JOHN DALY, proprietor of restaurant, Wilkes-Barre, was born in Sunderland county of Durham, England, June 28, 1862, and is a son of John and Bridget (McCarroll) Daly, natives of County Monaghan, Ireland, who came to America in 1870. They settled in Wilkes-Barre township, where the father was employed in the mines and was killed in the Franklin Colliery by a fall of coal in August 1886. Eight children born to them are living: John, Maggie, Mary (Mrs. Anthony Welch), James, Ellen, Bridget, Kate, and Anna. Our subject was reared in Wilkes-Barre township from eight years of age, has worked in and about the mines since ten years of age, and has been engaged in the restaurant business ten years. He was married August 30, 1885, to Mary I., daughter of John and Bridget (Flinn) Winn, formerly of Ireland, and has five children: Anna, John, Mary, James and Owen. Mr. Daly is a member of the Catholic Church, and of the A.O.H., and Board of America; in politics he is a Democrat.
WILLIAM D. DANIELS, farmer, P.O. Huntsville, was born in Brecon, South Wales, March 28, 1840. He is the son of Daniel R. and Ann (Richards) Daniel's, both of whom are natives of South Wales. Daniel and his wife and their family of eight children came to this country in 1850, locating in Pittston, where he and his six sons engaged in mining. They remained there until March 22, 1857, when Daniel died at the age of sixty-two years. His wife died March 25, 1859, at the same age. William D. is one of a pair of twins. He was reared and educated partly in Wales and partly in the United States, and always followed the example of his progenitor in digging "dusty diamonds" in the Wyoming Valley. October 23, 1862, when twenty-three years of age, he married Miss Hannah, daughter of John W. and Mary (Roberts) Hovells. There were born to them thirteen children, five of whom are now (1891) living: Eleanor (a graduate of Bloomsburg State Normal School, now teaching at Five Forks). John R., Daniel, William and David T. Mr. Daniels is a prosperous man, and, though a general farmer, pays special attention to dairying, milking eighteen cows. He carries his milk to Plymouth, selling it at wholesale and carries on a profitable trade. His stock is fine, his land productive and the farmer himself is a whole-souled man. His farm consists of eighty acres of hillside land, on which he has resided for fifteen years. Mr. Daniels is respected by his neighbors, and enjoys the full confidence of his fellow citizens. He is a consistent Christian, being in full fellowship with and a member of the Walsh Presbyterian Church. He is also a member of the I.O.O.F. and politically is a Republican.
MIFFLIN DANNER, painter, Ashley, was born in Moore township, Northampton Co., Pa., December 7, 1846 and is a son of Abraham and Abbie (Miltonberger) Danner, natives of Pennsylvania, and of early German origin. His father, who was a farmer, reared a family of six children: Levi, Mary, Samuel, Allevestie, Mifflin, and Sarah. The father dying when our subject was five years old, the mother was married to John Kulp, by whom she had one child, Elizabeth. Our subject was educated in the public school at Dannersville, and then learned the painter's trade at White Haven, which he has since followed. In 1867, he removed to Ashley, where he built his present residence in 1885. Mr. Danner was married September 15, 1869, to Miss Emma R., daughter of Joseph and Rebecca (Zimmerman) Kantner, natives of Pennsylvania, and of Irish and German origin, and they have two children: Ida May and Joseph F. Mr. and Mrs. Danner are members of the Episcopal Church. Socially he is a member of the I.O.O.F., the K. of H.; politically is a Democrat.
WILLIAM F. DANZER, M.D., Hazleton. This successful young physician was born at Mauch Chunk, Pa., June 5, 1865, and is the youngest in the family of four children of Henry and Catharine (Lechler) Danzer, natives of Mauch Chunk. The Doctor's early education was received in the public schools of his native county, and on completing the common branches he took an advanced course at the Schuylkill Seminary, and also at Stewart's Academy. After completing his academic course he began studying medicine with Dr. A. B. Dundor, a prominent physician of Reading, continuing with him three and one-half years. In 1886 he entered Jefferson Medical College, from which he was graduated in the class of '89. He then took a course at the New York Polytechnic, making a specialty of the eyes, nose and throat, and immediately afterward entered the Lying-in Charity Hospital, Philadelphia, where he attended a six month's course of lectures. With this thorough training in his profession, the Doctor at once established himself at Hazleton, where he is rapidly building up a large and substantial practice. Socially, Dr. Danzer is a member of the Shield of Honor and the Knights of Malta.
JOHN VAUGHAN DARLING, lawyer, Wilkes-Barre, was born in Reading, Pa., July 24, 1844, and is a son of William and Margaret (Vaughan Smith) Darling. His paternal grandfather, Eliakim Darling, was a native of New Hampshire, born in 1767, and married Ruth Buck, of Bucksport, Maine. He settled in Bucksport at an early age, where he became a prominent ship builder and owner, and died there at the age of sixty-six years. He was a son of Thomas and Martha (Howe) Darling, the latter of whom was a niece of Lord Howe, who commanded the British forces in America during the war of the Revolution. William Darling, father of subject, and who was a native ofBucksport, Maine, in early life settled in Reading, Pa., studied law, was admitted to the bar, and entered actively into the practice of his profession, being a leading light in the courts for many years. He was a United States Commissioner to the World's Fair held at the Crystal Palace, London, in 1851. Prior to that he had been appointed president judge of the Berks District, but shortly afterward resigned the position on account of ill health, though he lived to the age of seventy-eight years. He was vice-president of the American Sunday-school Union from its organization until his death. His wife, Margaret Vaughan Smith, was a daughter of John Smith, owner of the Joanna Furnace, one of the prominent industries of Berks county in an early day. John Smith was a son of Robert Smith, of Chester county, Pa., the latter a son of John and Susannah Smith, who came to America from the North of Ireland in 1720, and settled in Chester county, Pa. The subject of this sketch was prepared for college by Prof. Kendall, and passed his examination for the junior year at Harvard University, but failing health obliged him to give up his collegiate education. In early life he was a frequent contributor to the columns of Lippincott's Magazine and Atlantic Monthly, and for five years was assistant editor of the North American Review. He read law with R. C. McMurtrie, of Philadelphia, and in 1865 was admitted to the Philadelphia bar. He practiced his profession in that city until 1874, when he removed to Wilkes-Barre, and June 4, 1874, was admitted to the bar of Luzerne county, where he has since been engaged in the active practice of his profession. On October 9, 1872, he married Alice Mary, daughter of Andrew T. and Augusta (Cist) McClintock, of Wilkes-Barre.
ALFRED DARTE, Jr., was born April 28, 1836 in the little old town of Dundaff in Susquehanna county, Pa. The Darte's came from Connecticut from which State a number of the name, including the grandfather and six of the granduncles of Alfred, Jr., joined the army of the Revolution, served all through that memorable struggle, the grandfather being wounded in the attack on Fort Griswold, Hon. Alfred Darte, father of our subject, removed from Susquehanna county to Carbondale (then in Luzerne, now in Lackawanna county), where he practiced as a lawyer, and became recorder of the mayor's court of the city. The mother was Ann E. Cone, daughter of Dorastus Cone, of Esopus, Ulster Co., N.Y., whose ancestors had also come from "the land of the steady habits." Alfred Darte, Jr. was educated in common schools, and at the Wyoming Seminary. He read law in the offices of his father and became a member of the Luzerne bar, May 12, 1859. Very soon after the outbreak of the Civil war, both his father and himself joined Company K. Twenty-fifth P.V.I., of which organization the father was captain and the son , first lieutenant. Lieutenant Darte's term of service extended for April 26, 1861, to September 19, 1964, when he was mustered out on account of disability occurring from a wound received in an engagement with the enemy at Trevilian Station, Virginia. Mr. Darte, after the war, was for many years a justice of the peace in Kingston, and was for a long time a member and president of the council of that borough. In 1879 he became the Republican candidate for district attorney of the county, and was elected by a large plurality, serving the full term of three years. He was again nominated and elected to the same office in 1888 and served the second full term. In 1891 he was a favorable but not successful applicant for the Republican nomination for additional law judge. He is an active member of the Grand Army of the Republic and has represented the Wilkes-Barre Post in many State and national gatherings. On June 11, 1863, Mr. Darte married Caroline Sealy, a native of Kingston, and daughter of Robert Sealy, of Cork, Ireland, who died June 22, 1892. They had no children. Mr. Darte is a Presbyterian, a trustee of the Kingston Church of that denomination and, as facts above recorded show, he is an active and influential member of the Republican Party.
W. H. DAUBER, proprietor of the St. John's Flouring Mills, St. John's, Pa., is a native of Rockland township, Berks county, Pa., and is a son of Daniel and Polly Ann (Miller) Dauber, natives of Berks Co., Pa., at present residing in Freeland, Pa. The parents removed to this county when he was about thirteen years old. Our subject received his education in the public schools and upon reaching the age of fifteen began the miller's trade at A. Straw & Son's Mills, where he remained one year and a half, and then worked in various flouring mills throughout the county. In 1874, he commenced work at St. John's Mills and worked as miller there until 1887, when he assumed control, he now enjoys a lucrative amount of custom grinding. Mr. Dauber was married in 1875 to Miss Maggie Rittenhouse, an accomplished young lady of Sugar Loaf township. This union has been blessed with two children, viz.: George R., and Edith. Mr. Dauber is a member of the I.O.O. F. and the P.O.S. of A. He is widely known in his section of the county, and has many well-deserved friends.
A. LIVINGSTONE DAVENPORT, junior member of the firm Davenport Bros., booksellers and stationers, Plymouth, was born April 16, 1863 and is a son of Edwin and Mary C. (McAlarney) Davenport, natives of Luzerne county, Pa., and of old historic families of the Valley. Edwin Davenport was born June 6, 1832, the eldest son of Oliver Davenport, one of the numerous descendants of Thomas Davenport, who came into the Wyoming Valley shortly after the Revolution, settling in Plymouth, and married Livia, daughter of Col. George P. Ransom and granddaughter of Capt. Samuel Ransom, who was killed in the Wyoming Massacre. Edwin Davenport is a brother of James H. and Andrew C. Davenport and Clarissa Shaver Frey, now deceased, and Mrs. Henry Lees, Mrs. Lorenzo Whitney, Mrs. Ellen O. Levi, and Mrs. H. N. Ashley, now residing in Plymouth. Edwin married October 21, 1860, Mary C., daughter of James McAlarney, and they have had eight children, all yet living, as follows: Stanley Woodward, A. Livingstone, Ward P., Julia E., James, Livia, Fuller, and Lloyd. The father has been engaged in mercantile business for the past twenty-two years.
A. Livingstone Davenport was educated at the public schools of the place of his birth, which was supplemented with a higher education at Wyoming Seminary, where he graduated in 1882. After completing his course of studies, he returned to Plymouth and was employed as clerk for Charles Shupp for a short time. On January 1, 1885, he and his brother, Stanley W., purchased the business formerly owned by A. F. Levi, and they have since conducted same. The enterprising young man who forms the subject of this sketch has now full charge of the business, which is an extensive one; and judging from his ready business tact, he is fully competent to discharge any and all of the duties connected with it. In politics, he has always been closely identified with the Democratic Party, and in church matters, he follows the precepts of the Methodist creed. The senior member of the extensive business is
STANLEY WOODWARD DAVENPORT, a practicing attorney of Wilkes-Barre, Pa., and a resident of Plymouth. He was born at the above named place July 21, 1861. This rising young lawyer was educated in the public schools of Plymouth and at Wyoming Seminary. He is also a graduate of the Wesleyan University, class of '84. Soon after graduating, Stanley and his brother Livingstone, succeeded Mr. Levi in the business above mentioned, and Stanley remained in the store three years. He then left it in charge of his brother, while he entered the law office of George W. Shonk, at Wilkes-Barre, where he was a student for one year and nine months at the end of which time he had so far conquered the subtle reasoning of Blackstone that, upon examination, he was at once admitted to practice at the Luzerne county bar. Mr. S. W. Davenport was united in marriage, June 13, 1889, with Mary, daughter of Andrew Wier, and they have one child, Marion, born May 1, 1890. Mr. Davenport adheres strictly to the principles advocated by the Democratic Party. These young gentlemen, as will be seen are great great grandsons of the brave Capt. Ransom, who fell in the Massacre of Wyoming.
GEORGE DAVENPORT, farmer, P.O. Plymouth. Among the early settlers of the Valley are the Davenports, who came here at a very early period, and settled in what is now the lower end of the borough of Plymouth. Our subject, whose name heads this sketch, was born in Luzerne county, Pa., January 4, 1823, and is the second in the family of five children of Daniel and Mary (Nesbitt) Davenport, natives of this county. He received his education in the public schools of Luzerne borough, and at the age of twenty-one years began boating on the canal between Wilkes-Barre and Philadelphia, Pa., which he followed for twenty years. He then engaged in mining as a contractor for a short time, retiring to his farm afterward, where he has since been engaged in tilling the soil. On September 3, 1849, Mr. Davenport was united in marriage with Miss Emily, daughter of John and Esther (Ransom) Ingham, natives of Luzerne county, and five children have been blessed of this union, viz.: Daniel F., Hendrick I., Andrew E., Robert W., and William M. Mr. Davenport is a democrat in politics and the family attend the Christian Church.
HARRY H. DAVENPORT, farmer, P.O. Huntington Mills, Huntington township, was born in that township October 14, 1864, a son of Hanford and Fannie E. (Larned) Davenport, natives of Pennsylvania, of English origin. Hanford Davenport was a farmer by occupation; he died June 8, 1865 in Boise City, Idaho, while on his way to the gold fields of California. Our subject is the youngest of a family of seven children as follows: Eva M. (Mrs. Charles W. Lowden); William W., travels for a moulding firm of Baltimore; Ida E. (Mrs. A. R. Wilkenson); Harriet; Elmer, Hanford (deceased) and Harry H. Harry H. was reared on a farm, receiving his education in the common schools, and at eighteen years of age began farming on his property that he now owns. He was married, June 26, 1889, to Miss Josephine, daughter of M. B. and Parmelia (Rhone) Trescott, by whom he has one child, Herman L., born September 25, 1890. Our subject and wife attend the M.E. Church; in politics he is a Democrat, and has held the office of treasurer.
J. W. DAVENPORT, farmer, P.O. Pike's Creek, was born February 21, 1844, reared and educated in Lake township. He is the son of Helan and Christine (Roberts) Davenport; the former born in Huntington township in 1811, the latter in Union township, in 1818. Helan was a son of Humphrey Davenport, of Dutch descent, who with other members of his father's family, located in Huntington township on a lot of 125 acres. He was a natural mechanic as well as a skilled workman. He was a carpenter, blacksmith and wheelwright, a hard-working man, who did much for the extension of agricultural pursuits, in building and improving on his farm. He reared a family of seven children, two of whom are now living. His son, Helan, began business as a lumberman in Hazleton, where he remained for two years, thence moving to Shickshinny, where he worked at his trade (blacksmith) for some time. He next moved to Deantown, Union township, where he remained for two years, when, in 1839, he removed to Lake township, on a farm of 120 acres of unimproved land, on which he built, and which he cleared until it became a model farm. Mr. Davenport is a zealous democrat, he is a man of importance in the town, and has held all the important offices. He served one term as justice of peace. His family consisted of twelve children: eleven grew to maturity; eight of whom are living (1892). He is now living at the age of eighty-one; his wife died in 1876. J. W. is the fifth in the family in order of birth, and has always confined himself to farming on the old homestead, where he now lives and which he owns. He was married September 30, 1868, to Miss Cassie E., daughter of Perry and Mary Ann Wilkenson. By her, he has had two children: Frank L., aged twenty-one and Dana W., aged fifteen. Mrs. Cassie (Wilkenson) Davenport was born in Ross township, May 8, 1848. Mr. Davenport is a practical farmer, who, since he has owned the homestead, has made marked and visible improvements, not only improving the farm, but also building extensively. He has held the office of constable and other offices. He was justice of the peace ten years. On March 24, 1864, he became a member of Company B. Second P.V.C., for the term of three years. He served to the close of the war, and received an honorable discharge. In politics, he is a Democrat; he is a member of the G.A.R. He, with his wife, is a member of the M.E. Church, in good standing.
THOMAS DAVENPORT, proprietor of the "Union House," Shickshinny, was born in Huntington township, Luzerne Co., Pa., June 12, 1829, a son of Stephen and Elizabeth (Tubbs) Davenport. The paternal grandfather, Thomas Davenport, a native of Connecticut, was a pioneer farmer of Plymouth township, where he died. His sons were Robert, Samuel, John, Oliver, Daniel and Stephen; the latter, who was born in Plymouth, settled in Huntington township in 1829, where he was engaged in farming until his death, which occurred in 1885, when he was aged eighty-five years. His wife was a daughter of Earl Tubbs, of Huntington township, where he had eight children born to him: Hanford, William, Thomas, Earl, Samuel, Ada (Mrs. Charles Good), Charlotte (Mrs. Righter Swingle) and Elizabeth (Mrs. Wells Wagner). Our subject was reared in his native township, and in 1850 embarked in merchandising at Town Line, where he was in business five years and also at Shickshinny from 1835 to 1862. In fall of the latter year, he joined Company I, One Hundred and Forty-second Pennsylvania Volunteers as lieutenant, and after two years of service was honorably discharged; during that term he was also engaged in the lumber business in Fairmount township, in which he still continues. Before the war, he boated on the canal several years as well as being engaged in various other enterprises; since 1891 he has been in hotel business at Shickshinny, in the hotel erected by himself in 1858. Mr. Davenport was twice married, his first wife being Diana, daughter of Jacob Good, of Huntington township, and by her he has three children living: Rosa (Mrs. William Eckroth), Gertrude (Mrs. George Grose), and Samuel. His present wife was Mrs. Parmelia (McCafferty) Coons. Mr. Davenport is a member of the G.A.R. and in politics, is a Democrat.
