strictly honest principles, he was honored with many offices in his township, all of which he filled with ability. In politics he was Democratic; in religion, a Methodist. He reared a family of three children: William H., Mary E. and Eugene B. The father died in September, 1882, at the age of sixty-six years. Eugene B. Longwell was five years of age when he came to this county with his father, and has always confined himself to agricultural pursuits. On April 17, 1870, he was married to Miss Melvina C., daughter of Silas and Chloe Clark, and by her he had two sons: John and Fred, the former born in 1873, the latter in 1878. Miss Melvina C. (Clark) Longwell was born in Independence, Allegany Co., N.Y. Mr. Longwell has lived on his present farm all his life with the exception of three years he spent in Pittston subsequent to his marriage. He retains the farm on which his father settled in Franklin township; is a practical, general farmer, and a good business man. He has been favored with several township offices, which he invariably discharged with credit to himself and satisfaction of his constituents. He is a class-leader in the M.E. Church, a man in whom his fellows place confidence, and in this work his good wife helps, in both word and work fulfilling her misssion. She is a true help-meet for him, and her home is a model home of which she is a queen. Politically, Mr. Longwell is a Democrat
MICHAEL LONZER, Hazleton, passenger locomotive engineer on the Lehigh Valley Division of the Philadelphia & Reading Railroad System. This well-known and popular engineer is a native of Germany, and is a son of Jacob and Catherine (Hindershiedt) Lonzer. When our subject was about five years of age, the family emigrated to America and settled near the present site of Hazelton City, Pa. He was reared and educated at Hazleton, and at the age of twelve began life working in a breaker; he worked around the mines until he reached the age of twenty, when he engaged at breaking on the Lehigh Valley Railroad. After about six years at that, he was promoted to fireman, a position he faithfully filled eleven years, and in February, 1891, he was made locomotive engineer on a passenger train between Hazleton and Freeland. Mr. Longer owns a harness store in Hazleton, which he opened in 1889, and which is now under the able management of Mr. William Charles. This is the leading establishment of the kind in the city. Mr. Lonzer was married in 1871 to Miss Catherine Elizabeth Meyer, of Hazleton, and they have had born to them six children, viz.: John F. (harness-maker), Carolina E., Anna C., Jacob C., Lizzie May and Katie E. Mr. Lonzer is a member of the Royal Arcanum, and in politics he is a stanch Republican.
GEORGE PECK LOOMIS is the son of William Wallace and Elizabeth R. (Blanchard) Loomis, the former of whom is at this writing, with one exception (Nathaniel Rutter), the oldest living resident of the city of Wilkes-Barre. He is descended from Deacon John Loomis, who emigrated from England in 1638, and settled in Windsor, Conn., a year or so later, since which time many of the Loomises have been leading citizens of Connecticut. William Wallace Loomis came with his parents to Wilkes-Barre in 1827, when he was but twelve years of age. He is an ordained elder of the Methodist Church, and has always been very active in church and Sunday school work. He was burgess of the old borough of Wilkes-Barre from 1854 to 1861, inclusive, and was mayor of the city three years, commencing in 1877. He has held many incidental positions of trust, and, as these facts testify, is one of the most respected of Wilkes-Barre's citizens. Mrs. Loomis, the mother of George Peck Loomis, and second wife of William Wallace Loomis, was Elizabeth R. Blanchard, descended from Capt. Jeremiah Blanchard, who came to Luzerne in 1772, and was the first settler of Port Blanchard, in Jenkins township. He was constable for Pittston in 1775 and 1776, and was in the fort at that place as a captain of militia at the time of the battle and massacre of Wyoming. George Peck Loomis was born in Wilkes-Barre May 1, 1859. He graduated from the Wyoming Seminary in 1878, and from Syracuse University in 1882. He began the study of the law with A. Ricketts, but abandoned it for a year's service as cashier for a moulding-mill owned by his uncle at Brooklyn, N.Y. Then he returned to Wilkes-Barre, and resumed the study of the law under the preceptorship of H. A. Fuller. He was admitted to the bar January 31, 1887. Mr. Loomis is connected with the Wilkes-Barre Gun Company, and several other business institutions; politically he is a Democrat, and he is a member of the Methodist Church.
