GEORGE KAEUFER, outside foreman of the Florence Coal Company (limited) Dupont, was born in Germany, February 11, 1851. He is a son of George and Dorothy (Easterly) Kaeufer, both of whom were born in Germany and emigrated to this country in 1854, locating in Scranton, where they remained two years, thence removing to Wilkes-Barre, where they permanently resided. He was employed in Reichard's beer brewery, where he remained till his death, which occurred in 1862 when he was aged thirty-six years. Mr. Kaeufer was a man of respectability and of sound principles, an indulgent parent, and a loyal citizen of his adopted country. His family consisted of five children, all of whom are living: George, John, Barbara, Jacob and Martin. George is the eldest, and was seven years of age when he came to this country, receiving his education at the common schools in Wilkes-Barre. In early life he learned the painter's trade, which he followed for twelve years in various parts of the county. In 1872 he married Miss Margaret J., daughter of Alexander and Mary McCaa, by whom he had eight children, four of whom are now (1892) living: Ursula, Pauline, Barbara and Charles H. In 1883, he removed to Dupont (then Smithville), where he took charge of the outside works of the Florence Coal Company, under the supervision of W. E. Colburn, in which position he has since remained. His office is to look after everything above the ground and see that all is in perfect working order. Under his supervision there are 130 men and boys. The Florence Mines has a capacity of 800 tons per day, giving employment to 300 hands. He is an active and energetic man of business and under his watchful eye everything outside is kept in perfect harmony. He has held the office of school director and while in office, he was the means of improving the building and system of the schools in his district. He is a member of the Lutheran Church.
JAMES KANE, miner, Inkerman, was born in County Mayo, Ireland, April 12, 1847, and is a son of Patrick and Mary (Welsh) Kane, natives of the same place. They reared a family of nine children of whom James is the seventh in order of birth. Our subject came to this country in 1863, and in October of that year located in Pittston, where he worked in Hughes' brewery for about six months. He was then employed as a laborer in the mines until the year 1869, since which time he has been a miner in the employ of the Pennsylvania Coal Company. On January 12, 1867 Mr. Kane was united in marriage with Mary, daughter of John and Sarah (Fieran) Cohan, natives of County Galway, Ireland, and their union has been blessed with the following issue: Mary born January 6, 1869; John, born May 7, 1874; Thomas, born June 14, 1878 and Belinda, born January 12, 1880. In religion, Mr. Kane is a Roman Catholic. He is a member of the C.T.A.U., and in politics is an Independent.
PATRICK KANE, laborer, Inkerman, was born in County Mayo, Ireland, in 1847, and is a son of Patrick and Mary (Walsh) Kane, natives of the same place. They reared a family of seven children, of whom Patrick is second in order of birth. Our subject received his education in Ireland, and came to America in May 1865, at once settling in Sebastopol, this county, and has been employed from that time to the present by the Pennsylvania Coal Company. He was united in the holy bonds of matrimony December 3, 1862, with Julia, daughter of Dominick and Ann (Conway) McDonald, natives of County Mayo, Ireland, and they have one daughter: Mary born, April 4, 1876. Our subject is a member of the Roman Catholic Church, and the C.T.A.U. In politics he is Republican.
JACOB F. KAPPLER, letter carrier, Wilkes-Barre, was born in Baden, Germany, January 17, 1845, a son of Jacob and Catherine (Brecht) Kappler. His father came to America in 1846, served through the Mexican war, and is now a resident of Lancaster, Pa. Our subject was reared in Germany, educated in the common schools, and came to America in 1858, locating in Wilkes-Barre, where he served an apprenticeship of three years at the shoemaker's trade. He enlisted September 1, 1861, in Company D, Ninth, P.V.C., and re-enlisted January 1, 1864, in the same company and regiment. He participated in the battles of Perryville, Ky., Carter's Raid, Shelbyville, Franklin and Chickamauga, Tenn. and was with Sherman on his march to the sea, taking part in the battles of Savannah, Ga., Averysboro, and Bentonville, N.C. and was one of General Sherman's escorts at the surrender of General Johnston. April 5, 1862, he received seventeen bullet wounds in a guerrilla fight, and still carries three bullets in his body. He was honorably discharged with his regiment at Lexington, N.C., July 29, 1865, returning to Wilkes-Barre, where he resumed his trade, following it until 1875, when he was elected high constable of the city, serving one year. He then spent one year in Kansas, then returned to Wilkes-Barre, and worked at his trade until 1883, when he was appointed letter-carrier, which position he still holds. He was married April 12, 1868, to Catherine, daughter of George and Elizabeth (Schaib) Burkel, of Wilkes-Barre. They have four children: Lizzie S. (Mrs. George Steinhouer), Charles F., Henry W. and Edward S. Mr. Kappler is one of the most popular letter carriers in the city. He is a member of the German Lutheran Church, German Lodge No. 421, I.O.O.F., and G.A.R.; in politics he is a Republican.
G. WASHINGTON KARCHNER, farmer and grocer, P.O. Briggsville, was born in Nescopeck township, July 27, 1849, a son of George and Lydia (Harter) Karchner, and was reared and educated in the township of his birth. He began life as a farmer, and with exception of five years he resided in Salem has always lived in Nescopeck, he now owns and occupies the old homestead of his father, where he was born. In May 1872, Mr. Karchner married Amanda, daughter of Jacob and Elizabeth (Keen) Breyfogle, of Nescopeck, and has six children: Elmer F., Laura M., Mary G., Cora E., Elsie M. and Harvey C. Mr. Karchner is a member of the Lutheran Church, and in politics is a Democrat. He is an enterprising citizen.
HENRY KARCHNER, farmer, P.O. Nescopeck, was born in Nescopeck township July 6, 1830, a son of George and Lydia (Harter) Karchner. He was reared in his native township and educated in the common schools. He learned the carpenter's trade, and erected many buildings in his vicinity. Since 1860, he has resided on the farm he now occupies, which he has partially cleared, and on which he has made all the improvements in buildings. His wife was Maria, daughter of Samuel and Mary (Mosteller) Hartzel, of Nescopeck, and his living children are James, George, Samuel, Lloyd and Hiram. Mr. Karchner is a member of the Reformed Lutheran Church; in politics he is a democrat, and has served as a constable of Nesocpeck nine years.
MARTIN KARCHNER, farmer, P.O. Nescopeck, was born in what is now Conyngham township, Luzerne Co., Pa., February 1, 1836, a son of George and Lydia (Harter) Karchner. His paternal grandfather, Henry Karchner, formerly of Northumberland county, Pa., was a miller by trade, which he followed all his life. His wife was Christina Limbauch, by whom he had four children: Catherine (Mrs. Martin Ritter) Elizabeth (Mrs. Daniel Hill), Lydia (Mrs. David Hartzell) and George. The latter, his only son, was also a miller, and operated what is known as the Empire Mills, in Nescopeck. He died in 1880. His wife was a daughter of Martin Harter of Nescopeck township, a granddaughter of Martin Harter, and a great granddaughter of Martin Harter, the two latter being natives of Germany, and pioneers of what is now Conyngham township. George and Lydia Karchner were the parents of twelve children; Catherine (Mrs. Michael Ruckel), Henry, Elizabeth (Mrs. George Stetler), Christina (Mrs. Hiram Hartzell), Martin, Sarah (Mrs. Frederick Fry), John, Absalom, William, Eliza (Mrs. Jonathan Miller), Washington (all living) and Jacob (deceased.) Our subject was reared in Nescopeck township. He is a carpenter by trade but is primarily engaged in farming. He was in the Civil War, enlisting in 1861, in Company K., Eighty-first P.V., and was wounded at the battle of Seven Pines, being honorbly discharged after two years of service. In 1864, he married Mary, daughter of Christian and Hannah (Heller) Kengle, of Weissport, Carbon Co., Pa., and has six children living: Elizabeth, Henry, Elmer, Robert, Nora and Blanche. Mr. Karchner has served as school director of Nescopeck township for eighteen years. In politics he is independent.
PETER KASCHENBACH, furniture dealer, Wilkes-Barre, was born in Prussia, in 1824, and is a son of W. and Eva (Zenson) Kaschenbach. Being left an orphan at an early age, he was thrown on his own resources; he learned the cabinet-maker's trade, which he followed for nineteen years in his native land. In 1852, he came to America, locating at Honesdale, Pa., where he worked as a journeyman two years, and afterward five years at Binghamton, N.Y. In 1859, he located in Wilkes-Barre and in 1861, embarked in the furniture business, in which he still continues. In 1849, Mr. Kaschecnbach married Gertrude, daughter of Hubert and Anna M. (Losen) Ackerman, of Germany, and has five children: Gertrude, Henry, John, Mary and Lizzie (Mrs. George Keller.) Mr. Kaschenbach is one of the leading businessmen of Wilkes-Barre; he is a member of the Catholic Church, and in politics is a Democrat.
JOSEPH W. KASPER was born in Pittston, December 23, 1865, a son of John Kasper and was educated in the public schools of his native city. At the age of fourteen he entered the office of the Evening Press, of Pittston, where he set type about two years, then he engaged in a meat market with his father on Exeter Street, where has since continued. He has been a member of the Eagle Hose Company three years, and secretary of same, one term; is a member of the M.E. Church of West Pittston; of the P.O.S. of A., of which he has served one term as vice president, and the K.G.E.; politically he is a Republican. Mr. Kasper married October 19, 1876, Minnie Dodd, of Pittston, and has the following children: Helen, May and Harold.
G. A. CHARLES KASTRUP, senior member of the firm of Kastrup & Keck, bakers and confectioners, Ashley, was born in Westphalia, Germany, March 24, 1855, and is the only child of Charles W. and Henrietta (Strunk) Kastrup. The father, who had served seven years in the German army, was a contractor, and before the birth of our subject was killed by a falling timber while building a glass factory. After his death the mother married Peter Creamer. Mr. Kastrup was educated in Germany, and worked at manufacturing lime and brick and at stone-cutting until October 1871, when he came to America, locating in Fort Lee, N.J., where he remained eighteen months and learned the baker's trade. After this he worked at his trade five years in New York and then returned to Fort Lee where he engaged in the butcher business for one year. At the end of that time he devoted his time to his regular trade in and about New York for a period of eleven years. In 1882, he removed to Wilkes-Barre where he had charge of Craft's bakery for eighteen months and in 1883 he came to Ashley and commenced business. February 18, 1882, Mr. Kastrup married Miss Veronika, daughter of Henry and Theresa (Ricketer) Keck. They have one child, Annie Theresa. Mr. and Mrs. Kastrup are members of the German Lutheran and Catholic Churches, respectively; in political views he is a Democrat.
JOHN C. KAUFER, alderman, Tenth Ward, Wilkes-Barre, was born in Wilkes-Barre, June 2, 1857, and is a son of George and Dorothea (Easterlee) Kaufer, natives of Germany, who emigrated to America about 1851, and the following year located in Wilkes-Barre, where the father, who was a brewer by trade, worked at that occupation until his death in 1862. His children were nine in number, five of whom are now living: George (superintendent Florence Coal Co.), John C., Barbara P. (Mrs. Alexander Schmallbach) Jacob R. and Martin. Our subject was reared in Wilkes-Barre, educated in the public schools, and served an apprenticeship of three and one-half years in a printing office, after which he worked as a journeyman printer twelve years. In February 1885, he was elected alderman of the Tenth Ward of the City of Wilkes-Barre, and re-elected in February 1890, for a second term. In March 1882, he married Catherine C., daughter of Henry and Catherine Rocker, of Wilkes-Barre, who died January 7, 1887. Our subject and wife had three children: Dorothea H., Caroline C. and George R. Mr. Kaufer is a popular official, and a well-known citizen of Wilkes-Barre. He is a member of Zion's German Reformed Church, of the I.O.O.F., and in politics he is a Democrat.
JOHN KAUFMAN, M.D., Hazleton, is a promising and prosperous young physician. He was born at Hazleton, March 28, 1864, and is the third in a family of ten children of John and Mary A. (Sonn) Kaufman, also natives of Hazleton. He was reared and educated in his native city, and after graduating at the Hazleton high school, he entered in the fall of 1885, the Hahnemann Medical College, Philadelphia, graduating therefrom in the spring of 1888. He then came directly to Hazleton where he began practice of his profession, and is now building up a good practice. Dr. Kaufman is unmarried and lives with his parents at No. 122 N. Wyoming Street. He is a member of the State Homopathic Society, of the English Lutheran Church, belongs to the Knights of Malta, and in politics votes the Democratic ticket.
WILLIAM KAUFFMAN, farmer and dairyman, P.O. Conyngham, was born in Prussia, June 9, 1832, a son of Henry and Mary (Daute) Kauffman, who came to America in 1854, settling in Hazleton, this county, where the father was employed in the breaker and where he resided until his death. His children were: William, Tobias, John, Catherine, Dorothea and Lizzie. Our subject was reared in Germany, and came to America in 1851; he worked in the mines at Hazleton two years, and then learned the blacksmith's trade which he followed up to 1865, since which time he has been engaged in farming in Sugarloaf township, since 1884 he has also been in the dairy business. He married Hannah, only daughter of Justus and Hannah (Stunntz) Rimbach, and has nine children: Catherine, Mary E., Amanda, Anna D., William H., Harry G., Otilla H., Lizzie C., and George E. Mr. Kauffman and family are members of the reformed Church; in politics he is a Democrat.
SAMUEL KAY, farmer, P.O. Dupont, was born in England, October 29, 1833, a son of Edmund and Ann (Miles) Kay, both of whom were natives of England, where they died. The father had been a soldier in the British army. Our subject was twenty years of age when he emigrated to this country in 1853. He located in Otisville, Orange Co., N.Y., where he was employed in copper mining, and remained there till 1865 when he removed to Pittston, this county, and engaged in coal mining. In 1867 he came to his present home on a lot of one hundred acres of unimproved land, which by patient and incessant toil he has cultivated and beautified beyond competition. His house is built out of stone quarried on his own farm. He is a practical man, and understands agricultural pursuits to perfection. In 1853 Mr. Kay married Mrs. Rebecca Eaton, daughter of George Kuler and by her he had one daughter, Elizabeth, who married Thomas Huett, and engineer. Mr. Kay is a consistent member of the M.E. Church, and a man of deep piety.
PATRICK J. KEARNS, insurance agent, Pittston. This gentleman is filling his position of trust and responsibility by virtue of his worth as a businessman and high character for integrity and energy. He was born at Pittston, Pa., August 30, 1866, and is a son of Dominick and Mary (Moran) Kearns, natives of County Mayo, Ireland, who came to America in 1865, settling in Pittston, Pa., where they reared seven children, namely: Patrick J. (our subject), Mary E., Bezzie, John (deceased), Katie, Joseph and Dominick. Our subject was educated in the public schools of Pittston, and at the age of fourteen commenced life as a messenger boy at the mines, in which capacity he was employed five years. Then more than ever feeling the need of an education, he returned to school, where he remained three years. He then accepted a position as hoisting engineer at the Butler Shaft, where he worked for two years, at the end of which time he took a position as freight conductor on the Lehigh Valley Railroad, remaining there until 1890, when he accepted the agency of the Ętna Insurance Company. He has since followed that line of business and has built up an extensive connection in his locality, which speaks well of his ability as an insurance man. Mr. Kearns has made vocal music an extensive study and for many years he was chorister in St. John's Church in Pittston. He was united in marriage October, 23, 1889, with Miss Katie, daughter of Patrick and Catherine (Quinn) Corcoran, natives of Ireland, to which union have been born two children: John (deceased) and Frank. The family are members of the Catholic Church.
JAMES KEATING, saloon keeper, Pittston, was born in County Queen's, Ireland, in 1841, a son of John and Betsy (Murphy) Keating, both also natives of Ireland. The former died in his native land, the latter emigrated to the United States in May 1856, locating in Pittston township, this county. Her family consisted of ten children, nine of whom grew to maturity and are now living. Our subject was fifteen years of age when he came to this country and received his education in Pittston. He was a miner by occupation, at which he worked for twenty-eight years, and has resided in Pittston since he first located there. He has been a successful saloon keeper for eleven years, owning his residence and the saloon adjoining. He is a man of influence in his party, a democrat, and has served his township for seven years as supervisor, giving entire satisfaction to all. At the age of twenty-one, in June 1861, he married Miss Margaret, daughter of Edward and Mary Tool, and by her he had six children, four of whom are living: Edward, John, William, and Jennie. For his second wife he married Miss Mary Keefe, by whom he had four children: Michael, Charles, Lucy, and Tillie, all living. The two elder members of the first family are married. Mr. Keating is a member of the Roman Catholic Church.
MRS. MARY KEATING, (widow of Thomas Keating) hotel Keeper, Larksville, was born in County Clare, Ireland, in 1840. She is a daughter of Timothy and Mary (Maloney) Russell, both of whom were born in Ireland and emigrated to America in 1849, stopping for a short time in St. Johns, N.B., previous to their arrival in the United States. They first located in Wellsburg, N.Y., where they remained a few years and in 1855 removed to this county, settling in Plymouth township, where the husband was employed by the railroad company, in its construction through that country. He is now living at an advanced age of eighty-seven years, having been born in 1805, and makes his home with his daughter, Mrs. Keating. Mrs. Mary Russell died in 1886. Their family consisted of eleven children, eight of whom grew to maturity, three now living: Michael C., Mary, and Sarah. Mrs. Keating, the second in the family was reared and educated in Akron, N.Y. In 1860 she married Thomas Keating, and of this union were born seven children, five of whom are living: Mary E., Thomas R., Ellen, Anna and Patrick L. Of these, Mary E. married John F. Connole, hotel keeper; Ellen married Andrew J. Lynch, hotel keeper. Mrs. Keating has lived in Larksville since 1859, keeping hotel since 1867, and owning both her hotel and an adjoining block. She is a shrewd business woman, of excellent character, and has been a widow for twenty-two years, her husband having died February 14, 1870.