WILLIAM DAVENPORT, merchant, Town Line, was born in Plymouth, January 14, 1827, and is a son of Stephen and Elizabeth (Tubbs) Davenport, the former born in Plymouth August 14, 1800, the latter in Huntington in 1802. Stephen was a son of Thomas, who, with his brother Robert, took an active part in the Wyoming Massacre, having just moved from Connecticut into the Valley that day. They escaped to Plymouth after shooting two Indians who pursued them. The brothers immediately returned to Connecticut, where they remained a few years, when they returned again to Wyoming Valley, and located in Plymouth, where some of their descendants now reside. Thomas owned considerable land in Plymouth being one of the first pioneers in that part of the Valley. He died at an advanced age. His family consisted of twelve children, who in their turn became sturdy pioneers in the Wyoming Valley. Stephen, his son, began active business in Plymouth. His property was extensive, and under it were valuable coal beds, consequently in those days he was an active coal operator; he shipped his coal down the river in arks, owning two, and running them himself. In 1829, he removed to Town Line, where he purchased 300 acres of virgin soil, on which he built, improving about 200 acres during his lifetime. He was a thorough-going businessman as well as a practical farmer; everything he touched seemed to prosper. Mr. Davenport was a strong democrat and a man of influence in his party; during 1862-65 he was elected county commissioner. He died August 22, 1885, aged eighty-five years, after an eventful, busy and useful life. His family consisted of eleven children, ten of whom grew to maturity, and six of whom are living now. William is the third in order of birth, and was reared and educated in Huntington township, spending two terms in Kingston. In early life he followed farming, and at one time was engaged as clerk, when he learned the secrets of the mercantile trade, and in 1850 entered the mercantile business for himself, having carried on the business successfully ever since. He has a large storeroom filled with the choicest goods, believing in selling goods cheap, though not in selling cheap goods. Under his business tact and judgment he has succeeded in establishing a large and lasting trade. Five years after he began his storekeeping, he married, on February 25, 1855, Miss Adeline, daughter of A. and Sarah Harrison. To them has been born one son, L. B., who is married to Miss Rose Wilkenson. Mrs. Adeline (Harrison) Davenport was born in Huntington in 1835. Mr. Davenport has held the postoffice for the last thirty-six years under every administration, and is a democrat in politics. He is universally liked as a thorough-going businessman.
BENJAMIN DAVEY, Sr., mine contractor, Wilkes-Barre, was born in Cornwall, England, November 28, 1846, a son of Benjamin and Ann (Firstbrook) Davey. He was reared and educated in his native country, where he began life in the mines at twelve years of age, and followed the different grades of mining from a beginner up, until 1866. He then came to America, locating in northern Michigan, where he was employed in the copper mines for five years. In 1871 he located in Wilkes-Barre, and since has been continuously engaged in mining, contracting, sinking shafts, etc., with the exception of one year spent in California in the gold mines. In 1887, Mr. Davey formed a partnership with John Wasley, under the firm name of Davey & Wasley. Mr. Davey has twice been married: first in 1866 to Caroline, daughter of Bartholomew and Mary (Ninners) Youren, of Cornwall, England, by whom he had three children, Benjamin Jr., Carrie and Thomas; his second wife was Anna, daughter of George Stockham of Plymouth, Pa., and by her he has two children, Hannah and George. He is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church and of the I.O.F.; in politics, he is a Republican.
BENJAMIN DAVEY. Jr., architect, Wilkes-Barre, was born in Marquette, Mich., November 17, 1867, and is a son of Benjamin and Caroline (Youren) Davey. He was reared in Luzerne county, Pa., from four years of age, and educated in the public schools of Wilkes-Barre and Plymouth. In 1880, he began the study of architecture in the office of J. H. W. Hawkins, of Wilkes-Barre, and has since followed the business, forming a partnership with Stanley W. Walker, in 1890, under the firm name of Davey & Walker. In 1892 he succeeded Mr. Walker, and has built up a successful business, not only in the city of Wilkes-Barre, but in the entire State. Mr. Davey married June 30, 1891, Mary I., daughter of Asa L. and Mary (Kutz) Gardner, of Wilkes-Barre, and by her has one child, Benjamin. Our subject is an active member of the U.R. and K. of P.; politically is a stanch Republican.
REV. JACOB E. DAVIES, pastor of the Welsh Baptist Church, Plymouth. This energetic young minister was born in Glamorganshire, South Wales, May 22, 1855, and is a son of Esau and Ann (Evans) Davies, natives of Carmarthenshire, South Wales. He is the third son of a family of six, four of whom are living. He came to America in 1872 and first settled in Frostburg, Md., where he remained but a short time, moving from there to Lewisburg, Union county, Pa. He immediately thereafter entered Lewisburg (now Bucknell) University, where after six and one half years of close study and constant application, he graduated with high honors in the class of 1884. He then commenced the ministry at Providence, Pa., where he was ordained August 22, 1884, remaining there four years, at the end of which time he came to Plymouth, where he has since been pastor of the Welsh Baptist Church. Mr. Davies has been twice been married: first to Miss Anna Jane, daughter of John A. and Margaret (Arthur) Williams, natives of Glamorganshire, South Wales. To this union was born, December 1, 1886, one child; Marguerite, who was not destined to know a mother's love long, as the latter died October 19, 1889. Mr. Davies married for his second wife, September 2, 1891, Jennie E., daughter of David P. and Elizabeth (Edwards) Edwards, natives of Wales. In politics, our subject is a stanch Prohibitionist. He is a member of the Tonti and Ivorites.
JAMES B. DAVIES, general superintendent of Plymouth Coal Company, Plymouth. Among the many men who have done much in developing the mines of Luzerne county, none are more prominent or have been more successful in their efforts than the one whose name opens the sketch. His experiences in the coal regions of Pennsylvania have been vast, and during the troublesome Molly Maguire period, his position was not an enviable one. He at that time was inside foreman at the famous Nottingham Shaft. The subject of this sketch was born in Llangammarch, Breconshire, South Wales, April 26, 1840, and is the eldest in the family of four children of John P. and Mary (Bevan) Davies, natives of Wales. James B. Davies in 1856, moved to Aberdare, in Glamorganshire, where he was engaged in mining until 1868, in which year he came to America, locating at wilkes-Barre and engaged at mining at the Hollenback and Kidder and No. 4 Slopes. At the latter place he remained but a short time, however, as he was given a position as fire boss at the Empire Shaft, and he had held this position for a short period only, when he was appointed foreman at what is known as the "great mine fire," which position he held until February 1, 1874, when he took that of inside foreman at the Nottingham Shafts, where he remained nine and one half years. When he took this position, the mine was yielding 450 tons of coal daily, and after nine years under his management, was brought up to the capacity of 2,000 tons daily. In 1883 he was chosen by the Plymouth Coal Company as general superintendent, which position he has since creditably filled. He has under his charge about 1,050 hands, mining 2,000 tons daily. It can be truthfully said that Mr. Davies has the entire confidence of his employers as well as the respect of those who are under his supervision. He was married January 10, 1871, to Miss Annie, daughter of Capt. William and Elizabeth (Cavalry) Smith, natives of North Wales. Nine children have been born to this union, namely: Mary (a teacher in the Plymouth schools), Emily (also a teacher in the Plymouth schools), Gertrude, Cora (deceased), Ernest, (deceased), Mabel Louise (deceased), Lenore, Bruce and Stanley. Mr. Davies is a Republican. He is deacon of the Welsh Presbyterian Church, and always very ready to defend Calvinism at any cost.
JOHN B. DAVIES, inside foreman at the Dodson Colliery. This pleasant and intelligent gentleman was born, November 4, 1845, in Breconshire, South Wales, and the third in a family of four children born to John P. and Mary (Bevan) Davies, natives of Wales. The family removed to Aberdale, Wales, where the children were educated and reared. John B., at an early age began work in the iron ore mines doing almost everything that pertained to mining. In 1868, he came to America, locating at Wilkes-Barre, where he was engaged at mining in the Old Kidder Shaft, remaining there about seven years. He then came to Plymouth and worked at the Nottingham for five and one half years, first as timberman, then as fire-boss, and lastly as assistant inside foreman. After quitting the Nottingham, he took charge of and opened up the Dodson, which at that time was "squeezed" or "caned" and he has since 1882 acted in the capacity of inside foreman at that colliery. There are under his charge about 250 men, who take out 700 tons of coal daily. Politically, Mr. Davies is a Republican; he attends the Presbyterian Church. He and his sister are living with and caring for their aged and honored father, our subject having never yielded to Cupid's charms.
L. J. DAVIES, merchant tailor. This popular businessman of Hazleton is a native of Bettews, Glamorganshire, South Wales. When he was an infant, his parents remove to Aberkenfig, near Bridgend, South Wales, and here he was reared and educated to the age of thirteen, serving an apprenticeship at tailoring and cutting. He then went to Aberavon, where he remained for a time, continuing to follow his trade there and in various towns throughout England and Wales until 1887, when he came to America and Pennsylvania. He worked in Shenandoah, Bethlehem and Freeland and in August, 1892, established his present business in Hazleton, where he is doing an extensive business, and keeps constantly in his employ from twelve to fifteen tailors. It may here be truly and appropriately said of Mr. Davies, that he is a master of his art. As a cutter he is equaled by few and excelled by none. He has taken a course in cutting in the London Cutting School, where he graduated, and he also graduated at the Cutting School of J. J. Mitchell, New York. He is a member of the Baptist Church, and is a very close student of the Scriptures.
REESE DAVIES, inside foreman at Tomhicken Colliery, for Coxe Bros. & Co., Sugarloaf, was born in Yetradgynlais, Glamorganshire, Wales, March 22, 1843, a son of Wiliam and Magdalena (Lewis) Davies. He was reared in his native country, began work about the mines at eleven years of age, and at sixteen engaged in mining in Wales, at which he was employed until 1865. In this year he came to America and located in Luzerne county, Pa., where, with the exception of seven years spent at Honeybrook, Schuylkill Co., Pa., he has since resided. Since 1881 he has been inside foreman of the Tomhicken Colliery. In 1861 Mr. Davies, married Ann, daughter of Reese and Mary (Jones) Morgan, of Wales, by whom he had seventeen children, ten of whom survive: Jeannette (Mrs. Watkins Buckland), Reece, Maggie A. (Mrs. James Maffan), Winnie, Gomer, Gwilym, Daniel, Isaac, Lizzie and Arthur. Mr. Davies is a member of the M.E. Church, and in Politics is a Prohibitionist.
REESE M. DAVIES, justice of the peace, Edwardsville. The gentleman whose name heads this biography was born in Monmonthshire, Wales, and is a son of David and Sarah (Jones) Davies, both natives of that country. In his father's family there were four children, viz.: David (deceased), Eliza (deceased), Mary who married Abram Jones, a native of Wales and now a resident of Scranton; and Reese M. (the subject of this memoir). Mr. Davies came to America in 1870, locating at Pittston, where he remained about eight months engaged in mining, and removed from there to Olyphant, Pa., where he also engaged in mining and remained four years, thence going to Duck Pond, where he remained but a short time. He next removed to Plymouth, coming from there to Edwardsville, where he has since resided. Mr. Davies was married May 15, 1874, to Miss Mary Davies (now deceased) of Olyphant, and a native of Wales, by whom he had three children, viz.: David, John Daniel (deceased) and Daniel. He married for his second wife, Mrs. Sarah (Hughes) Williams, widow of Thomas Williams, of Taylorsville. Our subject is a member of the Congregational Church, the I.O.O.F. and K. of P., and in his political views is a Republican. He has been burgess of Edwardsville four terms, and assessor one term, and is now serving his second term of justice of the peace.
WILLIAM DAVIES, farmer, P. O. Avoca, was born in England, Dec 19, 1847, a son of Joseph and Mary (Scovil) Davies, both also natives of England. Joseph followed mining in his younger days, but when age "grew on apace" he took to other vocations. He was a hard working and industrious man, and died in October 1882 at the age of 70 years. There were 10 children born to him, nine of whom grew to maturity, and seven of them are now living, four being in the country. Our subject who is the fifth in the family, was reared and educated in England, and was twenty-two years of age when, in 1870, he emigrated to this country. He located in Moosic, Pa., where he followed mining at which he worked until 1890, when he purchased a farm of thirty-five acres of well improved land, which he crowds to the utmost capacity, his principal produce being "truck." At the age of twenty-one, August 24, 1868 he married Miss Emma, daughter of John and Charlotta Whitlock, and by her he had seven children, four of whom are living: Joseph E, Elizabeth A, Charles C, and James H. Mrs. Emma Davies was born in England, April 7, 1848. Mr Davies is a practical man and hard worker. He has held some township offices. He is a member of the I.O.O.F. and Ancient Order of Foresters.
WILLIAM E. DAVIES, road-master of the D.S. & S.R.R., Drifton. This popular railroad man is a native of Merthyr Tydvill, South Wales, and was born June 18, 1850, a son of Thomas and Mary (Price) Davies. His father is now a section foreman on the D.S. & S.R.R., and resides at Drifton; the mother died in the old country. Thomas came here in 1862 and his son William E., came five years later. Our subject had worked in the mines in his native land from his boyhood days, and when he came to America, he naturally followed that business. He commenced work in the mines at Providence, and worked in Mill Creek, Avondale, Nanticoke, Wilkes-Barre, and Parsons, in these places following mine contracting. In 1877 he came to Drifton, and was engaged in rock mining, track laying, coal mining, etc. After remaining here over three years, he was sent to Deringer, where he had the same capacity until the year of 1890, when he was appointed road-master of the D.S. & S.R.R., where he has since been engaged. Mr. Davies was married in 1870 to Miss Amelia Deets of Nanticoke. They have had thirteen children, six of whom are living. We deem it true to say of Mr. Davies, that he has had more mining and construction experience than any other man in the anthracite regions. When only eight years of age he went into the mines in Wales, and has since made mining his sole occupation. He has wholly educated himself, not only in the common branches, but also extensively in the higher mathematics and sciences to such an extent, that he is, in fact, master of all the mathematical technicalities of mining and civil engineering. He is a member of the Masonic Fraternity and the I.O.O.F., and K. of P.
B. F. DAVIS, dealer in flour, feed, hay and grain, Freeland, is a native of Buck Mountain, Carbon county, born March 4, 1859. He is a son of David W. and Elizabeth (Williams) Davis, both natives of Merthyr Tydvill, South Wales. Mr. Davis was educated in the public schools and at the age of nine began picking slate at Lansford, Carbon county. He worked around the mines about three years, when he received employment as clerk in the store of A. M. Newmiller, at Lansford. He worked there about two years, when he returned to the breaker, working there another year and a half, when, in 1875, he came to Freeland, and entered the employ of H. C. Koons as clerk, remaining with him two years. He then entered the Kutztown State Normal School, in Berks county, and attended this Institute one year, after which he returned to the employ of H. C. Koons, where he remained until January 1, 1887, when he engaged in clerking for J. C. Berner. He remained with him until April of that year, when he bought out the flour, feed and hay business of Kalbfas & Jones, which he has since successfully conducted. Mr. Davis was married in 1882 to Miss Lizzie Monroe, of Hazleton, and they have four children, viz.: Walter, William, Jennie, and Bessie. Our subject is a member of the P.O.S. of A.; the Junior Order United American Mechanics, and the Knights of Malta. He has been burgess of Freeland one term, chief of the Freeland Fire Department two terms, and chief of police one term. His political preferences are Republican.
DANIEL D. DAVIS, miner, Plains, was born in South Wales, August 1, 1847, and is a son of Urias and Ann (Enyon) Davis; his father, who was a quarry contractor, reared a family of fourteen children, of whom eight are living, and of whom he is the eleventh. When our subject was seven years old, his mother died, and two weeks later, his father, who had previously made two trips to America, left his family, and nothing was ever again known of him by any of them. This of course left the children to make their own way in the world, the elder assisting the younger. In 1861, Daniel D., three brothers, and a sister came to America and found a home with their elder brother John D., who lived in Scranton. Our subject began life in the New World driving a mule, and has worked his way through the various stages until now he is a full-fledged miner, at which occupation he has worked twenty-four years. Mr. Davis was married, February 27, 1869, to Miss Elizabeth, daughter of Jenkin B. and Elizabeth (Parry) Jones, and they have one child, Peury J., they also have an adopted daughter, Emily. Mr. and Mrs. Davis are members of the Welsh Congregational Church in which he is financier; he is a member of the I.O.O.F., I.O.R.M. and Ivorites, and he is Republican.
E. M. DAVIS, physician and surgeon, Glen Lyon, Newport township, was born in Johnstown, Pa., January 14, 1861, and is a son of David P. and Rachel (Lloyd) Davis, the former of whom is now a merchant in Plymouth, Pa. The family consists of six living children, viz.: John L., Edward M., Elizabeth (Mrs. John Edwards), Frisswith (Mrs. David Roderick), Sarah (Mrs. Thomas Williams) and Ida May, who is unmarried. Our subject received his primary education in the public schools, and in Wyoming Seminary, and graduated from the College of Physicians and Surgeons, Baltimore, Md., in 1886, after which he began his present practice. Dr. Davis was married September 29, 1889, to Jane J., daughter of Josiah Hughes, of Wilkes-Barre (now of Alabama), and they have two children, Frisswith and Ellsworth. He is a member of the F. & A.M.; Jr. O.U.A.M and the I.O.R.M.; he is a republican in his political views, and was appointed postmaster July 11, 1889.
GEORGE DAVIS, farmer, Fairmount township, P.O. Fairmount Springs, was born in that township July 27, 1863, a son of Solomon and Elizabeth (Cole) Davis, natives of Pennsylvania, and of Welsh and German origin, respectively. The father was also a farmer, and departed this life June 28, 1888, aged seventy-four years. He was a son of Solomon and Margaret (Hartman) Davis, natives of Pennsylvania. Solomon Sr., was also a farmer, and was a son of Reuben and Ellen (Fitzimmons) Davis, natives of Wales and Ireland, respectively. Our subject is the youngest in order of birth in a family of five children, was reared on a farm and educated in common schools. When fourteen years old he started out for himself, working a time at farm work, then in the car shops at Berwick, and later in a Harness shop at Light Street. In 1888, owning to the sickness of his father, he was called home and at his father's death inherited eighty-two acres of the homestead, where he now resides. He was married, December 18, 1890 to Miss Willetta, daughter of Isaiah and Lottie (Lutz) Harrison. Mr. Davis is a member of the I.O.O.F. and politically is a Democrat.
GEORGE DAVIS, justice of the peace, Parsons, was born in Monmouthshire, England, April 20, 1838, and is a son of Noah and Sarah (Shintan) Davis. His parents came to America in 1846, settling at Scranton, Pa., being among the early settlers of that place; and his father was about the first Methodist in Scranton, and was a local minister for twenty-four years. Mr. Davis was educated in the common schools, and at the age of eighteen learned the cabinet-maker's trade, working at it in Scranton until 1861, when he enlisted in Company I, Fifth United States Artillery and in February 1862, was promoted to sergeant; he was in the following engagements: Gaines' Mills, Malvern Hill, Bull Run, Antietam, Fredericksburg, Chancellorsville and Gettysburg. At the last named place, he was taken prisoner, and confined in Libby prison for a short time, being then taken from there to Belle Isle, where he was imprisoned until December 10, 1863; he was then paroled and sent to Annapolis, Md., and was shortly after exchanged, rejoining his regiment in time to participate in the siege of Petersburg. He was discharged October 9, 1864 at the expiration of his term in service. He then returned to Scranton and engaged in the furniture business until 1868, when he went to Wilkes-Barre, continuing in the same business until 1873, when he came to Parsons, where he has since remained, he has been engaged in painting and paper-hanging and still carries on a very extensive trade in that line. On April 1, 1865, Mr. Davis was married to Miss Mary, daughter of Morgan Davies, of Scranton and they have five children: Anna, Walter, Ruth, Gertrude, and Alice. Mr. Davis and his family are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, in which he has been Sunday school superintendent for twelve years. In his political views, he is a Republican, and he was the first constable of Parsons; has been borough secretary six years, burgess one term, and has served as justice of the peace for nine years.