EDWARD STERLING LOOP was born in Elmira, N.Y., February 11, 1823, and is a son of Peter P. and Eliza Irene (Ross) Loop. He received a limited education in the schools of Wilkes-Barre, and in 1840 left home, going to St. Louis, where he was employed in a retail dry-goods store about three years. In 1844 he went to New York, where he was employed as bookkeeper in a dry-goods house for nearly ten years. He returned to Wilkes-Barre in 1853, and entered the Wyoming State (now National) Bank, where he remained for over twenty-one years, first as teller, and afterward as cashier. He resigned July 22, 1874, since which time he has lived a retired life. Mr. Loop married, December 28, 1852, Cornelia B., daughter of Samuel and Lydia (Wadhams) French, of Plymouth; she died June 25, 1856, leaving one daughter, Estelle (Mrs. Major Charles F. Larrabee, of Washington, D. C. who has one son, Sterling Loop Larrabee). On July 1, 1858, Mr. Loop married Harriet A., daughter of T. D. Lander, of New York City.
MORGAN LORD, farmer, Carverton, was born, October 2, 1839, reared and educated in Franklin, a son of Stephen and Phebe Ann (Hallock) Lord, the former born in Franklin, the latter in Luzerne county. Stephen was a son of Alexander Lord, a native of Connecticut, an old soldier of the war of 1812, and one of the first settlers of Franklin township. His children were eight in number, all of whom are dead. He first settled at what is known as Flat Rock Schoolhouse, where, by thrift and hard labor, he made a complete farm, and here he lived and died. His son, Stephen, lived on the homestead until he was of age, when he removed to the farm now owned by his sons, J. D. and Lyman, consisting of 116 acres, to which he added ninety-four more. He was a carpenter by trade, at which he worked all his life, and at which he proved successful. He was married twice: First time to Miss Phebe Ann Hallock, by whom he had six children, four of whom are living, and for his second wife he wedded Miss Elizabeth De Witt, by whom he had five children, four of them yet living. He died March 21, 1891, at the age of eighty years. Morgan, who is the fourth by the first marriage, has always confined himself to farming, and to-day is a recognized practical agriculturist. He owns 110 acres of prime land, on which he has made many improvements on both field and buildings. His stock is good, his buildings are commodious, and his surroundings generally suggest good management. On November 7, 1865, he was married to Miss Nancy, daughter of E. D. and Sally Wilson, and by her he had one child, Wesley, born March 5, 1871. In 1862 he became a member of Company G, One Hundred and Seventy-seventh State Militia, to serve his country for the term of nine months, which he did, and was honorably discharged. He was subsequently drafted, but his relations at home were such that they could not be severed, so he paid $625 for a substitute.
SAMUEL D. LOUDENBURG, miner, Parsons, was born March 22, 1847, at Kingston, Pa., and is the second of eight children born to George and Caroline (Gray) Loudenburg. He was reared and educated at Kingston, and at the age of seventeen began life for himself, lumbering at Fairview, Pa., in which business he was engaged for twelve years in the State of Pennsylvania. In 1879 he engaged in mining at Forty Fort and remained there for a short time, when he came to Parsons, where he has since resided. Mr. Londenburg was married January 1, 1872, to Elmira, daughter of Burton Hedsale, of Wyoming county; they have four children: William, Ellen, Freeman and Albert. Samuel's grandfather, John Loudenburg, came from Germany, locating at Kingston at a very early date. Our subject is a firm adherent to the cause of Democracy.