HENRY F. KECK, of the firm of Kastrup & Keck, Ashley, was born in Westphalia, Germany, August 5, 1855, a son of Henry and Thressa (Rickert) Keck. The father managed a hotel, a farm and a brickyard. He reared a family of eleven children, six of whom are living: Augustus who succeeded his father in business, and added the manufacture of clay pipes; Anthony, professor in a college at Brian, Germany; Rebecca, Wife of G. A. C. Kastrup; Henry F., John, a professor in a college in Germany; and Helena, wife of Henry Dempawolf, locksmith and general merchant, Germany. Our subject came to America in 1875, locating in New York City, where he tended bar for Smith & McNeil ten years. He was next employed in the "Wyoming Valley Hotel" in Wilkes-Barre for six months; and in 1884 engaged in his present business. December 1, 1884, Mr. Keck married Miss Annie, daughter of Anthony and Thressa (Sakie) Hager, natives of Westphalia, Germany, and by her had one child, Harry. Our subject and his family are members of the Catholic Church. In his political views, he is independent.
MORRISON J. KECK, slate operator, Wilkes-Barre, was born in Hazleton, Luzerne Co., Pa., August 12, 1848, a son of David B. and Catherine (Dietrick) Keck. His paternal grandfather, Solomon Keck, was a native of Allentown, Pa., whose father, a native of Germany, was a pioneer merchant of Lehigh county, this State. Solomon Keck was an early settler of Luzerne county (lower end), a merchant and a farmer, and died in Conyngham Valley. David B. Keck was a native of Luzerne county, was a farmer and a mechanic, most of his life being passed in Hazleton where he was employed by A. Pardee & Co. His children were Elizabeth M. (Mrs. William R. Megarry), Gilbert H., Solomon, Jacob S., Morrison J., Francis M., David A., Philip, Delphena (Mrs. Baxter Hutchinson). Our subject was reared in Hazleton where he received a public school education, and at the age of fifteen years he commenced the molder's trade. Serving afterward an apprenticeship at the drug business, he located March 1, 1869, at Ashley where he took charge of a drug store, and in 1873 he became a partner in the store under the firm name of Diefenderfer & Keck, in which he continued three years. He then (1876) returned to Hazleton and purchased the store where he had served his apprenticeship; in 1882 he sold out, removed to Bangor, Northampton Co., Pa. And embarked in the slate business in which he has since continued, with residence at Wilkes-Barre since 1879. He is a stockholder and superintendent of the Yule Creek Marble and & Mining Company, Crystal River, Colo., and is president of the Elk Mountain Railroad Company of Colorado. On May 8, 1873, Mr. Keck married Medora, daughter of Ephraim P. and Emeline (Smith) Lutz, of Columbia county, Pa., and has five children: Bessie T., Morris M., Marion R., Medora J. and Donald W. In 1863 Mr. Keck was a drummer boy during the "emergency" in 1871 he enlisted in the National Guard of Pennsylvania, and was elected captain from the ranks same year, but was compelled to resign same year on account of being assistant postmaster at Ashley. On July 6, 1877, he again enlisted, in a company formed at Hazleton; was elected first lieutenant, and before being commissioned was elected captain, July 21, 1877, the day the riots broke out in Wilkes-Barre; in that capacity he served during the riots in the old Ninth Regiment, then called the Third Division. In 1878 when the reorganization of the National Guards of Pennsylvania took place, the old Ninth Regiment was disbanded with the exception of Company H, which Capt. Keck commanded, and this company was transferred to the Twelfth Regiment with headquarters at Williamsport. On May 26, 1879, Capt. Keck was appointed paymaster of the Twelfth; October 30, 1879, was elected lieutenant-colonel of the new Ninth Regiment; re-elected October 30, 1884, June 10, 1885, was elected colonel and re-elected June 10, 1890; took part in the Homestead riots of 1892, and during that time was commander of the Third Brigade in the absence of Gen. Gobin. He was the prime mover, and to his efforts are due the building of the Ninth Regiment armory, the finest edifice of its kind in the State. In connection with a number of citizens and ladies they held a fair from May 19 to May 29, 1886, resulting in a profit of thirty-one thousand odd dollars, and with the assistance of ex-Col. Reynolds, Major Price and Charles Parrish, raised by subscription $12,000 additional. Socially Col. Keck is a Knight Templar; in politics he is a Republican.
FREDERICK P. KEELY, farmer, P.O. Sybertsville, was born in Berks county, Pa., July 21, 1841, and is a son of Isaac and Sarah (Prutman) Keely. His paternal grandfather was Amos Keely, a farmer of Berks county, Pa. Our subject was reared in Pennsylvania and educated in the common schools. He served an apprenticeship of three years at the blacksmith's trade, commenced business for his own account when but nineteen years of age, and has followed it sixteen years, fourteen years of the time in Luzerne county—three years when he was located in Hobbie, and eleven years in Sybertsville, where he located in 1869. Since 1880 he has been engaged in farming. His wife was Eliza A., daughter of Daniel and Lydia (Flickinger) Spade, of Sugar Loaf township, and by her he had five children: Elvira (Mrs. Joseph Kline), Esther (Mrs. Elwood Walk), Frank (deceased), C. Norris, and Frank D. Mr. Keely is a prominent and well-known citizen of Sugar Loaf township, is a member of the Lutheran Church, in politics is a Democrat, and served as school director of Sugar Loaf township three years.
EVAN H. KEEN, agent and dealer in agricultural implements, P.O. Nescopeck, was born in Nescopeck township, April 30, 1832, a son of Peter and Hannah (Hughes) Keen. His paternal grandfather, George Keen, a native of New Jersey, was a pioneer of Nescopeck, where he owned a large tract of land and kept a hotel, passing the remainder of his life there. In 1811, he gave the land for the Lutheran Church, and built the principal part of the old log structure. He was twice married, and reared a large family. The father of our subject was born in Nescopeck township in 1805; he was a carpenter and also followed farming. He married a daughter of Evan Hughes, of Hughesville, Lycoming county, Pa., and their children were six in number, viz.: Evan H., Edmund W., George Alex, Rebecca, (Mrs. Joseph Faust), Martha V. (Mrs. Aaron Harter), and Ellen (Mrs. G. A. R. Smith.) Evan H. Keen was reared in Nescopeck and educated in the common schools. He learned the carpenter's trade, which he followed eighteen years, later engaging in farming, and for the past twenty years he has been handling farm machinery. His wife was Elizabeth M., daughter of George and Louisa (Bertram) Everhard, of Hollenback township. They have four children: Clara (Mrs. John A. Mowrey), Writer M., Hannah L. (Mrs. J. W. Naugle) and Charles E. Mr. Keen is a member of the F. & A.M., I.O.O.F., and K. of M.; in politics, he is a Republican.
CHRISTIAN KEIL, blacksmith for the Delaware & Hudson Coal Company, at the Mill Creek Mine, Hudson, was born in Germany, November 3, 1825. He is the son of John and Margaret (Guchim) Keil; the former of whom was a blacksmith by trade. They reared a family of ten children, of whom four sons are now living, viz.: Louis, a farmer in Ohio, Christian, and Charles (a teacher) and Henry (a blacksmith), both in their native country. Our subject came to America in 1868, and after laboring at the Baltimore No. 2 Shaft, for eighteen months, engaged with his present employers, for whom he has since worked at his trade. In 1888 he built his present comfortable residence. Mr. Keil was married in 1864 to Miss Margaret, daughter of Jacob and Eliza (Lent) Guchim, and they had four children, viz.: Charles, a farmer in Illinois; Louisa (Mrs. Peter Straub), Caroline (Mrs. August Becker), who died in Germany at the age of thirty-three, and Otto. Mrs. Keil died May 22, 1862, and Mr. Keil was married November 1867 to Mrs. Elizabeth (Apple) Stark, daughter of Henry and Catherine (Kirchner) Apple, of Germany, and widow of Henry Stark, by whom she had three children, viz.: John, who died at the age of thirty-eight years; Catherine (Mrs. James Martin); and Henry J. Mr. Keil and his wife are members of the German Lutheran Church in Wilkes-Barre; in his political views, he is a stanch Democrat. Since his immigration, Mr. Keil has made five trips to his native country and various parts of Europe.
OTTO KEIL, blacksmith, Miners Mills, was born in Darmstadt, Germany, October 29, 1856, and is a son of Christian Keil, of Plains township, this county. Our subject came to America in 1872, and located in Mill Creek, where he worked at his trade with his father, and later, at the same place, for the Delaware & Hudson Coal Company for thirteen years. He then opened a shop, which he had built, and has since been carrying on a prosperous trade; he also erected his residence adjoining the shop. Mr. Keil was married January 21, 1887, to Miss Mary S. Riechers, who was born January 11, 1854, a daughter of Frederick Riechers, of Miners Mills, and they have five children, viz.: Henry M., Catharine E., Louisa K. A., Charles F., and George J. Mr. and Mrs. Keil are members of the German Lutheran Church; he is a member of the I.O.R.M., and in politics is a republican.
G. W. KEISER, farmer, P.O. Wanamie, was born in Hamilton township, Northampton county, January 12, 1830, son of Charles and Sarah Keiser, both of whom were born in the same place. They removed to this county about 1838, locating in Hanover township, where they lived for a number of years, as good, loyal citizens, who enjoyed the full confidence of their fellow men. They reared a family of nine children, six of whom are living. G. W. is the eldest in the family. He was reared and educated in Hanover township, and learned the occupation of sawyer, which business he followed for ten years. In 1854 he married Miss Anna, daughter of Jesse and Elizabeth (Fink) Rosencrans. She bore him nine children, seven of whom are living (1892): Orlando C., John W., Sarah E., James M., Martha J., J. C. and Rose M. Mrs. Anna (Rosecrans) Keiser was born in Slocum township. She is the granddaughter of John Rosecrans, a native of New Jersey, who in a very early day removed to this county. He was a pioneer school-teacher. He owned 200 acres of land, reared a family of seven children, and died in 1850, aged seventy years. His son Jesse Rosencrans, father of Mrs. Keiser, owned 300 acres, 100 of which he cleared during his lifetime. He reared a family of nine children and died in 1872, aged sixty-five years. Mr. Keiser owns thirty acres of good land in Slocum township. Politically he is a stanch Democrat.
THOMAS J. KEISER, Ashley, locomotive engineer on the Central Railroad of New Jersey, was born in Ashley, October 23, 1857, and is the youngest child of Thomas and Emily (Downing) Keiser. The father was born July 28, 1813, died February 21, 1872. The mother, born January 25, 1817, died September 15, 1889. Our subject's grandfather, Christian Keiser was among the early settlers in Ashley, and afterward removed to Lisbon, Wis. The family consisted of nine children, Mary E. (Mrs. John W. Colborn), born December 10, 1836, died December 27, 1889; Charles F., carpenter for Maffet & Co., born March 31, 1839, and died July 14, 1872; Isaiah, born October 16, 1840, and who was wounded near Spottsylvania, May 6, 1864, dying the next day, being at the time a member of the Sixth Pennsylvania Cavalry; Emma M. (Mrs. Joseph Pool) born June 18, 1843, died October 3, 1875 (after her death her husband, a locomotive engineer, moved to Tyler, Texas, where he was killed); Jessie, born June 26, 1846, a carpenter contractor, Ashley; William T., born December 22, 1848, died October 13, 1850; Ella E., born January 25, 1854, wife of Ervine Bellows, boiler-maker foreman, Wilkes-Barre, Crissie, born August 23, 1855, wife of David Philips, stationary engineer, Ashley; and Thomas, the youngest. The subject of our sketch was educated in the public schools of his native town. He and his brother Jesse were in the lumber business at Plymouth for a time. After that he was for two years brakeman on the road he is now with, and after six years was promoted to his present position in 1888. He is a Knight Templar, a member of the I.O.O.F., and is a Republican in his political views.
SAMUEL C. KELCHNER, farmer, P.O. Conyngham, was born in Columbia county, Pa., December 31, 1837, and is a son of Jacob and Matilda (Colman) Kelchner, early settlers of Columbia county. He was reared in his native county, educated in the common schools, and learned the blacksmith's trade, which he followed thirteen years. He then engaged in farming, in which he still continues and has been a resident of Sugar Loaf township since 1876. Mr. Kelchner was united in marriage with Phoebe, daughter of Anthony and Lydia (Hess) Walp, of Berwick, Pa., and by her he has five children: Lloyd, Sarah A. (Mrs. Harvey Fenstermacher), Fannie (Mrs. Christopher Bummer), Lizzie (Mrs. Samuel Drasher) and Melville. Mr. Kelchner is a representative farmer and citizen, he is a member of the Lutheran Church, and in politics is a Democrat.
C. KELLER, jeweler, Luzerne, was born in Columbia county, Pa., September 23, 1866, a son of Adam and Mary (Herring) Keller, natives of Pennsylvania. There were four children in the family, our subject being the eldest. Mr. Keller received his education in Columbia county, and soon after engaged in milling, an occupation which he followed until October, 1889, when he opened a jewelry store in Luzerne, and is building up a good trade. Mr. Keller is a follower of the Democratic Party, is a member of the M.E. Church, and belongs to the I.O.O.F.
FRANK KELLER, (deceased) and his wife (who is still living) emigrated to this country from Mont Simsim, Biran, Germany, in 1854, locating at Pittston, Pa., after which they moved to Wyoming. Mr. Keller worked as overseer of machinery at the Exeter Shaft, where, on March 9, 1875, he was caught in a side cogwheel and killed, he left a widow and seven children. Mrs. Keller and her son John, are proprietors of a restaurant on Wyoming Avenue. The other children are Eva (Mrs. Jacob Rhinehart), Martin, a bottler [see sketch]; Mary, who is a Sister in a convent in Baltimore; George, a clerk in Wilkes-Barre; Frank, in the Wyoming Shovel Works, and Jacob, in the Terra Cotta Works. Mrs. Keller opened her restaurant in 1877, and has since catered to the public, and her son John, who presides at the bar, spares no pains to please all, having won a host of friends. He is one of the most prominent Democrats in Wyoming borough, and has been a member of the Democratic County Committee several times. The family are all Democrats and are members of the German Catholic Church.
HARRY M. KELLER, M.D., physician in charge and superintendent of the Hazleton Hospital. This successful young physician was born in Stroudsburg, Pa., November 24, 1866, and is a son of Charles B. and Mary (Walton) Keller, natives of Monroe county. He was reared in his native town, where he attended the high school, and in 1884 he entered the medical department of the University of Pennsylvania, from which he graduated in the class of 1887. Immediately after graduating he entered the Philadelphia Hospital as resident physician, where he remained sixteen months. This was not his first experience at hospital work, however, as his vacations had been spent in St. Mary's Hospital, where he had a large practical experience. After graduating, he accepted the position as assistant to Dr. George S. Wentz, of Jeddo, Pa., where he remained two years. He was then elected superintendent and surgeon of the Hazleton Hospital, which incumbency he has since successfully and most ably filled. An appropriation of $60,000 was in 1887 made by the State for this magnificent building, and it is a notable fact that the commission in charge of the work kept the whole expense of erecting this remarkably large and convenient hospital within the amount appropriated by the State. It was handsomely furnished by funds raised by public subscription. The building is a handsome two-story brick structure, located in the eastern part of the city. The departments are conveniently arranged; there are two large wards containing twenty-four beds each, and a convenient modern operating room, office, parlor and council rooms, besides the cozy apartments for those who are employed about the place. The hospital staff consists of the following members: Superintendent and surgeon, assistant surgeon, three trained male nurses, one clerk, a chief engineer, two firemen, five domestics and a matron. The record for the first year, 1891, shows that 222 cases were admitted for treatment, and there were 136 dispensary cases. Dr. Keller is known as a skillful and courteous practitioner, and his conduct of the institution under his charge has on many occasions been warmly commented on.
JOSEPH H. KELLER, farmer, P.O. Larksville, was born in Plymouth township, July 13, 1864, a son of Philip and Ellen (Hunter) Keller, the former born in Plymouth, the latter's birthplace not known. Philip was a son of Joseph Keller who removed from Northampton county here about 1807, locating in Plymouth township on a farm containing about 150 acres, and under which were valuable coalfields. Before his death, he disposed of the coal, and retained the surface. After the death of Joseph Sr., his son Philip bought out the heirs and retained the homestead. Philip was a practical farmer and a good businessman. His family consisted of six children, all of whom are living. Our subject, the fifth by birth, was educated in his native town at the common schools and always confined himself to agricultural pursuits. September 3, 1888, he married Miss Sarah, daughter of Thomas and Sarah Waters, and by her had two children, both of whom are living; Harry H. and Laura. Mr. Keller owns a farm of forty acres of valuable land in good condition, on which he raises a general crop. He is independent in politics. Mrs. Sarah Keller was born in Wales, and came to this country when two years of age.