JOHN C. DAVIS, farmer, Fairmount township, P.O. Fairmount Springs, was born in Columbia county, August 20, 1846, as son of Solomon and Elizabeth (Cole) Davis, natives of Pennsylvania, and of Welsh and German origin, respectively, was a son of Solomon and Margaret (Hartman) Davis, natives of Pennsylvania, farmers. Solomon Sr., was a son of Rueben and Ellen (Fitzimmons) Davis, natives of Wales and Ireland, respectively. Our subject is the eldest of a family of five children. He was reared on a farm, educated in the common schools and New Columbus Academy, and worked for his father, teaching school winters, until he was twenty-seven years of age. He then rented the farm, and worked same until ten years when, by the death of an uncle, he inherited his present farm of seventy-six acres and moved thereon. He also owns seventy acres in Huntington township. He was married, October 10, 1872, to Miss Clara Grimes, daughter of James and Jane ( John) Grimes. This happy union was blessed with one child, Ida E., born in November 1875. She is the pride and joy of her parents. Mr. and Mrs. Davis are members of the M.E. Church. He has been supervisor of his township, and politically he is a Democrat.
J. E. DAVIS, farmer, P.O. Larksville, was born in Kingston township, September 9, 1851, where he was reared and educated. He is a son of David W. and Rachel (James) Davis, both of whom were born in Wales, and who emigrated to this country about 1830. They came by the way of Philadelphia, where they tarried a short season. Then they removed to and located in the Valley where they afterward resided. David W. Davis confined himself to mining and farming, though he never carried on both at the same time. He owned ninety-seven acres of good hill-land north of Kingston borough, which he improved during his lifetime. He was a hard-working and honest man, of good moral habits. He died in 1878 at the age of seventy-four years, and was followed by his widow in 1886. They reared a family of six children, four of whom are living: David, James, Thomas, and John E. The latter is the youngest of the family, and has always confined himself to agricultural pursuits, living on the farm occupied by his father before him. In November 1881, he married Miss Emily, daughter of Jos. and Jane Linn, and to this union have been born three children, two of whom are living: Jane and Newell. Mrs. Emily Davis was born in Plymouth in 1850. Mr. Davis is an active and wide-awake man, and a practical farmer. His farm now comprises about seventy acres and although a general farmer, the gives the preference to dairying. He retails his milk in various parts of the Valley. Mr. Davis is a member of the K. and H. and a Republican politically.
JOHN P. DAVIS, insurance agent, Plymouth, was born at Swansea, South Wales, June 16, 1847, and is a son of Thomas and Elizabeth (Williams) Davis, natives of Cardiganshire, North Wales. Our subject is the second in a family of three children, was educated in Wales, and at an early age learned mining, which he followed in that country until 1868 when he came to America and engaged in mining in Mahanoy City, Pa., where he remained but a short time. He then returned to Wales, engaging in mining at Ferndale Mines, and was in what is known as the "Ferndale disaster," one to the most appalling and horrible mine accidents that has ever occurred, the total loss of life being 152 souls. Our subject narrowly escaped death, and after assisting in recovering the dead bodies, he returned to America and followed his old occupation, fourteen years being spent at the Nottingham Colliery. He then abandoned mining, and embarked in the insurance business for the Metropolitan Life Insurance Company, in which capacity, he served for about one and one half years, at the end of which period he engaged in his old occupation, working at the Parrish Mines for about two years. He then renewed the insurance business, this time representing the Pottsville Home Life Insurance Company, and has since been engaged in this business. Mr. Davis, was united in marriage in September, 1873, with Elizabeth, daughter of Thomas and Jane (Douglas) Jones, natives of Wales, to which union have been born seven children, viz.: David J., Martha J., Lizzie, Tallasen, Ermon, Jemima, and Margaret. Mr. Davis is a Republican, and is a member of the I.O.R.M and the Ivorites. The family attended the Congregational Church.
T. B. DAVIS, fire-boss in the Henry Colliery, Plains, was born in Plains, Pa., September 5, 1849, and is a son of Henry and Ann (Eishma), natives of England, the former of whom was a miner and came to America in 1847, locating in Plains. Their family consisted of seven children (five of whom are living), viz.: Thomas B., Mary E., married to David B. Williams, a blacksmith in Streator, Ill.; Sarah A., married to Edward Ayer, pumpman, Parsons, Lillian, married to John Murphy, formerly a miner at Plains; Charles, killed in the mines at the age of thirteen, Jane, who died at the age of seven years; and John W., a runner in the Mill Creek Mine, living with his mother. The father of this family enlisted at Wilkes-Barre, November 4, 1861, in Company H. Pennsylvania Volunteers, and was discharged December 31, 1863, re-enlisted as a veteran volunteer in the same company, January 1, 1864, and was discharged January 24, 1866, though he never received any severe injuries, the trials and anxieties attendant upon a soldier's life bore so heavily upon him that his strong mind was shattered so that it never rallied, and he is now in the Soldiers' and Sailors' Home, Virginia. Our subject embarked in life as a runner in the mines. He served an apprenticeship at the blacksmith trade, which he was obliged to abandon on account of sight failure; he then mined six years, and has been fire-boss seven years. Mr. Davis was married, December 26, 1877, to Miss Emetia, daughter of John Royston, of England and the fruits of this union are two children, Charles A., and Mary C. Mrs. Emetia (Royston) Davis died November 6, 1883 and Mr. Davis married, November 15, 1884, Catherine Tasker, daughter of George and Elizabeth (Hayes) Tasker, formerly of South Wales, and by this union there are three children, Gertrude A., George E. and Harry J. Since March, 1891, Mrs. Davis has been afflicted with total blindness, caused by paralysis of the optic nerve. Mr. Davis is a member of the Sons of Veterans; politically, he is a Republican. In 1875, he built and moved into his present residence.
THOMAS J. DAVIS, engaged in Company work at the port Bowkley Mine in Plains township, with residence in Miners Mills, was born in Glamorganshire, South Wales, December 22, 1827, and is a son of John and Ann (Perigrin) Davis. His father, who was a miner, reared a family of sixteen children, four of whom are living, viz.: Mary, Hopkin, Evan, and Thomas J. The last named, who began working in the mines in his native country at the extremely early age of four years, came to America in 1865, and was engaged in Mining in Bear Gap for six months, and then Ashland, six weeks. He then returned to Wales where he worked at the following places, Mount Carmel, one year, Wanamie, five years, Providence, six weeks, Moosie, eighteen months; and in 1876 removed to Miners Mills, where he has since been engaged in Mining, he built his present residence in 1887. Mr. Davis was married August 13, 1859 to Miss Mary, daughter of William and Rachel (Thomas) Thomas. Nine children were the fruit of this union, viz.: Mary A., married to Thomas B. Thomas, M.D. of Wilkes-Barre; Margaret J., married to Edward Morgans, a druggist in Wilkes-Barre; William T. and John T. (twins) the former of whom was killed July 16, 1881, by a car in the henry Colliery, and the latter is now mining in Wyoming Colliery; Sarah, living with Mary A.; Rachel, still at home; Thomas T., employed in his brother-in-law's drug store; Eleaser T., who died at the age of two years; and Martha, attending school. . Mr. Davis and wife are members of the Welsh Congregational Church; he is a member of the Ivorites, and a Republican in his political views.
ROBERT DE FREHN, foreman, Pittston. This typical railroad man was born at Mauch Chunk, Pa., August 20, 1845, and is a son of William and Mary (Gable) De Frehn, natives of Pennsylvania. The subject of this sketch is the second in a family of nine children. He was educated and reared in Mauch Chunk, and after his school days became employed by William McMillian as overseer at the coal pocket along the Lehigh river, at Mauch Chunk. He worked there for a short time, and was then employed by William Tumbler to look after his lumber interests, at which he remained one year. In 1862 he began work in the Lehigh Valley shops at Mauch Chunk to learn the machinist's trade, and worked there one year, at the end of that time entering the shops at Packerton, where he remained until 1866. In 1867 he went to Delano, Pa., and completed his trade under the master workman, A. Mitchell. After completing his trade he went to Ohio, where he worked at his trade for about seven months, when he returned to Delano and worked as machinist until 1871. He then returned to Packerton, working there until 1873, when he came to Coxton, and worked as a machinist until 1884, being then made foreman of the round house at Coxton, which position he has since held. Mr. De Frehn was united in marriage, November 1, 1871, with Miss Clara, daughter of Amos and Sarah (Kimbel) Campbell, natives of Northumberland county, Pa. This union has been blessed with three children, namely: Bertha May, Robert Clyde, and Mabel Grace. Mr. De Frehn is a member of the Knights of Honor, and the family attend the Methodist Episcopal Church. As a railroad man, he is widely and favorably known.
FRANK DEITRICK, city clerk, Wilkes-Barre, was born at Carbondale, Pa., April 19, 1867, a son of George and Sarah (Renard) Deitrick and is of German descent. His maternal grandfather, Adam Renard, formerly of Easton, Pa., located prior to the Civil war at Kingston, where he had charge of the Dorrance farm for several years and he is now a resident of Wilkes-Barre. The father of our subject was a native of Monroe county, Pa; located at Bear Creek, Luzerne county, before the war; was a member of Company C. One Hundred and Forty-third P.V.I., serving three years and was wounded at the battle of Gettysburg. Immediately after his return from the war, he located at Carbondale, where for eleven years he was station agent for the Delaware & Hudson Canal Company. In 1879 he located at Wilkes-Barre, where he has since resided, and worked at the carpenter's trade. He has two children living, Frank and Harry R. Our subject was reared at Carbondale and Wilkes-Barre receiving both a public and a private school education. When twelve years of age, he began work in the Empire Breaker, at Wilkes-Barre, as a slate picker. Soon afterward he entered the employ of the "Boston Store" as a errand boy, and later as office boy in the city clerk's office, and worked his way up to deputy clerk. In January 1887, he was elected city clerk, and has since continuously held the office. Mr. Deitrick married in December 1888, Sue, daughter of Richard E. S. Miall, of Wilkes-Barre, and they have one son, Ira H. He is a member of F. & A. M. and Sons of Veterans, of which latter he is post captain, Camp No. 169.
HENRY DEITERICK, Farmer and dairyman, Nanticoke, was born in Centre township, Columbia county, PA., a son of Joseph and Sarah (Salzie) Dietrick, both natives of Pennsylvania, and descendants of early New England and New Jersey Families. Mr. Deiterick was educated in the common schools of his native town, and began life as an apprentice at the carpenter's trade, which he followed about seven years, when he engaged in farming, and this latter has been the chief occupation of his life. In 1887 he came to Nanticoke, where he has since been engaged in dairying and connection with his farming interests. Mr. Deiterick was united in marriage August 25, 1860, with Miss Celesta, daughter of Daniel and Elizabeth (Engler) Boone, of Columbia county, both natives of this State, the former a member of Boone family, so well known to every student of American history, through the marvelous pioneer life of the illustrious Daniel Boone. Mr and Mrs. Deiterick have four children: Charles W., a farmer in Nanticoke, married to Lizzie Mathews; E. S., married to Maggie Fairchild; Lizzie and Perry. The family are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, except Mrs Deiterick is a member of The Baptist Church. Mr. Deiterick has been street commissioner two terms, and his political views are of the most Democratic type.
JAMES W. DELANEY, outside superintendent, at No. 14, Colliery, Pennsylvania Coal Company, Port Griffith, was born in County Mayo, Ireland, December 5, 1832, and is the only child of Michael and Catherine (Welsh) Delaney, the former of whom was a soldier in the British Army. James W. Delaney came to America in 1849, worked a short time in Vermont, and in 1850 located in Pittston, where he ran on the Gravity road for four years, and then for thirty-six years was coal inspector and weighmaster, after which he was promoted to his present position. Mr. Delaney was married December 25, 1849, to Miss Celia, daughter of Michael and Celia (Hughes) Cummings, natives of County Mayo, Ireland, and they had ten children: Michael E.; Ann (Mrs. Luke Brady) who died at the age of thirty-nine years, leaving seven children: James, John, Catherine, Martin, Thomas, Celia, Agnes and Edward. Mr. Delany built his present residence in 1858.
MICHAEL E. DELANEY received a common school education, and after working about the mines as report and messenger boy, etc, for five years, he learned the shoemaker's trade in Pittston, worked as journeyman in Inkerman, two years, and in 1870 engaged in business for himself, in Port Griffith. He purchased his present residence in 1875, and built his present place of business in 1891. H was married May 23, 1873, to Miss Mary, daughter of Thomas and Ann (Cauley) McDermot, of Port Griffith and then had born to them eleven children, viz.: James J., Thomas, Patrick, John S., (deceased), Anastatia, John, Michael, Francis, Sebastian (deceased), Mary (deceased) and Mary (second, also deceased). This family are all advocates of Catholicity and Democracy.
PETER H. DELONG, farmer, P.O. Loyalville, was born in Stroudsburg, Monroe Co., Pa., June 18, 1818, a son of Francis and Ann (Stone) Delong, both natives of Monroe county. Ann Stone was a daughter of Richard Stone, who served seven years under Washington in the Revolutionary army, and notwithstanding he was an Englishman by birth, fought for the cause of independence as a loyal citizen of the new republic. Francis Delong was a worthy citizen of Monroe county, whose life was uneventful, an honest man of energy and pluck and possessed of good moral principles. There were nine children born to him, six of whom grew to maturity, and two of them are now living. Peter H. Delong, who is the second in the family, was reared and educated in Monroe county. In 1839, he removed thence to Forty Fort, this county, where he remained a short time, and then came to Plymouth, where he worked at his trade, that of boot and shoe maker. During the Civil war, he served one year in the sutler's department, connected with the Fifty-second P.V.I. In 1864 he removed to Lake township, where he purchased 105 acres of land, some of which was improved, and he has shown himself to be a practical farmer, in the development of his present surroundings, his fields are clear of obstructions, while his buildings are commodious and comfortable. In December, 1842, Mr. Delong married Miss Levina, daughter of John and Elizabeth Santee, by which union there were twelve children, eight of whom grew to maturity and seven of them are living: John, Sarah, Henry, Caroline, Elizabeth, Andrew and Susan, all married and well to do. Mr. Delong is a charter member of the Grange and presented that organization with a lot on which to build. He and his good wife are both members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, in good standing and influence. Henry, his son, who is a promising young man of enterprise, has leased for life, conditionally his father's farm. Politically they are Republicans.
CHARLES DENNIS, fireman at the Wright Slope, Plymouth, was born in Plymouth, Pa., October 6, 1862, and is a son of Wesley and Helen (Bolen) Dennis, also natives of Pennsylvania. The subject of this sketch is the eldest in a family of four children, two sons and two daughters. He was educated in the public schools of his native county and at the Wilkes-Barre Business College, graduating from the latter in May, 1877. Soon after graduating he was tendered a position as bookkeeper but, owing to the meager salary, he preferred to work harder and earn more, consequently he took the position of fireman at the Wright Slope, where he is now employed. Mr. Dennis was married, August 19, 1889, to Kate, daughter of John Jones, of Plymouth, Pa., and two children have blessed this union, Samuel and Ellen. Our subject in politics votes with the Republican Party and he is a member of the F. & A.M. The family attend the Methodist Episcopal Church.
EDWARD A. DENNISTON, outside mine foreman, at the Forty Fort Colliery, with residence at Forty Fort, was born December 6, 1826, at Reading, Pa., and is a son of John and Mary (Rothermel) Denniston, natives of New York and Pennsylvania and of Scotch and German origin respectively, the former of whom was a carpenter and contractor. In their family were nine children, of whom Edward A. is the eldest. Our subject was educated in the common schools and at a select school at Easton, Pa., till the age of fifteen, when he was engaged for one year in shipping coal at Port Clinton, Schuylkill county. He then went as rodman for the Schuylkill Navigation Company's Engineer Corps, one winter, after which he clerked in his father's store at Tamaqua, Pa., for two years. Leaving there, we next find Mr. Denniston in charge of a coal colliery at Tamaqua, where he continued two years, after which he operated a colliery at Silver Creek for two years, and was then made manager of the company store Denniston, Bowman & Co., at New Philadelphia, where he remained two years. He then returned to Tamaqua, and took charge of a coal office of William Donaldson nine years, after which he formed a company of six who, in the spring of 1859, started for the Rocky Mountains to dig for gold. They went to St. Louis by rail, purchased an outfit, and took steamer to Fort Leavenworth, from there proceeding by wagon to Denver, Colo., a distance of 700 miles. Our subject remained in the gold fields until September, meeting with fair success and was well pleased with his venture. On his return to Tamaqua, he worked one winter with his brother, weighing and billing coal for the Little Schuylkill Navigation Company, then engaged as superintendent for the St. Nicholas Coal Company, with whom, he remained until 1879. In 1881, he came to Forty Fort and accepted the position of outside foreman for the Harry E. and Forty Fort Collieries, where he is now employed. In 1890, he built his home on Wyoming Avenue, which is a model of elegance. Mr. Denniston was married July 11, 1850, to Miss Elizabeth, daughter of William and Frances (Redfern) Donaldson, natives of England and of English origin, which union was blessed with eight children, seven of whom are now living, viz.: Mary F., married to Edward Eynon, a clerk of the adjutant general's office, Washington, D.C.; Ida M., married to Dr. Edwin C. Williams, of Lebanon, Pa. (deceased); William J., machinist, who married Mamie Aregood; Hannah C., wife of William Williams, a train dispatcher for the Pennsylvania & Reading Railroad, at Tamaqua, Pa., Emma J., married to Edward Foster, a blacksmith; Lizzie D., wife of Dr. A. D. Thomas, of Forty Fort; and Jesse C., who is the pride of the home circle. Mrs. Denniston is a member of the Methodist Church. Mr. Denniston is a member of Tamaqua Lodge No., 238, F. & A.M., and Chapter No. 177; politically he is a stanch Republican.