W. A. LOUGHREY, grocer and justice of the peace, Port Blanchard, was born September 13, 1855, in the house where he now resides, and is the eldest son of William and Mary (Glynn) Loughrey, natives, respectively, of Counties Galway and Mayo, Ireland; the parents arrived in this country in June, 1848, and settled immediately in this county. The subject of our sketch was educated in the common schools, and in 1866 went to work at the mines as a slate-picker; in 1868 he became driver, and in 1871 laborer, working at the latter five years, when in 1876 he was employed as a miner. He continued mining until 1880, when he went to Colorado to the silver mines, where he remained, however, but four months. He then went to Port Griffith and took up his old position as a miner, but was seriously hurt by a fall of rock, and on November 26, 1882, he went into the grocery business, at his present stand. Mr. Loughrey has been twice married, his first wife being Bridget, daughter of John and Bridget (McAndrews) Cook, natives of County Mayo, Ireland, to whom he was united on November 26, 1882. She died August 1, 1889, having become the mother of the following children: Mary, born November 20, 1883; William, born April 21, 1885; Eleanor, born November 13, 1886; and Annie, born, July 24, 1888. Our subject married again, on January 28, 1892, Mary, daughter of Patrick and Mary (Boland) Lynn, natives of County Mayo, Ireland. They are members of the Catholic Church; our subject is a member of the Ancient Order of Hibernians, in which organization he holds the office of county delegate. In politics he is a Republican, and held the office of school director from 1881 to 1887, during which time he was treasurer of the board four years and secretary one year; in 1886 he was elected justice of the peace for five years, and is now serving his second term, having been re-elected in 1891. Mr. Loughrey was nominated by his party in 1890 to represent them in the State Legislature, but was defeated by a small majority.
WILLIAM LOVELAND, Kingston, was born in Kingston, Pa., August 5, 1821, the second son of Elijah and Mary (Buckingham) Loveland, whose ancestry in this country were among the Puritans who came to Connecticut about 1630. Our subject received his early education in the old academy on Main Street, Kingston, and at Dane's Academy, Wilkes-Barre. He has always been a farmer, and at his father's death assumed control of the family homestead in Kingston. As a businessman, he has ever been active and prominent, and has aided to develop and sustain the most important local interests. For years he has been a member and officer of the Presbyterian Church. He identified himself with the Republican party at its organization, and has been deeply interested in its progress to the present time, although never an active politician. In 1856, Mr. Loveland was married to Miss Lydia Hurlbut, of Arkport, N.Y., granddaughter of Christopher Hurlbut (a native of Connecticut), a surveyor well known in the Wyoming Valley in pioneer days. This union has been blessed with seven children, four of whom are living, viz.: Mary Buckingham, Fanny Vaughn (now Mrs. Robert P. Broadhead), Elizabeth Shepard, and Emily.
JOHN LOVELL, general merchant, No. 96 South Main Street, Pittston. This energetic and successful young businessman is a Pittstonian bred and born, and a son of Isaac and Elizabeth (Powell) Lovell, the former a native of England, the latter of South Wales. The father came to America in 1859, and died at Pittston in 1876; the mother still lives there. The family consisted of nine children, six of whom are living, viz.: George (merchant, Pittston); John, Jennie (Mrs. C. F. Phillips, Pittston), Anna (Mrs. A. G. McMillian, Pittston), Isaac C. and Ida May, Chicago. Our subject was born November 24, 1859, and was educated in the common schools and in Wood's Business College. When a boy, he engaged in working in the mines, and continued this occupation until twenty-five years of age. He then engaged in his present business. May 22, 1884, Mr. Lovell married Miss Amelia Barnes, of Pittston, and by her had two children, viz.: Lulu and Raymond. He is a member of the Knights of the Golden Eagle; and is a Republican. He is an enterprising citizen, never hesitating to support any deserving enterprise that promises public good.
PATRICK LUDDON, miner, Inkerman, was born in Westport, County Mayo, Ireland, November 13, 1859, and is the son of Michael and Mary Luddon, also natives of the same place. He received his education in Ireland, and came to America in the year 1874, settling in Pittston, this county, where he received employment as a laborer in the mines, working for the Pennsylvania Coal Company, and since 1890 he has been a miner. Mr. Luddon was united in marriage January 21, 1882, with Annie, daughter of Brian and Margaret (Collins) Luddon, natives of County Mayo, Ireland, and their union has been blessed with the following issue: Kate, born December 5, 1883; Patrick, born February 2, 1885; Thomas, born March 6, 1886; Michael, born March 5, 1888; Mary, born February 24, 1890, and Margaret, born June 24, 1892. Our subject is a member of the Roman Catholic Church, and the A.O.H., and in politics he is a Democrat.
