ROBERT M. EARNHART, undertaker, and furniture dealer, White haven, was born in Port Carbon, Schuylkill, Co., Pa., June 15, 1852, a son of George and Lavina (Miltonburger) Earnhart, natives of Pennsylvania, and of English and German origin, respectively, the former of whom was a cabinet maker by trade. He reared a family of five children, three of whom are now living, Robert M. being the second in order of birth. Our subject was educated in the common schools, and at the age of twenty-one began work as a cabinet maker and carpenter, which trades he followed until the spring of 1886, when he purchased from Aaron Eddinger his present business, which he has since followed. He was married, January 30, 1876, to Miss Louise Feil, who was born February 15, 1858, the eldest daughter of John and Christiana (Drumm) Feil, natives of Germany. This union was blessed with ten children, viz.: Catharine, and Louisa (twins), both deceased in infancy; Clara M., born August 30, 1877; John F., born March 28, 1879; Jennie L., born September 25, 1881, Mary E., born September 21, 1883, died —; Eva A., born September 21, 1885; Christiana F. born February 16, 1886, died —; Allen L., born March 13, 1888, and Clarence M., born July 1, 1889. The family attend the Presbyterian Church. Mr. Earnhart is a member of the I.O.O.F. and Royal Arcanum. He is a Democrat, and was a member of the town council from 1889, to 1892.
JOHN EATON, farmer, P.O. Orange, was born in Franklin township, August 28, 1837. He is the son of Robert and Mary (Winters) Eaton, the former born in 1796, in County Antrim, Ireland, and the latter in Orange county, N.Y. Robert removed to this country in 1820, locating in Franklin township, where he bought a farm of fifty acres of uncultivated land on which he built a house, and to which he continued to add until he owned a hundred acres of well-improved land. Robert was a man of intelligence and enterprise, who had considerable influence with his fellow citizens. In 1847-50, he held the office of county commissioner, and at various times held several township offices with great credit. He reared a family of six children, three of whom are now living, two sons and one daughter. John is the fifth of the family and was reared and educated in Franklin township, where he has always resided, and has always confined himself to farming. He occupies the same farm on which his father settled, and which now comprises 140 acres. Mr. Eaton is a prosperous and industrious man and keeps abreast of the times. He is a general farmer, not confining himself to any special line. He has held several township offices, having served as supervisor three times, and school director for fifteen years, as well as in other minor offices. He is a member of the Grange. On July 4, 1864, Mr. Eaton married Miss Hannah, daughter of Jacob and Mary Nulton, by whom he had seven children, six of whom are now living: Robert, Maggie, Elizabeth, Jennie, Benjamin and Emma. Mrs. Eaton was born in Kingston township, August 9, 1844.
CHARLES C. EBERLY, furniture dealer, Plymouth, was born February 22, 1861, and is a son of Jacob and Mary A. (Cooke) Eberly, natives of Pennsylvania. This self-made young man was educated at the public schools in Northumberland county, and after receiving his early training, he learned the bricklayer's trade, which he has followed for seven years. At the end of that time, he engaged in the furniture business at Catawissa, Pa., where he remained for about three years, going from there to Wilkes-Barre, where he remained until he established his present business, at No. 28 West Main Street, Plymouth, which is one of the leading industries of the borough. Mr. Eberly was married December 22, 1887, to Mary E., daughter of Davin and Matilda (Reichelderfer) Hollingshead, natives of Catawissa, Pa. One child, Alena Florence, was born to this union, November 23, 1889. In politics, Mr. Eberly is a Democrat, and in religious belief a Methodist.
A. M. EBY, cashier of the Hazleton National Bank, was born at Selin's Grove, Pa., May 23, 1843. After receiving a common-school education in his native town, he was apprenticed in May, 1859, to Barrett & MacDowell, publishers at Harrisburg, Pa., where he learned the printer's trade, working at it until 1862, in which year he enlisted in the One Hundred and Forty-seventh Regiment, P.V., serving with distinction until June, 1865. He participated in the following battles: Chancellorsville, Gettysburg, Lookout Mountain, Missionary Ridge and Ringgold, besides other minor engagements. After returning from the war, Mr. Eby taught school until 1866, when he secured a position as transportation clerk for the Hazleton Railroad Company. In this position he remained until 1868, when he was employed by the Lehigh Valley Railroad Company as station agent at Hazleton, Pa., which incumbency he filed until 1873, when he engaged with Pardee, Markle & Grier, as bookkeeper and cashier. By this firm he was employed until 1882, when he accepted the position of general bookkeeper with A. Pardee & Co., remaining as such until June 4, 1891, when he was called upon to accept the position of cashier of the Hazleton national Bank. Mr. Eby was united in marriage, July 14, 1868, with Martha E., youngest daughter of Lewis and Mary (Jacobs) Davenport, the former of whom was a native of New Jersey, the latter, of the historic Wyoming Valley. The Davenports were among the first families who settled in Hazleton, coming here in the year 1833, when there were but two houses in what is now the city. Mr. Eby's father-in-law built and kept the first hotel in the place, then a stage stand on the turnpike, and erected the present "Hazleton House" the well known hotel on the corner of Broad and Wyoming streets. It is supposed that the eldest sister of Mrs. Eby, Emma Davenport was the first child born to what is now Hazleton. There were four girls in the Davenport family, namely: Elvira E. (Mrs. Lewis W. Drake); Mary M.; Emma J. (Mrs. C. B. Brundage), and Martha E. To Mr. and Mrs. Eby have been born two children, namely: Fannie B. and Charles S. Mr. Eby is a member of the Union Veteran Legion; is a F. & A.M., member of Hazleton Lodge No. 327, Lilly Chapter, Packer Commandery and McNair Council, of Mauch Chunk.
GEORGE W. EBY, proprietor of the "Amam House," Hazleton, was born in Juniata county, June 23, 1864, and is the fourth in a family of nine children of John W. Eby and Mary J. (Row), natives of Pennsylvania. The family removed to Schuylkill county when George W. was eleven years of age, and he at once began working about the mines, which occupation he followed until eighteen years of age, when he took charge of the stage line running from Lykens to Tower City. He drove this route for about one and a half years, at the end of which time he was engaged by G. B. Brubaker, hardware dealer of Lykens, Pa., as a bookkeeper, an incumbency he filled eighteen months, when he secured a position as traveling salesman for M. J. A. Keen, wholesale brush dealer. He represented this concern for four years, and then became manger for this State, of the Auburn, N.Y., Copying House. With this firm he remained two years, and on January 28, 1891, he became proprietor of the "Amam House," which he has since conducted with great success. In political matters, Mr. Eby is independent. Socially, he is a member of Lykens Lodge No. 106, Knights of Pythias, and of Wisconisco Lodge, No. 148, and Sons of America.
JEROME W. ECKENRODE, contractor and builder, Wilkes-Barre, was born in Carroll county, Md., February 1, 1843, a son of Samuel W. and Margaret (Althoff) Eckenrode, and is of German descent. His paternal grandparents were Jacob W. and Mary (Weivell) Ecckenrode, and his maternal grandfather was John Althoff. Our subject was reared in Frederick county, Md., from seven years of age, received a common school education, learned the carpenter's trade with his father, and worked as a journeyman in Frederick county ten years. In 1870 he located in Wilkes-Barre, where he worked as a journeyman until 1876, in which he embarked in business for himself, as a contractor and builder, in which he has since successfully continued. On October 23, 1872, he married Jane L., daughter of Charles and Mary (Straughsbaugh) Wierick, of Frederick county, Md., and they have five children living, viz.: Edith, Lawrence, George, Charles, and Alice. Mr. Eckenrode and family are members of the German Catholic Church; in politics he is a Democrat.
REV. JOHN G. ECKMAN, Methodist Episcopal minister, Kingston, was born in Northumberland county, Pa., and is a son of Jacob and Emma (Gulick) Eckman, natives of New Jersey, and descendants of original New England stock. Our subject was educated in the common school of his native county, afterward at the Wesleyan Seminary at Lima, N.Y., and in 1859, began the ministry at Stoddartsville, Luzerne county, Pa., remaining two years; then removed to Lehman, where he also resided two years, and from there proceeded to Plymouth, and there remained the same length of time. He also preached in North Moreland on year; Wilkes-Barre, three years, Waverly, three years; Ashley, one year—all in Pennsylvania; then went to Norwich, N.Y., and was presiding elder in the Chenango district four years; thence proceeded to Scranton, Pa., where he was pastor of the M.E. Church three years, after which he went to Binghamton, N.Y., in which district he was presiding elder four years. At West Pittston, he engaged in the ministry three years, and in 1887, he removed to Kingston, where he has since resided, engaged in his calling. Mr. Eckman was married, September 25, 1856, to Miss Margaret, daughter of George Hile, of Northumberland county, Pa., and they have four children, viz.: George P.; a minister at Orange, N.J.; P. N., a physician in Philadelphia; S. W., a clerk in Binghamton, N.Y. and Horace M., at home. Mr., Eckman represented his Conference was a delegate to the General Conference of the M.E. Church in 1876, 1880, 1884, and 1888. He has devoted his life exclusively to the advancement of Christianity, and is a strong advocate and supporter of the doctrine of Prohibition.
W. H. ECKROTH, clerk at the "Union House," Shickshinny, was born at Mifflinville, Columbia county, Pa., February 27, 1843, a son of Peter and Lydia (Ritchie) Eckroth. He was reared in his native State and St. Joseph county, Michigan, remaining in the latter State from 1854 to 1874. Lastly he spent two years in Illinois. In 1876 he returned to Columbia county, Pa., where he was engaged in farming until 1885, in which year he came to Shickshinny, where he has since resided, and has been clerk of the "Union House" since 1892. Mr. Eckroth was married twice, his first wife being Anna Pullen. His second wife is Rose, daughter of Thomas and Diana (Good) Davenport, of Shickshinny.
GEORGE W. EDDINGER, carpenter for the Lehigh Valley Railroad Company, at Sugar Notch with residence on Ridge Street, Ashley, was born in Northampton, county, Pa., January 7, 1836. He is a son of William and Elizabeth (Mildenberger) Eddinger, natives of Pennsylvania and of German extraction. His father, who was a lumberman, is now carrying mail in Luzerne borough at the age of eighty-four years; his mother died in 1872, at the age of fifty-nine years. The family consisted of ten children, viz.: George W.; Samuel, a millwright at Allentown, Pa.: Sarah L. (Mrs. Edwin Mills); William, who was killed at Antietam, September 17, 1862, at the age of nineteen years, while a member of Company N, Twenty-eighth P.V.I.; John N. carpenter of the Central Railroad Company at Ashley; Susan (Mrs. Charles Bennett), who died at the age of thirty-two, leaving a husband and four children; Mary (Mrs. Hiram Hawk), of Freeland, Pa.; Aaron, a real estate agent in Riverside, Cal.; Rachel J. (Mrs. John Nice, of Philadelphia), and Rebecca (Mrs. Charles A. Johnson, of Freeland, Pa.) After leaving Allentown the family removed to White Haven, where they lived for thirty-eight years. George W. attended the public school at that place, and then engaged in lumbering, which he followed for six years; then boated on the Lehigh Canal for two years, and afterward worked as a millwright and lumberman four years. He enlisted at Hazleton on June 12, 1861, in Company A, Twenty-eighth P.V.I., and re-enlisted at Wauhatchie, Tenn., December 26, 1863; he received a gunshot wound at Chancellorsville, and was discharged July 18, 1865, near Alexandria, Va., with the rank of sergeant. He then began his present trade, which he has since followed, except for one year that he leased a mill at White Haven; he has occupied his present residence since 1877. Mr. Eddinger was married February 17, 1866, to Miss Amelia, daughter of Hiram and Finna (Curtez) Beers, natives of Pennsylvania and of German origin. They have one child, Charles H., clerk in Miller & Co.'s store, Wilkes-Barre. Our subject and wife are members of the Presbyterian Church; he is a member of the K. of H, P.O.S. of A. and the G.A.R.; he is a Republican in politics, and has held the office of school director in Hanover township.