DE PIERRO BROTHERS. These gentlemen, R. F. and Salvatore are natives of Calvello, Italy. R. F. was born October 22, 1860. In 1869, in company with his oldest brother (Raphael), he went to Paris, and in 1970 came to New York, thence to Philadelphia and prominent eastern cities, traveling as a musician. In 1873 his parents settled at Lattimer, near Hazleton, where the subject of this sketch joined them. They then moved to Drifton in 1877, and in 1883 they came to Freeland. In 1884 he married Miss Anna Bash, of Drum's, Pa., and three children—Michael Salvatore, Pauline Maud and Rachael—are the fruit of their union. He is a member of the borough council of Freeland, and is at present serving his second term. He is the Luzerne county court interpreter for the Italian language, and is employed in a like capacity by other counties, and he is also a member of De Pierro's celebrated orchestra. Prof. Salvatore was born February 24, 1870, and came to this country in 1876. He is an artist on the violin, whose skill is rarely equaled and never excelled in this locality. From his early childhood days he has exhibited a wonderful talent as a musician. Mr. De Pierro was not satisfied to rest with the ability with which nature had provided him, so he determined to follow the art of violin music to its highest plane if possible. His parents accordingly sent him, in 1879, to Philadelphia, and subsequently to New York, where he spent three years studying music to its highest instruction of the celebrated violinist, Prof. Setaro. In addition to the study of music he acquired a good English education, thus fitting himself for the duties of American citizenship. At the age of twelve he became leader of the celebrated De Pierro Orchestra, an organization founded by the De Pierro Brothers, and still in active demand from all quarters. By perseverance, push and strict integrity, they have accumulated one of the finest properties in the town, and have opened up a first class café. This building is certainly a work of art, and can not be surpassed by many similar buildings in the larger cities. The beautiful bar, which decorates the room was designed and manufactured by the well-known Chicago firm of Brunswick, Balke, Collender Co. The parents of the De Pierro Brothers are still living, and are residents of Freeland, as well as the eldest brother, Raphael, who is in business for himself on Ridge Street.
JOHN M. DERR, engineer in the Delaware Shaft, Plains township, P.O. Hudson, was born in Plains, June 7, 1861. He is a son of Joseph and Lavina (Kreider) Derr, natives of Lehigh and Northampton counties, respectively, and of early German origin. His father, who was a farmer, reared a family of ten children, eight of whom are living, and of whom he is the youngest. When but three years of age, he went to live with his brother-in-law, A. J. Scutt of Plains, and at the age of seven began picking slate in the breaker; he has since worked about the mines in all the various capacities and was promoted to his present position in 1888. In 1886, he built his present residence, and removed therein the same year. Mr. Derr was married, January 20, 1889, to Mrs. Isabella Albert, daughter of Daniel and Christian A. (Harding) Huff, and widow of George F. Albert, by whom she had one child, Jennie. He is a member of the P.O.S. of A. and he has always given his political support to the Republican Party, and is at present, secretary of the school board in Plains township.
WILLIAM DERR, farmer, Bear Creek township, P.O., Miners Mills, was born in Salem township, Luzerne Co., Pa., April 10, 1837, a son of Joseph and Lavina (Kreider) Derr, both natives of Pennsylvania, of German descent. The father was a farmer; he reared a family of ten children, eight of whom are living. William being the eldest. At the age of nine years, William was "bound out" to Andrew Courtright, a farmer living in Salem township, and he worked for him until he became twenty-one years of age. He then secured work on the D.L. & W.R.R., and remained in the employ of that company till the war broke out, when he enlisted in April, 1861, for three months in Company A. Fifteenth, P.V.I.; and when his three months were up, re-enlisted in Company I, Seventh Pennsylvania Cavalry, for three years; and in 1864 re-enlisted this time, also for three years. Mr. Derr was mustered out in October 1865, after four and a half year's service. His war record is an exceptionally fine one, he having taken part in more than thirty battles; he was twice wounded, once on the right cheek and another time on the right arm. He belonged to the command that captured Jeff Davis. After the war, Mr. Derr came to Plains township, Luzerne county, and worked around mines for a few years, then purchased a farm in Bear Creek township, whereon he now resides, and upon which he has built a comfortable house. On February 19, 1866, Mr. Derr married Sarah J., daughter of Jeremiah and Sarah (Turner) Sink, the former of English and the latter of French descent. Mr. and Mrs. Derr have had a family of seven children, five of whom are living at home, viz.: Lewis H., Isaac T., Alice M., John W., and Maud L., and two deceased, Minnie D. and Clara. They are all members of the Plains M.E. Church. In politics, Mr. Derr is liberal: he says he votes for any good man, no matter what he is.
ARTHUR E. DETRO, foreman of locomotive engineers on the Lehigh & Susquehanna Division of the Central Railroad of New Jersey, Ashley, was born in White Haven, this county, April 14, 1855, and is a son of Charles and Eleanor (Brown) Detro, natives of Pennsylvania, and of Holland and Yankee origin, respectively. He is a grandson of Conrad Detro, who was an early settler in Carbon county, and of Brazillian and Mary (Billings) Brown, early settlers in Lackawanna county, his great-grandfather, Cain Billings, having been one of the participators in the Wyoming Massacre. The father who was married February 27, 1847, reared a family of five children, viz.: Clarence S., Arthur E.; Elizabeth, married to Robert C. Parker, painter, Ashley; Henrietta, married to Dr. E. S. Hayes of Wyoming, Pa. by whom she had one child, Malcom; Lucy S. married to Abraham Stroh, foreman in his father's shoe factory at Mauch Chunk, by whom she had two children, Eleanor and Ethel B. Mr. Detro's father was taken sick in Washington, D.C. when on his way to the battlefield and died February 17, 1864, at the age of thirty-four years. The family have lived in Ashley since 1867 and in their beautiful home on Ross Street since 1875. Our subject was educated in the public schools at White Haven and Ashley, and at an early age began picking slate in the breaker; later he wiped engines summers and attended school winters, for two years, when he began as brakeman on the Central Railroad of New Jersey. He was promoted to fireman, June 17, 1872; to engineer, December 2, 1879 and to his present position July 8, 1887. He is for the most part, a self-made and self-educated man and fills his incumbency with the entire satisfaction to his employers, as well as those under his charge. Mr. Detro is a member of the Masonic Lodge at Ashley, the Chapter at Wilkes-Barre, and the Commandery at Mauch Chunk; is also a member of the K. of H. In his political views he is a Republican.
CLARENCE S. DETRO, extra engineer on the Central Railroad of New Jersey, was born in White Haven, February 21, 1852, and is a son of Charles and Eleanor (Brown) Detro. He was educated in the public schools of White Haven and Ashley, and then picked slate in the breaker a few months; after this he wiped engines for two years, then braked on the Central Road one year, fired nine years, and in 1879 was promoted to engineer, having run extra most of the time since. Mr. Detro was joined in wedlock with Miss Ruth, daughter of Daniel Frederick, of Ashley, and to this union has been born one child, Helen, who died at the age of three months. Mr. Detro and his wife are members of the Presbyterian Church. He is a member of the F. & A.M. and the K. of H., and politically he is in sympathy with the principles of the Republican Party.
WILL DEVANEY, manger of the Pittston department of the Scranton Truth, was born in Pittston, August 15, 1860, and is a son of John and Julia (Cannon) Devaney, both natives of County Mayo, Ireland. They came to the United States and located in Sebastopol, where the father followed the occupation of a miner. He died several years ago, and the mother passed away April 10, 1892. They had a family of children as follows: James, deceased; Patrick, deceased; Will; and Mary A., deceased, showing that our subject is the only living member of the family. He was reared in the vicinity of Pittston, and attended the common schools of Jenkins township until he was fifteen years old. He then left school and began to pick slate in the old twin breaker, remaining there until he was seventeen, when he began work in the mines as doorkeeper. Here he remained for about eight years, and then in 1890 accepted the position of solicitor for the Sunday Herald, which he held until February 2, 1891, when he was made manager of the Pittston department of the Scranton Truth, an incumbency he has since filled most successfully, having increased the circulation of that paper until it is now the largest of any outside journal in Pittston. Mr. Devaney was united in marriage April 24, 1884, with Miss B. Bradigan, a daughter of Frank Bradigan, a miner of Pittston and this union has been blessed with five children, of whom but two are living: Mary and Anna. The family are members of the Catholic Church, parish of St. John. He is a member of the St. Aloysius Society of Pittston. Mr. Davaney has demonstrated that he has great natural ability as a newspaper manager, which bespeaks for him a brilliant journalistic future.
DANIEL DEVENPORT, farmer, P.O. Orange, was born in Plymouth, November 25, 1813, a son of John and Hannah (Robbins) Devenport, the former born in Orange county N.Y., the latter in Sussex county, N.J. John was a son of Thomas Devenport, who removed to Plymouth at the close of the Revolutionary war, in which he had served. He was one of the first settlers in Plymouth and owned a large tract of land in that town. His family numbered nine children, all of whom are dead. John when eight years of age, came with his father to this county, and always lived in Plymouth as a farmer; his property was very valuable, and is yet in the hands of his sons. He was a man of retiring disposition, and held several town offices. To some extent he dealt in coal, but confined himself principally to farming. He died in 1852, at the age of eighty. His family consisted of nine children, five of whom are now living. Daniel being the third in the family. Our subject was reared and educated in Plymouth, and in early life he confined himself to farming, lumbering and coal mining on his father's farm. In November, 1838, he married Miss Phoebe, daughter of Isaac Smith, and by her he had eight children, four of whom are yet living; Robert, Isaac, Mary and Lydia. Mr. Devenport, in 1874, for his second wife, married Miss Mary A., daughter of John and Sarah Delong. In the fall of 1847 he removed to Franklin township, where he bought a farm of 236 acres, now reduced to 118 acres. Mr. Devenport is a Republican, and held the offices of Justice of peace, constable, and other minor incumbencies. He is a member of the Christian Church.
ISAAC DEVENPORT, miner in the Keystone Colliery, Miners Mills, was born in Franklin township, this county, December 6, 1851, and is a son of Daniel and Phoebe (Smith) Devenport, natives of Luzerne county, and of English origin. The father, who is a farmer in Franklin township, reared a family of eight children, four of whom are living, and of whom Isaac is the fifth. Our subject attended the common schools and remained on the farm until 1882, when he removed to Miners Mills. He drove team one year, and then began working about the mines, an occupation he has since followed. He built his present residence in 1883. Mr. Devenport was married July 31, 1875, to Miss Elizabeth Gray, daughter of James Gray and they had nine children, viz.: Claudius O., Phoebe S. (who died at the age of three years) Elizabeth G., Thomas D. (who died at the age of two years), Mary A. and Martha (twins, the latter of whom died soon after birth), Ellen, Anna P. and Robert. Our subject and wife are members of the Salvation Army and attend the Presbyterian Church; he was formerly a Democrat in politics but now upholds the principles of the Prohibition Party.
J. C. DEVERS, grocer, Plymouth, was born at Washington, D.C., August 19, 1847, and is a son of James and Kate (Pleckner) Devers, natives of Pennsylvania. There were six children in their family, as follows: Cecilia, married to John F. Fields and residing at Denver, Colo.; Mary B., wife of William Young, of Danville, Pa.; Clarissa, deceased; Marjorie, wife of Arthur L. Little, of Portland, Ore., John C. of Plymouth, and William H., who resides at Olean, N.Y. The mother of this widely scattered family lives at Perth Amboy, N.J. This active and prosperous young business man, who forms the subject of this sketch, was educated in the public schools of Danville, Pa., and after completing his course of studies he was employed as a clerk in 1861, first at Danville, Pa., where he remained five years, at the end of which time he established a business under the firm name of Devers & Co., which business the firm carried on for two years, dissolving partnership at the end of that period. He then engaged with H. H. Ashley & Co., as clerk in the boot and shoe department of the store, and continued with them five years. Soon after leaving this firm our subject again started in business for himself, and established a grocery store, meat market, and millinery store. He is at present carrying on the grocery store, while his wife has charge of the millinery business. Mr. Devers was untied in marriage June 24, 1877, with Emma R., daughter of Ellis P. and Mary A. (Hassler) Walton, residents of Beach Haven, Pa. One child has blessed this union, Charles W., born September 10, 1880. Politically, Mr. Devers is a Republican. He is a supporter of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and takes great interest in the Y.M.C.A. of Plymouth.
WILLIAM J. DE VOE, physician and surgeon, Pittston. Among the prominent young physicians of Pittston, none are making more rapid strides in the profession then the one whose name opens this sketch. He was born at Bethel, N.Y., October 13, 1855 and is the only son in the family of three children of James A. and Margaret (Hurd) De Voe, natives of New York. Our subject was reared and educated in Cattaraugus county, N.Y., and in 1872, when the family removed to Pa., he learned the tanner's trade at which he worked until 1879, when he concluded to study medicine. At once entering the office of Dr. W. C. Hull, of Monroeton, he began his medical studies, continuing with him until the fall of 1884, when he went to Baltimore, Md., entering the College of Physicians and Surgeons at that place, from which institution he graduated in March, 1887. Dr. De Voe immediately began practice of his profession at Mansfield, Pa., where he continued until October 1891, when he removed to Pittston, Pa., where he is at present located, and where he is rapidly building up a large and lucrative practice. The Doctor was united in marriage in 1878 with Miss Anna, daughter of Henry and Sarah Myer, natives of Pennsylvania, and this union has been blessed with one daughter, Bessie. Dr. De Voe in his political preferences is a Republican, and is a member of the I.O.O.F. The family attend the Presbyterian Church.
A. MCINTYRE DE WITT, treasurer of the clear Spring Coal Company, West Pittston, was born at Albany, N.Y., and is the only son of Jacob V. and Mary (Freeland) De Witt, natives of New York. They came to West Pittston in 1853, when the father became interested in mining, and afterward operated at different times the Old Benedict, Old Head of Canal and Carbon Hill Mines. He was among the first coal operators in the Valley, and followed it extensively until his death, which occurred August 27, 1872. Although seventy years of age at the time of his decease, yet up to then he had been an active and energetic man, and during the period of his life spent in Luzerne county did much to develop the coal industry in the Valley. The subject of this sketch, being the only son, naturally took up the coal business with his father, and has been engaged in it all his life. He was educated in the public schools of Pittston, Wyoming Seminary and Dickinson Seminary, Williamsport, Pa. In 1882, in partnership with Joseph Cake, he opened up the Clear Spring Mines, and in 1883 had them in full operation. The company employed about 550 men and boys and put out about 1,000 tons of coal daily. Mr. De Witt married, December 25, 1872, Miss Nettie, daughter of Henry and Louisa Beach, of Boonton, N.J., and to this union has been born one son, Archie. In political matters, Mr. De Witt is a Republican; socially, he is a member of the Masonic Fraternity. The family are members of the Presbyterian Church. Mr. De Witt is an ardent lover of music, both vocal and instrumental, and it might be said of him that he has made it a life study, his favorite instruments being the piano and guitar. He is also an admirer of good, speedy horses, and in his well regulated stables are to be found some of the best blooded trotters in the Valley, among which may be mentioned Billy Penn, by Orange Co., Black Frank and Gray Jue.
GEORGE T. DICKOVER, of the firm of W. Dickover & Son, brick manufacturers and contractors, Wilkes-Barre, was born in that city January 28, 1849, and is a son of William and Elizabeth J. (Olver) Dickover, and comes of Revolutionary stock, his paternal great grandfather having been a soldier in that war. His paternal grandfather, George Dickover, formerly of Lancaster county, Pa., was a pioneer of Wilkes-Barre, a bricklayer and plasterer by trade, and resided there until his death. His wife was Catharine Rymer, by whom he had nine children: George, Elizabeth (Mrs. Peter Stroh), William, Catharine (Mrs. A. B. Sands), John, Charles, Louisa (Mrs. Miles Barnum), Mary (Mrs. Oscar Lewis), and Henry. The father of subject was a native of Wilkes-Barre, and still resides there at this writing (1891), aged seventy-two. He also was a bricklayer by trade, which occupation he followed for many years; for twenty-two years he has been a manufacturer of brick, and engaged in contracting about forty years. His wife was a daughter of John Olver, of Wayne county, Pa., by whom he had seven children: Maria, C. Lavinia (Mrs. H. L. Moore), George T., Sarah, Abi, Helen and Hattie (Mrs. John Howell.) Our subject was reared and educated in Wilkes-Barre, where he has always resided. He learned the bricklayer's trade under his father, which he followed for many years, as well as superintending contracts for both his father and himself. Since 1873 he has been in partnership with his father. They manufacture about three million of brick annually, and give employment to from twenty-five to fifty hands. Our subject married, on April 25, 1883, Frances, daughter of Richard and Deborah (Harrison) Stockton, one of the signers of the Declaration of Independence. By this union there were five children—three living: Georgie A., William S., and Gertrude M., and two dead: Helen O. and Harold R. Mr. Dickover is an enterprising and well-known citizen of Wilkes-Barre. In politics he is a Republican.
WILLIAM DICKOVER, contractor and brick manufacturer, Wilkes-Barre, was born in that city, December 15, 1819, a son of George and Catherine (Reimer) Dickover. His father was a native of Lancaster county, Pennsylvania, a son of a Revolutionary soldier, and a mason by trade. About the year 1810, he settled in Wilkes-Barre, where he resided until his death. His wife was a daughter of Henry Reimer, of Luzerne county, Pa., and by her he had nine children: Henry, George, Elizabeth (Mrs. Peter Stroh), William, Catherine (Mrs. Amos Sands), Louisa (Mrs. Miles Barnum), John, Charles and Mary (Mrs. Oscar Lewis). Our subject was reared in Luzerne county where he has always resided. He learned the bricklayer's and plasterer's trades, and since 1850 has been a prominent contractor in that line of business; since 1871 he has been engaged in the manufacture of brick. In 1844 he married Elizabeth, daughter of John and Sarah (Aunger) Oliver, of Wayne county, Pa., and by her has had four children: Maria, Lavinia (Mrs. H. L. Moore), George T., and Hattie H. (Mrs. J. B. Howell). Mr. Dickover , with one exception, is the oldest native-born citizen of the borough of Wilkes-Barre. He is member of the M.E. Church and I.O.O.F. Politically he is a Republican, and has served three terms as poor director for the central district of Luzerne county.
HIRAM DIETRICK, shoemaker and notion dealer, Shickshinny, was born at Orangeville, Columbia Co., Pa., December 19, 1841, a son of Conrad and Anna M. (Auman) Dietrick. His paternal grandfather, John Dietrick, a native of Northampton county, Pa., was a resident of Hollenback township, this county, and in later life resided in Shickshinny, where he died. Conrad Dietrick was a boat builder; in 1848 he located in Shickshinny, where he followed his vocation until his death, which occurred in 1880. His children were Rebecca A. (Mrs. John J. Kline), Emanuel, Elijah (who was killed near Uniontown, Va., in a skirmish during the Civil war), Hiram, Penina (Mrs. William Wright), Lavina (Mrs. Alexander Good), John F., Charles W. and Sarah E. (twins), Lydia and Eliza (twins, the former the wife of Jacob Stackhouse) and Amanda M. Our subject was reared in Shickshinny from seven years of age, and received a public school education. He served an apprenticeship of two years at the shoemaker's trade, and also learned boat building. On July 15, 1861, Mr. Dietrick enlisted in Company F. Seventh Pennsylvania Reserves and served three years, a part of the time on detached duty, commissary department, in the army of the Potomac, and was honorably discharged in June, 1864. Since the war he was in the employ of G.W. and L. Search, of Shickshinny, eleven years and the balance of the time he has followed his trade and dealt in notions. He married, October 18, 1863, Phoebe, daughter of Darius S. and Lydia (Dodson) Sutliff, of Huntington township, and has one daughter, L. A. Natalie (Mrs. Walter E. Harter). Mr. Dietrick is a member of the M.E. Church; also of the G.A.R., P.O.S. of A. and A.L. of H.; he was councilman of Shickshinny two terms and overseer of poor two terms, and politically is a Republican.