RUDOLPH LUDWIG, Freeland, is a native of Prussia, born February 5, 1850. When he was about four years of age, his parents emigrated to America and located at Hazleton, where they resided two years, afterward removing to Eckley. At the age of ten years, Rudolph began picking slate, and also worked in various other capacities around the mines for eight years. He then worked with his father, who was a butcher, and there learned the butchering trade. After working with his father for nine years, he came to Freeland and engaged in the business on his own account. He has also carried on various other businesses in Freeland, and conducted a restaurant for six years, and it may be truly said of Mr. Ludwig that in everything he has undertaken he has succeeded. Few men have more friends than he in the community where he resides. On June 16, 1872, Mr. Ludwig was united in marriage with Miss Mary A. Bell, an accomplished young lady of Mauch Chunk, who is of Scottish descent. They have one child, Earnest, who is employed in the office of the Hazleton Sentinel. Mr. Ludwig is a member of the I.O.O.F., the Knights of Pythias and the Knights of Malta. He was one of the men who took an active interest in the incorporation of the borough of Freeland, and has been chief burgess of that town one term. In political views, he is a Republican. He has been a great baseball player, and was at one time a well-known figure on the diamond.
CAPTAIN JOHN H. LUTZ, miner, Plains, was born in Wilkes-Barre September 9, 1842, and is a son of John H. and Mary C. (Swortwood) Lutz, also natives of Pennsylvania, and of German origin. The father, who was a saddler by trade, reared a family of six children, of whom John H. is the second. Our subject began life boating on the canal, a vocation he followed two years; then engaged in mining at Nanticoke, where he remained six years. When his country was in peril, he was one of the first to practically demonstrate his willingness to die for the old flag. On October 15, 1861, he enlisted, at Wilkes-Barre, in Company A, Fifty-second P.V.I.; was transferred to Company D, Ninth P.V.C., and in 1864 re-enlisted in the same company; he was mustered out July 18, 1865. Capt. Lutz has a military record equaled by few, if any; he was with his regiment continuously, taking an active part in sixty-three engagements, and during the last five months of the war he was detailed to help man some guns which had been captured from Gen. Stoneman, and re-captured by the Ninth Pennsylvania Cavalry, and manned by picked men of the regiment. After the war, he went west, and was in Indiana, Illinois, Kansas and Missouri, and went with a Government train of sixty-four oxen from Fort Leavenworth to Fort Larma (where they were stopped by the Indians), and returned at the end of six weeks. He then came to Wilkes-Barre, where for three years he was engaged in the lumber business for Mench & Loenstien, after which he entered the employ of the Lehigh Valley Coal Company, first as carpenter, then as stationary engineer. At present he is engaged in mining. Mr. Lutz was married, July 5, 1869, to Miss Martha, daughter of Abraham and Elizabeth (Slyker) Arnold, natives of Pennsylvania, and of German origin. The fruit of this union has been eight children, viz.: Margaret F., Susan R., Daisy L. (deceased), John H. (deceased), Harry H., Barton B., Sterling L. and Ethel. Capt. Lutz is a member of A.O.K. of M.C. and the G.A.R., in both of which he has held all the offices, and in politics he is a Republican. He is descended from a family of considerable military record; his grandfather, Daniel Lutz, was a soldier in the Revolutionary War, and his uncle, Samuel Lutz, was in the War of 1812. Our subject's title as "Captain" came to him through being captain of a cavalry company raised in 1882, and captain of a military company in the M. C., known as the "Military Rank, Wyoming Company, No. 88."
WILLIAM J. LUTZ, carpenter, Forty Fort, was born December 17, 1860, in Luzerne borough, and is a son of Andrew and Susan (Santee) Lutz, natives of Pennsylvania, and of German origin. Our subject, who is the third in a family of four children, was educated at the common schools, and at the age of twenty-one began work for the Jackson & Wooden Manufacturing Company, of Berwick, Pa., where he remained one year. He then came to Forty Fort, and engaged with J. S. Monks, a contractor of Kingston, with whom he is now employed as carpenter. Mr. Lutz was married May 20, 1882, to Annie, daughter of William and Susan (Wright) Smith, natives of Pennsylvania, and of German descent. By this happy union, he has two children: Keith W. and Beryl M. Mr. and Mrs. Lutz are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church. He is a member of the P.O.S. of A., also of the Forty Fort Band. Politically he is a Prohibitionist.