MARTIN KELLER, bottler of lager beer, porter, and soft drinks, Wyoming borough, was born January 7, 1854, second in the family of seven children of Frank and Barbara (Endres) Keller, natives of Baiern, Germany. He was educated in the common schools, and at the age of twenty-five years began life for himself at blacksmithing, at which trade he worked for seven years, when he embarked in his present business, and has since carried on a general bottling trade, delivering his goods by wagon to all the smaller towns in his section. Mr. Keller is an honorable, upright man, doing a large business, and has made many friends. He is a member of the German Catholic Church, and in politics he is a strong Democrat. In 1887 he built his present home.
GEORGE M. KELLY, farmer, P.O. Larksville, was born in Plymouth township, May 26, 1850, and is a son of Thomas and Harriet (Howard) Kelly, the former of whom was born in 1810, in Ireland, the latter in Plymouth township. Thomas Kelly came to this country when twelve years of age, first locating in Plymouth, where he made his permanent home. He was a miner by occupation and also a boatman on the canal for some years; he was a man of nerve and physical strength, who worked hard and accumulated some means previous to his death, which occurred July 24, 1887; his wife died in 1885. Their family consisted of two children, one now living, George M. The latter was reared in Plymouth and educated in Wyoming Seminary, and in early life studied telegraphy, but does not follow it at present. He has lived in Plymouth all his lifetime, and is now retired. April 8, 1876, he married Miss Rachel, daughter of James and Almeda Washburn, and they have had five children, one of whom is living, Joseph B. Mrs. Kelly was born in Carbondale, in 1856. Mr. Kelly owns a farm of twenty-seven acres, besides twelve houses. He is a well-read and intelligent man, with a keen eye to business. Politically he is a Democrat.
JOHN KELLY, of Georgetown, Wilkes-Barre township, a native of County Longford, Ireland, was born in 1816, and is a son of John and Ann (Dempsey) Kelly. He was reared in his native county, where, after attaining his majority, he was engaged in farming until 1864, when he came to America, locating in what is now South Wilkes-Barre, Pa., and in 1866 moving to his present residence in Georgetown, where he has since resided and where he has been principally employed about the coal mines. In 1852, he married Margaret, daughter of Farrell and Catherine (Doran) Reilly, of County Westmeath, Ireland and by her had seven children: Mary A. (Mrs. Patrick Donahue), Patrick F., Kate (Mrs. George Black), Margaret (married to James McGinty, and has one son, Frank P.), John, Ellen (deceased), and Sarah. Mrs. McGinty has been a popular teacher in the public schools of Wilkes-Barre township twelve years, and Miss Sarah Kelly, since 1890. Mr. Kelly and family are members of the Catholic Church; in politics, he is a Democrat.
JOHN E. KELLY, fire-boss, Empire Shaft, Wilkes-Barre, was born in County Longford, Ireland, January 14, 1863, a son of John and Margaret (Riley) Kelly, who came to America in 1865, and settled in Wilkes-Barre township, where they still reside. Our subject was reared in Wilkes-Barre township from two years of age, educated in the public schools and began life as a slate picker in the breaker at nine years. He worked as a miner five years, and has held position of fire-boss at the Empire Shaft since March 1890. October 28, 1891, Mr. Kelly married Miss Margaret, daughter of Michael Millnamow, of Wilkes-Barre. He is a member of the Catholic Church. He is a Democrat in politics and served one term as assessor of Wilkes-Barre.
PATRICK F. KELLY, merchant, P.O. Wilkes-Barre, was born in County Longford, Ireland, January 14, 1855, and is a son of John and Margaret (Reilly) Kelly, who came to America in 1864, locating in Wilkes-Barre township, where they still reside. Their children were Mary A. (Mrs. Patrick Donohue), Patrick F., Catherine (Mrs. George Black), Margaret (Mrs. James McGinty), John, Ellen (deceased) and Sarah. Margaret and Sarah are teachers in the Wilkes-Barre township schools. Our subject was reared in Wilkes-Barre township from nine years of age, was educated in the public schools of same, and began life as a slate picker in the breaker. He later worked as a carpenter in the mines until 1886 when he embarked in merchandising, in which he has since continued. In March 1882, he married Margaret, daughter of Bernard and Margaret (Sheridan) Reynolds, by whom he has had five children: Henry, John, Daniel, Bernard (deceased) and James. Mr. Kelly is a member of the Catholic Church; in politics, he is a Democrat and is one of the school directors of Wilkes-Barre township.
GEORGE W. KELLMER, of the Kellmer Piano & Organ Works, Hazleton. Among the many large manufacturing concerns of Hazleton, perhaps none are more prominent or ably represented than the Kellmer Piano & Organ Works, with which the subject of this sketch is prominently identified. Mr. Kellmer was born June 21, 1868 at Hazleton, Pa., and is a son of Peter Kellmer, one of the pioneers of this section and the first man to establish a photograph gallery in Hazleton, which gallery is still operated by the sons, who do a thriving business. The gentleman whose name opens this sketch was educated in the public schools of Hazleton and after completing the high school course, learned the piano and organ manufacturing business, in a short time becoming skillful in not only constructing the instruments, but in tuning as well. The business was established in June 1883, by Peter Kellmer. The new factory was built during the years 1883 and 1884, and opened for business in April, the latter year. The establishment is located in a convenient part of the city, and consists of an immense brick building, which is divided up into commodious storerooms and workshops. The Kellmer piano needs no commendation in this work, as its reputation is already established, both in this country and in Europe. Our subject was married August 6, 1891, to Miss Alma M. Kupp, daughter of S. H. Kupp, a resident of Scranton.
GEORGE W. KELLNER, foreman at Deringer Colliery No. 2, Gowan, was born in Germany, December 4, 1853, a son of George and Christine (Knease) Kellner. They came to America in 1856, first locating at Hazleton, and later removing to Eckley, this county, where the father engaged in mining and resided until his death. His children were George R., Christine, Lizzie (Mrs. William Diehl), and Catherine. Our subject was reared in Eckley and served an apprenticeship of three years at the carpenter's trade, which he has followed since 1874, holding his present position, the carpenter's trade, which he has followed since 1874, holding his present position at Deringer since 1887. Mr. Kellner was married November 29, 1888, to Maria, a daughter of John and Lovina (Heimbach) Knelly, and they have three children: Lovina C., and Rudolph W. and Ralph G. (twins.) Mr. Kellner is a member of the Lutheran Church, and of the F. & A.M., and in politics is a Democrat.
JOSEPH KELSHAW, mine foreman, Jeansville, was born in Shropshire, England, July 31, 1839, a son of William and Harriet (Vaughn) Kelshaw, natives of England. He is the fourth in order of birth in a family of nine children, and was reared and educated in England. At the age of sixteen he became a coal miner, and one year later he began sinking shafts, continuing in that occupation for ten years. When twenty-six years old he was appointed underground viewer in England, and followed that business three years in Staffordshire, three years in North Wales, seven years in South Yorkshire, and four years in South Wales. In 1888 Mr. Kelshaw came to America, locating in Pottsville, Schuylkill Co., Pa., where he worked at mining for one year. He then removed to Beaver Meadows, Carbon county, and secured a position as mine foreman with Coxe Bros. & Co., in which capacity he remained for five years. In 1887 he came to Jeansville, and took his present position as mine foreman at No. 4, Jeansville Colliery, operated by J. C. Hayden & Co. Mr. Kelshaw was married October 14, 1861, to Miss Emma, daughter of Jonathan and Mary (Jones) Brown, natives of Wales. To this union have been born thirteen children, namely: William, Jonathan, Emily, Joseph H., Thomas, James, Richard, Harriet, Margaret, Florence A., Matilda, Albert E. (deceased) and Albert E. (also deceased). Mr. Kelshaw is a supporter of the Republican Party; he attends the Methodist Episcopal Church and is a member of the Knights of Pythias, Sons of Temperance, and Knights of the Golden Eagle.
DANIEL W. KEMBEL, outside foreman, Parsons, was born in Lower Mahanoy, Northumberland county, Pa., May 25, 1836, and is a son of David and Lydia (Wert) Kembel, the former a native of Pennsylvania and of Holland (Later of New Jersey) origin, the latter a native of Pennsylvania and of Holland lineage. Our subject was reared on a farm, educated in the common schools and began life for himself at the age of twenty-one, learning the miller's trade, at which he worked in the following places: Millersburg, Mount Joy, Mahanoy City and Sunbury. On August 19, 1861, he enlisted at Allentown in Company C, Forty-seventh Pennsylvania Volunteers, which company was sent to Washington, D.C., and from there to Arlington Heights, thence to Key West, Fla., where they were stationed in the Gulf Squadron. He was in the following engagements: Hilton Head, Port Royal, Beaufort and Pocataligo; did provost duty at Key West for one year, and was then sent on the Red River expedition, where he was at the battles of Pleasant Hill, Sabine Cross Roads and Alexandria, was on the march to Appalachee Bay, and was at the capture of Fort Finegan. He was then sent to Washington, and served under Sheridan throughout his Shenandoah raid, and was discharged at Berryville, VA, September 19, 1864, his term of enlistment having expired, and returned home. He was then engaged in railroading and milling until 1870, when he came to Parson and accepted his present position at Laurel Run Mine. Mr. Kembel was married January 1, 1865, to Miss Julia, daughter of Thomas Foults, of Derbyshire, England, and they have five children, viz.: Thomas A., married to Addie, daughter of Rev. W. D. Thomas; Adelia, married to Herbert T. Dolan, weighmaster at Parson; Jennie, Lulu May and John E. Mr. Kembel and his family are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church; in politics he is a republican, and has held the following offices: assessor, school director, tax collector, burgess and councilman, which latter office he now holds.
WILLIAM KEMP, P.O. Drum's, who is among the leading well-to-do farmers of Luzerne county, is a native of Prussia, born February 4, 1836. He was reared and educated in his native land, and at the age of fifteen came to America, locating in Sugar Loaf township, where he worked three years. He then removed to Butler township, where he engaged in farming and lumbering, carrying on the most extensive lumber trade of anyone in Butler Valley. He has been the owner of several sawmills, and always kept two or more running full capacity, constantly employing not less than twenty-five men. He now devotes his entire attention to farming, having one of the finest farms in the well-known Butler valley. Mr. Kemp was married September 1, 1857, to Miss Maria Ero, of Hollenback township. This union has been blessed with nine children, viz.: Louisa, married to Ellick Thresher, Freeland; Christiana, married to Daniel Krummis, Butler township; Emma, married to Henry Yager, Butler township; Edna, married to Daniel Foust, Drum's; Samuel; Ella; Allen; Stella and Ellick. Mr. Kemp, by industry and honesty, has helped himself and the land of his adoption. In politics, he is a firm Democrat.
CLARENCE KESTER, of the firm of John Kester & Son, furniture dealers and undertakers, Shickshinny, was born at Arch Bridge, Union township, this county, September 22, 1869, and is a son of John and Lavina (Sorber) Kester, the father being a son of John and Martha Kester, the mother a daughter of Adam and Sarah Sorber. The father was also a native of Union township, and is now a resident of Arch Bridge, where he is engaged in the lumber business. He served one year in the Civil war. He has a family of four children: Hattie (Mrs. Merritt Scott), Clarence, Martha and Lena. Our subject was reared in Union township, educated in public schools, and began life as a clerk in the furniture store of George W. Sorber, of Shickshinny, in which capacity he served four years. In October 1891, he embarked in the business for himself, and since April 1892, the firm has been known as John Kester & Son. Mr. Kester has already succeeded in building up a first-class trade, and is one of Shickshinny's enterprising businessmen. He was married September 22, 1892, to Miss Fannie Morley, of Harrisburg. Mr. Kester is a member of the M.E. Church, P.O.S. of A., and American Protestants; politically he is a Democrat.
C. M. and JOHN KESTER, manufacturers, Shickshinny, were born in that place, the former April 11, 1851, the latter July 17, 1848. They are the sons of John and Martha A. (Wright) Kester, the former born in Nescopeck, in 1807, the latter in Hanover township. John was a son of Jacob Kester, who was also a native of Nescopeck. The latter's father, whose name has not been learned, was a native of Germany, and emigrated to this country, settling in Nescopeck. He was a farmer of some means and influence in his own vicinity. John Kester Sr., followed the example of his father for some years, but finally became a manufacturer—as his sons are now. He removed to Union township in 1851, where he owned a few acres, on which he erected a house, and entered the general lumber business, supplying ties, wood, etc. He was a man of enterprise and energy, succeeding in his undertaking and died in December 1869. His family consisted of ten children, eight of whom are living. John being the seventh and C. M. the eighth by birth. They were reared and educated in the common schools of Shickshinny and Union townships, and always have followed the same line of business as their father, but on a much larger scale. They are extensive manufacturers of mine supplies, and handle lumber to a large extent; also have a shop wherein they do turning for the supply of cable rollers for the mines. John has established a furniture store in Shickhinny, under the firm name of J. Kester & Son. The Kester brothers are successful businessmen, full of energy and enterprise. They both reside a mile north of Shickshinny, at a place called Koonsville, and have built themselves beautiful modern structures in which they reside. John has a farm of sixty-two acres, C. M. has less.
On January 1, 1873, C. M. Kester married Miss Rose Myers, born in Fairmount township, June 20, 1854, a daughter of Wilson and Roxanna Myers, by which union were born three children, two of whom are living: Maude and Myrtle. Mr. and Mrs. Kester and daughters are consistent members of the M.E. Church.
John Kester married in May 1867, Miss Lavina Sorber, who was born in Newport township in 1844, a daughter of Adam and Sarah Sorber, and by her were born five children, four of whom are living; Hattie, Clarence, Martha and Lennie. Mr. Kester was in 1864 mustered into the United States service as a member of Company B, Ninety-seventh P.V.I., for one year. He is a member of the G.A.R. Post no. 257.
JAMES KESTER, foreman of the Pennsylvania Canal Company was born in Schuylkill county, Pa., June 23, 1837, a son of John and Martha (Wright) Kester. His paternal grandfather, Jacob Kester, a native of Northampton county, was a pioneer of what is now Conyngham township, this county, locating on what is now known as "the Nicely Farm," which he partially cleared, and died there. He there reared his family consisting of the following named children: John, Jacob, Daniel, Peter, Catherine (Mrs. Joseph Campbell) and Susan (Mrs. John Lebick.) Of these, John (father of our subject) was born in the old homestead and became a farmer, most of his life being spent in Union township, where he cleared a small farm near Arch Bridge, and there died. His wife was a daughter of John C. Wright, and by her he had nine children who grew to maturity, viz.: Daniel, William, Jacob, James, John, Charles, Harrison, Susan A. (Mrs. John Baer) and Mary (Mrs. George La Bar.) Our subject was reared in Union township, educated in the common schools and followed farming until he was twenty-five years old. On August 18, 1862, he enlisted in Company F., One Hundred and Forty-third, P.V., was wounded at the battle of the Wilderness and June 12, 1865, was honorably discharged. Since the war he has been a resident of Shickshinny and for twenty years has been in the employ of the Pennsylvania Canal Company. In July 1865, Mr. Kester married Sabina, daughter of Lewis Post, of Union township, and has one son living, Elias Post, who is married and is a successful druggist in Lopez, Sullivan Co., Pa. Mr. Kester is a member of the M.E. Church and of the G.A.R.; politically, he is a democrat, and is one of the school directors and councilmen of Shickshinny.
J. T. KERN, farmer, P.O., Pittston, was born in Exeter township, May 4, 1819, and is a son of Henry and Anna (Linaberry) Kern, both of whom were born in New Jersey, in 1790. Henry was a son of Henry Kern, also a native of New Jersey, who was born in 1763, and removed to this county about 1815, locating in Exeter township, where his granddaughter Ellen now resides. His farm consisted of 175 acres, under which there was an abundance of then undiscovered coal. He was a tanner by occupation, a vocation he gave up when he removed to Luzerne county. He died April 11, 1834, at the age of sixty-one years, having reared a family of eight children, all of whom are dead. His son Henry was about twenty-five years old when he came to this county. He was a farmer of considerable ability. In 1883 he removed from Exeter township, this county to Lackawanna county, where he remained about sixteen years as a farmer. He however desired to return to his first point of location, where he spent the remainder of his days, dying January 19, 1849, at the age of fifty-eight years, he was much respected by his neighbors for his own worth as a man. His family consisted of seven children, two of whom are now living. J. T. is the third of the family in birth order. He was reared and educated in his native town and always followed agricultural pursuits. He owns a farm of ten acres of surface, which he devotes to vegetables, of which he raises an abundance, supplying the Pittston Market. In 1864, he married Miss Mary, daughter of Nathaniel and Hannah Honeywell, by whom he has had four children: William, Anna, Elizabeth, and Gertrude. Mr. Kern is a man of sound principles, and has been honored by his fellow citizens with several township offices, which he has filled with credit.
O. P. KESTER, was born in Greenwood township, Columbia Co., Pa., June 20, 1831, and is a son of Jesse and Elizabeth (Parker) Kester. His paternal grandfather, Samuel Kester, a native of Chester county, Pa., with three brothers—Joseph, Aaron and Jacob—were among the pioneers of Mount Pleasant township, Columbia Co., Pa., where they all cleared farms and died. The wife of Jesse Kester was a daughter of Ephraim Parker, formerly of Warren county, N.J., and one of the pioneers of Columbia county, Pa. By her he had seven children: Sarah A. (Mrs. Jacob Rishel), Rebecca (Mrs. Jonathan Ebner), Margaret, David, Ephraim, Oliver P., and Isaac. Our subject was reared in Columbia county, Pa., learned the trade of wheelwright, and followed the business for twenty-eight years, twenty-three years of the time in Sybertsville, of which place he has been a resident since 1855. Since 1878 he has been engaged in trucking and marketing. In 1853 Mr. Kester married Christiana, daughter of Matthew and Elizabeth (Vance) Ferguson, of Greenwood township, Columbia Co., Pa., and by her he had five children: Elizabeth (Mrs. Charles Haines), Mary A. (Mrs. Franklin Drumheller), James H., Ira P. and Jennie M. Mr. Kester is a member of the M.E. Church. In politics, he is a Democrat and held the office of justice of the peace in Sugar Loaf township fifteen years.