JOHN N. EDDINGER, carpenter, Hanover township, was born near Sciota, Monroe Co., Pa., March 27, 1843, a son of William and Elizabeth (Mildenberger) Eddinger, [See sketch of G. W. Eddinger.] He was educated in the public schools at White Haven and then worked three years in the sawmills at that place, after which he boated on the Lehigh Canal from there to New York for seven years. On September 24, 1862, he enlisted at Allentown in Company C, Fifty-fourth P.V.I., and was the only one out of eighty who was discharged with the regiment at Parole camp, near Annapolis, May 30, 1865, twenty-nine of their number having been killed at New Market, the first battle in which they took part. He was slightly wounded in the ear by a piece of shell at Lynchburg, also receiving a scalp wound at Cedar Creek, and was shot through the clothes and cartridge box. April 5, 1865, he was taken prisoner at High Bridge, and held by the enemy till the surrender of the Southern army. After the close of the war, Mr. Eddinger returned to White Haven, where he engaged in rafting logs for eighteen years, three years of the time as contractor, in September, 1889, removing to Ashley, where he has since worked in the carshop. Mr. Eddinger, was married, July 4, 1866, to Miss Mary, daughter of Dr. Francis and Matilda Brotz, of Monroeton, Bradford Co., Pa. They have had three children, two of whom are living: William N., a brakeman on the Central Railroad of New Jersey, (he is married to Miss Mary Devitt, of Solomon Gap), and Edwin J., a tinner by trade, working in the carshop with his father. Our subject is a member of the G.A.R., P.O.S. of A., and R.R.T.A., and is a Republican in his political views.
C. R. EDER, proprietor of restaurant, Nanticoke, was born March 1, 1862, at Buckhorn, Columbia Co., Pa., and is a son of James W. and Helena (Bomboy) Eder, also natives of Columbia county. Our subject is the second in a family of four children, and is the only son. He was educated and reared in his native county, and in 1880 came to Nanticoke, where he was employed as a clerk by Hildreth & Co., remaining with them two years. He then opened what is known as the "Star Pool and Billiard Rooms," which he carried on for five years. In February 1888, Mr. Eder opened the "Broadway House," and conducted it one and one half years. He then went on the road as a commercial drummer for the House Supply Company, of Wilkes-Barre, representing this company for about one year, after which he opened up his present business, which he has successfully conducted since. Mr. Eder was married, April 7, 1886, to Miss Gertrude, daughter of George P. and Ann (Broliest) Varner, natives of Luzerne county, and this union has been blessed with one child, Roy V., born September 6, 1888. Mr. Eder is a Democrat. He is a member of the I.O.O.F., O.U.A.M., Knights of the Golden Eagle, and the Sovereign Patriotic Knights. The family attend the Methodist Episcopal Church.
JAMES EDGAR, a retired veteran of the Civil war, now residing at Freeland, was born at Summit Hill, Carbon Co., Pa., August 16, 1840, a son of James and Bessie (Martin) Edgar, natives of Ireland. The former died March 17, 1848, the latter October 26, 1862. In their family there were five children, two of whom were older than James. Our subject was reared and educated at Summit Hill, and when a boy began working around the mines, picking slate, but at the age of nineteen he was running an engine. When the Civil war broke out, he was working in the shops at Mauch Chunk and on August 6, 1862, he enlisted in Company G, Eighty-first P.V., participating in the following engagements: Antietam, Fredericksburg, Chancellorsville, and Gettysburg, besides several other minor skirmishes. He received a very severe gunshot wound in the jaw at Gettysburg, which disabled him for military service thereafter. He was taken to Philadelphia Hospital and placed under the care of James G. Eagleson, who gave him the very best treatment, which alone saved his life. At the close of the war, he returned to Mauch Chunk, entering the machine shop, and was there but a short time when he was sent to Lansford as foreman of the machine shop at that place. Here he remained five years, and then came to Drifton, where he worked four years, at the end of which time, he removed to Freeland and retired. Mr. Edgar was married August 9, 1862, to Miss Harriet Dodson, of Mauch Chunk, and they have had five children, viz.: William, a molder at Reading; James (deceased); Walter, a molder at Drifton; Abel, an operator in Jersey City, and Margaret Elizabeth (deceased). Mr. Edgar is a stanch Republican.
HENRY L. EDSALL, general merchant, Duryea, was born in Cambra, Luzerne Co., Pa., November 18, 1858, and is a son of Lewis and Anna (Best) Edsall, natives of Bradford county, Pa., and of New England and German origin, respectively. Our subject received his education in the common schools, and accepted a position as clerk in a store in Moosic, Lackawanna county, though he afterward engaged in farming, but two years later returned to Moosic, where he commenced business for himself. In 1885, he came to Duryea and opened the store where he is now located, in which he has done so prosperous a business as to necessitate the enlargement of his building twice in seven years. Mr. Edsall was united in marriage, September 26, 1883, with Alice, daughter of Eben and Martha (Blanchard) Foote, natives, respectively, of New York and Port Blanchard, this county. Their union has been blessed with the following issue: Muzette, born June 13, 1885, and Rena, born August 24, 1891. Our subject is a member of the Marcy Methodist Episcopal Church, of which he is a trustee and a member of the official board. In politics he is a Prohibitionist, and is a member of the K. of P.
GEORGE K. EDSON, farmer and laborer, P.O. Sweet Valley, was born in Huntington township November 16, 1843. He is the son of Eliphalet and Elizabeth Edson, the former born in Vermont, in November, 1793, the latter in Columbia county, in 1811. Eliphalet removed to this county about 1816, locating in Huntington township. He was by occupation a carpenter, and was a thrifty, honest, hard-working and industrious man. He married his first wife in Huntington township; by her he had three children, all of whom are dead. By a second marriage he reared seven children, all boys, five of whom are living, and two of whom were in the army. Eliphalet Edson died May 6, 1867, aged seventy-four years. George K. is the second son in order of birth by the last marriage. He was reared and educated in Huntington township, and at the age of seventeen years he went to Vermont, the native place of his father, finally going to Hartford, Conn., where he remained until 1864. He then joined the U.S. army, becoming a member of Company G, Tenth Conn. V.I., for a term of three years. He served to the close of the war, and was honorably discharged in August, 1865. He displayed great courage and heroism in the following battles: before Richmond and Petersburg, Cold Harbor, and many others. He now receives a pension as a reward for the sacrifices made for his country. Mr. Edson generally confines himself to lumbering. January 10, 1869, he married Miss Arminda, daughter of Michael and Jane Edwards. To them have been born three daughters, two of whom are living: Elizabeth and Myrtle. Mr. Edson owns a neat house and lot. He is a member of the G.A.R., and in religion is an adherent of the Christian Church.
JOHN H. EDSON, manufacturer's agent for agricultural implements, and machinery for Luzerne and Columbia Counties, P.O. Town Hill, was born in Huntington township, Luzerne Co., Pa., August 24, 1845, a son of Eliphalet and Elizabeth (Kramer) Edson, natives of Vermont and Pennsylvania, respectively. The former settled in Huntington township about 1830; he was a bridge builder and a millwright, erected several gristmills in Columbia and Luzerne Counties and the bridges at Catawissa and Berwick; he died in Huntington township in 1866. Mr. Edson was twice married, his first wife being Ann Millard; his second wife was Elizabeth, daughter of William Kramer of Columbia county, Pa., by whom he had several children: Charles C., George K., John H., Eliphalet A., Marcus L., Arva J., and Elisha B. Our subject was reared in Huntington township, educated in the common schools, and on August 12, 1862, enlisted in Company F., One Hundred and Forty-ninth Pennsylvania Bucktail Volunteers; he was wounded at Culpepper, Va, January 12, 1864, and at North Anna River, May 23, same year; he was honorably discharged from the service June 27, 1865; since the war he was engaged in farming and lumbering until 1892, when he embarked in his present business. Mr. Edson was married, October 30, 1866, to Mary E., daughter of Jesse and Phoebe (Tubbs) Harrison, of Huntington township, and has one son, Jesse. Mr. Edson is a member of the I.O.O.F., G.A.R. and Patrons of Industry; in politics he is a liberal republican; he is not governed by party prejudices, however, always voting for the best man.
GEORGE A. EDWARDS, manufacturer, and proprietor of the Eagle Iron Works, Wilkes-Barre, was born in Cardiff, South Wales, in July 1849, and is a son of John and Mary (Anthony) Edwards. He was reared in his native country, educated in the common schools and at the age of eleven began life as an errand boy in a railroad office; he later learned telegraphy, which he followed several years; and was then a shipper, eleven years. In 1881, he came to America, and settled in Wilkes-Barre, where he founded the business in which he is now engagedthe manufacture of wrought iron fences, etc. In July 1882, Mr. Edwards married Sarah, daughter of John and Jane (Anthony) Anthony, of Wilkes-Barre, and has two children living: Arthur Gladstone and Stanley Gordon. Mr. Edwards is a member of the Baptist Church and the Y.M.C.A., also of the F. & A.M. and the Cambro American Society of Wilkes-Barre, of which he is one of the founders; in politics he is independent.
JAMES N. EDWARDS, retired, P.O. Sweet Valley, was born in Ross township, September 25, 1849, where he was reared and educated. He is the third son of Samuel and Harriet N. (Callender) Edwards, the former of whom was born in Monmouth county, N.J., February 14, 1814. Samuel Edwards is a son of James and Mary (Shonk) Edwards, the former born in Wales, the latter in Germany. When a young man James Edwards emigrated to this country and he married while at Long Branch, where he owned some property, now very valuable. He resided in Monmouth county till 1824, and during his residence there was engaged in coasting for several years. In the year just mentioned, he removed to Dallas, this county, with his family of six children, and afterward came to Ross township, where he purchased 100 acres of land, forty of which he improved during his lifetime. He was a chair maker by occupation, a conscientious Christian, a member of the M.E. Church, and a man of sound judgement and pure morals. There was one child born to him in this county, making seven in all, and two of them are now living. Samuel is the fourth in the family, was ten years of age when he came to this county, since which time he as been a resident of it. He has always confined himself to agricultural pursuits. He was the first postmaster at Sweet Valley; has also held offices of township and school board treasurer; also treasurer of the Christian Church, in which he was trustee and deacon for many years. He was married twice, and his family numbers seven children, all by his first wife, who died March 6, 1866.
JOHN P. EDWARDS, farmer, P.O. Carverton, was born in Salem township, January 23, 1833, a son of Thomas and Jane (Pollock) Edwards. The former was born in Columbia county, the latter in Montour county. Thomas Edwards was a farmer by occupation and removed to this county about 1827. He first located near Beach Haven on a farm of 100 acres, where he remained eighteen years. He then removed to Andrew Courtright's property, where he remained about eight years. He then in 1853, removed to Salem township, where he bought the property now occupied by his son, Samuel. The farm comprises of 136 acres, thirty of which were cleared when he purchased it, and fifty of which he cleared afterward, also adding other improvements. In his younger days, he was captain of a militia company, and during his residence in this county, held several township offices. He was much respected for his worth, and was a man whose influence was sought by both political parties. He died in 1866 at the age of sixty-three years. John P., the third of the seven children, five of whom are now (1892) living. John P., third of the family, was reared and educated in Salem, and always followed farming as his chosen vocation. He lived at his home with his father till he reached the age of twenty-five. On January 12, 1860, he was married to Miss Margaret, daughter of Jonas and Lydia Rebert. By this union two children were born, one of whom is living, Lydia. John P. resided in Salem township two years after his marriage, when he removed to Kingston township. He resided in the Valley two years; in 1863, during his residence there, he was burnt out. He then removed to Exeter township, where he remained three years, thence removing to the Dilly farm, where he remained ten years. He next removed to the Honeywell farm, on which he lived seven years. From there he removed to the Camp Ground farm, where he stayed two years, and in 1886, purchased his farm (comprising fifty acres) at Carverton, of H. Mulford. Mr. Edwards is a practical farmer, and is a hard working, honest and worthy citizen. He is a member of the P. of H., and in politics is a Democrat.
LEWIS EDWARDS, M.D., physician and surgeon, Edwardsville, was born in Wales, and is a son of T. L. and Margaret (Jenkins) Edwards, also native of Wales. When Lewis was yet a mere child his parents came to America and located at Plymouth, where they now reside. In his father's family there was one child besides the subject of this sketch—Mary J. Mr. Edwards learned the machinist's trade when he was comparatively young and worked at it for a short time. He was educated at the Wyoming Seminary, and the Jefferson Medical College, where he was graduated in the class of 1891, and immediately began the practice of his profession at Edwardsville, where he has met with splendid success, having an extensive and increasing practice. He is a member of the Luzerne county Medical Society.