REV. G. C. LYMAN, pastor of the first M.E. Church of Wyoming borough, was born July 16, 1842, and is a son of Samuel and Eunice (Earl) Lyman, natives of Vermont and Connecticut, and of Scotch and English origin, respectively. They reared a family of twelve children, three of whom are now living. Our subject, who is the eleventh in order of birth, was educated in the common schools, the high school at Montrose, Pa., and the Wyoming Seminary. At the age of twenty-one he enlisted in Company E, Ninth Pennsylvania Cavalry (Captain Ewing), and was with Sherman on his march to the sea; his regiment was the first to whom Johnson offered to surrender. He was discharged July 22, 1865, and returned to his home, where he engaged in farming for four years, teaching school winters. His first charge as minister of the Gospel was at Jenningsville, and he has since preached in the following places: Mehoopany, Clarks Green and Waverly, Carverton, Dallas, Nanticoke, Tunkhannock, and in the spring of 1890 he came to Wyoming, where he is now. Mr. Lyman was married, June 9, 1866, to Lydia A., daughter of John W. and Lucy (Sumner) Bunnell, natives of Pennsylvania, and of English origin, which union was blessed with four sons, viz.: John P., born May 30, 1867 (is conductor on the city railway in Philadelphia), George E. and Charles E. (twins) born March 8, 1871 (Charles E. is shipping clerk for the C.R.R. of N.J., at Scranton; George E. is bookkeeper for Billings & Son, produce merchants, De Ruyter, N.Y.), and I. Olin, born August 2, 1874, at present attending the Wyoming Seminary. Mrs. Lyman and the eldest three boys are members of the M.E. Church; Mr. Lyman is a member of the F. & A.M., I.O.O.F., and G.A.R., and is a strong Prohibitionist in his political predilections.
JOHN A. LYMAN, Hazleton, railroad conductor, Lehigh Valley Division, Reading System. Among the many Lehigh Valley Railroad conductors, none are more widely known and popular that the gentleman whose name heads this sketch. He was born in Columbia county, February 16, 1841, and is a son of James and Lucy (Lowermiller) Lyman, natives of Pennsylvania. At the end of his school life, he worked in a brickyard until June 16, 1861, when he enlisted in Company A, Twenty-eighth Pennsylvania Volunteers, under Capt. A. Pardee, Jr. Mr. Lyman served in the following battles and skirmishes: Bolivar Heights, Va., Leesburg, Va., Antietam, Chancellorsville, Gettysburg, Lookout Mt., Missionary Ridge, Resaca, Ga., Pea Vine Creek, Ringgold, Ga., Cedar Mt., Va., Rappahannock, Va., Sulphur Springs, Rodsy Place Ridge, New Hope Church, Dallas, Pine Hill, Culp's Farm, Marietta, Peach Tree Creek, Siege of Atlanta, Siege of Savannah, and Edisto Island, S. C. Besides these regular engagements, Mr. Lyman participated in about two dozen hot skirmishes. He served until 1864, when the company was mustered out. With the exception of a slight wound received while in the engagement in front of Atlanta, Mr. Lyman passed through the war without receiving an injury, although he participated in some of the fiercest battles that were fought. After returning from war, our subject began railroading, filling the positions of brakeman, baggage master and extra conductor until 1876, when he was promoted to conductor of passenger trains, running between Hazleton and Penn Haven Junction. He has been on the Lehigh Valley Railroad, as conductor, ever since, and truly merits the confidence of the company that he represents, as well as the respect of the traveling public. Mr. Lyman was united in marriage, September 28, 1865, with Miss Mary A., daughter of John and Elizabeth (Atersall) ——, natives of England. Two children have been born to their union, namely: John A. and Elsie E. Mr. Lyman votes the Democratic ticket, and is a member of the following Orders: Railroad Conductors, Jr. O.U.A.M., I.O.R.M., and also of the Fire Department, serving ten years as president of the last named organization. The family attend the Lutheran Church.