THOMAS KERR, music dealer and real estate agent, was born in Scotland, December 16, 1844, and is a son of Andrew and Mary (Wright) Kerr, also natives of Scotland. Their family consisted of five children, Thomas being the eldest, and three of them survive. They came to America in 1849, settling in Luzerne county, near Wilkes-Barre. After our subject received a liberal education in the public schools of this county, he embarked in mercantile business at No. 18 Public Square, Wilkes-Barre, dealing in all kinds of gentlemen's furnishing goods, during which time he was also agent for the Howe Sewing Machine. After nearly five years' residence at Wilkes-Barre, he removed to Altoona, where he was engaged in establishing general agencies for the Howe Sewing Machine Company. From Altoona he went to Hazleton, Pa., where he had a music store with a sewing machine department attached, and here he remained three years. He then proceeded to Alabama, where he was engaged in the butcher business at Shelby and Helena, and after two years he came from there to Plymouth, this county, January 3, 1879, and opened a music store. This he continued for five years, and then bought out D. K. Spry's hardware business, which he carried on in connection with the music store for the following five years. In 1888 he established his present business, which he has since continued. Mr. Kerr has on several occasions crossed the continent, and made extensive tours of the West. He was married, December 15, 1860, to Miss Alice, daughter of Nathaniel and Kate (Evans) Harris, natives of Wales, and he has seven children, viz.: Kate, Mamie, Lillian, Ettie, Allie, Nellie and Elmer. Politically, our subject is a Republican, and in 1886 he was elected chief burgess of Plymouth borough. As an officer, he was firm in his convictions and believed in living up to the "letter of the law"; he was re-elected in 1887. The family belong to the Presbyterian Church. Mr. Kerr is a member of the Knights of Pythias and the F. & A.M.
CLARENCE PORTER KIDDER is of the seventh generation of the line of James Kidder, Jr., who emigrated from Sussex, England, to New England, and located at Cambridge, Mass., in 1649. Lyman Church Kidder, the father of Clarence Porter Kidder, who was born at Woodstock, VT in 1802, came with his father to the Valley of Wyoming about 1823. Clarence Porter Kidder's mother was Mary, daughter of Anderson Dana, Jr. The name Dana is one of the most conspicuous in the annals of the Wyoming Valley, many owning it having contributed to its welfare and good name in field and forum, in the pulpit and otherwise. Both families in fact, have been notably associated with the Valley's history, and the interesting fact is here recalled that both the great-grandfathers of Clarence Porter Kidder were slain in the Massacre of Wyoming. Clarence Porter Kidder was a student at Wyoming Seminary, Wesleyan University, Middletown, Conn., and Union College, Schenectady, N.Y., where he took a degree. He was a volunteer and served in both the Antietam and Gettysburg campaigns with Wilkes-Barre companies. He read law with Caleb E. Wright and D.C. Harrington, and was admitted to practice April 4, 1864. For six years, beginning with 1865, he was councilman for the borough and for three years, beginning in 1871, was councilman for the city of Wilkes-Barre. In 1869 he was the Republican candidate for register of wills of the county, but was defeated by less than 300 votes, though the county was at that time strongly Democratic. Mr. Kidder has done good service for his party on the stump. On May 24, 1864, he married Louisa Amelia, daughter of Capt. Calvin Parsons, of Parsons, and they have three children, two sons and one daughter. One son is married, and the other son and the daughter are verging on manhood and womanhood.
PATRICK KILLGALLON, who was, in his lifetime, a prominent citizen of Plains township, was born in County Mayo, Ireland, March 14, 1838, a son of James and Mary (Gibbons) Killgallon. His father, who was a farmer, reared a family of seven children, of whom Patrick was the second. When he was twelve years old the family migrated to England, where he remained till 1864, a portion of the time working in the mines. He then came to America and located at Ashland, Pa., where he engaged in mining two years; in August 1867, he came to Mill Creek, where he passed the remainder of his days, dying March 28, 1892. He followed mining till 1881, when he retired from active life. At the time of his decease he owned personal property and real estate in Plains township amounting to several thousand dollars; his success in life was wholly due to his own personal efforts. Mr. Killgallon was married in May 1855, to Miss Bridget Corrigan, of England, who died May 4, 1889, they had nine children, of whom are living: Mary, Annie, Patrick, James, John, and Daniel. Mr. Killgallon was member of the Catholic Church, of which his family are also members; he was a Democrat in politics, but voted for the best candidate; he was once appointed supervisor in Plains township, by the court.
JAMES KILLION, miner, Port Blanchard, was born in Warren county, Ohio, September 9, 1860, and is a son of Michael and Catharine (Connors) Killion, natives of County Roscommon, Ireland. The family settled in Pittston, this county, in 1864, where our subject recieved his education in the common schools. In 1869 he went to work as a slate picker and in 1874 entered the mines as a driver; at the age of seventeen years, he was employed as a driver, and since 1883 has been a miner in the employ of the Pennsylvania Coal Company. On June 20, 1884, Mr. Killion took unto himself as his partner in life, Sarah, daughter of John and Winifred (Brogan) Noon, of Port Griffith, this county, natives of County Mayo, Ireland, and the issue of this happy union is as follows: Kate, born May 4, 1885, John, born September 30, 1887, Michael, born May 4, 1889 and George born February 2, 1891. Mr. Killion is a member of the Roman Catholic Church and of the Ancient Order of Hibernians. In politics, he is a Democrat.
F. W. KINDRED, farmer, P.O. Sweet Valley, was born near Stanhope, Morris Co., N.J., August 29, 1833, son of Moses and Elicta (Henderson) Kindred, both of whom were born in New Jersey. Moses was a son of George Kindred, who was a native of France, and emigrated to this country when a young man. He located in Morris county, N.J., where he reared a family of thirteen, and died at a ripe old age. His son, Moses, began his business career in Morris county, N.J., near Dover, where he was a collier by occupation. He removed to this county about 1850, locating at Bear Creek, where he was engaged in the lumber trade. He remained there about ten years, and finally removed to White Haven, where he died in November 1871, aged sixty-two years. He was a hard-working, honest and industrious man. Moses Kindred reared a family of seventeen children by two marriages. F. W. is the first child by the first marriage. He was reared and educated in Morris county, and always confined himself to agricultural pursuits. In 1859, he removed to Dallas where he resided two years, when he removed to Ross township. He is now a well-to-do practical farmer, owning ninety-two acres of valuable farming land, upon which he has erected a beautiful house. His surroundings show him to be a man of taste and agricultural skill. In 1854 he married Miss Mary, daughter of George and Susannah Bush. There has been no issue by this union.
HENRY KINES, merchant, Hazleton. In selecting subjects for a biographical and historical work of Luzerne county, it gives the writer pleasure to present the names of such men as Henry Kines. He is a native of Hessen, Germany, and was reared and educated in his native land. He worked in the mines of Germany until he reached the age of seventeen years (1855), when he determined to cast his lot in a foreign climate. He accordingly emigrated to America and settled in the desirable, then little, hamlet of Hazleton. In his new home he took up the trade of shoemaker and followed that industry as a journeyman until 1871, when he engaged in the boot and shoe mercantile business which he has since very extensively carried on. Mr. Kines is a man in whom the public can depend, his word is regarded to be as good as a note, and he has gained the well-earned confidence of the public. In fact he is one of the leading boot and shoe dealers in Luzerne county. When he first went into business his brother William was a partner, but later he sold out to Henry, and during the last eleven years the latter has been the sole owner and proprietor. In 1860 Mr. Kines was married to Miss Anna D. Rudolph, an admirable young lady of Hazleton, and they have seven children, viz.: Katherine, married to Henry Happich of Hazleton; Hiram, a clerk; John H., a jeweler; Gustavius, Lizzie, Annie and Harry, Jr. Mr. Kines is a member of the Hazleton Working Men's beneficial Association of twenty-five years standing, and of the Seven Wise Men, twenty-two years. He has been a member of the borough council two terms, and his political views are of the true Democratic type.
JOHN KING, miner, Inkerman, was born in Jenkins township, November 14, 1859, and is the eldest of four children of Michael and Mary (Breen) King, of the same place, and natives of County Mayo, Ireland. Our subject received his education in the common schools and in 1869 was employed as a slate picker in the mines; in 1874 as a laborer; and since 1884 he has been employed by the Pennsylvania Coal Company as a miner. Mr. King was united in the holy bonds of matrimony July 17, 1886, with Mary, daughter of John and Catharine (Burke) Flanaghan, natives of County Kilkenny, Ireland, and their union has been blessed with three children, two of whom are living; Michael, born January 2, 1888 and Nellie, born March 19, 1891. Our subject is a Roman Catholic, a member of the A.O.H. and C.T.A.U. In politics, he is a Democrat.
DANA W. KINGSBURY, physician and surgeon, Nanticoke, ranks among the flourishing followers of his profession in this county. He was born in Huntington township, a son of Daniel H. and Esther (Chapin) Kingsbury, both natives of Pennsylvania, the former of English descent, and the latter a descendant of John Chapin, an early pioneer of Luzerne county. He came to this county from Springfield, Mass., and settled in the then unbroken wilderness of what is now Huntington township. The date of his arrival here is not positively known, but the records show that he was a taxable in that township in 1796. He was a descendant of Deacon Samuel Chapin, who was one of Boston's freemen as early as 1638; he soon after removed to Springfield, Mass., where he died November 11, 1675. Dr. Kingsbury's parents are still living. He has nine brothers and sisters, who are all living and prosperous. Our subject was educated at new Columbus and Orangeville Academies. He then taught school in this county from 1870 to 1879, and had marked success in that line, becoming one of the leading educators of Luzerne county. In 1879 he entered the College of Physicians and Surgeons, Baltimore, Md., where he was graduated in 1882. He immediately engaged in the practice of his profession at Nanticoke, where he has since remained, now commanding a lucrative practice, and where he has repeatedly demonstrated his adaptation to the profession of his choice. The Doctor was married December 31, 1882, to Miss Emma Sharpless, of Harpsville, Columbia county, and they have four children: Oscar J., Ebean P., Erma V., and Russell Sage. Mr. Kingsbury is a Democrat in politics.
GEORGE D. KINGSLEY, superintendent of the Avondale Colliery, with residence at Kingston. This gentleman was born January 31, 1858, at Scranton, Pa., and is a son of S. Dwight and Anna (Kenyon) Kingsley, natives of Pennsylvania, and of New England parentage. Our subject was educated in the common schools of Lackawanna county, and in Whitestown Seminary, Whitestown, N.Y., where he completed his course in 1876. He then engaged in the drug business at Scranton, Pa., was appointed superintendent of the Avondale Colliery, of mine-disaster fame, where he is at present employed. Mr. Kingsley was married in 1879, to Miss Lizzie Wolcott, of Kingston, Pa., a daughter of Peter Wolcott, and this union has been blessed with one child, Jeanette, who was born March 25, 1882.
JOHN KINNEY, engineer, Delaware & Hudson Shaft No. 2, was born at Plymouth, Pa., October 28, 1864, and is the sixth in the family of eleven children of John and Johanna (Finley) Kinney, natives of County Tipperary, Ireland. The subject of this sketch was educated in the public schools of Plymouth and when but eight years of age began working about the mines during the summers, attending school in the winters. In 1882, he was employed as fireman by the company for whom he is now working, and continued as such until December 1891, when he was promoted to engineer, taking charge of the large pump engine at No. 2, which he has operated ever since. Mr. Kinney's father was born in County Tipperary, Ireland, in 1828, and was educated in his native country. He came to America in 1860, and has until recently followed the vocation of a miner. He was married to Johanna Finley, and they reared a family of thirteen children, of whom William is now a resident of Leadville, Colo.; Mary is now Mrs. Tom Brown, of Plymouth; Edward resides at Leadville, Colo.; Helen is now Mrs. Phelix Doughtery; Maggie is the wife of James Fox; John is the subject of this sketch, in addition to which we have the names of Bridget, Johanna, Thomas, Kate and Dennis. The family attend the Catholic Church and in politics they are democrats.
IRA M. KIRKENDALL, wholesale grocer and dealer in flour and feed, North Wilkes-Barre, was born in Dallas, this county, in 1835, a son of William W. and Maria (Dereemer) Kirkendall, natives of New Jersey, who settled in Dallas township about 1830; father was a farmer and lived and died in Dallas. His children were: Conrad, John S., George W., Ira M., William P., Anna E. (Mrs. Dwight Wolcott) and Charles W. Subject was reared in Dallas township, educated in the public schools and began life, after attaining his majority, as clerk in a general store at Pittston, Pa., serving in that capacity, where he had charge of a lumber business for Pursel & McKeen for six years. Since 1865 he has been resident of Wilkes-Barre; in lumber business up to 1871. In 1870 he was burgess of Wilkes-Barre, and was elected its first mayor in June 1871, for a term of three years. From 1875 to 1878 he was deputy sheriff of Luzerne county, under his brother, W. P. Kirkendall; from 1880 to 1883, a member of the firm of Kirkendall & Whiteman grocers, and since 1883, a member of Kirkendall Bros., wholesale flour and feed dealers. Mr. Kirkendall was married November 3, 1868, and has two children: Grace W. (Mrs. Charles A. Bartlett) and Frederick C. Politically Mr. Kirkendall is a democrat, and has represented the Fourth Ward of Wilkes-Barre in the city council since 1883.
W. H. KIRKENDALL, farmer, P.O. Nescopeck, was born June 4, 1851, on the farm in Nescopeck township, where he now resides, a son of Hiram and Sarah (Buss) Kirkendall. His parental grandparents were Joseph and Margaret (Gruver) Kirkendall, and his great grandparents were Emanuel and Mary (Garrison) Kirkendall, all pioneers of Mifflin township, Columbia Co., Pa. The children of Emanuel Kirkendall were Joseph, Levi, Betsey (Mrs. Michael Gruver), Rachel (Mrs. Henry Bellows), Sarah (Mrs. Fred Peck), Catherine (Mrs. John Mosteller), Cornelius and Leonard, of whom Joseph, the grandfather of our subject was a farmer, and passed most of his life in Mifflin township, dying there in his seventy-seventh year. His wife was a daughter of Paul Gruver, of Mifflin township, and by her he had seven children who grew to maturity: Stephen, Mahala (Mrs. Matthias Hartman), Hiram, Caroline (Mrs. John Swank), Emanuel, Margaret (Mrs. Lewis Creasey) and Catherine (Mrs. La Fayette Creasey.) Of them, Hiram, father of subject was born in Mifflin township, October 17, 1819, and died May 10, 1882. In 1842, he settled in Nescopeck township, on the farm occupied by our subject, cleared and improved it and died there. His wife was a daughter of Jonas and Elizabeth (Shellhart) Buss, who cleared and improved the farm, in Nescopeck township, now owned by William Houck, and there died, their children were Judith, Mary, Elizabeth, Margaret, John, Sarah B., Hannah and Lucinda. The children of Hiram, and Sarah (Buss) Kirkendall were William H., James W. and Martha L. (Mrs. David Thomas). Our subject was reared on the old homestead where he has always resided. On February 8, 1883, he married Martha L., daughter of George and Mary (White) Connor, of Centre township, Columbia Co., Pa., and they have five children: Mary E., Ralph C., Laura M., Helen G. and Florence M. Mr. Kirkendall is a member of the P.O.S. of A.; in politics he is a Republican.
WILLIAM PENN KIRKENDALL, lumber dealer, a member of the Kingston Lumber Company. Our subject is a native of Dallas, Luzerne county, where he still resides, although engaged in business in Kingston. He was born April 13, 1843, and is the youngest of seven children—four of whom are living—born to William W. and Maria (Dereamer) Kirkendall, both of whom were natives of New Jersey. William P. Kirkendall was educated in the common schools of Luzerne county, and in 1860, engaged in the lumber business, which he followed for fourteen years, when in 1874, he became the Democratic nominee for sheriff of Luzerne county, was elected by over two thousand majority, and served three years. He then returned to farming at Dallas, where he remained about four years, when he embarked in his present business at Kingston. He was married January 1, 1866, to Miss Olive A., daughter of James and Lucinda (Honeywell) Patterson, natives of Pennsylvania. To this union was born one child—a daughter, Carrie—who died at the age of three years. Mrs. Kirkendall is a member of the M.E. Church. Socially Mr. Kirkendall is a member of the Masonic Lodge and the I.O.O.F. He is at present a member of the Dallas borough council; is also a prison commissioner, which office he has held since 1880; has served three years as school director of Dallas township; has been a member of council of the city of Wilkes-Barre; has also been a member of the Democratic county committee, of which he was chairman two years; a member of the State Democratic Committee; is director of the Dallas Union Agricultural Society, and served as president of the Luzerne Agricultural Society four years.