ROBERT E. EDWARDS, decorative painter, Wilkes-Barre, was born in Philadelphia, Pa., July 23, 1861, a son of Davis and Elizabeth (Smith) Edwards, and is of Welsh extraction. He was reared in his native city, educated in the public schools, and served an apprenticeship of five years at decorative painting and paper hanging. On September 19, 1881, he married Mary, daughter of John and Mary Cochran, of Pottsville, Pa., and has one son, William. Mr. Edwards is a member of the I.O.R.M., K. of M.C., P.O.S. of A. and A.M. Politically he is a Republican. He has been located in Wilkes-Barre since 1882.
S. A. EDWARDS, farmer, P.O. Meeker, was born in Ross township, December 13, 1852, where he was reared and educated. He is the son of Stephen A. and Dorinda C. (Durland) Edwards, both of whom were born in Dallas township. Stephen A. was a son of Stephen, who was a native of New Jersey, and removed to Dallas township in the early history of the county. His life was uneventful. He was honest and industrious, and lived to a good old age. He reared a family of eight children. His son, Stephen A., began life as a farmer in Ross township on a farm of fifty acres of unimproved land, all of which he cleared and cultivated during his lifetime. He sold his place in Ross township and removed to Lehman, where he resided for five years. He then went to Virginia and bought a farm, but soon after sold it. In 1872, he removed to Luzerne borough, where he is now engaged in the trucking business on a small lot. His family consists of seven children, all of whom are living. S. A. is the third of the family in order of birth, and has always confined himself to agricultural pursuits. In 1872, he married Miss Florence, daughter of David and Sarah Gordon; by her he had eight children, six of whom are living (1892): Harry E., David A., Florence G., Myrtle F., Stephen L. and Sherman D. Mrs. Florence (Gordon) Edwards was born in Lehman, June 7, 1855. They moved on their present place in 1879. Mr. Edwards is a practical farmer, who, in agricultural pursuits, will make his mark in life. His farm consists of ninety-one acres, which was unimproved when he moved on it. Now it is an attractive place, with beautiful house and out buildings, with fields and fences complete, all the result of his own energy and patience. Mr. Edwards is a very unassuming man, but one of good principles and upright character. Politically, he is a republican.
THOMAS EDWARDS, miner, Wilkes-Barre, was born in Swansea, South Wales, September 1, 1837, and is a son of Thomas and Ann (Griffiths) Edwards. He was reared in Wales, where he received a limited education, and at home was known as "Black Boy" Edwards. His early life was spent on the farm, and for five years he was employed as groom in the noted Vivian family of Skelty, Wales. In 1866 he came to America and settled in Wilkes-Barre, where he has since resided, engaged in mining and by industry and frugality has secured a comfortable home and competency. He was twice married; first time, January 14, 1861, to Emma, daughter of Thomas and Mary (Banwell) Lock, of Blackwell, near Bristol, England, by whom he had children as follows: Elizabeth (Mrs. Evan Harris), Henry, John, Benjamin, William and Rachel A. His second wife was Catherine (Williams) Davis, who is a member of the Welsh Baptist Church. Mr. Edwards has served, as assessor of Wilkes-Barre township three terms and in politics is a stanch Republican.
THOMAS A. EDWARDS, postmaster at Edwardsville, was born in Brynmawr, South Wales, December 25, 1845, and is a son of Rev. Charles W. and Sarah (Allcock) Edwards, natives of Wales and of English descent. At the age of nine years he came to America with his parents who settled at Pottsville, Pa., where they remained three years and then went to Scranton, where our subject was educated. On August 29, 1861, when he was not much over fifteen years of age, he enlisted in Company I, Fifty-second P.V. under Capt. Smith. He participated in the following engagements, etc.: Lee's Mills, Williamsburg, Chickahominy, reconnaissance to Seven Pines, Seven Pines or Fair Oaks, Railroad and Bottom Bridge, White Oak Swamp Bridge, Carter's Hill, Matthews county, Gloucester, Yorktown, Port Royal, Beaufort, siege of Charleston, capture of Fort Wagner, expedition on the Santee River and Sherman's Carolina campaign. He was mustered out July 12, 1865, at Salisbury, N.C., having during his term of service served under Gens. McClellan, Foster, Gilmore, Ferry and, lastly, the world-renowned Sherman, having a record of nearly five years of war service by land and by seaa record of which he and his posterity may well be proud. After the war, he returned to Scranton, and engaged in railroading on the Delaware, Lackawanna & Western Railroad; in a short time he was promoted to locomotive engineer on the Bloomsburg division of that road, and so remained about a year; then engaged at stationary engineering at Plymouth, where he remained about eight years, and then returned to railroading, this time for the Central Railroad of New Jersey. On that road he fired for a time but was soon promoted to engineer, continuing as such, however, only one year. He then came to Edwardsville and ran a narrow gauge engine for the Kingston Coal Company about five years, at the end of which time he embarked in mercantile business, which he still carries on. On June 6, 1891, he was commissioned postmaster at his place. Mr. Edwards was married November 8, 1868, to Elizabeth E. Titus, of Plymouth, and they have three children, viz.: Margaret, (married to John J. Jenkins, of Edwardsville), Cora (deceased) and Sarah. Our subject is a member of the G.A.R. and in politics is a Republican.
WILLIAM D. EDWARDS, engineer at the Parrish Slope, Plymouth, was born in Wales, April 3, 1864 and is the fourth in the family of fourteen children of David and Elizabeth (Davis) Edwards, also natives of Wales. The family came to America in 1869, locating at Danville, Pa., where the children were reared and educated. Our subject began life working about the mines and did a variety of work at the Danville Iron Ore Mines, working as a miner for about two years of the time until 1883, when he came to Plymouth and was employed as fireman at the Gaylord for about one and a half years, doing company work after that for a year, when he was promoted to hoisting engineer, which position he occupied one year. He then went to the Parrish Mines, and was employed as pump-runner for one and a half years, when he was promoted to his present position. William was married, November 1, 1888, to Mary A., daughter of Thomas and Elizabeth (Davis) Price, natives of Wales. Two children, Adam and Thomas, both now deceased were born to this union. Mr. Edwards is a member of the Knights of Pythias, and in political affairs reserves the right to support the best man. The family attend the Pilgrim Church.
WILLIAM J. EDWARDS, foreman of the Gaylord Shaft, Plymouth, was born in Glamorganshire, South Wales, February 16, 1859, and is the son of John and Cecilia (Martin) Edwards, also natives of South Wales. The family came to America in 1871, and located in Danville, Pa., where the subject of this sketch received his early education in the public schools. He learned stationary engineering after leaving school, and for seventeen years has been engaged in handling the levers of those ponderous machines which not only require skill as a machinist, but demand constant alertness, as a false move might endanger many lives. In 1866, Mr. Edwards was appointed to the position of foreman at the Gaylord Shaft, where he has been employed ever since. This shaft is about 600 feet deep and yields an average of about 1,000 tons daily. There are 225 men employed, those working inside being under the immediate charge of George Picton, inside foreman. In December, 1880, Mr. Edwards was married to Anna, daughter of George and Sarah Trimble, natives of Pennsylvania, and two children have been born to this union, viz.: Mary born June 4, 1881, and John, born October 26, 1884. In politics, Mr. Edwards is a Republican. The family are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church.
P. J. EGAN, merchant, Plains, was born in County Mayo, Ireland, July 3, 1857, and is a son of Michael and Winneford (Durkin) Egan. In his father's family there were thirteen children, eight of whom are living, and our subject is the fifth. The family came to America in 1858, locating at Hawley, Pa., later at Pittston, this county, and subsequently at Plains, where the father died in 1881 at the age of fifty-four years. Our subject and a brother and a sister came to America in 1869 and joined the family at Plains. He began working in the mines tending door, and did all the various kinds of work about the mines during a period of seventeen years, including two years' mining. In 1886 he embarked in mercantile and saloon business at Port Bowkley, where he remained three years, and in 1889 he built and removed to his present place of business at Midvale. Mr. Egan was married, September 8, 1887, to Miss Margaret J., daughter of Patrick and Margaret (Gaghagan) O'Donnell, natives of County Mayo, Ireland, and they have two children, Michael and William. Our subject and family are members of the Catholic Church, and in his political views, he is a Democrat.
EDMUND EGGE, painter and paperhanger, Plains, was born in Plains township, June 5, 1859, and is a son of Perimus and Lydia (Moyer) Egge, natives of Allentown, Pa., and of German origin. Their family consisted of twelve children, of whom seven are living, and Edmund is the youngest. Our subject was educated in the common schools, and remained at home with his parents until their death. When but a boy he showed a fondness for mechanics and was engaged in a considerable extent in repairing furniture and the like. He then worked two years at the carpenter's trade, and has since been engaged in painting; he is also sole owner and proprietor of a job-painting establishment. Mr. Egge was married March 26, 1890, to Miss Nora, daughter of Winthrop Oplinger, of Plains, and they have one child, Edith. Mr. and Mrs. Egge are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church. He is a member of the P.O.S. of A., and in his political views is decidedly Democratic.
JACOB EGGE, Plains, was born in Allentown, Pa., February 21, 1842, and is a son of Perimus and Lydia (Moyer) Egge, natives of Pennsylvania and of German origin. In their family there were twelve children, seven whom are living, and of them Jacob is the third. Our subject came to Plains with his father at the age of thirteen and worked on a farm for seven years; then drove bus in Wilkes-Barre two years, and has since given his attention chiefly to his trade. Mr. Egge was married, September 26, 1863, to Mary E., daughter of Cornelius Masten, of Plains. Our subject is a member of the P.O.S. of A. and in politics is a Democrat.
J. R. EHRET, retired, Pittston, was born in that town December 30, 1846, a son of A. H. and Sarah (Stroh) Ehret, both of German descent and natives of Monroe county, Pa. They had five children, four of whom are living, viz.: J. R., Ashley, Della and Pierce. The father, who for years was a hotel-keeper in Pittston, died in 1888, aged fifty-six years. The subject of this memoir was reared in Pittston, where he received his primary education, which was supplemented with a course at the Commercial College of Kingston, from which he graduated in 1866. In December, 1863, he enlisted in the First New Jersey Cavalry, Company G, and served until July 28, 1864; he participated in the battles of the Wilderness, Spottsylvania, Cold Harbor, in the raid to Richmond, in the engagement at Ream's Station, and at Bottom's Bridge, where he was wounded by a piece of shell, which resulted in the loss of his leg below the knee. He was discharged from David's Island Hospital on account of disability, October 10, 1864. After returning home he was station agent for a time for the Central Railroad of New Jersey at Moosic, Pa.; then was elected clerk of courts for Luzerne county, serving in that capacity three years; then for four years was proprietor of the "Eagle Hotel," since when he has been correspondent from Pittston for the Scranton Tribune. Mr. Ehret was united in marriage December 16. 1881, with Cora Cook, a daughter of Mrs. Julia Cook, of Pittston. In politics he is a stanch and active Republican; socially he is a member of Nugent Post No. 245, G.A.R., and past post commander of the same. Mr. Ehret has always had his home in Pittston and neighboring towns, and has a large host of friends who justly esteem him for his many social qualities.
G. F. EICKE, carpenter, Plains, was born in Wilkes-Barre, January 3, 1852, and is a son of Sydney (a merchant) and Catherine (McGinness) Eicke, natives of Luzerne county and New York, and of New England and Irish origin, respectively. They reared a family of seven children, of whom George F. is the fourth. Our subject, when a boy, assisted his father in the store, attending, at the same time, the common schools, and at the age of twenty he was engaged as shipping clerk in the office of J. H. Swoyer, where he remained eleven years. He then learned the carpenter's trade, which he has since followed. Mr. Eicke was married, June 20, 1877, to Miss Emma, daughter of John and Caroline (Osborne) Floyd, natives of England and they have four children, viz.: John S., Lotta R., Matilda and Ann. Mr. and Mrs. Eicke are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, of which he is steward; he is a member of the P. O. S. of A., and, in his political views, he is strictly an independent voter.