GEORGE B. DILLEY, carpenter, Forty Fort borough, was born February 11, 1850 at Ashley, Pa., and is a son of Richard and Mary (Barnes) Dilley, natives of Luzerne county and of French and English origin, respectively. The father was a farmer by occupation and reared a family of six children, five now living, of whom our subject is the oldest. He was educated in the common schools, and at the age of twelve was apprenticed to learn the carpenter trade, which he followed for seven years. He was then employed as Government detective, under the Treasury Department, for two years; then for four years in the insurance business at Kingston, after which he came to Forty Fort, where he now resides, and where he has followed his trade up to the present time. He was elected justice of peace in 1886, still holding the office, he was also burgess for the year 1887. In 1885, he purchased three lots, and built his comfortable home on one of them, where he now lives. He was married, September 30, 1874, to Emily O., daughter of William and Catherine (Butler) Dilley, natives of Pennsylvania, and of French and Irish origin, respectively. By this happy union they have two children to cheer their cozy home: Mary B., and Sheldon R. Mrs. Dilley is a member of the St. Stephen Episcopal Church of Wilkes-Barre, and both she and Mr. Dilley are members of the Independent Order of Good Templars. Mr. Dilley votes the Prohibition ticket.
JOHN F. DILLS, manager of the Florence Coal Company store at Dupont was born in Berlin township, Wayne Co., Pa., November 26, 1855, as son of John D. and Lucretia (Kimble) Dills, the former of whom was born in Sussex county, N.J., the latter in Wayne county. John D. Dills was the son of John Dills, a native of New Jersey, and a farmer by occupation. He removed to this county in 1819, purchased a large tract of timber land and engaged extensively in the lumber business, his location being at the junction of Spring brook and Mill creek. He was a thorough-going man of business and a loyal citizen, manifesting his patriotism by serving under Gen. Jackson in the war of 1812. He died in 1872 at the age of ninety-two years, having reared a family of five children, two of whom are now living. His son John D. was four years of age when he removed to this county, and he first entered business in Wayne county, as a farmer and lumberman on the Lackawanna River. He was a successful businessman and was possessed of the courage of his father. While too old to serve his country during the Rebellion, yet as a loyal citizen, he did good service. During one of the drafts he was chosen to serve draft notices on a certain element in his neighborhood, a duty not pleasant, yet he did it unshrinkingly at the risk of making many enemies for himself, sometimes even risking his life. He held township offices with much credit. In 1891, he died at the age of seventy-six years, his wife surviving him. Their family consisted of seven children, six of whom grew to maturity, and five of whom are now living. John F. Dills, who is the youngest of the family, was reared and educated at the common schools in Wayne county, afterward attending the Prompton Normal School. After he finished his courses in that institution, he taught school for several terms. In 1881, he entered the services of S. N. Stettler, as head clerk in his store at Old Forge, and here he continued till 1885, when an opening presenting itself in the Florence Coal Company's store, a chief manager, he accepted the position, which he has since held with much credit to himself and profit to his employers. On December 12, 1889, he was appointed Postmaster at Dupont, the postoffice having been opened at that date, and it is now a money order office. On December 30, 1883, Mr. Dills married Miss Sarah, daughter of Benjamin and Ella Richardson, and by her has had three children: Duane R., Nellie, and Horace G. Mrs. Sarah (Richardson) Dills was born in England in 1866. Mr. Dills is a young man of marked ability, well adapted to his present vocation, and possessed of sound principles and sterling qualities. Politically he is a Republican.
J. A. DILS, Hudson, engineer on the Delaware & Hudson Railroad, was born in Wayne county, Pa., October 14, 1854, and is a son of John and Permilia S. (Mills) Dils, also natives of Pennsylvania, and of German and Irish origin, respectively. He is a great grandson of Jesse Dils, who was a very early settler of Pittston. The father, who was in the Fifteenth Engineer Corps during the Civil war, helped to build the Pennsylvania Gravity Railroad, and then as conductor ran the first train over it, he was killed by the cars on that road in December, 1865, at the age of forty-five years. The family consisted of three children, viz.: William H., a mason in Carbondale; John A. and Elmer, a brakeman, living at Mill Creek. Our subject received a common school education, and commenced practical life as a brakeman on the Delaware & Hudson Railroad, in which he continued eight years then fired five years. He was married, March 14, 1883, to Miss Ellen, daughter of John and Mary (Bray) Trethaway, and the fruits of this union were four children, three of whom are living, viz.: Charles H. John S. and Ralph R. Mr. and Mrs. Dils attend the Primitive Methodist Church, of which she is a member. He is a member of the F. & A.M., I. O. R.M., and the Brotherhood of Locomotive Firemen; in his political views, he is a Republican. He built his present beautiful residence in 1889.
THOMAS J. DINENNY, general bottler, P.O. Weston, was born in Danville, Pa., December 22, 1861, a son of Thomas and Elizabeth (Lenahan) Dinenny. His father, a native of Ireland, was a resident of Danville for several years and since 1864 has lived in Allentown, Pa., where he is now a member of the police force. Our subject was reared in Allentown from three years of age, and was educated in the public schools of that city. He began life as helper in a rolling mill, serving an apprenticeship of one year, afterward working as heater for two years. In 1876, he was clerk in a grocery store at Coaldale, Pa., and in 1877 located in Hazleton, where he was engaged in the same capacity three years. Mr. Dinenny then spent two years in St. Louis and in 1884 located in Weston, where he has since been engaged in the bottling business. He married, November 3, 1887, Mary, daughter of Thomas and Mary (O'Donnell) Devenny, of Allentown, Pa., and they have a daughter, Elizabeth. He is a member of the Catholic Church and in politics is a Democrat.
JOHN DIPPLE, Hazleton, conductor, Lehigh Valley Railroad, Hazleton, Division. This genial and popular conductor was born at Hazleton, October 13, 1863, and is the fourth in the family of twelve children of William and Eliza (Brill) Dipple, natives of Germany. He was reared and educated at the place of his birth, and at an early age commenced work at the mines, picking slate at the Laurel Hill Colliery for a period of two years. He then went inside and worked for about three and one half years, at the end of which time he went into a breast at Harleigh, mining coal with his father. He worked there two years, and then moved to New Hazleton, and began railroading on the Lehigh Valley road. For four years he was employed as brakeman on a freight train, in 1885 commenced braking on a passenger train in which capacity he worked until 1891, when he was promoted to the position of freight conductor, running between White Haven, Packerton and Hazleton. Mr. Dipple was united in marriage, September 23, 1886, with Miss Julia, a daughter of Frederick and Mary K. Knyrim, natives of Germany. Mr. Dipple is a member of the following orders: Knights of Malta, Railway Trainmen, and Sons of America.
WARREN W. DISTELHURST, undertaker, Conyngham, was born in the village of Conyngham, this county, October 17, 1864, and is a son of William and Elizabeth (Harmon) Distelhurst, the former of whom was born in Hanover, Germany, July 14, 1812, a son of Henry and Louisa Distelhurst. William Distelhurst came to America in 1834, and in 1837 settled in Conyngham, where he followed his trade of cabinet-maker, and embarked in the undertaking business, in which he continued until 1889, when he retired. His wife was a daughter of o Samuel Harmon, whose wife was a Drumheller, and by her he had six children: Mary (Mrs. Frederick Franklin), Doretta (Mrs. B. F. Dreisbach), Augustus, Francis L., George E, and Warren W. Our subject was reared and educated in Conyngham, and served an apprenticeship to the trade of cabinet maker and carriage painter. At the age of fourteen he entered the undertaking business with his father, whom he assisted until the retirement of the latter in 1889, when he succeeded to the business, which he still successfully continues. On June 13, 1884, Mr. Distelhurst was married to Grace I., daughter of James D. Harris, of Wilkes-Barre, and they have three children: William H., Kittie E., and Amelia L. Mr. Distelhurst is one of the live, enterprising citizens of Conyngham; in politics, he is a Republican.
ELIAS B. DODSON, farmer, P.O. Prichard, was born in Hunlock township, February 2, 1833, a son of George and Hannah (Seeley) Dodson, the former born in 1805 in Huntington township, where he was reared and educated, the latter born in Salem township in 1806. George was a son of Elias Dodson, who was also a native of Huntington township, and Elias was a son of a Dodson, who removed from Kentucky in a very early day, locating to Huntington. Elias Dodson was an extensive farmer, owning for several years 100 acres of land, which he sold in order to purchase his more desirable property, on which he built a gristmill and sawmill, which he operated to great extent and with marked success. Not only was he a thorough man of business, but an able preacher in those days. His exhorting was practical and while his life and heart expressed his words and thoughts, his hands were not slack in good works on the principle that "it is more blessed to give than to receive." He caused to be built in Huntington one of the first Baptist Churches in the township. He lived a life of usefulness, reared a family of seven children, and died at the age of eighty years. His son, George began life as a farmer in Columbia county (having removed from Huntington township) and here he made his home until his death, which took place in 1888, when he was aged eighty-three years. He was a good man and believed in a universal salvation as the free gift of his having God. He was a stanch Whig and a strong man in his party, from his majority till his death never missing an election. His farm contained 175 acres, and was a model in perfection and beauty. He reared a family of ten children all of whom grew to maturity and eight of whom are now living. Elias B., being the third in the family. Our subject was educated at the common schools of Columbia county, and in his younger days followed the lumber business, like other young men working out by the day and month. This he followed successfully, from a financial point, until he reached his twenty-eighth year, at which time his country was threatened with the dark clouds of Rebellion, causing every lover of the Union to defend the integrity of his country and save the flag. He mustered into the United States service as a member of Company F, Seventh Pennsylvania reserves, in which he displayed acts of daring heroism, during his term of service participating in all the principal battles of the army of the Potomac. After his term expired, he returned to enjoy a citizen's life. During his army experience, and in some of his wanderings outside the camp, he was captured by a fair daughter of the South, who allowed him to go on parole on promise of returning to her quarters to report periodically; and like all good soldiers, he obeyed his commander in the letter and spirit. As soon as Mr. Dodson was discharged from the United States service, he surrendered himself to his fair custodian, Miss Mary A. Brooks, daughter of George and Elizabeth Brooks, of Virginia, and was married to her, July 5, 1864. The happy couple then removed to the more peaceful North, remaining until the close of the war, when they removed to Virginia, where they resided five years. Mr. Dodson being engaged as a lumber manufacturer of lumber. In 1881 he bought a tract of 180 acres of timber land on which he built a sawmill, and became extensively engaged in the business. After the timber is exhausted, he will turn his attention to farming, with a view to stock raising. Our subject is a courteous, genial companion enjoying life and making the best of everything. He is a member of the G.A.R. and has held several township offices. The family born to Mr. and Mrs. Elias B. Dodson consists of three daughters: Hattie, Nettie and Alice, cultured and refined ladies.
JESSE B. DODSON, farmer, P.O. Shickshinny, was born in Salem township, this county, November 3, 1822, and is a son of John and Cynthia (Callender) Dodson. His paternal grandfather, James Dodson, formerly of Lehigh county, Pa., first settled in Salem in 1777, but was driven back by Indians. He returned thither in 1786, and cleared a farm, as also did his father, John Dodson, who was a native of England. The wife of James Dodson was Susannah Beach, and their children were: Betsy (Mrs. William Henry), Polly (Mrs. Abram Van Courtright) John, Eleanor (Mrs. Amos Van Horn), Nathan B., Thomas, Hannah (Mrs. D. H. Goodwin), James, Sally (Mrs. U. O. Barnes.) The father of subject was born in Lehigh county, came to Salem with his parents in 1786, and cleared a part of the farm now occupied by subject, where he died September 13, 1859 at the age of seventy-six years. He was twice married: His first wife was Abigail, daughter of Darius and Lydia (Woodruff) Callender, of Huntington township and by her he had two children: Lydia (Mrs. D. S. Sutliff) and Abigail (Mrs. Warren Benscoter.) His second wife was Cynthia Callender, sister of his first wife, by which union there were nine children: Susannah B. (Mrs. Caleb Williams), Mabel C. (Mrs. William D. Wells), Jesse B., J. Wesley, Esther C. (Mrs. Dorrance Harvey), Rachel B. (Mrs. G. R. Widger), Charles A., Hannah G. (Mrs. Stephen D. Stiles) and George W. Our subject was reared in Salem township, where he has always resided, engaged in farming, lumbering, and in the manufacture of charcoal. He occupied the old homestead settled by his father in 1813. On September 20, 1856, he married Susan J., daughter of William and Nancy (Watson) Meloy, of Clark county, Ind., and he has six children: W. Frank, J. Stanley, Belle A. (Mrs. J. M. Trivelpiece), U. Grant, J. Edgar, and E. Kate. Mr. Dodson is a member of the M.E. Church and in politics is a Republican.
JOHN DODSON, the subject of this sketch, was the son of Samuel Dodson and Elizabeth (Rhoades) Dodson, and was born in Mahoning Valley, Penn township, then Northampton county, Pa., on the 26th day of February, A.D. 1771, being the fourth child and the second son in a family of ten children. After attaining the age of twenty-one years he left his father's house and moved to Huntington township, Luzerne county, and purchased and settled upon a farm, which he continued to occupy during his long life, dying May 9, 1859. In 1796 he was married to Miss Clarissa Harrison, a daughter of Stephen Harrison, who had recently emigrated to this vicinity from Canaan, Litchfield county, Conn. She died in 1820, leaving eight children, and he afterward married Miss Sophronia Monroe, a native of the same town, county and State as his former wife; she died in the year 1841, leaving him nine children. He was an active, energetic, industrious man, greatly valued and admired by his neighbors, friends and acquaintances for his sterling honesty and strict integrity. He took a special interest in public affairs, and in promoting the welfare of that section of the county, aiding greatly in securing and maintaining public and private schools, the opening, extension and improvement of public roads, and the encouragement of local industries. For many years, he held office of justice of peace by appointment of several governors, irrespective of politics. After this office became an elective one, he continued by almost unanimous choice of the citizens of the township, to hold it until advancing years rendered it necessary for him to decline further services. In politics, he was an ardent Old-line Whig until the organization of the Republican party when he joined its forces. His wise council and advice were eagerly sought by his neighbor and acquaintances. His hospitality became proverbial, while his unbounded charity to the poor and the unfortunate was limited only by his means. Indeed, no applicant left his presence without substantial assistance.
JOSEPH B. DODSON, retired, P.O. Hunlock Creek, was born in Union (now Hunlock) township, June 4, 1805, where he was reared and received his education at the common schools. He is a son of Joseph and Susanna (Bennet) Dodson. The former was born in Northampton county, in 1771, the latter in Luzerne county. Joseph Dodson removed to this county about 1797. He was married in Plymouth but located in Union township. He owned about eight hundred acres of land and was extensively engaged in the manufacture of lumber. He was a hardy pioneer and did much for the advancement of agriculture in Luzerne county, in his locality. He was found to be a man who would serve his township well and faithfully, and therefore received many offices. He was a conscientious Christian, and a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. His property, which consisted largely of land, he kept until his death, which occurred in 1827, after which it was divided between his family of ten children, Joseph B. getting a title to one half of it. Joseph Dodson lived to be only fifty-six years of age; his wife died at the age of eighty-four. His father, Richard, was a descendant of English parents, and was an early pioneer in Salem, but was so annoyed by the Indians that he was compelled to go to Northampton to evade their savage attacks. When Richard died his son Joseph was a very small lad, who had to live with strangers and suffer the hardships incident to an orphan's life, but, he survived all hardships and privations, succeeded in accumulating a large tract of land, rearing an interesting family, and handing his name down through the pages of history to a long line of descendants, who shall call his name blessed.
Joseph B. Dodson, the son of Joseph and subject of this sketch always followed agricultural pursuits. He was always a resident of the county and township wherein he was born, and lived on the property on which his father settled until a few years ago, when he removed to Crooptown, in which place he has a neat little home, where he enjoys himself in his old age in reading God's Word and dwelling upon its sacred truths. Mr. Dodson has held several township offices and has a clean record to leave behind to his numerous posterity. He is patriotic and loyal. He sent three sons to the defense of his country's flag, in our "Civil unpleasantness." Mr. Joseph B. Dodson was twice married, first to Miss Martha; daughter of Joseph and Margaret Park, in 1834, by whom he had nine children, seven of whom are living. He remarried, for his second wife, Miss Rebecca, daughter of Frederick and Elizabeth Naugle, to whom were born five children, four of whom are living, making eleven living, out of fourteen births by both wives. He and his wife are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church.
ALEXANDER DODSON, merchant, P.O. Hunlock Creek, was born, September 9, 1835, reared and educated at the common school in Union (now Hunlock) township. He is a son of Joseph B. and Martha (Park) Dodson. He lived at home with his parents until he reached his majority, when he went to Michigan, and there spent three years at various occupations; in 1860 he returned home, where he spent one year working at undertaking. In June, 1861, he was mustered into the United States service as private in Company F, Seventh Pennsylvania Reserves (Thirty-sixth regiment of the line) for the term of three years, in the army of the Potomac. He participated in the battles of Mechanicsville and Gaines' Mills, being made prisoner of war at the latter place June 26, 1862. Here he was confined three months, when he was released on parole and sent to Washington. He returned to his command in November, 1862, and participated in the battle of Fredericksburg, where he received a flesh wound, which has proved to be a source of great annoyance to him, disabling him for life; yet wounded, and suffering as he was, her served out his time like a true soldier. His last battle was fought under Grant at Bathseda Church. His time expired, and he received an honorable discharge. After his return to citizenship, he took up his chosen occupation again, that of cabinet making, which he followed for a number of years. On February 15, 1866, he was married to Miss Rachel, daughter of Charles and Elizabeth Davenport, residents of Hunlock township, who bore him four children, two of whom are living: Mary E. and Cora. Mary E. married D. Rittenhouse. Mrs. Rachel (Davenport) Dodson was born in Union township, June 21, 1845. Mr. Dodson removed to his present place of residence in 1876, on a farm of eighteen acres, on which he built a fine house, barn and storehouse. About this date he embarked in the mercantile business, at which he has proved successful. He has a general line of goods and a fine assortment. He also deals in lumber to some extent. Previous to 1876 he was employed to oversee the lumber manufacture of Hiram Croop, for two and one half years. Mr. Dodson is a useful and trustworthy man in his township; he has been elected to the offices of town treasurer, treasurer of school board, and township clerk. He and his aged wife are members in good standing in the Methodist Episcopal Church, of which body he is trustee, class leader and superintendent of Sunday-school, in fact he is a pillar in the church, on which it rests many burdens. He is also treasurer of the building committee for the erection of a new Methodist Episcopal Church at this place, which is now nearly completed. Politically the Dodson's are Republicans.