JOHN G. KIRSCHNER, general merchant, Hazleton, was born November 10, 1840, in the province of Hessen, Germany, and is a son of John and Katherine Kirschner, also natives of Germany. He was reared and educated in the land of his birth, and in 1860 came to America, locating at Hazleton, where he at once found employment in the mines. He was a miner until 1872 when he established his present business, which consists of a general grocery and dry-goods store, in connection with which he handles flour, feed, grain, and hay. Mr. Kirschner was united in marriage in 1861 with Miss Anna, daughter of Valentine Deis, a native of Germany, and to this union have been born nine children, namely, George, John, Conrad J, William A., Emil, Adam, Lizzie, Kate and Anna. In February 1892, Mr. Kirschner was elected assessor of the Republican ticket, his term expiring in 1895, he has also been president of the borough council for three years. The family are supporters of the German Lutheran Church.
GEORGE H. KIRWAN, physician and surgeon, Wilkes-Barre, was born at Hawley, Wayne Co., Pa., July 21, 1856, a son of Martin F. and Winifred (Morris) Kirwan and is of Irish descent. He was reared in Wilkes-Barre, educated in the public schools of that city, and Wyoming Seminary, Kingston, and in 1879, began the study of medicine with Dr. John T. Doyle, of Wilkes-Barre. On May 16, 1882, he was graduated from the Medical Department of Columbia College, New York, and has since been in the active practice of his profession in Wilkes-Barre, where he is recognized as a popular citizen as well as an expert physician. He is attending physician for the Luzerne county Prison; is a member of the Luzerne county Medical Society, of the State Medical Society, and of the American Medical Association. In politics he is a Democrat, and served as coroner of Luzerne county one term.
LEVI KISHBOUCH, mason and farmer, P.O. Nescopeck, was born in Nescopeck township, May 31, 1840, a son of Jacob and Lavina (Myers) Kishbouch. His paternal grandfather (formerly of New Jersey) was at one time a resident of Nescopeck, cleared a farm and resided in the township until his death. His children were Phebe (Mrs. John Bowkman), Margaret (Mrs. John Whatnecht), Levi, Tobias, Susanna (Mrs. William Shadd), Mary (Mrs. Solomon Stewart), Elizabeth (Mrs. Benjamin Sloyer), Rebecca (Mrs. William Miller) and Silas J. Our subject was reared and educated in Nescopeck. He learned the mason's trade, which he followed twenty years; cleared a farm in Nescopeck township, and has been engaged in farming since 1871. On April 1, 1861, he married Maria E., daughter of George and Catherine (Nuss) Miller, of Nescopeck, and they have eight children: Austin, Calvin, Leslie, Ida, Minnie, Elmira, Edward, and Levi. Mr. Kishbouch is a member of the Presbyterian Church; in politics is a Democrat, and has been assessor of Nescopeck fifteen years.
REUBEN KISNER (deceased), was born in Salem township, October 20, 1816, and is a son of Jacob and Margaret (Seybert) Kisner, the former of whom was a wheelwright by trade and also a farmer. The paternal grandfather, Michael Kisner and maternal grandfather, Sebastian Seybert, both of German descent, were among the pioneers of Salem township. The Children born to Jacob Kisner were: Kate, John, Susan, Polly, William, Sally, Betsy and Reuben. The subject of this sketch was reared in Salem township, where he resided all his life, a prominent farmer and respected citizen. He married, September 20, 1851, Cordelia, daughter of Nicholas and Catherine (Beam) Seybert, of Brier Creek, Columbia Co., Pa., and she survives him as well as five children, viz.: Margaret C. (Mrs. Joseph Eck), Mary C., Nelson, Annie and Lida. Mr. Kisner was a member of the Lutheran Church and in politics he was a Democrat. He died August 23, 1882.
WILLIAM KISNER, a prominent businessman of Hazleton, was born in Salem township, January 11, 1809. His father, Jacob Kisner, was a native of Northampton county, Pa., where he was born in 1772. William Kisner's grandfather, John Kisner, who died at Berwick, Pa, October 4, 1804, was probably born in Germany. Our subject was one of the pioneers of the town of Hazleton, having settled there over fifty years ago. He has been one of the active businessmen of the place, as merchant, real estate dealer, and banker. He served for many years as justice of the peace, and in numerous township and borough offices. He organized the Hazleton savings Bank, and was its first president. He is the founder of the prosperous town of West Hazleton. Mr. Kisner is and long has been a member of the Presbyterian Church, and in politics has always voted the democratic ticket. At the advanced age of eighty-four he is hale and hearty, and has no recollection of having been sick for even a day in half a century. He was married to Boann Seybert, a daughter of Sebastian Seybert, of Salem township. Mrs. Kisner died the present year (1892) having almost reached the end of fifty years of married life. The children of William and Boann Kisner are Elliott P. and Gillingham F., both of whom live at Hazleton, where they are actively engaged in business.
ELLIOTT P. KISNER was born at Hazleton, August 1, 1845, son of William and Boann Kisner. He attended the public schools at Hazleton and a preparatory school at Franklin, N.Y., and entered the sophomore class in Hamilton College in 1864, graduating with the class of 1867. He became a law student in the office of Hon. Edmund L. Dana, Of Wilkes-Barre, attended lectures at the law school of Columbia College in the winter of 1867 and 1868, attended lectures the following winter in the law department of the University of Pennsylvania, from which he graduated in the spring of 1869. He was admitted to the bar of Luzerne county in August 1869, and has since practiced law at Wilkes-Barre and Hazleton. Mr. Kisner has been interested for a number of years with his father and brother in promoting the growth of West Hazleton, a prosperous and growing borough. He has served as director, president and vice president of the Hazleton National Bank. Mr. Kisner is an ardent Democrat and has served for three years as chairman of the Democratic State committee of his State. He took an active part in organizing the present city government of Hazleton, and is president of the common council.
GEORGE W. KITCHEN, proprietor of hotel at Hunlock Creek, was born in Ross township, this county, August 29, 1852, a son of John and Mary (Keller) Kitchen, both of whom were born in Columbia county, Pa. They removed to this county in 1847, locating in Ross township, where, in the course of four years, they bought a farm containing seventy-seven acres of valuable land. John Kitchen was a practical farmer and a man of influence in his town. He lived to be seventy-eight years of age, dying in 1876. His family consisted of nine children, seven of whom grew to maturity and are now living, George W. being the fifth in order of birth. He was reared and educated in Ross township at the common school and resided at home until he reached the age of eighteen years, when he set out to make his own way in life. He followed various vocations; finally settling down to hotel keeping, at which business he has succeeded. In 1878 he married Miss Martha A., daughter of Hiram and Susannah Croop, and to them were born five children, four of whom are now living: Susannah, Fanny, Frease and Fred W. In 1885 he removed to Hunlock Creek, where he is now a popular hotelkeeper. He keeps a good orderly house, well patronized by the traveling public, and his bar is stocked with the purest of liquors, his cigars being of the finest flavor, while his table is always provided with the most inviting delicacies of any hotel in the surrounding country. Mr. Kitchen owns real estate in Nanticoke, besides other property, elsewhere. Socially, he is a member of the I.O.O.F., and Jr. O.U.A.M.; politically he is a Republican.
HENRY KITCHEN, farmer, P.O. Sweet Valley, was born in Union township, March 15, 1849, a son of John and Mary (Keller) Kitchen, both of whom were born at Rohrsburgh, Columbia county and removed to this county about 1839, locating in Union township. John Kitchen owned 127 acres of land, some of which he sold to his son. In 1864 he removed to Ross township, where he took land from the woods out of which to make his farm, and during his lifetime cleared about twenty acres and erected some buildings. He was a hard-working man, honest and industrious, and he died in 1875, when fifty-four years of age. His family consisted of nine members, five of whom are living. Henry is the sixth by birth, and was reared and educated in Ross township. He has always confined himself to farming and lumbering. In 1864, at the age of sixteen, he was mustered into the U.S. service as a private in Company C, One Hundred and Ninety-ninth, P.V.I., and after the surrender of Lee, was transferred to the One Hundred and Eighty-eighth Regiment. He was honorably discharged in October 1865, and now enjoys a pension. On his return from the army our subject again took up agricultural pursuits. On January 21, 1875, he married Miss Mary A., daughter of Sylvester and Elizabeth White, and of this union were born four children, all of whom are living: James N., Frank A., Ida M. and Cora B. Mrs. Kitchen was born in Ross township July 19, 1854; she is a member of the Christian Church. Mr. Kitchen owns seventy-seven acres of land and is a good and practical farmer.
JOSEPH KITCHEN, farmer, P.O. Irish Lane, was born in Columbia county, Pa., near Rohrsburgh, June 19, 1821. He is a son of Joseph and Susannah (Cavanee) Kitchen, both of whom were born in Columbia county, the former in 1783. Joseph was the son of Wheeler Kitchen, a native of New Jersey, who removed to Columbia county at an early age, where he died in 1835, at a ripe age. The Kitchens are well-to-do farmers and prominent men. Joseph Kitchen died in Columbia county in February 1822, his wife died in 1835. Their family consisted of ten children, who grew to maturity, two of whom are now (1892) living. Joseph Jr., is the youngest. He was reared and educated in Mount Pleasant township, Columbia county. He has always devoted himself to agricultrial pursuits. He removed to this county in 1839, locating in Ross township, where he rented farms for a few years. In 1851, he bought his present farm of 115 acres, which he made out of the wilderness. He now has a model farm, fine outbuildings and a house with modern improvements. In 1842, he married Miss Nancy, daughter of Elias and Elizabeth Long, to whom were born three children, who are living: Wheeler, Elias and Susannah. The latter married John Kalor. Mr. Kitchen is a practical farmer, and a worthy man who attends strictly to his own business.
J. W. KLEINTOB, farmer, Fairmount township, P.O. Ripple, was born June 25, 1844, in that township, and is a son of Nathan and Mary (Swank) Kleintob, natives of Pennsylvania, and of German origin. The father was also a farmer, and died in 1885, aged sixty-two years. He was a son of Christopher (a farmer), and Catherine (Hetler) Kleintob, natives of Pennsylvania. Our subject, who is the second in a family of seven children, six of whom are living, was reared on a farm, educated in the common schools, and when twenty-two years of age bought a timber tract in Salem township, where he followed lumbering twelve years. Selling same, he bought a farm in Fairmount township, from which he cut the timber; after six years he sold same, and purchased a bakery in Shickshinny, which he conducted for one year, when he sold out, returning to his native township. Here he bought his present farm of sixty acres, situated one mile south of the Ripple Postoffice, built thereon his cozy house, and has since followed farming. Mr. Kleintob married in July, 1866 to Miss Phenia, daughter of William and Sophia (Levann) Brandon, which union has been blessed with five children, viz.: Lizzie C., Edward B., Nathan W., Lillian M., and Durr. This family are members of the M.E. Church. Our subject enlisted in Company B., One Hundred and Ninety-ninth Regiment Pennsylvania Volunteers and served with his regiment through the Civil war, participating in all the battles his regiment was in; was wounded at Rin's Station; was promoted to coporal and sergeant, and was discharged in July 1865. Politically he is a Democrat, and he has been supervisor of his township two years.
STEPHEN O. KLEINTOB, farmer, Fairmount township, P.O. Ripple, was born July 25, 1846, in that township, a son of Nathan and Mary (Swank) Kleintob, natives of Pennsylvania and of German origin. The father was also a farmer, and die din 1885, aged sixty-two years. He was a son of Christopher and Catherine (Hetler) Kleintob, natives of Pennsylvania, the former being a farmer by occupation. Nathan Kleintob served three years in the Civil war, as a member of the Seventh Pennsylvania Reserves; on January 1, 1862, he was commissioned chief musician of his regiment; he was discharged in July 1864. Our subject is the third of a family of seven children, six, of whom are living. He was reared on a farm and educated in the common schools, and worked at home until he was thirty-five years of age. He then went to Wyoming borough, where he rented a farm for two years, after which he worked one year in the shovel works at same place; then returned to Fairmount township and purchased his present farm of 100 acres, situated one fourth mile south of the Ripple postoffice, where he has since followed farming. Mr. Kleintob was married December 4, 1883 to Rosina, daughter of Millo and Samantha (Leteer) Gay, natives of Pennsylvania, and of English and French origin, respectively. This union was blessed with four children, viz.: Samantha died in infancy; Freas B., born December 19, 1885, Mary, born October 11, 1887, and Annie L., born August 23, 1890. Mr. and Mrs. Kleintob are members of the M.E. Church, he is a member of the I.O.O.F. and K. of P.; was postmaster for three years during Cleveland's administration; politically he is a strong Democrat.
CLARENCE WINFIELD KLINE, lawyer, Hazleton, was born October 25, 1852, near Jerseytown, Columbia Co., Pa., and is a descendant of Jacob Kline, who emigrated to this country from Germany, October 2, 1841, in the ship "St. Andrew." Daniel Kline, son of Jacob Kline, was born in 1742, and served in the Revolutionary war; served under Gen. Jackson; he removed from Philadelphia to East Hempfield township, Lancaster Co., Pa., in 1820. George Schenck Kline, father of our subject, was born in East Hempfield township in 1826, and removed to Danville, same State, in 1845. In 1846 he married Miranda, daughter of Jacob Kisner, a native of Germany, who was a cousin of William Kisner, of Hazleton. On the night of their marriage he left with the Columbian Guards for the Mexican war, where he participated in every battle. The Columbian Guards, organized in 1817, belonged especially to Danville and were famous all over Columbia county, in honor of which the organization took its name. George S. Kline participated in every engagement with his company, entering the service as first sergeant, he was promoted to first lieutenant and brevet captain. He left a magnificent sword to his children as an heirloom, which is now in the possession of the subject of this sketch, and which bears the following inscription engraved upon its scabbard: "Presented to Lieutenant George S. Kline, by General Winfield Scott, for bravery and meritorious service on the battlefield of Vera Cruz, Cerro Gordo, Chepultepec, and Mexico." Lieutenant Kline had the honor of being the man who planted the American colors on the walls of Chepultepec, after three brave soldiers had been shot in attempting to do so. At the close of the war he returned to Danville, where he remained until 1852, when he went west with a party of civil engineers, but at St. Joseph he was attacked by cholera and died. C. W. Kline, after his father's death, was taken and raised by his grandmother Kline, in Lancaster county, and in the common schools of that county he received his early education; when thirteen years of age, he left school and went to the place of his birth. When fourteen years of age, he engaged in teaching, his first school being in Anthony township, Montour county. He continued teaching in the winters, and working on the farm in the summers until 1869, when he removed to Jamesville, Pa., and for two years was in the employ of J. C. Hoyden & Co. He was then appointed principal of the Jamesville schools. In 1874 he registered in the office of Thomas J. Foley, then practicing in Hazleton and was admitted to the Luzerne county bar, January 10, 1877. Mr. Kline, married, November 26, 1874, Jennie, daughter of Samuel Linder of Hazleton. Mr. Kline is recognized as one of Luzerne county's leading lawyers and enjoys a large and lucrative practice. He makes corporation law a specialty, although carrying on a large general practice besides. He has been largely interested in the promotion of the welfare of the city, and has held several offices of trust there, having served several terms on the council while Hazleton was yet a borough, and at its corporation was appointed city solicitor. He is also interested in several business enterprises, such as the Hazleton Electric Lighting Company, Building and Loan Associations, and various other industries. In politics, he has always taken a very active part in behalf of the Republican Party.
DANIEL KLINE, justice of the peace, Foster township, was born in Jeddo, this county, March 17, 1867, son of Frederick and Anna E. (Bechtloft) Kline, natives of Germany, who have resided in Freeland seventeen years. In their family there were four children, viz.: F. P., a merchant; W. D., clerk for Coxe Bros. at Drifton; S. H., a stock raiser, in Cresco, Mich.; and Daniel. The subject of this sketch was educated in the common schools of Hazel and Foster townships, Hazleton borough, and in the Jeddo private schools. In 1883, he in partnership with his brother W. D. commenced dealing in lime, brick, sand and builders' general supplies, one year later adding hay, feed, etc., to their stock and since 1889, they have manufactured their own feed. Since beginning business Kline Bros. have had a large patronage, and have built up a substantial trade. In February 1891, Mr. Kline was elected justice of the peace of Foster township, for a term of five years. He was married March 21, 1890, at Monroetown, Bradford Co., Pa., to Miss Laura, daughter of Mrs. Emeline Chubbuck of that place. Politically, our subject is a Republican.
HENRY AUGUSTUS KLINE, teacher of music, Wilkes-Barre, was born in Lehigh county, Pa., June 6, 1844, a son of Joseph and Anna (Wetherhold) Kline. His paternal grandfather, Jacob Kline was a native of Lehigh county, Pa., a miller by occupation, and the great-grandfather, Peter Kline, settled in Lehigh county. The maternal grandfather of our subject was Joseph Wetherhold, of French-German stock, a native of Lehigh county and a tanner by trade; he died in 1859. Joseph Kline, who was a miller, farmer and inventor of some note, was born in Lehigh county, and is now living retired at Allentown, Pa. Our subject was reared in his native county, and was educated in the public schools and at Franklin and Marshall College, Lancaster, Pa. From 1860 to 1881 he taught in the public schools of Lehigh, Carbon and Luzerne Counties. For twenty-two years, he has been a teacher of music and a resident of Wilkes-Barre since 1881. Mr. Kline married December 2, 1869, Amanda Isabella, daughter of Henry and Violetta (Kern) Kuntz, of Slatington, Pa. About three miles from the "Lehigh Gap," at a point where the famous "Warrior's Path" crossed the stream, and where is now the thriving town of Slatington, one Nicholas Kern as early as 1737 took up about 500 acres of land. He died in 1748 leaving six sons and one daughter. Of the sons, William bought a considerable portion of this land. He raised a family of eight children, among them being John Kern, who was born 1777, and lived to the good age of seventy-three years. It was Jonas, the oldest son of John, who settled at the old homestead and conducted the mill, and the farm in what is now the town of Slatington. He had two children—one son, Benjamin, and one daughter, Violetta, who became the wife of Mr. Henry Kuntz. Mrs. Kuntz lived to be but thirty years of age, when she died, leaving six daughters, the eldest of whom is Amanda Isabella, wife of Henry A. Kline. Mr. and Mrs. Kline, have three children living: Henry J. (who was graduated from the Philadelphia College of Pharmacy in 1892), Mabel (a student at Wyoming Seminary, and teacher of piano and organ) and Anna Violet. Mr. Kline is a member of St. John's Lutheran Church, while his family are Episcopalians. Socially he is a member of the F. & A.M., I.O.O.F., K. of P., Jr. O.U A.M., P.O.S. of A and K. of M., and was Deputy Supreme Commander for the latter in Wilkes-Barre in 1891. In politics he is a Republican.