CHRISTOPHER EIPPER, farmer, Dallas, was born in Germany, on the Rhine, April 5, 1814, son of John and Catharine (Brunk) Eipper, both of whom were natives of that country. Christopher came to this country August 8, 1840, landing in New York. In his native country he learned the wheelwright trade, at which he worked forty years. He spent several years of his life in Wyoming, and is perfectly familiar with all the historic scenes in that part of the Valley. On September 22, 1843, he married Miss Lucinda, daughter of Frederick Atherholt, by whom he has had ten children, all of whom grew to maturity, and nine of whom are now living. The following is a brief record of the sons: Fred is out in some of the western States taking care and charge of the famous trotting house, "Extel", F. B. is a farmer, who, in conjunction with his brother W. R., is working the homestead (the father having retired); H. F. is captain of a ferry boat in New York; Charles L. is a painter, and works for the D. L. & W. R. R. Co.; A. T. is a bookkeeper in the D. L. & W. Car Shops; A. J. is a blacksmith and shoeing foreman for the Empire Coal Company; they are all worthy citizens. In 1844 Christopher removed from Wyoming to Dallas, where he bought a farm of 103 acres on which he moved, and which has been cleared and improved to such an extent that it is now the finest farm in the town. His house is large and commodious, his barns extensive and well filled. All these improvements he has himself made with his own hands. He has held various offices in his town, which he has discharged with credit. He is a Democrat politically.
JOHN J. ELBERT, proprietor of the "Germania House," Sugar Notch, was born in German, March 23, 1852, and is a son of Anthony and Mary E. (Friebis) Elbert, both of whom died when he was young. He studied surgery, and was three years in a hospital during the French war. He then learned the barber's trade, and in 1870 came to America where he followed the same successively at New York (eight years), Brooklyn (four years), Newark, N. J. (nine months), New Haven, Conn. (two years), Wilkes-Barre (six years), South Wilkes-Barre (nineteen months), then in Hanover township where he added confectionery and cigars, and also the business of life insurance. In 1890 he removed to Sugar Notch, and engaged in his present business. Mr. Elbert, was married September 8, 1879, to Miss Catherine Ruckels, and they had one child, Adam, who died at the age of six months. Mr. Elbert's wife died May 15, 1881, and he was afterward married July 8, 1886, to Miss Mary Tucker. Mrs. Elbert is a member of the Catholic Church; he is a member of the A. O. K. of M. C. and in his political views is a Republican.
ISAAC ELSTON, farmer, Lehman township, was born in Minisink, Orange Co., N. Y., March 22, 1827, and was reared and educated in Lehman township. He is a son of Samuel and Nancy (Baird) Elston, both of whom were born in Minisink, N. Y. Samuel was a blacksmith by trade, in conjunction with which he also worked a farm of fifty acres. He moved to this county in 1836, locating in Lehman township, where he purchased a farm of ninety-six acres, on which were some improvements, to which he added, at various times, eighty acres more. This he improved and beautified by hard labor and economy; his life was one of industry, and his surroundings, at the time of his death, which occurred in 1853, at the age of sixty-seven, showed that he was a thrifty farmer. His family consisted of ten children, nine of whom grew to maturity, and three of whom are now living. Isaac is the youngest of the family, has always worked on a farm, but has never enjoyed very good health. He now lives on the old homestead where his father died. On June 2, 1850, at the age of twenty-three, he married, in Dallas, Miss Amy, daughter of Jonathan and Lucinda Hustead. By this union there were born four children, three sons and one daughter: Levi, Benjamin F., Fanny M. and one deceased. Levi married Miss Rebecca Jenkins, by whom he has three children; Benjamin F. married Miss Henrietta Hoover, by whom he has three children; Fannie M. married in 1873, at the age of nineteen, John W. Bidwell, by whom she had two sons; William H., born in 1875, and Clarence R., born in 1879; Mr. Bidwell dying, she afterward married Mahlor Davenport, late of Company E, Fifty-seventh, N. Y. Volunteers. Mr. Davenport entered the army August 14, 1861, serving three years, after which he was honorably discharged, and he now enjoys a pension for disability of both hands. Mr. Elston is a general farmer, thrifty and industrious, a loyal citizen and a good neighbor. He and his wife are consistent members of the M. E. Church. Politically, he is a Democrat.
BENJAMIN SNYDER EMORY was born in Washington, D. C., December 17, 1867, son of Rev. Benjamin B. and Mary H. Emory. The father died when our subject was a child of four, and the mother, with her family of two sons and three daughters, moved from Holly Springs, Miss., where they then resided, to West Pittston. Seven years in the public schools of that place, and a course in the Wyoming Commercial College, completed his schooling. After leaving the business college he was employed for three years in the Western Forwarding office of the L. V. R. R., at Coxton. During the next two years he was employed as traveling correspondent for the People, a Prohibition paper of Scranton. As this employment was more honorable than lucrative, he embarked, in the spring of 1892, in the steam laundry business with W. C. Tench. After running but three weeks, the building in which the laundry was located was destroyed by fire, the laundry plant, however, being saved. Mr. Emory then purchased Mr. Tench's interest, and located in the building owned by his father-in-law, W. H. Jackson, with whom he associated himself. The business, which had hitherto been conducted in Pittston at a loss, has, under the present management, constantly increased. The firm have manifested a spirit of enterprise and push, and have constantly improved their facilities. On September 8, 1891, Mr. Emory was united in marriage with Miss Elloma R. Jackson, and one child, a son has been born to them.
GEORGE W. ENGLE, wholesale dealer in flour, feed, grain, etc., Hazleton. This enterprising and successful young business man was born at Sybertsville, Pa., June 1, 1850, and is the eldest of four children of John and Rose (Fritz) Engle, also natives of Pennsylvania. Mr. Engle was educated in the public schools of this county, and Bethlehem, also at the Tuscarora Academy and the Bloomsburg State Normal School. He prepared himself for the profession of civil engineer, and followed that vocation six years, during which time his business took him through the principal States in the Union, and also through many of the provinces of Canada. A the end of these six years he returned to Hazleton, where he purchased and has since successfully conducted the feed store then owned by J .A. Schreck, which business is now thoroughly established, and is in a thriving condition. Mr. Engle is so well known and respected in business, as well as social circles, that personnal commendation is unnecessary. He was married in 1877 to Caroline E., daughter of James Rhodes, a resident of Harvey's Lake, and four children were born to this union, viz.: Jessie (deceased), Edna, Stewart and James. Mr. Engle is an independent voter, and his family attend the Presbyterian Church.
HOWARD KEIM ENGLE, farmer, P. O. Sybertsville, was born in Sugar Loaf township November 8, 1862, son of John and Anna (Keim) Engle. His paternal grandfather was William Engle, whose parents were among the pioneers of Sugar Loaf township. The wife of William Engle was Mary Davis, and their children were as follows: Rachel (Mrs. Daniel Yeager), John, Sylvester, Eliza (Mrs. Gideon D. Klinger), Ellen (Mrs. Elijah McMurtrie), Moses D., Stephen, Sarah (Mrs. Henry Dryfoos), Wallace, Lizzie and Charles. Of these, John was a native of Columbia county, Pa. He spent most of his life in Sugar Loaf township, where he was engaged in farming and lumbering, dying there August 18, 1874, at the age of fifty-four. John Engle was twice married; his first wife was Rose Fritz, by whom he had four children: George W., Clara P. (Mrs. Josiah Schreck), Albert A. and Emma J. (Mrs. Newton J. Beam); his second wife was a daughter of John and Lydia (Musselman) Kein, of Sugar Loaf township, and by her he had two children, Howard K. and Estelle F. Mr. Engle united with the Presbyterian Church at the age of seventeen, and was an elder in the same for many years; in politics he was a Republican. His widow and children—Howard K. and Estelle F.—reside on the homestead.
STEPHEN D. ENGLE, whose scientific and mechanical inventions have given him a national, if not a world-wide, fame, was born in Sugar Loaf township, Luzerne Co., Pa., December 18, 1837. When young he enjoyed no other advantages for education than were afforded by the common schools of that day, but he was been an inveterate reader, especially of scientific works, and has thus acquired rare intelligence. Since arriving at maturity he has been a resident of Hazleton, in his native county, where he married a daughter of Joseph Grenawait, a wealthy and public-spirited citizen of that borough. When the rebels entered Pennsylvania in 1863, Mr. Engle served with the "emergency men" until the soil of his native State was no longer pressed by hostile feet. Mr. Engle's father was a watchmaker as well as a farmer, and the subject of this sketch became the leading watchmaker and jeweler of Hazleton. He also studied and for a number of years practiced dentistry in connection with his business as a jeweler. One of his inventions is "Engle's Patent for Securing Porcelain Teeth to Gold and Silver Plates." The "Association for the Protection of the Rights of Dentists" officially approved of this device, and hastened to secure an assignment and abandonment to the public of the patent. Another invention of intrinsic worth is "Engle's Dust Proof Watch Case," affording such protection to the movement as would not now be dispensed with by manufacturers of the best watches. The first astronomical, musical and apostolic clock, ever build in the United States, was invented and built by Mr. Engle, and it has never been equaled in automatic wonders or in the scientific accuracy of the astronomical mechanism. So absorbed was Mr. Engle in the planning and construction of this clock, that he afterward wrote to a friend: "During the last year before its completion I had no night or day, but slept when I was sleepy and ate when I was hungry, without any regard to old Sol." It was perhaps fortunate for him that he was a disciple of Nimrod and Izaak Walton, for without the recreation found in his hunting and fishing excursions, he would probably have succumbed long ago to an excess of brain work and confinement to rooms filled with machinery, crucibles, metals and acids. Capt. Jacob Reid has exhibited this clock to crowded houses in every part of the United States and Canada. A description of this grand piece of mechanism, with its forty-eight moving figures, its movements illustrating day and night, changes of seasons, ebbing and flowing of tides and other phenomena, can not here be given. While Joel Cook, one of the editors of the Public Ledger, of Philadelphia, was visiting Strasbourg (France) in 1878, he saw the renowned Strasbourg clock, and in his book entitled "A Holiday Trip to Europe," he makes the following comparison: "The Engle clock, which has been exhibited in Philadelphia, is not so large, and yet does all that this clock does, and much more, and does it better." The latest invention of Mr. Engle is "Engle's Tellurion." For illustrating celestial, as well as terrestrial phenomena, this is far in advance of any apparatus hitherto constructed. It is the only apparatus yet in existence that shows the true motion of the earth around the sun in an actual ellipse. The parallelism of the axis is at all times preserved, and all the phenomena of the changes of day and night and of the seasons, the greater length of time the sun remains north than south of the equator, etc., are clearly shown. This instrument shows the length of the day and night at any season of the year in any latitude, as well as the heavenly constellations visible at any hour in any and every season of the year. The moon is seen in its gibbous and crescent phases, as well as with a full enlightened hemisphere in total darkness, its place being a mask or hollow hemisphere with the convex surface thereof black. This invention has attracted the attention of astronomers and teachers. Parties have endeavored to negotiate with Mr. Engle with a view to the manufacture of this improved tellurion, but the inventor has thus far been engaged during his leisure moments in considering further improvements in the machine, and has not entertained any of these propositions. He now devotes his entire attention to the manufacturing of fine jewelry, and, in fact, is the only real manufacturer in his line in Luzerne county. Stephen D. Engle is universally recognized by his neighbors as an upright, honorable and kind-hearted man. No ease of suffering, or distress ever came to his knowledge without enlisting his sympathy, and to awaken his sympathy is to open his purse strings.