WILLIAM H. DODSON, farmer, Muhlenburgh, was born August 12, 1834. He was reared and educated in Union township, and is the eldest child of Joseph B. and Martha (Park) Dodson. William H. Dodson from his earliest days has followed agricultural pursuits. He lived on his father's property until he had reached his twenty-sixth year. May 12, 1859, he married Miss Lucinda, daughter of Anthony and Solmy Sorber, and to this union were born seven children, five of whom are living: Anthony F., James, Mary M., Martha J., and Phillip, all of whom are unmarried. In the following year, on March 6, 1860, he removed to his present place of residence, near Muhlenburgh, consisting of ninety-six acres of land, at that time wild and unreclaimed, but by hard labor and untiring energy, he has succeeded in bringing harmony out of chaos, and he now has a most fertile farm. He is a man of good judgement, pure morals, and strict integrity. When rebellion threatened our country's safety, Mr. Dodson left home and family to offer himself on his country's altar. He was mustered into the United States service as a member of Company B. One Hundred and Ninety-ninth P.V.I., for the term of one year, in which command he did good service. At the close of the war he was honorably discharged, and now enjoys a pension. On his return to citizenship he followed his old vocation of farming. He has been elected to various offices of trust and responsibility in his own township, having served as assessor, supervisor and constable. He and his wife and family are members in good standing in the M.E. Church, in which he is a trustee, Sunday-school superintendent and assistant class-leader.
O. S. DODSON, farmer, P.O. Hunlock Creek, was born in Union (now Hunlock) township, March 18, 1825. He is a son of Richard and Rhoda (Goss) Dodson, the former born in Bucks county, the latter in Huntington township, this county. Richard was a son of Joseph, who removed from Bucks county to Luzerne about 1797, locating in Union township. He married his wife, Miss Susanna Bennett, in Plymouth. He owned 800 acres of land. He built a sawmill, which he operated for a number of years, and was a practical businessman and a hard working, energetic pioneer. He was a strict churchman, having for a number of years been a member of the M.E. Church. His benevolence was proverbial. He died in 1827, followed by his widow in her eighty-fourth year. They reared a family of ten children; two of whom are now living. His son, Richard Dodson, began life in Union (now Hunlock) township, on a farm of 200 acres, situated about four and one half miles from Hunlock Creek on the turnpike. He was a man of good, sound judgement, a practical farmer, and a loyal citizen, on whom were conferred various township offices, which he filled with credit. Like his father, he was a Methodist of high standing, and a stanch Republican in politics. He died in September 1863. Richard and Rhoda Dodson reared a family of nine children, seven of whom are living. O. S. is the sixth of the family, and was reared and educated in his native town. He has always resided in the townships of Union and Hunlock, on his present farm—forty-three years. He has always followed a farmer's life, and like his father before him, is an adept at the business. In 1844, he married Miss Mary, daughter of George and Anna Cease. To them have been born five children, four of whom are living: Leander, Josiah, Rhoda A. and Addie. Leander is married to Miss A. davenport; Josiah is married to Miss Jennie Shupp; Addie is married to Frank Small and Rhoda married Thomas Major. Mr. Dodson was mustered into the United States service in 1864, as a private in Company E, Two Hundred and Third P.V.I., for the term of one year, participating in several of the leading battles of that year. He was honorably discharged and returned to enjoy his citizenship, he now receives a pension. Mr. Dodson, although much shattered by his army experience, is still young looking. He owns seventy-five acres of valuable land, upon which he carries on general farming. He has a relic of pioneer life yet in his possession, a weaver's loom, made by his grandfather in early life, before sawmills were in that country. It was made entirely of white oak and with an axe. Mr. Dodson and his wife are members of the Baptist Church, in which body he has been deacon for over forty-five years. Politically he is a Republican.
STEPHEN H. DODSON, a prominent farmer of Northampton township, P.O. Huntington Mills, was born where he now resides June 8, 1818, and is a son of John and Clarissa (Harrison) Dodson, natives of Northampton county, Pa., and Litchfield county, Conn., respectively, the former of whom was of English origin and by occupation, a farmer. He was a son of Samuel and Elizabeth (Rhodes) Dodson and came from Northampton county to the Huntington Valley in 1796, where he purchased the farm now owned by our subject. He was married to Clarissa Harrison, July 6, 1797, and they reared a family of eleven children, viz.: Nancy, born June 17, 1798, married to John N. Weston, M.D., a prominent physician of Towanda, Pa., (she died in May, 1888); Ann (Mrs. Gideon Post), born September 7, 1800, died December 6, 1875; Amanda (Mrs. Solomon Taylor), born December 20, 1802, died February 19, 1875; Susan (Mrs. Daniel J. LaBar), born December 9, 1804, (deceased); Samuel, born January 31, 1807, married Miss Ann Fell, of Baltimore, Md., (he died, March 2, 1874); Elizabeth (Mrs. Charles Millard), born August 28, 1809, died April 3, 1851; Sarah (Mrs. William B. Chamberlain), born October 19, 1811 (deceased); Stephen H., born December 27, 1813, died August 11, 1817; Miner, born August 14, 1816, died June 28, 1817; Stephen H., our subject, and Clarissa (Mrs. Matthias Huffman), born December 21, 1820 (deceased). The mother of the above enumerated children died December 22, 1820, the day following the birth of her last child, and Mr. Dodson married, November 1, 1821, Sophrona Monroe, by whom he had nine children, viz.: Miner D. (deceased), Weston. D. (deceased), Nathan M. (a physician in Berlin, Wis.), John Q. A. (deceased), Truman (a coal operator at Bethlehem, Pa.), Franklin (a physician at Berlin, Wis.). Mary (wife of Robert Hicks, M.D., deceased), Charles M. (coal operator at Bethlehem, Pa.), and Joseph S. (a farmer in Kansas.) The second Mrs. Dodson died March 7, 1841, and Mr. Dodson was again married, on this the third occasion, to Susan McCafferty, who bore him no children. He died May 9, 1859.
Stephen H. Dodson,> the subject proper of this memoir, was reared on a farm, educated in the common schools, and at twenty-two years of age engaged as bridge-builder for the Baltimore & Ohio Railroad Company, at which occupation he remained for two years. He then went to Towanda, Pa., and for two years served as deputy for his brother-in-law, Dr. John N. Weston, then sheriff of Bradford county, then for three months in a similar capacity for John F. Means. Moving to Mauch Chunk, Pa., he was there engaged as a breaker builder a few months; then worked one year for D. J. Labar, a brother-in-law, as foreman in his lumber woods, at Rockport, Pa. Returning home he worked on the farm until 1870, and then went to Kingston, Pa., as foreman of a mine for two years at the end of which time he returned to the farm and since resided thereon. Mr. Dodson was married December 27, 1846, to Miss Lydia, daughter of Robert (a farmer) and Phoebe (Nesbitt) Davenport, natives of Pennsylvania, and of English and Irish origins, respectively. Mrs. Dodson is the fourth in a family of eight children, four of whom are now living, and was born November 17, 1820. This union has been blessed with six children, viz.: Robert M., born February 11, 1848, died August 21, 1849, Clara J. (Mrs. J. C. Hutchison, born July 26, 1850, died November 20, 1875 leaving one child, Harrison D. Hutchison; Robert H., born April 5, 1852, a bookkeeper at Morea, Pa., married to Eureka Ludlow, of Summerville, N.J. (they have one child, Laura B. Dodson); Samuel A., born March 5, 1855, is a partner with J. C. Hutchison in a general store at Morea, Pa., and travels on the road with mine supplies (he married Frances Watson, of Delano, Pa.); Phoebe E., born August 2, 1857, and Emily I., born September 18, 1859, both at home. The Dodson farm is situated one-half mile below the town of Huntington Mills, on Huntington Creek and contains 142 acres. The house, built in 1891, is a model of elegance and one of the finest in the Huntington Valley. The family is one of the oldest in the Valley and they have a host of warm friends. They attend the services of the Methodist Church
MICHAEL DOHERTY, saloon keeper, Plainsville, was born in the parish of Adderigool, Ireland, in the year 1840, and is a son of Anthony and Maud (Kelly) Doherty, the former of whom was a farmer. They reared a family of nine children, of whom Michael is the fourth. Our subject came to America in 1866, and worked at mining successively as follows: At Pittston, four months, Wilkes-Barre, eight months; Miners Mills, two years; Mitchell's Shafts, Plainsville, six years, Port Bowkley, two years; then in the Enterprise Shaft till 1886, and in the Henry Shaft till 1889, when he built his residence, since which time he has been engaged in his present business. While working at Miners Mills, Mr. Doherty was very severely burned, which disable him for some time, in fact, nearly causing his death. He was married, April 5, 1872, to Miss Bridget, daughter of Dennis and Sarah (Mangan) Carey, native of Ireland, and this happy union has been blessed with five children, four of whom are living, viz.: Mary, Bridget, John and Anthony. Mr. Doherty and family are members of the Catholic Church; he is a member of the A.O.H. and the Nationalists; in politics he is a Democrat, and has held office of school director in Plains township.
REV. TIMOTHY JOSEPH DONAHUE, pastor of St. Vincent's Church, Plymouth, was born in New York City, May 16, 1839, and is the son of Cornelius and Mary (Sheean) Donahue, natives of Cork, Ireland, who came to America in 1835. The subject of this sketch was educated at St. Vincent's College, Westmoreland county, Pa. (where he remained two years) and also at St. Bonaventure, Cattaraugus Co., N.Y. (remaining there seven years) at the close of which studies he was ordained priest, November 4, 1873. He was immediately, thereafter, appointed assistant at St. Peter's Cathedral, Scranton, Pa., where he passed one year, going from there to Wilkes-Barre as assistant to the late Father O'Haran, which position he filled three years. From Wilkes-Barre Father Donahue came to Plymouth as pastor, where he now presides, and where he has done remarkable work for his church and people. When he came to Plymouth, September 5, 1877, the church was found to be in bad condition, being too small as well as uncomfortably lighted and heated. Father Donahue, being a man of indomitable will, was by no means daunted by this outlook, but set to work with a will to place the church in a better condition. He purchased a fine site on the corner of Eno and Church Streets, where has been erected one of the finest edifices in the State, much of the inside work being designed by himself, who is a gentleman of mechanical genius as well as spiritual talent. Eleven of the windows are imported from Munich, and are of the finest quality; the pulpit is of white marble, in all respects artistically beautiful. Not only has father Donahue built this fine imposing church, but he has established the St. Vincent Parochial School, where there is an average attendance of over 500 children, the old church building being used for this purpose. This school is under the charge of the Sisters of Mercy, and is free to all, no tuition being exempted. As to what father Donahue has done for his church and people, one has but to view the interior of the St. Vincent's, or to watch the masses of little children as they rush from the school, or to gaze on the multitudes as they go to worship or return, to be convinced that the work he has accomplished in so short a time has been a task that few, if any, could have managed so successfully. In politics, Father Donahue is bound to no political party, but reserves the right to vote for the man best adapted to the office sought.
PETER DONNELLY, engineer, Port Blanchard, was born November 5, 1839, in County Kildare, Ireland, and is a son of Joseph and Eliza (Fagan) Donnelly, natives of the same place. He was educated in Ireland, and whilst there was employed in the postal service, as a mail driver in Dublin. On January 31, 1865, he came to this country, but only stayed sixteen months, during which time he was employed as a laborer in New York; he then revisited Ireland, but did not remain there long, as he returned to the United States August 29, 1867, and settled in Port Griffith, this county, where he labored in the mines until 1871. He was then employed as fireman, and is at present an engineer in the employ of the Pennsylvania Coal Company. He was united in marriage July 15, 1870, with Bridget, daughter of Thomas and Ellen (Degan) Delvin, natives of County Kilkenny, Ireland, and their union has been blessed with the following issue: Joseph, born November 25, 1871, Charles, born October 20, 1873, James, born November 25, 1875, Thomas, born November 8, 1878, Peter, born May 28, 1880, John born November 2, 1882, William born April 16, 1884, and Elizabeth born August 17, 1890. Our subject is a member of the Roman Catholic Church and in politics he holds independent ideas.
J. DONOGHOE, justice of the peace, Inkerman, was born August 4, 1826, in County Galway. Ireland, and is the eldest in the family of five children of Michael and Catherine (Kenny) Donoghoe, natives of County King's, Ireland. Our subject was educated in Ireland, and served as a member of the Royal Irish Constabulary until 1849, when he came to the United States, and settled in Pittston, where he worked on the railroad for a short time, and afterward as a laborer for the Pennsylvania Coal Company. He was married August 20, 1850, to Bridget, daughter of Michael and Mary (Madden) Madden, natives of County Galway, Ireland. She died April 23, 1857, leaving the following issue: Michael, born April 30, 1851, and Catharine L. born March 12, 1856. Our subject, for his second wife, married June 3, 1858, Bridget, daughter of Patrick and Ann (Costello) Cosgrove, natives of County Galway, Ireland. This wife died January 7, 1863, and Mr. Donoghoe wedded for his third wife, Mary, daughter of James and Mary Ford, natives of County Galway, Ireland. The issue of this last marriage was Marie, born June 9, 1866, and James, born December 24, 1867. Mr. Donoghoe is a member of the Roman Catholic Church and in politics is a Democrat. He was elected justice of the peace in 1875, and is still serving in the same capacity, being in his fourth term.
HARRY W. DONY, editor and proprietor of the Avoca Argus, was born at Honesdale, Pa., January 2, 1868, son of rev. F. A. and Sarah E. (Woodward) Dony, the former born at Dundaff, Pa., May 3, 1841, of English parents, the latter a native of Honesdale. During his early manhood, our subject's father was a lawyer, and enjoyed a lucrative practice at both Honesdale and Mauch Chunk, Pa. At the age of thirty-five, he became a clergyman in the Methodist Episcopal Church, and is now residing in Scranton, where he is filling the position of assistant secretary of the American Sabbath Union. His marriage was blessed with four children, viz.: A. May, married to J. W. Easterline, a photographer at Scranton, Pa.; Harry W.; and Bertha A. and Florida M., both residing with their parents. Our subject's boyhood was passed in northeastern Pennsylvania, at the public schools, of which section he received a liberal education. In the fall of 1886, he entered Wyoming Seminary, at Kingston, Pa., leaving that institution the following spring. He then taught school in the State of New York for one year, and afterward came to Dunmore, Pa., where he was employed upon the editorial staff of the Dunmore Pioneer, (which in partnership with H. H. Bailey, he now owns), and for three years remained in that capacity. In 1890, he established the Avoca Argus, which paper has grown under his energetic management until it has now a large circulation. It is a bright, newsy, clean sheet, betokening the persistent efforts which have been spent upon it by Mr. Dony. He is a member of the Knights of Pythias, and of the Scranton Young Men's Christian Association; is also identified with the Methodist Episcopal Church. His gentlemanly conduct and many sterling qualities have won him a host of friends.
BENJAMIN DORRANCE, retired, Dorranceton, was born August 14, 1846, a son of Col. Charles Dorrance. He was educated at Princeton College, graduating in the class of 1868. He was admitted to the bar as a practicing attorney in 1870, and continued the practice of law until his eyesight became impaired, when he retired to his farm at Dorranceton. Mr. Dorrance was married in May, 1872, to Ruth W., daughter of Schuyler and Frances (Cruger) Strong, natives of Bath, N.Y. Three children have been blessed this union. Anne, who is attending college at Vassar, Frances and Ruth. Mr. Dorrance has always been identified with the Democratic Party. The family are members of the Presbyterian Church.
COL. CHARLES DORRANCE (lately deceased) was born on the Dorrance homestead at Kingston, now the borough of Dorranceton, Luzerne county, Pa., January 4, 1805, and was a son of Benjamin and Nancy (Buckingham) Dorrance. The Dorrance family was one of the pioneer families of the Wyoming Valley, and through the tragic death of one of its members, slain in the massacre of Wyoming in 1778, is forever connected with that interesting and historic locality. The founder of the Dorrance family in America was Rev. Samuel Dorrance, a Scotch Presbyterian clergyman, who came from Ireland to this country about the year 1722. He was born in 1685; graduated from Glasgow University in 1709; was pastor of a church in Voluntown, Conn., upward of forty years and died November 12, 1775, at the age of ninety years. His wife was Elizabeth Smith, who died in 1750. The paternal grandfather of subject, George Dorrance, son of Rev. Samuel Dorrance, born March 4, 1736, became a lieutenant-colonel of the militia in Wyoming, and was one of the principle officers under Col. Butler in the operation against the British and their Indian allies. In the battle of Wyoming, fought July 3, 1778, he took a leading part, was severely wounded and taken prisoner and slain by his savage captors the following day. As he was highest in rank of the natives in this slaughter, his name heads those inscribed upon the obelisk reared in the Valley, in 1843, by the descendants of the slain in commemoration of the event. He was twice married, and had two daughters by his first wife and three sons by his second. Robert, the eldest son, served in the war against the Indians, under Governor St. Clair, and was killed November 4, 1791. Gershom, the youngest son, went back to Connecticut. Benjamin, the second son, and the father of our subject, was born at Plainsfield, Conn., in 1767. He spent most of his mature life in Kingston, this county, and was a popular citizen of his day, by election holding several important offices, among which were those of county commissioner, high sheriff of the county, and member of the Legislature of the State, the latter for eleven years. He was one of the founders and the first president of the Wyoming Bank of Wilkes-Barre, chartered by the State in 1829. By his wife, Nancy Buckingham, he had three children: John, who became a Presbyterian minister, Charles, and George, who died in childhood.