JOHN W. KLINE, farmer and stock grower, Huntington township, P.O. Fishing Creek, Columbia Co., Pa., was born in Columbia county, February 7, 1858. He is a son of Joseph and Lany (Eveland) Kline, natives of Pennsylvania, of English extraction, the former of whom is also a farmer and a resident of Fishing Creek. Our subject is the second child in order of birth in a family of ten, nine of whom are living. He was educated in the common schools, and when twenty-one years old went west and worked as a farm hand for two years, when he returned to Columbia county and worked one year at Berwick, on the public works. He then rented a farm in the same county, where he worked for five years, when he purchased his present farm of ninety-three acres, it being the last property on the Huntington Creek, in Luzerne county. November 29, 1882, he married Miss Addie Sutliff, who was born July 9, 1862, daughter of Samuel and Lucinda Sutliff, natives of Pennsylvania, of English and German origin, respectively. This union was blessed with six children: Bernice M., born October 16, 1883; Gertie A., born January 7, 1885, died June 4, same year; Elsie C., born May 4, 1887; Florence A., born February 2, 1889, died August 12, same year; Annie, born February 23, 1890; and Ernest D., born April 1, 1892. The family attend the M.E. Church and politically Mr. Kline is a sound Democrat.
ANTON KLINKHAMMER, farmer, P.O. Outlet, was born in Germany, September 4, 1829, a son of Richard and Elizabeth (Engleman) Klinkhammer, both of whom were born in Germany. Anton emigrated to this country in 1852, and located in Wilkes-Barre, Pa., where he worked at his trade of carpenter, nine years. In 1861, he removed to Lake township, on a lot of fifty-four acres of wild land, which by hard labor he succeeded in converting into a model farm. To this farm of fifty-four acres he has added 169 more, making in all 223 acres, one hundred of which he has improved and on which he has erected substantial buildings. In 1856 he married in Wilkes-Barre, Mrs. Mary Shulde Myres, a widow lady with one son, David, who has proven himself to be a true son to his stepfather in all the subsequent years. David, in 1877, married Miss Albertine Ell, by whom were born seven children, six of them now living: Anton, Emma, Ida, Adolph, Charles, and Augusta. Mr. Klinkhammer entered the army in 1861, for ninety days in the Pennsylvania militia, and after the expiration of one hundred days he was honorably discharged; he now enjoys a pension of $12.00 per month. He is a member of the G.A.R., also of the Grange. Mr. Klinkhammer has two fine ponds on his farm, stocked with choice carp.
JACOB KLOSE, farmer, Dorrance, was born in Schuylkill county in 1844, a son of David and Elizabeth (Bennyguff) Klose, the former of whom was born in Germany in 1817, the latter in Schuylkill county in 1809. David Klose emigrated to this country when a young man and began his first business in this county, in Foster township, where he was located for a number of years. He lived at Jeddo one year and at Eckley nine years; then removed to Newport township, where for a number of years he was connected with the mines at Nanticoke. Finally he came to Dorrance township, where he purchased 128 acres of land, now the property of his son, Jacob. He was a hard working, honest and industrious man, one who accomplished what he did, in accumulating means, with his own hands, he died in 1886, aged sixty-eight years. His family consisted of five children, four of whom are living. Jacob being the eldest in the family. Our subject was six years of age when his father removed to this county, and was consequently reared and educated in Foster township. He always followed farming, as his chosen vocation in life, and in 1871 he removed to his present farm of 128 acres, where he is engaged in the cultivation of the soil. He has forty acres under cultivation, and is a good farmer. In 1881, Mr. Klose married Miss Emma Dotton, born at Chestnut Hill, who bore him six children, all yet living: Henry, Rena, Ezra, Millie, Ranson, and David. Mr. and Mrs. Klose are both members of the Reformed Church. Politically he is a Democrat.
CHARLES PAXTON KNAPP, physician, Wyoming, born at no. 24 North Franklin Street, Wilkes-Barre, August 13, 1853, is a son of George and Ellen Eliza (Hurlbut) Knapp. The father was one of Wilkes-Barre's early manufacturers, being a pioneer in powder making and the manufacture of bricks by machinery. The Knapp family are of Anglo Saxon origin, direct descendants of Roger De Cnoep (Knapp) of Sussex County, England, to whom arms were granted by Henry VIII at a tournament held in Norfolk, England in 1540, "for skill and bravery." The family motto is "In God We Trust." The American branch of the family came across the Atlantic in 1630, under Winthrop and Salstansall in the persons of William, Nicholas and Roger, brothers, of whom William and Nicholas settled at Watertown, Mass., Roger in New Haven, Conn., and they were well-to-do farmers. Dr. Knapp's great grandfather, Joseph, was a soldier of the Revolutionary war, and his grandfather, Zephaniah, was in the war of 1812. They came from Columbia county, N.Y., in 1798, and settled in Lackawanna, Luzerne county, as farmers. His mother, also of Anglo-Saxon, origin, was a daughter of Avery Hurlbut, carpenter and builder of Wilkes-Barre, a son of Col. Naphtali Hurlbut, of Hanover, who was sheriff of Luzerne county in 1825, and Olive (Smith) Hurlbut, daughter of Dr. William Hooker Smith, who filled a large space in the public estimation of Wyoming for nearly half a century. The Hurlbuts who came to Luzerne county in 1779, are descendants of Thomas Hurlbut, of Saybrook and Wethersfield, Conn., who came to America in 1635 with Lion Gardiner. Dr. Knapp was educated in the public schools of Wilkes-Barre, and at LaFayette College, Easton, Pa., from which he received the degrees of Ph. B. and M. Sc., in course. In 1874, he began the study of medicine with Dr. George W. Guthrie, of Wilkes-Barre, and graduated from Bellevue Hospital Medical College, New York City, March 1, 1877; after spending a year in postgraduate study in New York, he settled in Wyoming, June 1, 1878, where he now resides. He is a member of the D.K.E. Fraternity, the D.K.E. Club of New York; Past Master of Lodge No. 468 F. & A.M., Wyoming, member and president (1888) of the Luzerne county medical Society, member of the State Medical Society, the American Medical Association, and Fellow of the American Academy of Medicine. He has contributed to the "Philadelphia Medical Times," and is the author of a monograph on "Caisson Disease." In politics he is a Republican. On June 30, 1880, Dr. Knapp married Cora Josephine, daughter of Joseph and Almira (Brown) Knapp, of Pittston, Pa., and they have two children: Elizabeth, born May 15, 1882, and Karl, born August 9, 1885. Dr. and Mrs. Knapp are members of the St. Stephen's Protestant Episcopal Church, Wilkes-Barre. Since residing in Wyoming the Doctor has served a term as member of the borough council and of the borough school board, and is one of the county visitors of the State Board of Public Charities. He is an enthusiastic horticulturist, and is an earnest worker in the cause of education.
HOWARD KNAPP (deceased) was born in Taylorsville, Lackawanna county, February 18, 1836, and was a son of John and Electa (Wilson) Knapp. They reared a family of ten children, of whom our subject was seventh in order of birth. He received his education in the common schools and the Wyoming Seminary, Kingston, this county. After coming from school he was apprenticed to learn the trade of a carpenter, at which he labored until his death, which occurred on March 8, 1884. Mr. Knapp was united in marriage, January 30, 1862, with Harriet, daughter of Eben and Martha (Schiffer) Foote, natives of Luzerne county. Their union was blessed with the following issue: Blanch, born April 13, 1864, married December 29, 1891 to John Wood, postmaster at Old Forge; Harvey, born March 10, 1866; Cora, born October 31, 1868; Mattie, born June 12, 1870; Delbert, born March 26, 1877 and Bruce, born March 25, 1879. Mr. Knapp was a member of the M.E. Church; in politics he was a Democrat, and held the position of school director three years, from 1877 to 1880.
CHARLES HENRY KNELLY, contractor, builder and proprietor of Conyngham Steam Planing-mill, P.O. Conyngham, Pa., was born in Sugar Loaf township, Luzerne county, Pa., September 16, 1844. He is a son of Christopher Knelly and Caroline (Troy) Knelly. His paternal grandfather was Christopher Knelly, whose wife was Catherine Wieland, both natives of Wurtemberg, Germany. He was among the pioneers of Sugar Loaf township, settling here in 1832, he was a farmer and cleared and improved a farm and died there. His children, who grew to maturity were: John, Christopher, Frederick, George, Henry, Charles W., Rosina (Mrs. Jacob Beisblina) and Christiana (Mrs. Andrew Amann.) Of these the father of our subject was a farmer and cleared and improved a farm in Sugar Loaf township; in later life, he removed to Columbia county, Pa., and died there. His wife was a daughter of John Troy, also a pioneer of Sugar Loaf township, where he cleared a farm and died; he was formerly of New Jersey. By her he had eight children: Daniel, Charles H., Esther (Mrs. John Heeb), William H., Lizzie (Mrs. Gabriel Rarig); Joseph, John and Izora V. (Mrs. John Hosler.) Our subject was reared in Sugar Loaf township and educated in the common schools. He served in the Civil war, enlisting August 11, 1862, in Company F., One Hundred and Forty-seventh, P.V., participating in the battles of Chancellorsville and Gettysburg, and was with Sherman on his March to the Sea, participating in all the engagements of that march. He was wounded at the battle of Gettysburg; taken prisoner at Little Black River, N.C. and after eleven days was exchanged at Libby Prison, and honorably discharged June 6, 1865. After the war he returned home and learned the carpenter's trade, which he followed seven years as a journeyman, and then embarked as a contractor and builder, in which he has since continued, and has been proprietor of the Conyngham Steam Planing Mill since 1880. He was twice married. His first wife was Emma J., daughter of Samuel and Maria (Fisher) Wagner, of Sugar Loaf township, and by her he had six children: Samuel F., Stella D., George H., Cora, Edgar and Susan M. His second wife was Amelia (Hughes) Beisel, daughter of George and Barbara (Scheidy) Hughes, of Butler township. Mr. Knelly and wife are members of the Lutheran Church. He is a member of the G.A.R., and in politics is a Republican.
GEORGE H. KNIGHT, huckster, Parsons, was born at Abington, Lackawanna Co., Pa., April 27, 1840, son of Zurial W. and Lucinda (Tompkins) Knight, the former a native of Rhode Island and of New England origin, the latter of New York, and of German descent. He enlisted at Waverly, Pa., September 27, 1861, in Company F, Fifty-second Pennsylvania Volunteers and participated in the following engagement: Fair Oaks, Seven Days Fight, siege of Charleston, Lee's Mills, Williamsburg, Chickahominy, reconnaissance to Seven Pines, Bottom's Bridge, White Oak Swamp, Carter's Hill, Matthews county, Gloucester and Yorktown, and was mustered out July 12, 1865, at Salisbury, N.C., whence he returned to Abington and engaged in farming for a time. He then commenced work at the blacksmith's trade and was next engaged in railroading for about two years at Green Ridge, and in May 1882, came to Parsons, and engaged as section boss for the D. & H. R.R. Company, on the Baltimore section, where he remained eight years, when he embarked in his present business. Mr. Knight was married July 21, 1866, to Miss Amanda, daughter of Frederick and Mary (Fetzer) Stull. They have three children: William C. Born September 21, 1867, brakeman on the D. & H. R.R.; James H., born July 10, 1871, brakeman on the D & H. R.R. and Lewis M. born June 4, 1874, died September 5, 1875. Mr. Knight is a member of the G.A.R., and in politics is a decided Republican.
J. M. KNOX, senior member of the firm of Knox & Company, wholesale dealers in groceries and produce, Hazleton. This active, enterprising gentleman was born at Jersey Shore, Pa., March 29, 1845, and is a son of John H. and Anna (Moran) Knox, natives of Lycoming county. He is the second in a family of four children and was educated and reared in that county. At the close of his school days he enlisted in Company D., Eleventh Pennsylvania Volunteers, under Col. Richard Coutler, and participated in many of the hottest battles of the war. At Gettysburg he was severely wounded in the arm, and was so far disabled as to be unfit for further service. He came north, and in 1866, removed Hazleton, where he was employed as clerk for Markle & Pardee, in which he continued until 1880, when the present business was opened. Mr. Knox is a Republican, and a member of the Loyal Legion, G.A.R., and Elks.
[NOAH MOYER moved to the M's]
E. L. KOCHER, engineer at the Wright Slopes, Plymouth. This veteran engineer was born in Huntington township, Luzerne county, Pa., February 19, 1851, and is the fourth in the family of five children of George and Delia (Davenport) Kocher, natives of Connecticut. The father of our subject was one of the first coal operators in this part of the State. Emmanuel L. received an ordinary common school education and quite early in life began boating, first as a driver and later as proprietor of a line of boats. He followed this occupation until 1871, running through different portions of Pennsylvania and New York, and then came to Plymouth, where he was employed by the Lehigh & Wilkes-Barre Coal Company, first as a fireman and later as engineer. He has been at the Wright Slope as engineer for ten years, and is still in charge there. Mr. Kocher was united in marriage, in August 1872 to Miss Jennie, daughter of James and Jane (Vanfield) Oates, natives of Cornwall, England and six children have been blessed this union, namely: Fred L., Linnie J., Emma, Edith, Minnie and Della. The family attend the Methodist Episcopal Church, and in politics, Mr. Kocher is a Democrat.
GEORGE K. KOCHER, cabinet-maker, and funeral director, White Haven borough, was born in Morrison, Luzerne Co., Pa., November 24, 1847, a son of George and Esther (Kurtz) Kocher, natives of Pennsylvania and of German origin. Our subject is the third in a family of ten children, six of whom are living. He was educated at the common schools and at the age of twenty-two began working in a sawmill, where he remained four years. He then went, as an equal partner with his father-in-law, Charles Albert, into the cabinet-making and undertaking business, and after five years, bought out Mr. Albert's interest, having since conducted the business alone. He was married, March 12, 1872, to Miss Abbie, daughter of Charles and Susan (Brown) Albert, natives of Pennsylvania and of German and English origin, respectively. She is the youngest in a family of eight children, and was born April 7, 1854. This union was blessed with ten children, five of whom are living: Robert H., born January 3, 1873, Marion, born April 16, 1884, George, born September 3, 1886; Bradley W., born January 16, 1878, and Alexander M., born August 22, 1891. The family attend the Presbyterian Church. Mr. Kocher is a member of the Order of the World, P.O.S. of A., and Jr. O.U.A.M.; in politics, he is a sound Republican, and is at present serving as constable of the borough.
J. H. KOCHER, farmer, P.O. Gregory, was born in Newport township, December 22, 1847, son of Jacob and Maria (Vandermark) Kocher, both of whom were also born in Newport township. Jacob is the son of Thomas Kocher, who removed from Northampton to this county in its very early history, and is said to have been the first man who discovered and sold coal in the Valley, and he operated in coal when mining was in its infancy. Thomas was a son of Thomas Kocher, who was a native of Holland and never removed to this country. Thomas Kocher, Jr., was also a farmer, and did much to advance agricultural pursuits in those days. Jacob Kocher, father of our subject, began active life as a farmer in Newport township; he also became an extensive hotelkeeper, a business he followed successively for thirteen years. His influence was much sought after and tendered where it could do the most good. He served as justice of the peace for five years. He is hale and hearty, and is now foreman in a mine in Scranton at the age of sixty-eight years. His wife is also living, at the age of sixty-seven. Their family numbers five children, all of whom are living: James H., Estella, Milton, Lyman and Martha. James H. is the eldest in the family, and was reared and educated in Wilkes-Barre, in early life learning the miller's trade, at which he labored sixteen years. He worked in various mills in the Valley, and in 1866 went to Indiana, where he took charge of a large flouring mill for five years. He then returned to Luzerne county and worked for the same man with whom he had learned his trade when a boy, working there one year. In 1873, Mr. Kocher gave up his position in the mill for one in the Stanton Breaker, as boss, where he worked six years, after which he removed to Hunlock township, where he purchased a small farm, on which he now resides, there are splendid water privileges on his place. Mr. Kocher married, on November 10, 1869, Miss Ellen, daughter of Reuben and Rachel Oplinger, and they have had six children, five of whom are living: Harvey, James, Fanny, Murray and Bertie. Mrs. Kocher was born in Newport in 1848. Mr. Kocher is a general practical farmer and confines himself principally to "trucking." Politically he is a Republican.