THOMAS ENGLISH, of Gorman & English, plumbers, etc., Wilkes-Barre, was born at Silver Lake, Susquehanna Co., Pa., January 3, 1846, a son of Thomas and Ellen (Sexton) English, who were among the early settlers of that county. The father of our subject was a farmer at Silver Lake, where he resided until the time of his death; he had a family of thirteen children, nine of whom grew to maturity. Our subject was reared in Susquehanna county until sixteen years of age. In 1862 he engaged with the Pennsylvania Gravity Co., in what is now Lackawanna county, where he remained until 1864. He enlisted in Company G, Two Hundred and Fourteenth Pennsylvania Volunteers for one year, and was discharged at the expiration of his time. He then returned to Susquehanna county and engaged in farming for three years, and in 1869 located in Pittston, this county, where he was employed as conductor by the Pennsylvania Coal Company on the Gravity Road, in which capacity he served up to 1885. In the fall of 1884 he was elected commissioner for Luzerne county, and re-elected in the fall of 1887, serving six years with credit to himself and his constituents. Since April, 1889, he has been a member of the firm of Gorman & English, plumbers, gas fitters and dealers in stoves, ranges and boilers, Wilkes-Barre. On February 22, 1876, Mr. English married Mary F., daughter of Thomas and Mary Cotter, of Bradford county, Pa.; they have one son, Thomas F. Mrs. English died January 13, 1879. Mr. English is a member of the Catholic Church; he is one of the charter members of the W. G. Nugent Post. No. 245, G. A. R., of Pittston; in politics he is a Democrat, and served as chairman of the county committee two years.
THOMAS ENGLISH, farmer, P. O. Carverton, was born, October 10, 1856, reared and educated in Wyoming. He is the son of James and Ellen (O'Neil) English, both of whom were born in Ireland, they emigrated to this country about 1842 and settled in Wyoming. By occupation James is a mason, and has plied his trade in the Valley with marked success. He is now a resident of Wyoming, and is sixty-five years of age. His family, by two marriages, consists of ten children, seven of whom are now living. Thomas is the third child by the first marriage. In early life he learned the plasterer's trade, at which he worked for fifteen years in various parts of the valley with the same success which attended his father. At the age of twenty he married, in October, 1876, Miss Callie, daughter of Dyer and Mary Bennett. They have four children: Edward, Jennie, Charles and Harry, all living. In 1889 they removed onto a farm of seventy-two acres situated a few miles north of Wyoming, formerly the property of the Mullisons. Mr. English is an active, wide-awake man, full of business and snap, and sure to make his mark in life. During his residence in Wyoming he was chosen a member of the borough council, and while a resident of the township he was elected supervisor. This shows him to be a chosen favorite in town and county. His wife, Mrs. Callie (Bennett) English, was born in this county in 1861. Politically Mr. English is a liberal Democrat.
GEORGE W. ENTERLINE, chandler, Wilkes-Barre, was born in Tamaqua, Schuylkill Co., Pa., October 15, 1854, a son of Edward and Eva (Beyerly) Enterline, natives of Roaring Creek, Dauphin Co., Pa., and of German descent. For thirty years his father conducted a tannery at Tamaqua, and in 1876 he located in Wilkes-Barre, where he embarked in the chandlery business, in which he continued up to his death which occurred May 2, 1887. He reared a family of ten children: Sarah E. (deceased), Clara (deceased), James (deceased), Angie (deceased wife of Jerry Enterline), George W., Sallie (Mrs. C. Ben Johnson), Emma (Mrs. George Steidle), Edward, Willie (deceased) and Charles (deceased). Our subject was reared and educated in Tamaqua, Pa., spent one year in the shoe and leather finding business, at Pottsville, Pa., and then served five years apprenticeship at the machinist's trade. On his father's death, he succeeded to the chandlery business, which he continued alone until August 19, 1891, when he admitted his brother-in-law, George Steidle, as a partner, the business having since been conducted under the firm style Enterline & Steidle. Mr. Enterline married December 19, 1879, Mary, daughter of Thomas Gorman, of Wilkes-Barre, and by her he had two sons, both deceased. Our subject is a member of the K. of P. and K. of M. C.; politically he is a Republican, and has served on both city and county committees.
JAMES W. ERNEST, principal of the Hazleton Business College, Hazleton. This gentleman was born in Warren, Ohio, February 23, 1867, and is a son of Henry and Harriet (Southworth) Ernest, also natives of Ohio. Our subject received a school training in his native town, together with a higher education obtained in the Northeastern Ohio Normal School, and the Oberlin (Ohio) Business College. At the latter place he took a full course in business and penmanship. After completing his business course, our subject taught in various prominent business colleges in Ohio and Pennsylvania until March 4, 1889, when he came to Hazleton and established the Hazleton Business College, under the supervision of the Wilkes-Barre Business College. It was conducted by these parties until November, 1889, when Professor Ernest assumed entire control of the school. Under his management this institution has, in a very short time, advanced rapidly to the front in public favor, and is now one of the largest, best patronized and finest equipped colleges in this locality. The course of instruction embraces Commercial Law Business; Arithmetic; Business Correspondence; Penmanship; Spelling; Bookkeeping in all its forms as applied to the several branches of business; Business Practice, which includes actual transactions in buying and selling goods; Banking and, in fact, real transactions in all departments. Short-hand and type-writing are also taught by experienced teachers. Although founded but a short time, yet graduates from this institute may be found in all parts of the country, filling responsible positions, and commanding good salaries. Prof. Ernest is a gentleman of large practical business experience, and has been a teacher of commercial branches for many years. The large number of patrons, as is shown by the college register, is the strongest commendation of the popularity of this flourishing institution.
M. FRANKLIN EROH, teacher, Dorrance, was born in Dorrance township, this county, August 22, 1869, a son of Matthias and Maria (Spade) Eroh, both of whom were born in Luzerne county, Pa., the former in Hollenback township, the latter in Dorrance. Matthias Eroh is a son of Matthias, Sr. and Catherine (Boyer) Eroh, both of whom were born in Northampton county. Matthias, Sr., removed to this county when a young man, locating in Hollenback township, where he owned 400 acres of land, seventy-five of which he cleared during his life-time; he was a hardworking, industrious and honest man. He died in 1853, after an uneventful life, at the age of fifty-six years; his wife died in 1856, aged fifty-five years. Their family consisted of fourteen children, eleven of whom grew to maturity, seven now living. Matthias Eroh, Jr., began his earthly career in Hollenback, where he lived as a farmer until his marriage with Miss Spade, December 25, 1854. After this event he removed to Dorrance township, where he now resides on a farm of forty-seven acres, besides which he owns two other lots, sixty-seven and eighteen acres, respectively. He has held some offices in the township with credit to himself and satisfaction to his constituents. Politically he is a Democrat. Mr. and Mrs. Eroh had a family of eight children, of whom they reared seven, viz.: Elmer P., Charles M., Josiah W., Peter W., M. Franklin, Oscar C. and Emma J., the latter of whom married Joshua Stout. M. Franklin received his primary education at the common schools of Dorrance township, after which he spent four terms at Kutztown Seminary. He has already taught three terms of school successfully. He is a promising young man, who will yet be heard from in the line of his calling.
JOHN N. EUSTICE, retired mine foreman, Plainsville, was born in the parish of Crown, Cornwall, England, March 17, 1827, and is a son of John and Christian (Nicholas) Eustice, the former of whom was superintendent of copper and lead mines. They reared a family of seven children, five of whom are living, and John N. is the eldest. Our subject came to America in 1846, and joined a party which was exploring for copper on Lake Superior in the employ of Mr. Conyngham, of New York, with Drs. Hoten and Elliott as guides. He was then variously engaged in sinking shafts, slopes, and gang-ways, at Eagle River, Isle Royal; Flemington, N. J.; Rocky Hill Copper Mine, N. J.; St. Clair and New Boston, Pa.; Bristol, Conn.; Tamaqua, Perkiomen, Llewellyn and Mackersburg, Pa.; at the two latter he worked breasts, and contracted in taking out coal; at the Rocky Hill Copper Mine, N. J., he worked under his father, whom he met there for the first time in America. He then came to Luzerne county, sank the Empire Shaft, and then performed the feat of taking the water out of the Patton Shaft, which had baffled all previous efforts to do so. He was then made superintendent of that shaft, and a year later, when John Mitchell took it by contract, he was engaged as outside foreman for a short time; then contracted in taking out coal at Buttonwood for one year. In 1861 he came to Plains, and was in the employ of John Mitchell, as outside foreman, till 1872, after which he was foreman at the Enterprise Shaft for several years; later he was breaker-boss at Port Bowkley till 1889, when he was compelled to retire from active life on account of defective eyesight. Mr. Eustice married Mary Raugh, of Tamaqua, Pa., whose grandfather was in the Massacre of 1778. Twentv children were born to this union, eight of whom are living, viz.: Elizabeth A. (Mrs. John Brew, Forty Fort), Mary E. (Mrs. John Bartlett, in Pittston), John R., Robert N., Susan (Mrs. William Fuller, in Plainsville), William P., Thomas H. and Francis B., the last two being breaker-bosses at Laflin and residing at home. Mr. Eustice is a member of the I. O. O. F.; politically he has always given his support to the Republican party.
BENJAMIN EVANS, miller and justice of the peace, Nescopeck, was born in Briar Creek township, Columbia Co., Pa., July 14, 1820, a son of David and Nancy (Bonham) Evans. His paternal grandfather, John Evans, a Welsh Quaker, together with his brother James, they being both millwrights by trade, came from near Philadelphia to this county, becoming pioneers of the vicinity of Berwick, and erected several mills for a wealthy man named Rittenhouse. John Evans married Martha Thomas, a sister of Mrs. Nathan Beach (whose maiden name was Susan Thomas), one of the first settlers of Salem township, and for whose husband John Evans erected mills at Beach Haven and Huntington. He finally settled in Canada, where he also built mills, and died there. His children were David, Thomas, Josiah and Barbara (Mrs. Mark Mendenhall). The eldest son, David, was supposed to have been born in Salem township, this county, in 1790. In 1838 he purchased the mill property now operated by our subject, and died there in 1875. His wife was a daughter of Benjamin and Elizabeth (Lowry) Bonham, of Union township, this county, and by her he had four children: Benjamin, Josiah, Martha A. (Mrs. James Focht), and Mary. Since 1838 our subject has been a resident of Nescopeck township, where he has operated the Nescopeck mills. He is a F. & A. M., was elected justice of the peace in 1850, and is now serving his ninth consecutive term in that office, the longest term filled by any official in the county. In politics he was originally a Whig, and since the organization of the party, has been a Republican.
DANIEL H. EVANS, proprietor of the "American House," ashley, was born in Pottsville, Pa., May 17, 1844, and is a son of Daniel and Sarah (Jones) Evans, natives of South Wales, the former of whom was a mine foreman. They came to America in 1841, and reared a family of four children (one of whom was born in England) viz: Margaret (Mrs. James Morgan), Daniel H., William and Alfred. Our subject received a common-school education, and at the age of nine years began working about the mines, which seems to have been his calling, for at the unusual age of twelve years he had worked himself up to the position of a full-fledged miner. In 1862 he went to California, via Panama and Aspinswall, mined coal and prospected for gold in various parts of California and Britiish Columbia, meeting many of the strange, undesirable, but yet fascinating adventures incidental to Western life, making a single excursion of 450 miles on foot. In 1864 he returned to the East, via Nicaraugua river route, and resumed mining in Schuylkill county, where he remained until 1875, when he came to Wilkes-Barre and engaged in the livery business for eight months. He then embarked in the hotel business in Moosic, carrying it on for three years, after which he was engaged in the patent medicine business in Wilkes-Barre for a year and a half; then removed to Ashley and commenced in his present business. Mr. Evans was married October 14, 1867 to Miss Jane, daughter of Adam and Agnes (Kennedy) Brown, natives of Scotland, which happy union has been blessed with six children, viz: William H., Agnes, Harry A., Maggie M., Daniel A., and Charles. Mr. Evans is a member of the F. & A.M., Jr. O.U.A.M., amd A.O.F.; in politics he is a Republican. He has a record in marksmanship which justly deserves record in his life story. He won fourteen out of sixteen matches, and his son, William, won five out of six.