CHARLES DORRANCE, our subject, was reared on the old homestead where he always resided, received a liberal education, and always took an active interest in farming pursuits. In early life, he joined the militia, and from the rank of captain was promoted through the various grades to colonel, which title he held for forty years. In 1858 in the organization of the Luzerne county Agricultural Society, he was unanimously chosen of its members for the office of president, and held the position for ten years. By the last official act of the late Judge Conyngham, he was appointed a commissioner of the Luzerne county Prison, which he held by successive yearly appointments until it was disposed of, as a reward for political services. During the entire period of his connection with this board, he was its president; for fifty years he was a member of the board of directors of the Wyoming Bank in Wilkes-Barre, which was Nationalized in 1865, served as vice-president ten years, and from 1878 as president. In the patriotic movement which culminated, in 1843, in the erection of a suitable monument to commemorate the battle and massacre of Wyoming, Col. Dorrance took a leading part, and upon the organization of the Wyoming Commemorative Association he was the unanimous choice of its members to the office of president, and in that official capacity had the honor of welcoming the President of the United States, and Cabinet, to the celebration. It must suffice to say that whatever he undertook he did well, earning a reputation that is unassailable and he leaves as an heritage the unsullied record of an honest man.
J. FORD DORRANCE, farmer, and stock grower, P.O. Dorranceton, was born April 19, 1852, on the farm he now owns. He is a son of Col. Charles and Susan (Ford) Dorrance, natives respectively of Luzerne and Tioga Counties and of Scotch-Irish and English origin; the father was a farmer by occupation. [See sketch and chapter in general history—"The dead that still live."] Our subject is the fourth of a family of seven children, five of whom are now living. He was educated in the common schools, by Dr. Barker at Germantown, Pa., and at the Lehigh University, After his literary education was completed he went to Meadville, and there studied law with Judge Derrickson, afterward practicing in the same city for sixteen years; he also represented the Mutual Life Insurance Company of New York City for eight years. Mr. Dorrance, was candidate for mayor of Meadville on the Republican ticket, being defeated by but nineteen votes. He came to Dorranceton in 1890, at the request of his father, who, owing to failing health, needed the aid of his son in managing his large estate. Our subject was married June 15, 1875 to Miss Elizabeth W., daughter of James R. and Harriet S. (Thorp) Dick, natives, respectively of Pittsburgh, Pa., and Connecticut; her father is a banker in Meadville, and the family is one of the most prominent in the city, his brother is the inventor of the Dick Anti-Friction Press, now in use all over the country. Mr. and Mrs. Dorrance have three children: Susie L., born February 26, 1876, Sturgis D., born July 15, 1881, and Clarence, born March 12, 1863. The family are members of the Episcopal Church. Mr. Dorrance is a member of the F. & A.M., I.O.O.F. and the Royal Arcanum;, he was on Governor Hoyt's staff for three years and politically is a strong Republican.
NATHAN DOTTER, engineer, Wilkes-Barre was born in Monroe county, Pa., March 19, 1851, and is a son of Daniel and Margaret (Searfoss) Dotter, both natives of Monroe county, Pa., who settled at White Haven in 1862 and resided in Luzerne county, the remainder of their days. Their children were twelve in number of whom ten survive, viz.: Daniel, Junius, John, Julia (Mrs. Daniel Martz), Mary (Mrs. John Dotter), Casserine (Mrs. Solomon Krieskey), Sarah (Mrs. John Krumernocker), Abbie (Mrs. Charles Smith), Hannah (Mrs. Timothy Searfoss) and Nathan. Our subject was reared in Monroe and Luzerne Counties and educated in the common schools. In 1868 he began life as a brakeman on the Lehigh Valley Railroad, in which capacity he served three years; was fireman five years, and since 1875 has been engineer. Mr. Dotter was married in 1871 to Sarah, daughter of John Kreidle, of Dallas, this county, and has three children. Maggie, Harry, and Maude. Mr. Dotter is a member of the Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers and is mentioned as the candidate for sheriff on the Democratic ticket for 1892, of which party he has always been a stanch adherent. He has resided in Wilkes-Barre since 1888.
GEORGE DOTY, a prominent farmer of Huntington township, P.O. Town Hill, was born October 31, 1843 in Pittston township, and is a son of Jonas and Janet (Campbell) Doty, natives of New Jersey and Pennsylvania, and of English and Scotch origin, respectively; the father was a farmer, and died August 28, 1886, aged seventy-eight years. He was a son of David and Sybill (Clark) Doty, natives of New York and Pennsylvania, respectively, the former being also a farmer by occupation. Our subject is the third in a family of ten children, eight of whom are living. He was reared on a farm, educated in the common schools and New Columbus Academy, and when twenty-one years of age enlisted in Company H, One Hundred and Ninety-eighth Pennsylvania Volunteers; he served with his regiment until the close of the war, and was discharged in June, 1865, at Arlington Heights, Va. He then returned to his native county, and attended school one year and then farmed on rented land until 1889, when he purchased his present farm one and one-half miles southwest from Town Hill postoffice, containing 171 acres. He was married, January 1, 1874 to Alice Heath, daughter of Israel and Catherine (Kesler) Heath, natives of Pennsylvania, and of English and German origin, respectively; she is the third of a family of seven children and was born June 19, 1853. This union was blessed with one child, Edith A., born January 30, 1887. Mr. Doty is independent in his political views and is one of the sound men in his section.
ANTHONY F. DOUGHERTY, M.D., physician and surgeon, Ashley, was born in Pittston, Pa., and is a son of John and Mary (Phillips) Dougherty, natives of Pennsylvania and New York, respectively, and of Irish origin. The father, who is inside mine foreman, reared a family of eight children, of whom Anthony F., is the eldest. Our subject was educated in the Pittston High School, Wyoming Seminary, and graduated from the University of Pennsylvania in 1890. He then practiced one year and a half in St. Mary's Hospital, Philadelphia, and came to Ashley in 1892, where he has, even in this short time, built up a lucrative practice. Dr. Dougherty is a member of the Catholic Church and the C.M.B.A.; in his political views he is a Democrat.
CHARLES DOUGHERTY, grocer, Wilkes-Barre, was born in Albany, N.Y., July 21, 1833, and is a son of Niel and Mary (Gillespie) Dougherty, natives of Buncrana, County Donegal, Ireland, who came to America in 1828, the father being banished from the country on account of political reasons. They located in Hanover, this county, in 1838, where the father followed the occupation of a miner until his death. He reared a family of six children: Charles, Mary Ann, Esther, James, John and Ellen (Mrs. Lyman H. Carle.) Our subject was reared in Hanover township from five years of age, was educated in the common schools, and began life as a clerk in a general store in Wilkes-Barre, serving in that capacity fourteen years—twelve years with one house. In 1860, he embarked in the grocery business, in which, with the exception of four years, he has since continued. In 1866, he was appointed by President Johnson, United States consul to Londonderry, Ireland, the city from which his father was banished in 1828, and the only official position to which he ever aspired, and the ambition of his life, the opportunity coming to him sooner than he expected. On May 28, 1858, Mr. Dougherty married Julia, daughter of Daniel and Melinda (Blackman) Collins, of Wilkes-Barre, and has five children living: Melinda (Mrs. George P. Strome) C. Bow, Mary E., M. Morris, and Alice M. He is member of the Catholic Church, and in politics is a Democrat.
C. BOW DOUGHERTY, chief clerk Coal Companies, Pennsylvania Railroad, W.B., was born in Wilkes-Barre, September 3, 1860, a son of Charles and Julia (Collings) Dougherty. The father of our subject was a native of Albany, N.Y., and is now a resident of Wilkes-Barre. His wife was a daughter of Daniel and Malinda (Blackman) Collings, and granddaughter of Maj. Eleazer Blackman, who was born in Connecticut in 1765, and settled with his parents in Wilkes-Barre in 1772. His father, Elisha Blackman, was a lieutenant in Capt. Richard Hooker Smith's company, Twenty-fourth Regiment of Militia, attached to the Connecticut line, which company was in the fort at Wilkes-Barre at the time of the Wyoming Massacre. Our subject was reared in Wilkes-Barre and educated in the public schools of his native city, and Emerson Institute, Washington D.C. He began his business career as a clerk in the offices of the Susquehanna Coal Company, in whose service he has remained twelve years, and has held his present position since 1885. In 1883, he married Anna D., daughter of M. B. and Anna M. (Palmer) Posten, of Wilkes-Barre, and has two children. Mr. Dougherty enlisted August 1, 1881, as a private in Company B. Ninth Regiment, N.G.P.; was detailed as a regimental clerk August 12, 1881; appointed principal musician, July 27, 1882; sergeant major, May 9, 1883; re-appointed, November 7, 1884; and June 20, 1885, was appointed first lieutenant and inspector of rifle practice, April 28, 1887, being re-appointed in June, 1890. He is a member of the Pennsylvania Sons of the Revolution; in politics he is a Democrat.
JOHN J. DOUGHERTY, miner, P.O. Port Blanchard, was born June 13, 1843, in County Mayo, Ireland, a son of Anthony and Matilda (Kelly) Doughtery, natives of the same place, who reared a family of eight children of whom our subject was the third in order of birth. He received his education in the Irish National Schools, and came to America in 1864, settling in Pittston on April 21 of that year. He was employed as a laborer in the mines at Lehigh Valley Coal Company, and from 1868 to the present time, has been employed as a miner by the Pennsylvania Coal Company. January 6, 1867, our subject led to the altar his bride, Mary A., daughter of Edward and Mary (O'Hara) Philips, natives of County Mayo, Ireland, and sister of the Rev. E. S. Philips, of Plains, this county. Their union has been blessed with thirteen children. The oldest, A. F. Dougherty, is a practicing physician at Ashley, Pa. Mr. Dougherty is a Roman Catholic, a member of the Ancient Order of Hibernians and Emerald Beneficial Association, and is a Democrat.
WILLIAM H. DOVE, Plains, agent for the Mercantile Co-Operative Bank, of New York, and several fire and life insurance companies, was born in Pittston, Pa., February 21, 1841, and is a son of Rueben and Lucinda (Collins) Dove, natives of New Jersey, and Pennsylvania, respectively. The ancestry of the former can be placed no farther than New Jersey, but the latter's is known to be of early Irish origin. In his father's family there were five children, two of whom are living, and of them he is the second in the order of birth. His brother, John, is a farmer near Elmira, N.Y.
Our subject, who passed his boyhood on the farm, did not receive the advantage of even a common school education, his present fair knowledge of the English branches being due to private study while in the army and afterward. When he was fourteen years of age, his mother dying, he was compelled to embark in life for himself. He worked on the railroad until July 16, 1861, when he enlisted in Battery H, Light Artillery, First Pennsylvania reserves; he was discharged, and re-enlisted as a veteran November 28, 1863, and July 1, 1865, was discharged by general order. Though kind Providence protected him from being wounded and from experiencing the horrors of the rebel prisons, yet his health was so shattered that it never rallied. After returning from the war he fired a locomotive on the Delaware, Lackawanna & Western Railroad for three years, and was then assistant dispatcher in the round-house at Scranton for fourteen months. In 1870, he removed to Plains, and worked at Mill Creek, he fired a stationary engine six months, was breaker boss one year, laborer in the mines four years and mined fourteen years. During this time he made three prospecting trips west, taking his family with him in 1877, expecting to locate, but finding no suitable location, returned; he bade good-by to the dingy mines in August, 1890. He purchased his present residence and removed therein in 1885, but for twelve years previous he had resided on an adjacent corner, where Charles H. Smith now lives. Mr. Dove was married, March 8, 1864, while on a veteran furlough, to Miss Mary, daughter of Sebastian and Anna (Fisher) Geesy, natives of Switzerland, both of whom are now deceased, the father on August 31, 1892, the latter on March 9, 1877. The fruit of this happy union was nine children, viz.: Alice, who died at the age of ten years; Charles, a fireman on the Lehigh Valley Railroad; Anna L., Eva J. H.; Hattie; William; Frank; Mamie and Nellie. Mr. Dove and family attend the Presbyterian Church of which Mrs. Dove is a member. Socially he is a member of the G.A.R., A.O.K. of M.C., P.O.S. of A. and the Sons of the Temperance. Politically he has always been a faithful worker in the ranks of the Republican Party, and was appointed enumerator in 1890.
JAMES DOYLE, retired, Plymouth was born in Schuylkill county, Pa., August 7, 1841, a son of Patrick and Mary (Brennon) Doyle, both of whom were born in Ireland. They emigrated to this country in 1832, locating in Schuylkill county Pa., where the father remained till 1867, when he came to this county and settled in Plymouth township. He was a hardworking, honest and upright man, whose life made the world better because of its influence, and yet it was comparatively uneventful; he died in 1869 at the age of sixty-seven years. His family consisted of eight children, four of whom grew to maturity, James being the only one now living. Our subject was reared and educated at the common schools of his native town, and in 1867 he removed, with his father to this county where he has since resided. He has always confined himself to mining and during his experience he met with an accident in which his leg was broken. On November 18, 1868, he married Miss Mary Moran, who was born in Schuylkill county, Pa., in 1847, daughter of James and Ann Moran, by which union there were six children, two of whom are now living: Patrick and Eugene. Mr. Doyle, is an interesting and entertaining gentleman and enjoys the full confidence of his fellow citizens. He is a Democrat, and held the office of supervisor one year, that of collector two years, and was watchman at the county courthouse for two years. He owns four houses and lots in the suburbs of Plymouth. He and his family are members of the Roman Catholic Church and he is a member of the Father Mathew and St. Patrick Societies.
MARTIN J. DOYLE, reporter for the Wilkes-Barre News Dealer, Ashley, was born in Sugar Notch, this county, July 17, 1863, and is a son of Daniel and Johanna (McMahon) Doyle, natives of County Clare, Ireland. The father, who was a miner by occupation, was killed in the Hartford Mine by a fall of coal. The widowed mother, left confronted by the stern realities of life, and the support of a large family of small children, besides one born five months after her husband's death, now gave the world a shining example of womanhood, when she accepted the situation and set about keeping her little ones together, within daily touch of their mother's love and care. The family consisted of nine children, three of whom died young. The others are: Margaret, who married John Coyle, foreman in the machine shop, Raton, New Mexico, by whom she had five children, four of whom are now living, Daniel J., stationary engineer, Raton, N.M.; Mary, who is single and resides in Ashley; Johanna, who married Thomas Cannon of Ashley, by whom she had six children, five of whom are living; Martin J. and Nellie, who live with Mary. Our subject was educated in the public schools of Ashley, and at the age of seven years began working in the breaker, where he remained ten years. He then wiped engines in the yard about six months, after which he entered the machine shop, remaining there five years. In 1888, he went to Raton, N.M., where he worked in a machine shop two and one half years, meantime making a tour of Texas, Mexico, California, and Colorado; also a portion of his time was devoted to the political campaign of 1890. In 1891, he returned to Ashley, and after working in the Dixon Works, Wilkes-Barre, for about a month, accepted his present position. Mr. Doyle was married December 31, 1891, with Mary A., daughter of Jacob and Ann (Bly) Gates, natives of Germany and Ireland, respectively. They have one child, Johanna. Our subject and family are members of the Catholic Church. He is a member of the A.O.H. and in his political views is a decided Democrat.
JOHN DREISBACH, farmer, P.O., Wyoming, was born in Monroe county, Pa., March 12, 1847, and is a son of Aaron and Susan (Burker) Dreisbach, both of whom were born in Northampton county, Pa. Aaron removed from Monroe county to this in 1852, locating in Exeter township, on a farm of seventy-five acres; he was an honest and industrious man. He lived to be sixty years of age, departing this life in 1880. Aaron and Susan Dreisbach reared a family of twelve children, all of whom grew to maturity, and ten of whom are now living. John is the sixth in the family, and was reared and educated in Exeter township; and has always followed agricultural pursuits. He remained at home until March 18, 1874, when he married Miss Lillie, daughter of Martin and Caroline Dailey. There have been four children born to this marriage, three of whom are living: Norman E., Carol M. and Ray O. Mrs. Lillie (Dailey) Dreisbach, was born in Kingston township, June 27, 1854. In 1885, Mr. Dreisbach removed to his present residence in Exeter borough, where he engaged in farming and the dairy business, selling his milk in West Pittston, and Wyoming. He is an enterprising man, of upright character and sound principles. He and his wife are highly respected in the community.
JOHN W. DRIESBACH, flour, feed, and commission merchant, Wilkes-Barre, was born in Salem township, this county, February, 26, 1837, a son of Adam and Huldah (Seeley) Driesbach, and is of German and English descent. His father, as well as his paternal grandfather, John Driesbach, millers by occupation, were both pioneers of Salem township, and lived and died there. His maternal grandfather, John W. Seeley, was a pioneer farmer of the same township. Our subject was reared in Salem, where he received a common-school education, and served an apprenticeship of three years at the miller's trade. Afterward he worked as a journeyman until 1866, when he embarked in business for himself, conducting what is known as the Seybert Mill, until 1868; then was manager of a mill for an uncle for two years. In 1870 he located in Wilkes-Barre, where he managed a mill fifteen years, and since 1885 he has been engaged in his present business. Mr. Driesbach is a member of the F. & A.M. and A.L. of H.; in politics, he is a Republican and has served one term as school director of Wilkes-Barre. He was a member of the Board of Trade, of which he was an active organizer and is one of the trustees; he was an efficient aid and participant in securing the building here of the Wilkes-Barre Lace Mills, the first of its kind in the United States, and the largest in the world, and has been a director in the same from its organization.
CHARLES M. DRIGGS, druggist, White Haven, was born in Carbon county, Pa., June 24, 1860, a son of Stoddard and Lydia (Jumper) Driggs, also natives of Pennsylvania and of English origin, the former of whom was landlord of the "Central Hotel" in White Haven, and died January 12, 1882. He reared a family of four children, two of whom are now living, and of whom Charles M., is second in order of birth. The subject of this sketch was educated in the common schools and at the New York College of Pharmacy. On April 1, 1881, he opened a drug store, also conducting the "Central Hotel," after the death of his father, until April 1, 1892, when he decided to devote his entire time to his profession. He has now one of the finest drug stores in Luzerne county, containing a full line of drugs, patent medicines, paints and oils, toilet articles, perfumery, stationary, leather goods, fishing tackle, etc. On April 23, 1885, Mr. Driggs was married to Josephine B., daughter of Charles C. and Electa A. (Southard) Rogers, natives of New Jersey, and of Welsh origin. Mrs. Driggs is second in a family of six children and was born November 30, 1859. This union has been blessed with four children: Stoddard L., born March 30, 1886, Carl H., born June 10, 1888, Leona G., born December 28, 1889 and Marie W., born March 15, 1892. The family are members of the Presbyterian Church. Mr. Driggs is a member of the F. & A.M., I.O.O.F., P.O.S. of A. and Royal Arcanum. He is a democrat, and served as auditor of the borough of White Haven for two terms.