SYLVESTER KOCHER, blacksmith, P.O. Ruggles, was born July 4, 1846, reared and educated in Lake township. He is a son of John B. and Hulda (Davenport) Kocher, the former born in Newport township, Luzerne county, July 9, 1813, the latter in Union township, February 27, 1816. John B. was a son of Thomas, who was born in Northampton county, Pa., of Dutch descent, and who removed to this county, locating in Newport township about 1812, on a lot of 100 acres of land. He had fourteen children when he located, who helped him materially in clearing and beautifying his farm, he buried four, having a family of eighteen in all. He was a hard working man who, with his family, did much for the advancement of agriculture. One of his sons, Nathan, was a leading man in his township. He was elected to the office of county commissioner at one time, and at another, justice of the peace. He lived to be eighty years of age, his death being caused by the effects of having his toe frozen. His wife lived to be eighty-eight years of age. John B. removed to Lake township in 1839, locating on the farm now occupied by his son Sylvester. He moved into the wilderness, where he built himself a log house, which in time was succeeded by a more elaborate building. He made many improvements during his lifetime in buildings and in clearing his farm, forty acres of which he brought under cultivation. He died September 26, 1889, at the age of seventy-six years. His family numbered eleven children; nine grew to maturity, of whom eight are now living. Sylvester is the fifth, and in early life learned the blacksmith trade at which he works in conjunction with the cultivation of his farm of forty-three acres. He is a first-class mechanic and a practical man of business. On February 15, 1870, he married Miss Eveline, daughter of henry and Sarah Poole. They have had two children; Lena A., now aged twenty-one; and Earl L., aged thirteen. Mrs. Eveline (Poole) Kocher was born in Monroe township, Wyoming county. Mr. Kocher has held several township offices. Politically he is a Democrat.
T. T. KOCHER, farmer, P.O. Outlet, was born in Union township, May 24, 1834, a son of Josiah and Mary (Davenport) Kocher, the former born in Hollenback township in 1804, the latter in Union township in 1807. Josiah is a son of Thomas Kocher, who was born in Northampton county, Pa., of Dutch parentage. He removed to this county in 1812, locating in Hollenback township on a farm of 125 acres or more; he was a hard working man, possessed of good moral principles. He lived to be an old man, after rearing a family of eight children, all of whom are dead. His son Josiah remained in Union township till 1838, when he removed to Lake township on a lot of 100 acres of unimproved land, which by industry and economy he succeeded in clearing, cultivating and improving till it became a model of perfection, his buildings being numerous and commodious, his fruit trees thrifty and prolific. He was a great hunter, and in those days, there was an abundance of game of all kinds. In politics he was a Democrat. He died May 4, 1883, at the age of eighty-one years. His family consisted of eight children, seven of whom are now living, T. T. being the third in order of birth. In early life, our subject taught school several terms. He learned the wheel and millwright trades, and is considered a first class workman in these lines. Mr. Kocher was married twice; in 1857 he wedded Miss Lydia, daughter of Charles and Elizabeth Davenport, by which union he had four children, two of whom are living: William R. and Lizzie, the former of whom married Miss Geraldine Benscoter, the latter married C. L. Hoyt. In 1869, our subject married Miss Edrei, daughter of Andrew and Massie A. Sharpe, and by her he had six children, five of whom are now living, viz.: Josiah T. (Married to Miss Olive Green), Kate A., Lillie A., Fannie L, and Arthur C. Mr. Kocher is one of the pioneers of Lake township, having come here at four years of age (in 1838) and has since then been a continuous resident. In 1858 he removed on his present farm of 100 acres, about ten of which were cleared, but without any buildings, now there are seventy acres cleared, and a number of buildings erected to accommodate the in-gathering of the crops in harvest time. Mr. Kocher is a practical farmer, keeping well abreast of the times, not only in the agricultural department, but in mechanics as well. Politically he is a Democrat, and has been elected to several offices of trust, serving as justice of the peace, and in other minor offices. He has a large pond on his farm which is well stocked with carp.
JOSEPH H. KOEHLER, justice of the peace, West Hazleton borough, was born in Sybertsville, this county, December 1, 1857, and is a son of John and Elizabeth (Koehler) Koehler, natives of the Province of Hessen, Germany. Joseph H. is the youngest in a family of five children, was reared and educated in Hazleton, and at the age of nine years, began life as a slate-packer, at which he worked two years and then returned to school for one year. During the next five years he was employed by Charles Altmiller; then clerked for different merchants in Hazleton for about sixteen years, when he again engaged in the mining business, which he followed until 1883, when he was elected to the office of justice of the peace, which he has ever since held. During the year 1890-91, he was burgess of West Hazleton. On August 24, 1884, Mr. Koehler was united in marriage with Miss Dorothy, daughter of George and Elizabeth (Reinmiller) Gleam, natives of Germany, and four children were born to this union, namely: Harry G. (deceased), George, William H. and Robert. The family are members of the German Lutheran Church, and Mr. Koehler belongs to the P.O.S. of A. In political matters, he is always to be found with the Republican Party.
DANIEL B. KOENIG, dealer in pianos, organs, and sewing machines, Hazleton. This gentleman was born in Stockton, Pa., May 30, 1859, and is the third in the family of twelve children, of Daniel and Eva (George) Koenig, natives of Germany. He was reared and educated at Stockton, and early in life learned the carpenter's trade, which he followed until 1889, when he engaged in the sewing machine business, representing the Domestic Company. In January 1892, he added to his business by putting in a stock of the famous Kellmer pianos and organs. Mr. Koenig was united in marriage, February 2, 1884, with Christiana, daughter of John Reckroth of Hazleton, and four children have been born to this union, namely: George, Kate, Edith and Harry. Politically Mr. Koenig is a thorough Democrat, and he is a member of the Knights of Pythias, and Patriotic Order Sons of America. The family attend the German Reformed Church.
W. M. KOENIG, farmer, P.O. Pittston, was born in Germany, October 23, 1866, son of Andrew and Eva S. (Sohns) Koenig. They are both natives of Germany, where they are now living and are well-to-do farming people. Their family consists of seven children, all of whom are living. W. M. is the first born, and was reared and educated in the land of his birth, in early life learning the butcher's business. In 1881, he emigrated to this country, locating in New York City, where he remained about five years. From there he went to Connecticut, where he spent one year, and in 1887, he removed to this county, where he has since resided. Mr. Koenig now lives on one of the oldest homesteads in the Valley, formerly the Schooley property, and yet in the hands of a descendant (Mrs. Carpenter) and devotes his time and farm of twenty acres to "trucking." He is a promising young man of more than ordinary intelligence, who looks the world squarely in the face and says; "I'll succeed." In March 1890, he married Miss Rose, daughter of Daniel and Caroline Marks, they have one child, Lizzie Louisa. He and his wife are consistent members of the Congregational Church, in which he is a deacon. He now holds the office of policeman in Exeter borough; politically he is a Republican.
DE WITT CLINTON KOONS, lumberman, P.O. Rittenhouse, was born in Huntington township, March 21, 1835, and is a son of William and Sarah (Fuller) Koons. His paternal grandfather, Daniel Koons, formerly of Cherry Valley, Monroe Co., Pa., and by trade a tanner, settled in Huntington township. The father of our subject was born in 1800, and died in December 14, 1885. He was a tanner, farmer, merchant and lumberman, served one term as commissioner of Luzerne county, and one term as sheriff. He was an iron founder, and had furnaces at Shickshinny and Hunlock Creek. His wife was a daughter of Daniel Fuller, of Huntington township, by whom he had nine children: Rachel (Mrs. John Smith), Bernard D., William B., Isaac M., De Witt C., James S., Tarble M., John M., and George W. Our subject was reared in Huntington township, educated in common schools and Wyoming Seminary, and since attaining his majority has been principally engaged in lumbering; he has been a resident of Fairmount township since 1865. In 1859, Mr. Koons married Henrietta S., daughter of Daniel and Charlotte (Tubbs) Culver, of Huntington township, and had three children: John S., Cordelia H. (Mrs. Thomas R. Search) and Susan Maud (Mrs. Henry G. Long.) The mother is now deceased. Our subject is a Democrat, and has held the office of jury commissioner one term.
F. A. B. KOONS, a prominent farmer and paper manufacturer, Huntington township, P.O. Huntington Mills, was born April 7, 1831, at new Columbus, and is a son of John and Anna (Fellows) Koons, natives, respectively, of Monroe and Luzerne Counties, and of German and English origin, respectively; the father was a merchant and surveyor and at one time was associate judge of the county. He came to the county in 1819, and died February 8, 1878, aged eighty-three years. Our subject is the fifth in order of birth in a family of seven children, four of whom are now living. He was educated in the common schools and Dickinson Seminary, and when twenty-two years of age engaged as clerk with a hardware firm of Philadelphia, with whom he worked two years. He then opened a hardware store in Pittston, which he conducted two years, and then sold out. He then traveled for a year in the West, and after his return opened a general store at Harveyville, where he remained two years. He was then engaged for two years in the same business at Town Hill, whence he removed to Huntington Mills, where he also conducted a store until 1880. In 1867 he, with two brothers, built the Huntington Valley Paper Mills; in 1884, he purchased the interest of one brother, and the other one having died in 1868, our subject became manager. He also owns two fine farms in Huntington township—one of 111 acres, and one of sixty-three acres—both worked by tenants. Mr. Koons was married June 30, 1855, to Miss Helen R., daughter of Theopolis and Elizabeth (Smith) Larned, natives of Wyoming Valley, and of English origin, she was the youngest of twelve children, and was born August 30, 1836. Mr. Koons is a member of the G.A.R.; he is at present holding office of school director, and takes great interest in educational matters. He enlisted, November 8, 1861, in Company C, Fifty-sixth P.V., participating in the second battle of Bull Run, and various minor engagements. He was taken prisoner August 28, 1862, and held in Libby Prison for six weeks. During his service he was promoted to captain, being discharged in January 1863. Mr. Koons is a sound democrat and one of the most prominent of the party in his township. He is a grandson of Daniel Koons, a native of Northampton county, a tanner by trade, who came to Luzerne county in 1819.
HENRY C. KOONS, Freeland, is among the foremost, successful business men of the county, and has established a reputation for fair dealing, throughout the broad section of the country where his business extends. He is a native of Lehighton, Carbon county, born December 17, 1843. His parents were John and Maria (Snyder) Koons, both natives of Northampton county, Pa., the former of whom died in 1856, the latter in 1880. Henry C. received his education in the public schools at Weissport and when thirteen years of age found employment as clerk in a store at Mauch Chunk, where he remained over three years. He then returned to Weissport, where he clerked five years, thence removing to Eckley, where he was appointed manager of the general store of Sharp, Wise & Co. This position he held four years, during which time he was also postmaster at Eckley. In 1875 he came to Freeland, and still continues to be the leading store of the town. He has been forced to enlarge to his store to keep pace with his rapidly growing trade, but his place of business has remained substantially on the original site. His furniture department occupies spacious premises adjoining his general store. Mr. Koons was married in 1871 to Miss Rhoda Giffon, of Buck Mountain, Carbon county. They have four children: Anna (married to Charles Raudenbush, of Freeland), Laura, Freddie, and Thalie W. Mr. Koons is connected with every important public enterprise, and is one of the energetic businessmen of Freeland. He is stockholder in the Freeland Water Company, and vice-president of the Citizen's Bank of Freeland; he is a member of the American Legion of Honor, the P.O.S. of A., and the I.O.O.F.
JAMES S. KOONS, P.O. Harveyville, owner and operator of a large flouring mill and planing mill, Huntington township, was born April 1, 1837, in same township, a son of William and Sarah (Fuller) Koons, natives of Pennsylvania, of German and Scotch origin, respectively. William Koons was a farmer and merchant by occupation and died December 14, 1885, aged eighty-five years; he was a son of Daniel and Susanna (Brown) Koons. Our subject was the sixth in a family of eleven children, six of whom are now living. He was reared on a farm, educated in the common schools, and when twenty-one years of age began farming the homestead farm on shares; this he followed two years. He then operated a grist-mill in Sullivan county for two years, and then the mill he now owns for two years, after which he went to Arch Bridge (now Koonsville) and conducted a general store for twenty-three years when he purchased his present property. He was married January 1, 1859, to Jerusha C., daughter of William P. Robinson, of Fairmount township. This union was blessed with six children, five of whom are living, viz.: Bertha (Mrs. William Eveland) of New Columbus borough (has one child, Fred); Lizzie (Mrs. C. P. Horned), of Koonsville (has one child, Warren K.); Ernest B., married Nette Kingsbury, and has one child, Esther R. (he is a superintendent in his father's planing mill); Sue L., at school at Bloomsburg; and Ruth R., at home. Mrs. Koons is a member of the M.E. Church. Mr. Koons is a sound Democrat, and has been school director and auditor of his township.
J. S. KOONS, miner, Shickshinny, was born at Pine Grove, Schuylkill Co., Pa., April 1, 1851, a son of John and Elizabeth (Smith) Koons. The paternal grandfather, John Koons, a native of France, in the early part of the present century settled in Schuylkill county, Pa., where he died. The maternal Grandfather was Martin Smith, a farmer of Berks county, Pa. The father of our subject was a native of Berks county, and now resides in Lebanon county. John S. Koons was reared in his native State, educated in the common schools, began work in the mines of Schuylkill county when eighteen years of age, and has since followed mining. He has been a resident of Shickshinny since 1887. In 1870 he married Solmy, daughter of Jacob Houtz, of Tower City, Schuylkill Co., Pa., and by her had thirteen children, eight of whom survive: Oscar, James, Sally, Charles, Bessie, Benjamin H. and Caroline (twins), and Ridgeway M.
HARRY P. KOSEK, proprietor of the "Brookside Hotel," and cider manufacturer was born in Pittston, Pa., October 6, 1867. He was reared and educated in Wilkes-Barre. When twenty-two years of age, he had charge of his father's store; has been manager of the Wilkes-Barre & Kingston Bridge Company since April 1, 1890, and proprietor of the "Brookside Hotel" since April 1, 1891. January 26, 1890, Mr. Kosek married Miss Emma M., daughter of Jacob M. and Margaret (Beline) Schappert, of Wilkes-Barre, and by her has two children, Hilliam and Harry. Mr. Kosek is one of the most popular and enterprising young men of the city. He is a member of the Catholic Church, of the K. of P., C.M.B.A., St. Francis Pioneer Corps, St. Joseph's Society, German Young Men's Benevolent Association, Concordia and Saengerbund. In politics he is a Democrat.
JOHN KOSEK (now deceased), who in his lifetime was a well known and prominent merchant of Wilkes-Barre, was born in Bohemia, Austria, April 7, 1842 and was a son of Vincent and Barbara Kosek. He was reared in his native country and in 1866 came to America, locating in Wilkes-Barre, where he was employed in a tannery two years. In 1868 he embarked in general merchandising, in which he continued successfully until his death, February 10, 1890. He was the prime mover in the building of the Wilkes-Barre & West Side Street Railroad, and one of its heaviest stockholders, also an extensive dealer in real estate. He was an attorney in his native place and engaged in selling exchange to enable friends in the Old Country to immigrate to this country. He built the Greek Church on Main Street and advanced the money therefor; he erected thirty-seven houses in different parts of the city, also was the prime mover in building Brookside; was also engaged in the Terra Cotta Works of this city, and the Scranton Works. He was a promoter and one of the largest stockholders of the Wilkes-Barre & Kingston Bridge Company, and at the time of his death he was one of the leading and enterprising citizens of Wilkes-Barre. On November 25, 1870, he was married with Elizabeth, daughter of Dr. Joseph and Mary (Dahm) Warnicke, of Pittston, formerly of Germany. Dr. Warnicke was for many years a resident of Pittston and a prominent physician of his day. Mr. Kosek was a member of the St. Nicholas German Catholic Church, and politically was a democrat. His widow and six children—Harry P., Mary T., Josephine, Frank, John and Carl—survive him.
J. R. KREIDLER, blacksmith, Sweet Valley, was born in Wilkes-Barre, March 22, 1861. He is a son of Thomas A. and Mary J. (Burr) Kreidler, the former born in Northampton county, Pa., the latter in Wilkes-Barre. Thomas A. was the son of Jesse Kreidler, also a native of Northampton county, who removed to this county with his family when Thomas A. was a small boy. He was a blacksmith by occupation and located in Wilkes-Barre, where he worked his trade. He lived a long and useful life, and reared a family of seven children. Thomas A., his son, followed in the footsteps of his father and learned the blacksmith's trade, at which he worked in Wilkes-Barre. In 1862 he removed from Wilkes-Barre to Dallas, where he remained nineteen years, and in 1881 removed to Hanover township, where he now resides. He is fifty-seven years of age and still works at his trade. Thomas A. was the father of ten children, five of whom are now living. J. R. is the eldest of the family and reared and educated in Dallas, learning the blacksmith's trade of his father, at which he has worked ever since. He removed to Ross township, May 3, 1892, where he ingratiated himself into the full confidence of the public. He is a first-class mechanic, well acquainted with the anatomy of the horse's foot, which knowledge has won him a large and increasing custom. In 1881 he married Miss Elnora, daughter of George Putubaugh. To this union have been born six children, four of whom are living: Fanny J., Herbert W., Ethel M. and Pearl. Mrs. Elnora Kreidler was born in Mehoopany, Pa. in 1865.