EDWARD T. EVANS, fire-boss, Nottingham Colliery, Plymouth. This experienced miner was born in Glamorganshire, near Cardiff, South Wales, September 6, 1834, and is next to the youngest in the family of nine children of Thomas and Rachel (Llewellyn) Evans, also natives of Wales. He was educated at the place of his birth and, at the youthful age of eight years, began working about the mines. He entered the mines in the capacity of a miner at the early age of sixteen years, and followed it in his native land until 1869, when he came to America, locating at Kingston, Pa., where he worked as a miner in Shaft No. 1, operated by the Kingston Coal Company. There he remained about one year, and then went to Wilkes-Barre where he worked in the Hollenback Colliery about three years. He then came to Plymouth, and worked as a miner at No. 11, Lehigh & Wilkes-Barre Company, staying at that mine about six years; from there went to the Nottingham, where he has been engaged fourteen years—twelve years as a miner and two as a fire-boss, the latter position being attended with great danger. To serve in the capacity of fire-boss, it is now necessary for the applicant to pass a rigid examination regarding his duties and how to perform them. Our subject has the inspection of sixty-seven chambers. Mr. Evans was married, February 18, 1853, to Miss Ruth, daughter of Evan and Elizabeth (Thomas) Evans, natives of Glamorganshire, South Wales, and to this union have been born ten children, namely: Naomi, wife of John D. Roberts, a resident of Illinios; Sarah J. (deceased); Rachel, now Mrs. Asa Wolfe, of Plymouth, Pa.; Evan, Thomas, Hannah (deceased), Lizzie, Sarah (deceased), David, and William J. (deceased). Mr. Evans is a Republican, and is a member of the Ivorites and Knights of the Golden Eagle. The family are members of the Pilgrim Church.
DR. EVAN EVANS, M.D., Plymouth. This successful physician and surgeon was born August, 1857, at Llandovery, Carmarthenshire, South Wales, and is a son of Thomas and Ann (Thomas) Evans, also natives of Wales. There were seven children in their family, of whom Evan is the eldest son. Our subject was educated in the county of his nativity, and later went to Edinburgh, Scotland, where he remained four years, receiving the higher education for which that classic city is far-famed, both in medicine and sciences. He then entered the Liverpool Infirmary, where he pursued the study of medicine. He practiced about two years at Caerphilly, W. Cardiff, and then coming from Liverpool to America, he located at Kansas City, Mo., where he continued his medical course. He first opened an office at Emporia, Kan., where he remained eight years, and removing from there to Los Angeles, Cal., he practiced there one year. The Doctor then revisited Wales, sojourning four months, visiting the scenes of his early childhood. After returning from Wales, he located again at Emporia, Kan., remaining, however, but a short time and then came to Plymouth where he has since been practicing. The subject of this sketch has been married twice: first to Anna Jones, of Kansas, who died one year after their marriage. The Doctor afterward married in August, 1889, Katherine daughter of Daniel and Mary (Price) Williams, natives of Carmarthenshire, Wales, and one child, May Elsie, was born to this union, May 26, 1890. In politics Dr. Evans affiliates with the Democratic party, and in religion he is a supporter of the Episcopal Church.
E. M. EVANS, merchant, Edwardsville, was born April 15, 1846, in South Wales, a son of John and Margaret (Thomas) Evans, and began working in the mines betweent the ages of six and seven. He and his father were in the Briton Ferry Mines disaster, and were two of the lucky six survivors of that terrible catastrophe. In December, 1863, he came to America, locating at Scranton, Pa., where he remained a short time, and then removed to Yorktown, same state, where he mined a short time, when he returned to Scranton, and followed mining until May of the following year, at which time he went to Jermyn and there resided until 1865. He then removed to Olyphant, where he worked in Grassy Island Mines about one year; thence proceeded to Carbondale, and after a few months' residence there returned to Olyphant, where he was engaged in mine contracting for a time, again coming to Carbondale, and mining there until 1872. Mr. Evans then went to Michigan, where he was engaged in mining a short time, when he returned to Carbondale; but after a brief sojourn he again moved to Michigan, where he remained until 1876. In that year he revisited Wales, remaining there two years. Returning to this country, he settled in Edwardsville, Pa., where he has since resided, and at present is engaged in mercantile business. Mr. Evans was married October 20, 1886, to Miss Mary Dando, of Carbondale, and they have four children, viz: Isaac, Albert, Jessie and Elsworth. Mr. Evans ia a member of the K. of P., and in politics he is a Democrat.
EVAN M. EVANS, proprietor of the "Central House," Parsons, was born May 16, 1858, at Mountain Ash, Glamorganshire, Wales, and is the oldest of the seven children of Hugh and Elizabeth (Morgans) Evans. He came to America in 1869, and engaged in mining at Mahanoy City, Pa., where he reamined nearly ten years, when he removed to Streator, Ill., and there also followed mining until 1883. He then came to Parsons, and worked in the mines till April 1, 1891, when, upon the death of his brother, he succeeded him as proprietor of the "Central House." Mr. Evans was married at Streator, Ill., June 21, 1881, to Mary Ann, daughter of Merrick Jones, of Minersville, Pa. Our subject is a typical landlord, and keeps a first-class hotel in every respect; he treats his guests with gentlemanly courtesy, and is well worthy of the patronage of the public. Socially he is a member of the I.O.O.F., Uri Lodge, and his political sympathies are in hearty accord with the Republican party.
EVAN M. EVANS, mine laborer, Plains, was born in South Wales and is a son of William and Elizabeth (Evans) Evans, the former of whom was a miner and worked fifty years for one company prior to his death. They reared a family of five children of whom Evan M. is the eldest. Our subject came to America in 1871, locating in Pennsylvania, and followed mining at St. Nicholas seven years and at Fiske two years; he then removed to Mahanoy City, where he resided two years, and worked in St. Nicholas. In 1881 he came to Plains, this county, where he has since been engaged in rock work and mining in the Henry and Wyoming Collieries. Mr. Evans was married, August 3, 1861, to Miss Mary, daughter of Richard and Mary (Williams) Hughes, and they had twelve children, of whom are living Mary (Mrs. William Jenkins), Catherine, Richard, William, Elizabeth, Isaac, Evan and Ann. Mrs. Evans is a member of the Welsh Congregational Church. Our subject is in political sympathy with the Republican party, and has always given it his support.
GWILYM P. EVANS, mine superintendent, Edwardsville. Those who are acquainted with the intricacies and dangers of coal mining can easily understand the clearness of mind, and the calculative ability, of one who can successfully conduct the working of these subterranean cavities; and no inside superintendent in the anthracite coal regions is better adapted to his business than Gwilym P. Evans, who occupies this position at the "Old Boston Mines" in Plymouth township, for the Delaware & Hudson Coal Company. Mr. Evans is a native of South Wales, and was born June 23, 1847, a son of William P. and Ann (Thomas) Evans, the former of whom has been a very successful mine superintendent for many years, and has held high offices, such as treasurer, etc., in the borough of Edwardsville. At the age of twenty-one our subject came to America and entered the employ of the Delaware & Hudson Coal Company at Mill Creek, where he was engaged in mining nearly two years, at the end of which time he came to Kingston and entered the employ of the Kingston Coal Company, where he continued one year, when he returned to the employ of the Delaware & Hudson Coal Company, and was driver-boss for a short time, when he was appointed inside mine superintendent, a position he has held for eleven years. Socially he is a member of the Foresters and of the Improved Order of Red Men. In politics, he is a Republican.
HENRY EVANS, county commissioner, P.O. Pittston, was born in Wales, January 6, 1857, and is a son of William W. and Mary Harris Evans, who came to America in 1857, locating in Pittston, this county, where they still reside. The father holds the position of superintendent of stonemasonary for the Pennsylvania Coal Company. Their children were Rachel, Evan, Henry, John, William W., Jr., and Caron. Our subject was reared in Pittston, and was educated in the public schools of that city, also in the Commercial College, Wyoming Seminar, Kingston, Pa., where he was graduated July 1, 1874. From 1874 to 1887 he served as clerk and book-keeper for several of the leading mercantile establishments of Pittston and vicin-ity. He also worked in the coal breaker as slate picker, and in the mines, also in stone quarry. In 1887 he was elected one of the commissioners of Luzerne county, and re-elected for a second term in 1890, proving a popular official. Mr. Evans is a member of the Welsh Baptist Church of Pittston, the F. & A.M. and I.O.O.F., and in politics he is a stanch Republican.
H. W. EVANS, truck-farmer and florist, Plains township, P.O. Plainsville, was born in Wales, April 2, 1840, and is a son of William and Mary (Walters) Evans. The father, who was a weaver by trade, and later (in America) a miner, reared a family of eight children, of whom Henry W. is the fifth. Our subject came to America in 1865, followed in about a year by the rest of the family, and located in Pittston, where he was engaged in mining for five years; then removed to his present place which he owns and operates in company with his brother, Thomas J. While they do a general truck-gardening business they are probably the largest lettuce producers in Luzerne county. In 1873-78, Mr. Evans was in Colorado, digging for gold and prospecting. He was married June 11, 1867, to Miss Mary, daughter of William and Margaret (Davies) Evans, natives of Carmarthen, South Wales, and they have six children, viz; William H., Mary E., Margaret A., Gertrude, Myvanwy and Henry W. Mr. and Mrs. Evans and their three eldest children are members of the first congregational Church of Pittston; he is a member of the Sons of Temperance, and in politics is a Prohibition Greenbacker. Mr. Evans is a friend of literature, a close observer of public issues, and is author of the "Millennium of Money."
JAMES H. EVANS, merchant, Edwardsville. This gentleman, who ranks among the enterprising business men of his county, is a native of Dowlais, South Wales, and was born July 9, 1863, a son of William and Ann (Richards) Evans, also natives of Wales. When James was about five years old, his parents emigrated to America, locating at Johnstown, Pa., where they resided until 1872, in which year they removed to Wilkes-Barre, this county. Tarrying there about one year, they proceeded to Edwardsville. The Evans family consisted of two sons, Richard and John, besides the subject of this notice, both of whom also reside in Edwardsville. Mr. Evans began his present business in 1886, on a very small scale, and has since, by fair dealing and sound business integrity, secured a fair share of public patronage. In 1886 he was married to Miss Maggie Waters, of Larksville, this county, and their domestic life is now brightened by three intelligent little children, named, respectively, Sheldon, Nellie and Mabel. Mr. Evans and his family are members of the English Baptist Church. He is a member of the F. & A.M., I.O.O.F. and K. of P.; politically he is a Republican, has held the offices of tax collector, auditor, treasurer, and has been secretary for the Luzerne Republican County Committee. Mr. Evans is a thorough American in every respect; he is one of the best known Welsh-Americans in this county.
JOHN EVANS, merchant, Peely, was born near Aberystwyth, Cardiganshire, Wales, November 21, 1844, and is a son of Richard and Ann (Headley) Evans. His father who was a lumberman, reared a family of thirteen children, four of whom are living: John; David, mason and contractor, in Peely; William, graduated at Cambridge, and is keeping a high school at Aberdare, Wales; and Richard, a doctor in his native country. Our subject came to America in 1869, and located in Wilkes-Barre, where he contracted in masonry for ten years, and then engaged in the mercantile business with Williams Brothers. He removed to Peely in 1879, and built his present place some time later. Mr. Evans was married to Mary S., daughter of John and Mary A. (Roberts) Williams; they have eight children: Mary A. (Mrs. John R. Jones), Jane (Mrs. John E. Jones), Margaretta, David C., William, Elizabeth, Richard and Lydia. Mr. Evans and family are members of the Welsh Presbyterian Church; he is a member of the I.O.O.F., K. of P. and R.S.C.F. In his political views he is a Republican, and has been postmaster since 1889; he was a member of the city council for three years during his residence in Wilkes-Barre.
JOHN B. EVANS, engineer at the Electric Light works, Wilkes-Barre, was born in Monmouthshire, England, January 27, 1858, and is a son of Cornelius and Catherine (BenBow) Evans. The family came to America in 1861, and located at Pittston, Pa., where his father has since been engaged in mining. Our subject, who is the eldest in a family of ten children, nine of whom are living, began active life firing and engineering at Pittston, where he remained fifteen years; and in 1883-86, was engineering at Miners Mills; in 1884 he removed to Plains, where he was engaged as engineer at the Henry Colliery till December 24, 1891, at which date he was appointed to his present position. Mr. Evans was married July 28, 1880, to Ellen H., daughter of John and Jessie (McGregor) Black, natives of Scotland and England, respectively. Mr. and Mrs. Evans had four children, viz: Lena C., Raymond, Jessie B., and Howard (deceased). Our subject and wife are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, in which he is class-leader and steward. Socially he is a member of the I.O.O.F.; politically he is a Republican, and in February, 1892, he was elected school director of Plains township for three years.