ALEXANDER J. LYNCH, justice of the peace, collector and real estate agent, Plymouth, was born October 9, 1853, at Heckscherville, Schuylkill Co., Pa., and is a son of Richard and Margaret (Lawless) Lynch, the former of whom was born on the Isle of Wight, England, the latter in County Kilkenny, Ireland. Edward Lynch, the paternal grandfather of our subject, came to this country first as an English soldier in the War of 1812, and served for twenty-one years under the English flag. Honora McDonald, grandmother of our subject, died recently in Schuylkill county, Pa., at the advanced age of one hundred and six years. Alexander J. Lynch, who is the youngest of nine children, was educated at Heckscherville, Pa. He commenced life as a mine laborer, and worked in and about the mines until he arrived at the age of seventeen years, when he began clerking in the general store of James McAlarney, Plymouth, Pa., where he remained from 1871 to 1878. He then engaged with McKinney & Simmons, remaining with them eighteen months. In 1879, he embarked in the grocery business on his own account, in which he continued till 1887. In 1884, he was elected justice of the peace of Plymouth borough on the Citizens' ticket, and was re-elected in May, 1889, which last term will expire in 1894. Mr. Lynch was married, September 10, 1879, to Eleanor J., daughter of William and Ellen (McCarthy) Heckels, the former a native of England, the latter of Ireland. Three children have been born to this union: Richard G., born May 10, 1885; William, born July 24, 1887, and Alexander, born April 28, 1889, died November 10, 1889. Mrs. Lynch died May 1, 1889. In his political preferences, Mr. Lynch is a Democrat, and in religious faith he belongs to the Roman Catholic Church.
MRS. SARAH A. LYNCH, widow of James Lynch, late farmer, was born in Pittston township, a daughter of William and Sarah A. Collins, both of whom were born in Northampton county. They removed to this county in 1823, locating in Pittston township, where their daughter, Mrs. Sarah A. Lynch, now resides. They purchased 444 acres of land, 100 of which had been improved during his lifetime, and under his supervision. There have been other marked and visible improvements. His family consisted of eleven children, all of whom grew to maturity. The father died in 1857, at the age of sixty-three years, the mother in 1880, aged seventy-three years. Our subject was reared and educated in Pittston township, where she has always resided, and at the age of twenty-one was married to James Lynch, a native of New Jersey. There were two children born to them: Sarah E. (deceased) and James I. Mr. Lynch worked in various points through the Valley, and was employed by the Gravity Railroad Company for twelve years. In 1862 he entered the United States service, as a member of Company C, One Hundred and Forty-third P.V.I., for the term of three years. He died of disease contracted while in the service. He was a member of the I.O.O.F., and a man of ability and influence in his town. His widow still carries on the farm with the assistance of her son, James I., a promising young man. They are general farmers, and still retain the original 444 acres.
JAMES A. LYNN, carpenter, Kingston, was born in Plymouth, January 6, 1843, and is a son of Joze and Jane (Devens) Lynn, both natives of Pennsylvania, the former being of Irish and the latter of German descent. The Lynns came to this country from Ireland at a very early date, in the persons of three brothers, and it is safe to presume that all who bear that name in this country are probably descendants of them. The subject of this sketch was educated in Luzerne county, and at the age of sixteen, began working in the mines at Plymouth, where he was employed about seven years. He then took up carpentry, and after learning it removed to Kingston, where he has since been engaged at his trade. On November 6, 1872, he was married to Miss Malinda, daughter of Aaron and Tebia (Miller) LaBarre, natives of Slatington, Pa., the former of French origin and the latter of Welsh-German descent; both are now living at Slatington, and the father has now reached the patriarchal age of eighty-two years, still a well-preserved and vigorous man; a cousin of his lived to be one hundred and thirteen years old. James A. Lynn is a member of the Knights of Honor, the Patriotic Order Sons of America, and in politics he is a Republican.
PETER E. LYONS, Proprietor of the "Quarry Hotel", Wilkes-Barre township, was born in County Louth, Ireland, August 15, 1862, a son of Nicholas and Margaret (Waters) Lyons. The father came to America in 1870, locating in Wilkes-Barre where he worked in the mines the balance of his life, and his family came two years later. His children now living are: Peter E., Mary R. (Mrs Thomas Maloney), James, Charles, Julia, Bridget, Kate, and Nicholas. Our subject was reared in Wilkes-Barre from ten years of age, received a common-school education, and followed mining nine years, firing three years, and since 1888 has been engaged in the hotel business. He married Miss Catherine, daughter of John and Mary Sullivan, of Wilkes-Barre township, and by her has five children: Mary, Anna, Lizzie, Kate, and James. Mr. Lyons is a member of the Catholic Church. In politics he is a democrat, and was register of Wilkes-Barre township three years, treasurer one year.