AMANDES M. KRESGE, lumber dealer and farmer, Bear Creek township, P.O. Miners Mills, was born in Chestnut Hill township, Monroe Co., Pa., April 20, 1841, a son of Adam (a farmer) and Elizabeth (Dorshimer) Kresge, both of whom were born in Monroe county, of German descent. They reared a family of seven children, five of whom are yet living, Amandes M. being the second eldest. Our subject attended the common schools for but four months, as early in life he had to go to work on his father's farm and here he remained until he was seventeen years old, when he gave up agriculture and went to lumbering on the Lehigh River. This he followed until March 1864, when he enlisted in Company L, One Hundred and Twelfth Pennsylvania heavy Artillery, which was afterward attached to the Second Division, and he remained in this company during the war. Mr. Kresge participated in the battle of the Wilderness, the bombardment of Petersburg, and in several other important engagements. After the war he again engaged in lumbering, until 1868, when he accepted the position of foreman in A. C. Bryen & Co.'s sawmill at Moosic, Luzerne Co., Pa. By hard work and economy he managed to save enough money to purchase in 1875, a large tract of timber land in Bear Creek township, whither he at once moved, and where he now resides. At the time of his moving to Bear Creek township, he was obliged to haul enough lumber with him, wherewith to construct a shelter for his family and stock. During his second year's residence in Bear Creek he built a sawmill, and found a ready sale for his lumber; doing, in fact, good business until 1882, when disaster befell him by his mill taking fire and it, together will all the lumber he had in stock, as well as his barns and outhouses, was destroyed. He then paid more attention to clearing up his land, having now almost eighty acres of it under cultivation. Besides his possession in bear Creek township, Mr. Kresge is the owner of several properties in Wilkes-Barre and Miners Mills. In politics he is a Republican and he has held the office of school director in Bear Creek township, nine years. On March 16, 1867, Mr. Kresge married Catherine, daughter of Aaron and Margaret (Sheets) Holzshizer, both natives of Pennsylvania and of German descent, and to this union have been four children as follows: Ira K., Florence D., Agnes M. and Nettie R. The entire family belong to the Presbyterian Church.
GEORGE BRUBAKER KULP, Wilkes-Barre, is a lineal descendant of the Mennonite minister, Rev. Henry Kolb, who settled in this State in 1707, perhaps earlier. Rev. Henry Kolb, Rev. Martin Kolb, Tielman Kolb, Rev. Peter Kolb and Jacob Kolb (or Kulp) brothers, were natives of Wolfsheim, in the Palatinate, Germany, and emigrating to this country were the pillars of the second oldest Mennonite Church in America. The first Mennonite preacher in Pennsylvania was Willem Rittinghuysen, or Rittenhouse. Rev. Henry Kolb was the second Mennonite preacher in America. The maternal grandfather of the brothers was Peter Schumacher, who arrived as an emigrant in Pennsylvania October 12, 1685, bringing four children: Peter, Mary, Frances and Gertrude and his cousin Sarah, locating at Germantown, where he remained until his death in 1707, when he was aged eighty-five years. Rev. Henry Kolb's mother was buried in Wolfsheim, in 1705, at the age of fifty-three years. The father died in 1713, aged sixty-four and is buried at Mannheim. Rev. Henry Kolb died in 1730, leaving seven children: Peter, David, Tielman, Mary Karsdorp, Dorithy Gotshalk, Annie Swarts and Agnes Kolb. Peter, the eldest, died in 1748. His eldest son, Jacob, was born March 7, 1740, died June 28, 1818. He had children as follows: Abraham, Jacob, David C., Elizabeth, Lloyd, Catherine (Mrs. Abraham Sellers), Mary (Mrs. David Reiner), Susannah (Mrs. Christian Stover) and Nancy (Mrs. John Snare.) The above mentioned Abraham Kulp first married Barbara Sellers, daughter of Leonard Sellers, and granddaughter of Philip Henry Soller (now written Sellers), who emigrated to this country from Weinhein, Germany, landing September 11, 1728, with his wife and four children, and died near Sellersville, Bucks Co., Pa., at the age of sixty-five years. Abraham Kulp died February 11, 1847, near Linden, Lycoming Co., Pa. Eli Sellers Kulp, second son of Abraham Kulp, was the father of George Brubaker Kulp, whose name opens this article, born in Kulpsville, Montgomery county, Pa., February 2, 1800, died July 6, 1849, of cholera at St. George's, Del., having attained eminence as an educator. The mother of George B. Kulp is Susannah Breneiser Kulp, daughter of Samuel Breneiser and granddaughter of John Valentine Breneiser, who came to this country from Germany, September 5, 1730. Mrs. Kulp is still living at the age of eighty-three years.
GEORGE B. KULP was born in Reamstown, Lancaster Co., Pa., and February 11, 1839. He suffered the loss of his father at the age of ten, but he sought self-support and found employment on the canal and then on the railroad. His studious energy fitted him at the age of seventeen to teach school, and while teaching he read law in the office of Lyman Hakes, of Wilkes-Barre; then formed a law partnership with Hon. W. G. Ward, of Scranton, Pa. Before he was twenty-two years of age, he was elected register of wills of Luzerne county for the term of three years, and in 1863 was elected for another term of three years. In 1864, he was chosen a school director, taking hold when there were but three ramshackle school buildings in Wilkes-Barre, 187 pupils, and remained in that office twelve years, and until school affairs in that city became the pride and boast of the people. The Washington, Conyngham and Franklin school buildings were erected during his term. He was attorney for the county from 1874 to 1879, with a short intermission; in 1867 he was appointed assistant assessor of internal revenue by the Secretary of the Treasury, and June 11, 1867, he was appointed specially by the commissioner of internal revenue to make assessments for all taxes imposed on legacies and distributive shares of personal property in the county of Luzerne. In 1876 he was chosen to the city council, where he continued until 1882, being one of the conspicuous members of that body. In January 1872, he established the "Luzerne Legal Register," a leading law publication of which he is editor and proprietor. In February 1877, he, in company with Joseph K. Bogert, established a weekly Democratic newspaper which they named the Leader, which in 1879 absorbed the Luzerne Union, and it became the Union Leader. A daily edition was started in October of that year. In 1880 Mr. Kulp retired, selling his interest to Mr. Bogert. With all these irons heating, Mr. Kulp was always blessed with time to exercise his strong literary abilities and is the author of a "Digest and Titles of Local Laws and Titles of Corporations in the County of Luzerne from 1700 to 1874;" also "Rules of the Court of Common Pleas, Quarter Sessions and Oyer and Terminer of Luzerne county," 1879; also "Families of the Wyoming Valley, Biographical, Genealogical and Historical" three volumes of 1, 422 pages; "Historical Essays—Indians, Teedyuscung Discovery and Early Settlement of Wyoming Valley—Old Forge Early Methodism—Coal and its Antiquity, and Sabbath Sunday." These make a book of 155 pages, published in 1892. He is the editor and publisher of the "Luzerne Legal Register Reports," of which six volumes have been issued. Then his "In Memoriam of John Stewart—Elizabeth A. Stewart," 75 pages, and a sketch of the "Life and Character of George W. Woodward," 42 pages, published in 1875, and some able discussions on the leading economic subjects of the times. He is an active member and historiographer of the Wyoming Historical and Geological Society. In political matter he is a democrat, full of the outspoken courage of his convictions; has again and again proven himself one of Wilkes-Barre's most influential and valuable citizens; in his social life, genial as the spring sunbeam; warm in his friendships, his devoted friends are legion; and with a generous plenty of this world's goods, he is liberal and just to all as well as his family and friends. Starting from the first round of the ladder of life—a self-dependant orphan boy—his easy ascension marks him distinctly as one of those whose well-rounded life it is pleasant to know. Mr. Kulp is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church and is the president of the board of trustees of the Fourth M.E. Church of Wilkes-Barre. George B. Kulp and Mary E. Stewart were joined in wedlock October 4, 1864. She is a daughter of the late John Stewart, of Scranton, in whose memory was recently dedicated the Stewart Memorial Church at Old Forge, and of this marriage were born six children, three of whom are now living, two sons and one daughter, as follows: John Stewart Kulp, M.D., who was educated at the Wilkes-Barre Academy, Yale College, and in the Medical department of the University of Pennsylvania, was graduated in the class of 1889, the next year taking a post-graduate course in the same institution and in 1891-92 pursued his medical studies at the University of Berlin, Germany; Harry Eugene Kulp, married Miss Hettie D. Brower, of Factoryville, Pa. (they reside at LaPlume, Pa.; he is a farmer and was educated at the Wilkes-Barre and Keystone Academies, and at the Pennsylvania State College). The only daughter is Mary Estelle Kulp, who at the present writing is spending her school vacation with her family. Sergeant Thomas Williams, a conspicuous figure in the early history of Wyoming, was the maternal great-grandfather of Mrs. Kulp.
HENRY KUNKEL, M.D., a physician and surgeon, of Kingston, was born at new Ringgold, Pa., October 9, 1861. He is a son of John and Mary (Long) Kunkel, natives of Pennsylvania. Dr. Kunkel received his earlier education in the common schools; later he attended the State Normal School at Kutztown, Pa., and taught a few years in the public schools. While attending school at Kutztown, and during the time he was teaching, he prepared to enter the Sophomore class at La Fayette College, from where he graduated in 1887, and from which he has since received the title of Master of Arts. During the last year of college life he assiduously applied his spare moments to the reading of medicine, which he continued afterward at Reading, Pa., and attended lectures at the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Baltimore, Md., from where he graduated in medicine in 1889. The Doctor began the practice of medicine in Brooklyn, N.Y., where he remained about six months, and in the fall of 1890, he came to Kingston, where he has since established a large practice. The Doctor is a member of the Luzerne County Medical Society, the Lehigh Valley Medical Association and the Pennsylvania State Medical Society.
CHARLES D. KUNKLE, farmer, P.O. Kunkle, was born January 2, 1845, in Dallas township, son of Conrad and Sarah Jane (Oakley) Kunkle, the former of whom was a son of Philip, who was also a resident of New Jersey, and who moved to this county in 1817, locating in Dallas township, on the place where L. O. Oakley now resides. His farm numbered 150 acres, which he improved as a man of tact and industry only can. He was a consistent Christian man, whose home was always open to preachers of the Gospel, whose heart always beats in sympathy with their glad tidings, and who was always liberal of his means in the support of the church work. His house was often a temporary meeting place for the early pioneers of Dallas. Philip Kunkle was a stanch democrat. His family consisted of five children, one of whom is now living. He died in 1852 at the age of seventy-three years. Conrad Kunkle began life in Dallas township in 1854, on the road leading from Dallas to Kunkle, on a farm of 750 acres. He was an extensive farmer and lumberman, and in 1864 built a sawmill, in which he manufactured his own lumber. He was a man of influence not only in society but also in the church. He was justice of the peace for ten years, and office he filled with credit. He died in 1869, at the age of fifty-nine. His family consisted of fifteen children by three marriages, eleven of whom are now living. Charles D. is a member of the family by the second marriage. He was reared and educated in Dallas township, and began life in Kunkle, where he has always lived, and has confined himself to agricultural pursuits, being a true son of the soil. On November 16, 1870 he was united in marriage with Miss Hester A., daughter of Uriah and Margaret Baird, by whom he has had five children: Nellie, Maggie J., Stephen O., J. Stanley and Frederick P. Nellie is married to Fred Makinson, a mechanic. In 1862 Mr. Kunkle showed that spirit of patriotism that has always slumbered in the bosom of the Kunkles, in offering himself a sacrifice on the altar of his country. He became a member of the Company G., One Hundred and Forty-third Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry, for the term of three years. He served to the close of the war, having participated in the following principal battles: Chancellorsville, Gettysburg (where he received a severe wound) Wilderness, Spottsylvania (where he was again wounded), Weldon R.R., etc. He was honorably discharged and now draws a pension. Politically, he is a Democrat, and has held several offices in the town with credit.
CHARLES A. KUSCHKE, merchant tailor, Plymouth. This venerable gentleman was born October 29, 1821, at Hamburg, Germany, and is a son of John H. and Frederica (Smith) Kuschke, the former of Saxon blood, the latter a native of Mechlenburg, Germany. The subject of this sketch came to America in April 1851, and located at Wilkes-Barre. He was educated in Hamburg, and early in life learned the tailor's trade, which he followed after coming to that city, being employed by Simon Long as cutter for nearly one and a half years. He then removed to Plymouth, where he established the merchant-tailoring business, and he has followed that trade in the building where he first started, at No. 100 West Main Street. At the time our subject and his family came to Plymouth, it was but a small hamlet containing about 800 inhabitants, they came from New York to Wilkes-Barre in the old stage coaches that in early times made those overland trips, and Wilkes-Barre at that time was but a country town of 2, 500 population. Mr. Kuschke married in Hamburg, Germany, May 18, 1845 to Louisa, daughter of Bernard and Caroline (Boichers) Schraeder, natives of Brunswick, Germany, and seven children were born to this union, as follows: Henry C; Caroline (deceased); Christian B.; Margaret, wife of Gotleib Ruff, of Wilkes-Barre; Minnie, wife of Hugo Staedler, music instructor at Wyoming seminary; Matilda, wife of Charles Gennsel, of Beaver Meadow, Carbon Co., Pa., and John A. Mr. and Mrs. Kuschke attend the Lutheran Church. He is a member of the I.O.O.F.
CHRISTIAN B. KUSCHKE, butcher, Plymouth, was born at Hamburg, Germany, March 2, 1850, and is a son of Charles A. and Louisa (Schraeder) Kuschke, also natives of Hamburg, Germany. Christian B. was the youngest in a family of six children, and was educated at the public schools of Luzerne county and at the Wyoming Seminary where he received a liberal training. Soon after completing his education he was employed by C. Shaffer, a butcher, for a short time, afterward working in Weil's market for two years. He then went to Philadelphia, and worked one and a half years in a market on the corner of Twelfth and Market Streets, going thence to New York, where he remained one year, and afterward went to Chicago, where he remained two years, working there at the time of the great fire. He returned at the end of that period to Plymouth, where he entered the services of his old employer, Mr. Weil, for one year. He then went into business for himself, buying out Daniel Browns's butcher shop, where he carried on business for some time, afterward erecting the large brick block in which everything has been especially arranged and equipped for a first-class butchering business, where he is now to be found, conducting an extensive trade. Mr. Kuschke's wide experience as a butcher, together with his finely arranged market, fully enables him to furnish his many customers with a large variety of meats. Mr. Kuschke was married December 18, 1873, to Miss Margaret Llewellyn, a native of Wales, and eight children have been born to this union, viz.: Charles, Carrie, Maude, Harry, Arthur, John, Helen and Albert. In political matters Mr. Kuschke adheres to the Democratic Party; the family attend the Christian Church. It seems needless to say, in looking over Mr. Kuschke's place of business and noting his large trade, that he has been an eminently successful man in his line and has, by thrift and enterprise, done much to make Plymouth what it is, a typical business town.
ROBERT KYTTLE, farmer, P.O. Kyttle, was born in Ross township, July 31, 1854, being a son of Hiram and Mary (Davenport) Kyttle, the former of whom was born in Lehman, the latter in Fairmount township. Hiram is a son of Ephraim and Abigail Kyttle, and began his active business life in Ross township, as a farmer. He is a worthy gentleman, highly respected by his citizens, and is now enjoying life in Ross township. His family consisted of five children, two of whom are living: James and Robert, the latter being the third by birth. Our subject has always been a resident of Ross township, where he confines himself to agricultural pursuits. On January 25, 1877, he married Miss Allie, daughter of Daniel and Lucinda Wesley, and of this union were born five children, four of whom are living: Luther, Clara, Martha and Tacy. Mrs. Kyttle was born in Ross township in 1860. Mr. Kyttle has since 1875 owned a farm of 130 acres, and is a promising young man, enjoying the full confidence of his neighbors. Politically he is a Democrat, and has held the office of postmaster since 1886.
WILLIAM E. KYTTLE, farmer, P.O. Kyttle, was born in Lehman township, June 27, 1839. He is the son of Ephraim and Abigail S. (Fletcher) Kyttle, the former of whom was born in Rhode Island, November 11, 1795, the latter in Connecticut, August 19, 1797. They removed to this county in June 1832, locating in Wilkes-Barre, where they remained long enough to build a tract of land he purchased in Lehman township. As soon as his log house was in readiness he removed thither with his family and resided there a number of years, finally removing to Ross township, where he owned two hundred acres of land, seventy-five of which he brought under subjection to the plow. He was a hard working pioneer, who did much in Ross township for the advancement of agriculture. Like all the old settlers he has fish and game in abundance, his place being a regular deer pasture. Mr. Kyttle was a man of influence in his township and held several prominent offices. He died February 14, 1876, aged eighty-one, his wife, November 19, 1878, also aged eighty-one. The family consisted of nine children, eight of whom grew to maturity and four of whom are now (1892) living. William E. is the youngest of the family. He was reared and educated in Ross township, being two and one half years of age when his father moved there. In early life he worked at the carpenter's trade, but is one of nature's mechanics. Mr. Kyttle has always been a resident of the township and county. He lived at home until he was twenty-eight years of age, when, in 1856, he married Miss Nancy, daughter of William and Mary Miller. To this union were born nine children. Six of these grew to maturity, five of whom are living (1892): J. L., Henry R., Armanda, Rachel E. and Martin. Mrs. Nancy Kyttle was born in Ross township in 1836. Mr. Kyttle owns a neat farm of sixty-four acres of valuable land. He is a wide-awake farmer, keeping well abreast of the times, and is practical in everything he does. He is of a genial nature, whose house and table are at the disposal of the wayfarer. He is a member of the I.O.O.F. Politically he is a Democrat.