JOHN D. EVANS, contractor, Ashley, was born in York county, Pa., December 2, 1858, and is a son of Daniel D. and Catherine (Jones) Evans, native of Bethesda, North Wales, who came to Americal in 1842, settling in York county, Pa. They reared a numerous family, most of whom reside in Luzerne county: Jane (Mrs. Michael Jones), John D., Lizzie (Mrs. Pierce Jones), Nellie (Mrs. William Francis), Maggie (Mrs. Harry Stell), Hannah, Daniel, Ellsworth, Kate (Mrs. David Davenport). Our subject was reared in Lehigh county, and educated in common schools. He has been a resident of Luzerne county since 1873, and was employed in the mines up to 1888, since when he has been in business as a contractor on tunnels in the mines. Mr. Evans married June 9, 1881, Jennie, daughter of John and Catherine Hughes, of Wilkes-Barre, and has four children: Jennie, Ida, Emma and Miraim. He is a member of the Welsh Congregational Church, and of the I.O.O.F.; politically he is a Republican.
JOHN F. EVANS, miner, Parsons, was born at Buck Mountain, Pa. October 8, 1852, and is a son of Joshua D. and Mary (Davis) Evans, natives of Wales. He was educated in the common school, and began working around the mines at the age of sixteen, at Providence, Pennsylvania, where he remained until the fall of 1872 when he went to Tresckow, Carbon county, where he engaged in general outside work. There he remained about five months, and then came to Plymouth, where he was plane runner, remaining there nearly a year, when he came to Parsons, and has here since resided. He has devoted his entire attention to mining, and has held various positions of trust around the mines; at present he is doing mining contract work, employing about five men. Mr. Evans was married December 12, 1883, to Miss Alice, daughter of David and Ann (Govier) Jones, of Parsons. Socially he is past chief of the Improved Order of Red Men. He has served seven years in the National Guard of Pennsylvania, in Company F, Ninth Regiment and Company E, Ninth Regiment, having been orderly sergeant in the latter for five years. Politically he is a Republican.
REV. J. G. EVANS, pastor, of the Pilgrim Congregational Church, was born in Carmarthenshire, South Wales, June 1, 1848, and is a son of Michael and Hannah (Thomas) Evans. The subject of this sketch came to America in the year 1870, and was educated in Hudson, Ohio, where he received thorough instruction. He next went to Bangor, Me., where he continued his studies, and in 1875 was ordained as a preacher at the Welsh Congregational Church of Edwardsville, Pa. He then went to Pittston, Pa., where he was pastor of the Welsh Church for four years. In 1882, he began with others what is known in church phraseology as the English Congregational movement, and in the same year helped to organize the Puritan Church at Wilkes-Barre, and the Bethesda Church at Edwardsville, Pa., and also built the Tabernacle Church at Pittston, and the Mission Church at Exeter. This gentleman was pastor of the Bethel Congregational Church at Nanticoke, and also preached the first sermon in the Pilgrim Congregational Church at Plymouth. He was first married to Emmaline, daughter of Major John and Hannah (Smith) Farbox, natives of Pennsylvania. Mrs. Evans died in 1887. Our subject was next married to Miss Jennie, daughter of James and Rebecca (Fox) Ash, natives of Pennsylvania. Two children have blessed this latter union. Mr. Evans is an ardent supporter of the Prohibition party, and is an energetic worker in the field of temperance.
JONAH EVANS, butcher, Freeland, is a young man of integrity and strictness of business principles. He was born in South Wales, February 8, 1868 and is a son of Job and Elizabeth (Davis) Evans. His father was a miner. When Jonah was two years of age his parents determined to leave their native land, and boldly struck out for this country. They located at Drifton, where his father worked in the mines. He died in 1876, after being in this country but six years. In the family there are four children: William, Bessie, Jonah and Mary. The three last named and their mother now reside at Freeland. Mr. Evans was educated in the public schools, and at Coxe's Night School, at Drifton. He worked in various capacities around the mines outside and inside, until he reached the age of seventeen, when he engaged in the butchering business, and opened a market in Freeland, where he now commands a large and profitable patronage. Besides his Freeland market, his wagons visit adjacent towns within a radius of five miles. He began business during the strike of 1885, when every industry was very much depressed, and when butchers were failing by the score. He engaged in the business with a determination not to fail, and he has succeeded. Although not an active participant in political tugs of war, Mr. Evans is identified with the Republican party.
RAYMOND P. EVANS, clerk in the Lehigh and Wilkes-Barre Coal Company's office, Ashley, was born in Mehoopany, Pa., November 16, 1850, and is a son of Darius W. and Ellen (Ruth) Evans; he is a grandson of Stephen and Myra (Cooper) Evans, and a great-grandson of Capt. John Evans, who came from Wales to America in 1756 as a soldier in the English army; he is also a grandson of George and Sarah (Scadden) Ruth, natives of Pennsylvania and of German origin. In his father's family there were fourteen children, six of whom are living: Esther (Mrs. Jeremy Van Buskirk), Raymond P., Charlotte (Mrs. J. R. Lynn), Mary E., (Mrs. John McIntyre), Jane (who lives with her father) and Carrie (Mrs. Stephen Marsden). Our subject was educated in the public schools of Forty Fort and in Wyoming Seminary, and then taught school five years, after which he followed lumbering in Luzerne and Wyoming counties four years, clerking in a store in Wilkes-Barre a year and a half, and in 1883 accepted his preent position. Mr. Evans was married, January 22, 1871, to Miss Harriet Schuman, daughter of George Schuman, of Columbia county, Pa.; they had four children, two of whom are living, Inez and Howard. Mrs. Evans died January 8, 1885, and on November 15, 1887, he was married to Mrs. Eliza J. Knauss, daughter of Samuel and Rebecca (Johnson) Black, and widow of John Knauss, by whom she had three children. The issue of this last marriage was two children, one of whom is living, Ernest D. Mr. Evans and wife are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, in which he is steward; he is a Republican in his political views, and is at present a member of the school board in Ashley borough.
ROBERT DAVENPORT EVANS was born in Lewisburg, Union Co., Pa., August 17, 1856. He is a great-great-grandson of Joseph Evans, who in 1785, when Lewisburg was laid out, was a resident thereof. Beyond this fact little is known of this paternal ancestor of Mr. Evans; but the probability is that he came from Montgomery county, Pa., and was a descendant of one of the early Welsh settlers of Pennsylvania. William Evans, son of Joseph Evans, and Joseph Evans, son of Williams Evans, as also Thompson Graham Evans, son of Joseph Evans, were all natives of Lewisburg. Thompson G. Evans is the father of Robert D. Evans, and is a prominent business man in that place. The mother of the subject of our sketch, and the wife of Thompson G. Evans, is Rhoda, daughter of the late Robert Davenport, of Plymouth. He was a son of Thomas Davenport, the ancestor of the now resident family in that place, who came from Orange county, N.Y., in 1794. Hon. Hendrick B. Wright in his "Historical Sketches of Plymouth," says the Davenports are "of low Dutch origin." He is in error in regard to this, as the family is of English descent, and removed from New England to Orange county, N.Y., and thence to Wyoming. The wife of Robert Davenport was Phoebe Nesbitt, daughter of James Nesbitt, Jr., who was a son of James Nesbitt, Sr., who emigrated from Connecticut in 1790, and was one of the "Forty;" he was in the Wyoming battle and massacre, and was one of the survivors of Capt. Whittlesey's company. Robert D. Evans was educated at the University of Lewisburg, and graduated in the class of 1875. He read law in Lewisburg, with the firm of Linn (J. M.) and Dill (A. H.), and was admitted to the bar of Union county, in September 1880. He then removed to Wilkes-Barre, was admitted to the bar of Luzerne county, November 15, 1880, and has been in continuous practice in that city since his admission. In 1884 he was assistant secretary of the Republican County Committee, and later, was attorney of the county commissioners of Luzerne county, in which position he performed his duties well, to the satisfaction of the commissioners, and the profit of the county.
SAMUEL T. EVANS, Wilkes-Barre, brakeman on the Pennsylvania Railroad, was born in Stroudsburg, Monroe Co., Pa., March 1, 1862, a son of George F. and Sarah A. (Transue) Evans, and is of French, German and Scotch descent. His paternal ancestor in this country came from Holland (where he was married), and settled in New York State; he was a soldier of the Revolution, died at Wolf Hollow, Pa., and is buried in Stroudsburg. Grandfather Samuel Evans was born at Stroudsburg, was killed at Ashley Plains, and is buried in the city cemetery at Wilkes-Barre; his wife was Mary Felker, of German parentage. The maternal grandfather, Abram Transue, was a native of Shawnee, Monroe Co., Pa., a son of Elias Transue, a native of France, and a pioneer of Shawnee. The father of our subject was born at Stroudsburg; was a brick contractor and cabinet maker in early life, later engaging in farming; he died in Wyoming county, Pa., and is buried in Overfield Green Cemetery, in Meshoppen, that county. Our subject was reared in Luzerne county, and received his education in the public schools, and at Factoryville Seminary. He began life as a clerk in a grocery story, but turning his attention to the science of electricity, he became an electrician, and built the Wilkes-Barre and Suburban Electric Railroad, on which he served nine years. Since July, 1891, he has held his present position with the Pennsylvania Railroad Company. On march 6, 1883, Mr. Evans was married to Ida Moyer, of Wilkes-Barre, Pa., and they have three children: Ruth, Samuel Le Roy and Ida Grace. Mrs. Evans died November 22, 1889, and is buried in Holland Back Cemetery, Wilkes-Barre.
PROFESSOR THOMAS EVANS, principal of the public schools at South Heberton, is a native of Llanfair-Caereinion, Montgomery county, North Wales, and was born August 1, 1845. He is a son of David and Mary Evans, both natives of North Wales, the former of whom was a painter and plumber. The father died August 6, 1856, at the age of fifty-seven years, and the mother in 1874, at the age of sixty-seven years. When Thomas was about three weeks old his parents removed to LLanfyllin, where he was reared. He was educated at Carnarvon College, where he was graduated in the class of 1865. He immediately engaged in teaching, which profession he followed in his native land ten years. In 1876 he came to America to attend the Centennial, and by chance came to Foster township, where he has since been engaged in teaching, much to the satisfaction of all those who are interested in the welfare of our public school system. Mr. Evans is an instructor whose competency has been well demonstrated by his work. He was united in marriage in 1878 with Miss Elizabeth Powell, second daughter of William Powell, (Sr.), superintendent of mining. There have been born to Prof. and Mrs. Evans five children, viz.: Thomas, Jr., Lizzie, William, Mary and Beatrice. Our subject is a member of the Improved Order of Red Men, and the family are members of the English Baptist Church.
THOMAS F. EVANS, assistant foreman, Harwood Slope No. 5, Harwood Mines, Pa. This capable mine-boss was born in Monmouthshire, South Wales, March 16, 1851, and is a son of Richard and Mary (Williams), also natives of Wales, who came to America in 1851, and settled at Beaver Meadows, Pa. The subject of this sketch is the sixth in a family of nine children. After a short sojourn at Beaver Meadows, the family removed to Scranton, where the children were reared. Thomas F. began, as all miners do, by picking slate and doing general work connected with mining. In 1868 he was assistant foreman at River Slope, Scranton, where he remained one year. He then removed to Tresckow, where he worked as a car runner one year, then came to Harwood Mines as inside stable-boss, in which capacity he served sixteen years, and in November, 1891, he was given the position of assistant inside foreman at No. 5 Harwood Mines. In the art of mining, Mr. Evans is well informed, and is capable of filling any position about the mines. On August 18, 1872, he was married to Miss Katie Betts, of Tresckow, Pa., and three children were born to this union, namely: William M., Richard J. (deceased), and Thomas. Mr. Evans is a member of the I.O.O.F. and K of M. The family are members of the Baptist Church.
THOMAS M. EVANS, engaged in Company work at the Oakwood Mine, Miners Mills, was born in Breckonshire, South Wales, October 10, 1847, and is a son of Evan M. and Mary (Williams) Evans, the former of whom was a greengrocer. They reared a family of twelve children, six of whom are living, and Thomas M. is the fourth, and the only one in America. Our subject began working in the mines at the age of six years, and had made that the occupation of his life. He came to America in 1869, and was engaged in mining at North Point, Pa., six weeks; Ashland, twenty months, and Mill Creek, three years. Then, in 1874, he returned to his native country, where he also worked in the mines five years, after which he again came to America, locating at Miners Mills. Mr. Evans was married September 9, 1872, to Miss Mary, daughter of Joseph and Frances Parry, the formed of whom died in Australia, the latter in Wales; she came to America in 1870. The fruit of this union has been eight children, two of whom are living, viz.: Evan M. and Jenkin. Mr. and Mrs. Evans are members of the Welsh Presbyterian and Welsh Congregational Churches, respectively; he is a member of the Ivorites, and his son, Evan M., is a member of the Sons of Temperance. In politics the family is Republican. In 1889 Mr. Evans purchased his present residence.
THOMAS R. EVANS, general inside foreman, Parrish Mines, Plymouth, is a native of Caermarthenshire, South Wales, born October 10, 1842, a son of David W. and Ann (Richards) Evans, also natives of Wales. Our subject was reared and educated in Glamorganshire, Wales, and quite early in life learned the moulder's trade, which he followed for five years. He then engaged in mining, which he followed in his native country until 1866, in which year he came to America, locating at Swatara, Pa., and engaging in mining at that place, remaining there until 1868, when he came to Plymouth , and began work at the Gaylord Mine, then at the Jersey, operated by the Delaware, Lackawanna and Western Company. He remained at these places until 1875, when he went to the Nottingham, working there as fire-boss and assistant inside foreman until May 7, 1884, when he accepted the position of general inside foreman at the Parrish Colliery, which position he has since creditably filled. He has under his charge about 400 men, and the average daily output of coal is 1,200 tons. Mr. Evans was united in marriage May 26, 1869, with Elizabeth W., daughter of Joseph and Elizabeth (Brareton) Parry, natives of Brecknockshire, Wales. Ten children have been born to this union, viz.: Joseph P., Annie J., Lillie M. (deceased), Arthur (deceased), David R., Elmer (deceased), Edwin (deceased), Milton R., Lillian (deceased) and Leroy (deceased). Mr. Evans is a Republican and a member of the following orders: Ivorites, I.O.O.F., and Knights of Honor. The family attend the Welsh Presbyterian Church.
THOMAS R. EVANS, florist, Wilkes-Barre, was born March 1, 1845, in South Wales. His father, Thomas E. Evans, was also a native of that place. Mr. Evans came to Wilkes-Barre June 18, 1886, and secured employment in the Blackman Mines, at Ashley. He was a most expert miner, and speedily secured more remunerative employment in the Stanton Colliery, of the Lehigh and Wilkes-Barre Coal Company. He left the mines three years ago to engage in the culture of flowers. Mr. Evans is an expert horticulturist and florist, and is on a fair way to build up an extensive business. He was married July 16, 1872, to Miss Annie Hughes, a native of South Wales.
WILLIAM EVANS, proprietor of the "North Branch Hotel," Wilkes-Barre, was born in Pottsville, Schuylkill Co., Pa., January 24, 1846, and is a son of Daniel and Sarah (Jones) Evans, natives of Wales, who came to America in 1842, and located in Pottsville, Pa., where the father worked as a miner four years; thence proceeded to Middleport, Schuylkill Co., where he resided until 1852, in which year he was accidentally drowned. His children were four in number: Margaret (Mrs. Daniel Daniels), Daniel, William and Alfred. Our subject was reared in Pennsylvania and educated in the common schools. He worked in the mines of the anthracite region, fifteen years, and in January, 1871, located in Wilkes-Barre, where he has since been the owner and proprietor of the "North Branch Hotel." Mr. Evans is a member of the I.O.O.F. and I.O.R.M.; in politics he is a Republican.
WILLIAM B. EVANS, proprietor of the "Evans' Hotel," Edwardsville, is a native of Caermarthenshire, South Wales, born July 29, 1845, and is a son of William and Rachel (Davies) Evans. He was educated in his native land, and in 1864 emigrated to America, locating at Pittston, Pa., where he was engaged in mining, and where he remained nearly four years, when he removed to Plymouth and embarked in the hotel business. After residing in the last named place about three years, he went to California, and engaged in gold, silver and coal mining in various places in that State, during which time he made San Francisco his headquarters. In 1874 he returned to Luzerne county and located in Wilkes-Barre, where he again entered the hotel business, which he followed in that city for ten years, at the end of which time he removed to Edwardsville, and opened his present popular "Evans' Hotel," where he has deservedly won the patronage of the traveling public. Mr. Evans belongs to a family of considerable note in American history, as his mother was a niece of John Adams. He married, for his first wife, Margaret Davies, of Caermarthenshire, South Wales, by whom he had two children, viz.: Thomas, a clerk in New York City, and Rachel (deceased). The mother of this family dying, Mr. Evans was married in February, 1882, to May Ann, daughter of William Morgans, of Parsons, Pa., and they have two children: Elizabeth and Oliver Cromwell. In his political preferences Mr Evans is a Republican.
W. D. EVANS, wholesale and retail dealer in cigars and tobacco. This gentleman, who is among the active and successful young business men of Pittston, was born in that town December 17, 1855, and is a son of Henry and Elizabeth (Howell) Evans, both natives of Wales. His parents came to the United States in 1844, first located at Carbondale, Pa., where the father was engaged in mercantile business. In 1857 he removed to Pittston, and became a member of the firm of Charles Law and Co., a large dry-goods concern in that city. He was connected with that firm until his death, in 1864. Mr. Evans was one of the pioneer citizens of Pittston, and to such men as he the city owes its growth and prosperity. He was always active in all measures tending to the advancement of the interests of his adopted city. As a business man he was eminently successful, and his clear and penetrating business ideas made sure the success of any venture he might have the control of. He was past master of St. John's Lodge, F.& A.M., and past grand of Carbondale Lodge, I.O.O.F. He was a charter member and one of the organizers of St. James Episcopal Church of Pittston. He had a family of four children, viz.: Louis H., a salesman for A. J. Medlar and Co., of Philadelphia; W. D.; Mary Jeannette; John Howell, deceased. Our subject passed his boyhood in Pittston, and was educated in the public schools of that city, also in private schools of Wilkes-Barre and the Wyoming Seminary. At the age of twenty he entered upon his business career, embarking in the grocery business, being associated with D. B. Shelly. He was in this business one year and sold his interest, and, with Mr. Hagedorn as partner, embarked in the wholesale tobacco and cigar business, occupying the store rooms at present occupied by himself and the one occupied by H. Ruggles. Mr. Hagedorn retired in 1890, and Mr. Evans has continued the business. He was united in marriage with Agnes McDougall, a daughter of John McDougall, a former merchant of Pittston. Mr. Evans has been manager of the Music Hall since 1880, and it is to his good taste and management that the theater-goers owe the first-class entertainments that this Opera House offers to the public. Mr. Evans is a member of Valley Lodge, No. 499, F.& A.M., and is past master of the same; and is past high priest of Pittston Chapter, No. 242, R.A.M. He is a member of Trinity Church of West Pittston. Politically, he has cast his lot with, and is a stanch worker for the interests of the Republican party. He was tax receiver for Pittston borough for the years 1888, 1889 and 1890, and on September 6, 1892, at the Republican convention held at Wilkes-Barre, he was nominated for sheriff of Luzerne county.
WILIIAM T. EVANS is a member of the firm of Hill & Evans, the leading hardware dealers of Nanticoke. They deal in all the branches and specialties of the trade, giving special attention to plumbing, in which they do an extensive business. Mr. Evans was born in Tresckow, Carbon Co., Pa., May 22, 1871, and is a son of Owen R. and Margaret (Rosser) Evans, natives of Wales. When his parents came to this country, they located in Schuylkill county, Pa., where they remained about seventeen years; then removed to Carbon county, and here have since resided. Our subject was educated in the common schools of Carbon county, and at the age of thirteen engaged as door-tender in the mines. He followed mining until he was about seventeen, when he came to Nanticoke and learned the plumber's trade, serving his apprenticeship with R. W. Thomas. After completing his trade he entered the employ of the Welleber Hardware Company, where he remained three years, and in January, the present firm, of which he is a member, was formed, since when they have had a constantly increasing trade. Mr. Evans is an enterprising young man, and is much respected by all who know him.
JOHN EVARTS, farmer, P.O. Hunlock Creek, was born in New Haven, Conn., in 1844, a son of John and Lucy (Stevens) Evarts, both of whom were born in Connecticut. They removed from that State to Wayne county, Pa., when their son John was six months old. The father died when the son was very young, and the mother married again; she reared a family of eight children by both marriages, John being the fourth in order of birth by the first. Our subject was reared and educated in Wayne county, and always followed agricultural pursuits. He entered the army in 1864, enlisting in Company F, Ninety-seventh P.V.I., for one year, served faithfully during the term of service, and was honorably discharged. On his return from the army he located in Plymouth township, where he and his brother Simeon purchased a farm of one hundred acres of unimproved land, and by hard toil, and close application to business, they have succeeded in making the forest "to blossom as the rose," having now forty acres under the plough. They are practical farmers and good citizens. John Evarts married, May 28, 1871, Miss Emma T., daughter of Joseph Nevel, and eight children have been born to them, as follows: Joseph, Alfred, Girtie, Myrtle, Ada, Arthur, James and Susan, all yet living. Mrs. Evarts was born in Ross township in 1854. Mr. Evarts is a member of the G.A.R.; his religious belief is that known as "Christian Science." Politically he is a Republican.
WILSON EVELAND, carpenter, Plymouth. This skillful young mechanic was born June 30, 1863, in Luzerne county, Pa., and is the youngest in the family of ten children of John and Clarissa (Marr) Eveland, also natives of Luzerne county, and among the pioneer families of this historic Valley. Our subject was educated in the public schools of his native place, was reared on a farm, and followed agricultural pursuits until 1882, when he began carpenter work at Berwick, Pa., remaining there two years, and then going to Hazleton, same state. Here he worked at his trade until 1888, when he came to Plymouth and entered the employ of the Delaware and Hudson Canal Company, with whom he has since been engaged. Mr. Eveland was united in marriage, in 1886, with Rosa, daughter of John and Mary Fink, natives of Plymouth, and one child has blessed this union, named Earl, born in August, 1888. Mr. Eveland is a Republican in politics, and is a member of the P.O.S. of A. The family attend the Methodist Episcopal Church.
GEORGE EVERHARD, retired merchant, Inkerman, was born in Carbondale, Lackawanna Co., Pa., March 25, 1830, and is a son of William and Martha (Wallace) Everhard, who were of Puritan New England origin. They had a family of six children, of whom George is third in order of birth. Our subject was educated in the common schools, and learned the trade of upholsterer and cabinet maker. He worked at his trade in Carbondale, and in 1855, by his industry, was enabled to go into business for himself. In 1869 he sold out to good advantage, and removed to Pittston, where he went into the furniture business again, from which he retired in 1885. Mr. Everhard was united in marriage, May 12, 1855, with Jane, daughter of Isaiah and Mary A. (Henderson) Tasker, natives of Carbondale, and of English extraction. In his political preferments, our subject is a Republican.
ANDREW S. EVERT, store manager and postmaster, Lattimer Mines. This thorough business man was born June 10, 1855, at Lithopolis, Ohio, and is the son of John and Julia (Graver) Evert, the former a native of Virginia, and the latter of Pennsylvania. He was reared and educated in Luzerne county, where the family located when he was but a child. After receiving a good business training, he worked in a sawmill for a period of nine years. In 1882 he engaged with A. Pardee & Co., of Hazleton, as entry clerk, in which incumbency he remained six years. In 1888, he was given full charge of the company's store at Lattimer Mines, which position he now occupies. In January, 1892, he was appointed by Postmaster-General Wanamaker, postmaster at Lattimer Mines. Our subject has been twice married, first to Miss Lillian Kohl, of White Haven, PA, who died in 1884 leaving two children, Ruth and Lillian. On February 18, 1887, Mr. Evert married Miss Lillian Doubt, of Hazleton, PA. The subject of this sketch has, by his own efforts, succeeded in placing himself at the head of the list as a competent and energetic business man.