A. A. DRUM, merchant, Drum's. This gentleman was born January 25, 1854, near where he now resides, and is a son of Josiah and Maria (Balliet) Drum, both natives of Butler Valley, the former of whom was engaged in mercantile pursuits during his life at Drum's. He was a son of Abram Drum, who settled in the Valley at a very early date, and was also engaged in the mercantile business during the latter part of his life. Josiah Drum, the father of our subject, was born April 13, 1830, and died May 1, 1889. In the family there were six children, viz.: A. A., Richard (deceased), Isa Dora, (deceased), Hubbard P. (deceased), Harry D., (a farmer in Butler township), Adda M. (married to A. P. Beisel, a clerk at Sandy Run.) Mr. Drum was educated in the public schools of Luzerne county, Millersville State Normal School, and at the Wyoming Seminary. About the age of twenty-two, he engaged in the store with his father. In 1881, his father having retired, he took charge of the business on his own account and has carried it on ever since. In 1884 he was married to Miss Mary Alice Hess, an accomplished young lady of Drum's, and this union has been blessed with three children: Warren N., Clyde I. (deceased) and Lola Kereane. Mr. Drum has been postmaster at drum's and is at present assistant postmaster. His political views are purely Democratic. Socially he is a member of the I.O.O.F., Butler Lodge No. 535. The family are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church.
CHARLES M. M. DRUM, druggist, Wilkes-Barre, was born at Osceola Mills, Clearfield Co., Pa., October 11, 1861, and is a son of Rev. Martin L. and Selina (McMillan) Drum, also natives of Pennsylvania. The father is a member of the Central Pennsylvania Conference of the M.E. Church, and is now a resident of Mifflintown, Pa. Our subject was reared in his native State, and educated at Dickinson Seminary, Williamport, Pa. In 1879, he engaged in the drug business at Titusville as an apprentice, entered Philadelphia College of Pharmacy in 1882 and embarked in business for himself in Wilkes-Barre, in August 1883. Mr. Drum was married April 23, 1885, to Mary C., daughter of Asahel L. and Rebecca (Jenkins) Blodgett, of Plymouth, and granddaughter of Asa P. Blodgett, a pioneer of Hanover township, by which union he has three children: C. Myrtle, S. Rebecca and Charles H. Our subject is a member of the M.E. Church and in politics he is a Republican.
HON. GEORGE W. DRUM, P.O. Conyngham, and was born in Sugar Loaf township, March 12, 1832, a son of George and Susan (Winters) Drum. His paternal grandfather, George Drum, (whose father was a soldier of the Revolution) was born in Northampton county, Pa., in 1762 and settled in what is now Butler township in an early day. He was a farmer and large land owner; was appointed a justice of the peace in 1811, a position he held for several years, and resided in what is now Butler township until his death, which was caused by an accidental gunshot wound. His wife was Rosina Woodring, and his children who grew to maturity were Philip, Jacob, George, William, Peggy Ann, and Betsey. Of these, George, born October 16, 1792, settled in Sugar Loaf township about 1824, was a carpenter and cabinet maker, and also followed lumbering and farming to some extent, he was appointed a justice of the peace of Sugar Loaf township in 1826 and held the office up to his death, which occurred November 21, 1831, when he was aged thirty-nine years. His wife was a daughter of John Adam Winters, and died at the age of ninety-one years and nine months, a pioneer of Sugar Loaf. By her he had seven children who grew to maturity, viz.: Lavina (Mrs. Henry Bowman), Mary (Mrs. Thomas Bowman, Eliza (Mrs. Christian Courtright), Susan (Mrs. Owen Gorman), Lucetta (Mrs. James Burcane), Sarah (Mrs. David Petrey) and George. Our subject who was reared in Sugar Loaf township, and educated in the public schools and at Wyoming Seminary, learned the saddler's trade, which he followed twenty years. In 1860 he was elected a justice of peace of Sugar Loaf, which office, with the exception of four years, he has held continuously since. In 1879 and 1880 he as elected to the Lower House of the Pennsylvania Legislature, the only Democrat elected to that office from Luzerne county in 1878 and was re-elected in 1880. He married Sarah, daughter of Samuel and Maria (Fisher) Wagner, and granddaughter of John Wagner, a native of Germany, one of the pioneers of Sugar Loaf township, where he died June 27, 1831. The issue of this union was five children: Samuel B., Dora E. (Mrs. Dr. Heister Hower), Emerson R., George F. and Susan M. Mr. Drum is a member of the German Lutheran Church, of which he is a trustee; is also trustee of the Conyngham Church and school lot. In politics he has always been a stanch democrat.
GEORGE W. DRUMHELLER, farmer, constable, and tax collector, P.O. Conyngham, was born in the village of Conyngham, this county, July 14, 1854, a son of Jacob and Lavina (Thomas) Drumheller, formerly of Northampton county, Pa. Jacob Drumheller was of German descent, one of the pioneers of Sugar Loaf township. The former followed surveying as a profession, and was also engaged in farming. He served one term as a member of the Pennsylvania State Legislature and for upward of twenty years was a justice of the peace of Sugar Loaf township. He was born February 18, 1790 and died June 8, 1857. His wife was a daughter of Henry Thomas, of Butler township, this county, and by her he had nine children, as follows: William, John, Aaron, Eliza (Mrs. William Shirley), Stephen, Alonzo, Alice, George W. and Caroline (Mrs. James Rhodes), all deceased except Alice and George W. Our subject was reared in the village of Conyngham, was educated in the public schools and since attaining his majority has been principally engaged in farming, trucking, and in the flour and feed business. He is a Democrat, and since 1879 has been tax collector and constable of Sugar Loaf township. On April 27, 1875, he married Minnie, daughter of John and Lavina (Heimbach) Knelly, of Sugar Loaf township, and has six children living: William, Emma, Ella, Charles, Howard and John. Mr. Drumheller is a member of the Lutheran Church and the P.O.S. of A.
JOHN DRUMTRA, breaker-boss, Stockton, was born in Germany, October 9, 1863, a son of William Drumtra. The father came to America in 1872, settling at Hazleton and afterward removing to South Herberton, and from thence to Freeland, where the family has since resided. There were nine children in the family, John being the third in order of birth. In 1884 he left home, going to Tomhicken, Pa., where he engaged with Coxe Bros. & Co., as screen-boss, which position he held for six years. In 1890 he came to Stockton and took charge of Breaker No. 3, Stockton Mines, where he has since been employed. More than one hundred and fifty hands are in his charge, and he also attends to the complicated machinery of the breaker. Mr. Drumtra is of an ingenious turn of mind, and has devised many patents, which are of great value to the coal operators. Although young, he is the right man in the right place, as is evidenced by the excellent condition in which the breaker and machinery are always to be found. Mr. Drumtra was united in marriage July 24, 1886, with Miss Sarah Readaman, of Cunningham, Pa. This union has been blessed with one child, Harvey E. Mr. Drumtra is a Democrat; the family attend the German Reformed Church.
WILLIAM DRURY, merchant, Pittston, is a native of Bristol, England, a son of George and Ann (Brown) Drury, the former of whom was a carpenter and builder. They reared a family of five children, three of whom came to America. In early life our subject followed clerking in a grocery store in London. In March, 1871, he located in Pittston and entered the employ of J. L. Morgan, with whom he remained until April 1, 1885, when he embarked in the grocery business on his own account in which he has successively continued, having trebled his trade since he began business. On February 21, 1869, Mr. Drury married Sarah Davis, of Wales, and has six children living: Sarah, William, George, Hannah, John and Annie, the two former being employed in their father's store as bookkeeper and bill-clerk, respectively. Mr. Drury is a member of the St. John's Lodge, F. & A. M., K. of P., Falling Spring Lodge, K. of S.G., Keystone Lodge No. 4, R.A. Pittston Division, K. of G. C. Anthracite Commandery. He is a member of the M.E. Church and the Y.M.C.A. and in politics, he is a Republican.
GEORGE B. DUBOIS, veterinary surgeon, Wilkes-Barre, was born in Susquehanna county, Pa., May 15, 1863, and is a son of Henry and Harriet (Dougherty) DuBois, of French and Irish descent, respectively. He received an academical education and in 1883 began the study of veterinary surgery with Dr. Sitterly, of Scranton. The same year he entered the Ontario Veterinary College at Toronto, Ontario, Canada, where he graduated in 1887, in the fall of which year he located in Wilkes-Barre, where he has since been in the active practice of his profession, and has succeeded in building up a large and lucrative business in the city and surrounding towns. Mr. DuBois married, in April 1887, Anna, daughter of William and Emma Onsted, of New York City. To this union have been born two children: Thomas H. and Ray. Dr. DuBois is a member of the Pennsylvania State Veterinary Medical Association. In politics, he is a Democrat.
PATRICK J. DUDDY, justice of the peace and miner, Plaines, was born in Ballinrobe, County Mayo, Ireland, and is the second of the three children of Martin and Catherine (Hassin) Duddy. He came to America in 1865, and located in Mahanoy City, Pa., but in 1866 he removed to Plains, where he has since resided. Mr. Duddy was married, February 9, 1868, to Miss Susanna, daughter of Hugh and Margaret (Jones) Dougherty, natives of County Mayo, Ireland, and they have had twelve children, as follows: Catherine, born September 6, 1861, Margaret, born December 25, 1872, Mary Jane, born April 10, 1874; Lizzie, born July 10, 1875, Susan, born January 29, 1878 and died January 8, 1879; Ellen, born November 24, 1879; John, born October 3, 1881 and died March 17, 1883; Charles, born September 12, 1882; Thomas, born August 16, 1884, Rose, born June 4, 1886; Frances, born October 28, 1888, and Augusta, born October 28, 1890. Mr. Duddy and family are members of the Catholic Church, he is a member of the Father Matthew Temperance Society and the A.O.H.; in politics, he is a Democrat and has held the office of school director two terms, treasurer one term, and is now serving his second term as justice of peace.
THOMAS F. DUDDY, miner, Plains, was born in Staffordshire, England, May 23, 1860 and is a son of Michael and Bridget (Karrige) Duddy, natives of Ireland and now residing in Plains. The father came to America in 1864 and located in Schuylkill county, Pa., where he engaged in mining. His family consisted of eleven children, nine of whom are living, and of them Thomas F. is the second. Our subject received a common school education and at an early age began working about the mines. In 1883 he commenced mining which he has since followed. Mr. Duddy was married September 30, 1883, to Miss Annie, daughter of Patrick and Norah (Coine) Duffy, natives of County Galway, Ireland, and they have four children living, viz.: Norah, Mary, Catherine and Sarah. Our subject and family are members of the Catholic Church. He is a member of the A.O.H. and the Nationalists; politically he is a Democrat and has held the office of register assessor in Plains township.
JOHN DUGAN, proprietor of "Dugan's Restaurant," Plains, was born in County Armagh, Ireland, May 20, 1847, and is a son of Mark and Mary (Naugher) Dugan, the former of whom was a farmer. They reared a family of nine children, of whom John is the forth. In 1861, the family came to Canada, where the father died and John remained there a few months after his father's death. He then went to Ireland and Scotland, remaining away about four years, after which he returned to the United States, and coming to Plains, this county, engaged in running pumps in the mines and firing outside. In 1887, he embarked in his present business. Mr. Dugan married Mary A., daughter of James and Betsy (Creary) McCormick, and by her had three children: Mary, Mark and Bessie. For his second wife, Mr. Dugan married Margaret Farrel, daughter of Edward and Bridget (Gibbon) Farrel, and by this union there are two children: Allen and John. Mr. Dugan and family are members of the Catholic Church. He is a member of the A.O.H. and in politics he has always given his support to the cause of the Democracy.
THOMAS M. DULLARD, county commissioner, was born in the County of Durham, England, in 1854, and is of Irish parentage. In 1869 he came to America, and followed the occupation of miner. In 1878 he visited his parents in England, and in 1879, he brought them to America, and settled in Plains, this county. Mr. Dullard is a skilled miner, has always taken an active interest in labor movements and held several prominent positions in labor organizations. In 1885 he was elected president of the Miners & Laborers Amalgamatic Association of Luzerne and Lackawanna Counties, and in 1889 was organizer of the Knights of Labor. Mr. Dullard has taken an active part in politics, was elected a judge of election in 1888, and in 1890 was appointed alderman of the Sixteenth Ward of Wilkes-Barre. In November 1890, he was elected one of the county commissioners of Luzerne county. He is an all-around athlete of some note, having won numerous prizes at handball playing; is also an author of several popular songs and poems on Irish liberty. In military circles he holds the rank of major in the Irish Military Union of the United States. In 1889 he was married to Miriam E. Goerlity, of Wilkes-Barre.
ROBERT DUNN, outside foreman at No. 4 Colliery, Jeansville. This genial and intelligent gentleman was born in Nova Scotia, March 5, 1839, and is the eldest in a family of seven children born to Robert and Margaret (Wilson) Dunn, the former a native of Scotland, the latter of Nova Scotia. The family resided at Beaver Meadows, when the subject of this sketch was an infant and later when he was thirteen years of age removed to Egypt, N.C., where he was reared and educated. He was an engineer at that place until 1865, when he came to Audenried, Carbon Co., Pa., and operated a pair of hoisting engines for five years. In 1871, he went back to North Carolina and ran a steamer on the Cape Fear River for two years. In 1882, he returned to Audenried and secured a position as foreman at No. 5 Colliery, under the Lehigh & Wilkes-Barre Coal Company. He remained there until 1891, when he came to Jeansville, and took his present position under J. C. Hayden & Co. He was united in marriage March 8, 1860, to Elizabeth A. C., daughter of David and Christian (McIntosh) Wicker, natives of North Carolina. Nine children have been born to this union, namely: Robert D., Christian (deceased), Jessie, Margaret R. E., Lee (deceased), James W., Thomas, Blanche and Edgar. Mr. Dunn votes the Republican ticket, and is an adherent of the Presbyterian Church.
P. H. DURKIN, miner, Port Blanchard, was born in Port Griffith, this county, February 28, 18— and is a son of Peter and Winifred (Hannigen) Durkin, natives of County Mayo, Ireland, who came to the United States in 1847, and settled in Luzerne county, Pa., in 1851. They reared a family of ten children, of whom P. H. is the eldest. Our subject received his education in the common schools, and in 1867 went to work in the mines, first as a slate-picker, then as a driver, in 1875 he was weighmaster; in 1876 a laborer, and in 1881 he was employed in his present occupation, that of miner, by the Pennsylvania Coal Company. From 1885 until 1889, inclusive, he served his District and his fellow workmen, faithfully and well, as their representative in the State Legislature. Mr. Durkin was united in marriage January 21, 1891, with Cassie, daughter of Patrick and Catharine (Reilly) Flanaghan, natives of County Mayo, Ireland, and they have been blessed with one child, Mary, born October 22, 1891. Our subject is a member of the Roman Catholic Church, and in politics is a Democrat. In addition to having served as a representative, Mr. Durkin acted as clerk of the board of auditors in 1887-88; and school director from 1884 to 1887.
THOMAS DURKIN, miner, Kingston, was born in County Sligo, Ireland, in March 1842, and is a son of Miles and Mary (Howley) Durkin, both of whom were born, reared and educated in the same place, where they passed their entire lives. Their family consisted of eight children, seven of whom are living. Thomas is the third in the family and emigrated to this country in 1861, locating in Ontario county, N.Y., where he remained three years in the employ of a farmer, and afterward spent one year in a malt-house. In 1865, he removed to Kingston, where he engaged as a miner for the Kingston Coal Company, in which business he has continued ever since. He has worked twenty-seven years underground, and in all that time has never met with any accident, something remarkable for a miner of so many years experience. He is a man of sober habits, honest and industrious, and by hard labor and economy, has accumulated a neat and handsome property, on which he has resided for twenty-two years. He is a member of the Emerald Association. On January 31, 1868, Mr. Dunkin married Miss Barbara, daughter of Anthony and Barbara Mullen, and to them have been born eleven children, ten of whom are living: John, Matthew, James, Anthony, Mary A., William, Miles, Edward, Lauretta and Barbara, all of whom live at home. They are all members of the Roman Catholic Church and politically they are Democrats. John and Matthew are members of the Saint Aloysius Society.
DENTON D. DURLAND, farmer, Wyoming borough, was born August 10, 1843, in Franklin township, a son of James E. and Adeline (Smith) Durland, natives of New Jersey, of English origin. They reared a family of three children, of whom our subject was the second in order in birth, and is the only one now living; he was educated in the common schools and the Wyoming Institute, and began life at the age of nineteen as a farm hand, which he followed for about a year. He was then drafted into the U.S. Army and served four months as clerk for a sulter, when he was discharged from the service and came to Wilkes-Barre. He then rented his father-in-laws farm, and worked the same for fourteen years, and is now farming on land owned by his wife. He was married February 1, 1863, to Emaret M., daughter of William S. and Maria S. (Tripp) Shoemaker, who were natives of Pennsylvania, and of English origin. This union was blessed with four children, viz.: Fred S. born November 3, 1865, a carpenter at Wyoming; Jennie M., born Febraruy 17, 1869, Grace, born October 5, 1871 (Mrs. W. B. Sommers); and Stanley R., born May 6, 1880, attending the Wyoming high school. Mrs. Durland is a member of the Episcopal Church. Mr. Durland is a member of the I.O.O.F.; in politics he is a sound Democrat, and has been supervisor of Kingston township for two terms.
HENRY M. DURLAND, carpenter and contractor, Wyoming borough, was born March 5, 1847, and is a son of William and Lena (Phillips) Durland, natives of Pennsylvania and of English and Irish origin, respectively, the former of whom is a carpenter by occupation, now living in Phillipsburg, Kans. They reared a family of three children, Henry M., being the youngest. Our subject was educated in the common schools, and at the age of fourteen began life for himself as a general workman, which occupation he followed four years; then learned the carpenter's trade, at which he has since continued. He was married, June 24, 1875, to Elizabeth, daughter of Daniel and Elizabeth (Barnes) Lamon, and by her he has one child, Bertha E. This wife died, and Mr. Durland was married May 7, 1884, to Ophelia, daughter of James and Mary (Shaver) Drake, natives of Pennsylvania, and of English origin. Mrs. Durland is a member of the Methodist Church. Mr. Durland is one of the leading carpenters of the borough; he is a sound Democrat, and enjoys the respect of a large circle of friends. In 1882, he built his comfortable dwelling where he now resides.
CHARLES DUSHEK, hotel proprietor, Freeland, was born in Bohemia, Austria, December 31, 1844. He received a military education, and at the age of sixteen years entered the Austrian army. After serving one year as a cadet, he was commissioned first lieutenant, and served fourteen years. He was in active service during the Austrian-Italian war, and the Austrian and Danish war, also in the war with Germany, and received two medals of honor for services in the battles at Koenigsee and Koeniggratz. As a distinguished soldier few men can claim the honors of war which crown Charles Dushek's military record. He was under fire seventeen times, and today, although apparently a young, robust man, his body bears the scars received in many a conflict. At the battle of Koenigsee, Schleswig-Holstein, in 1864, he received two deep sabre gashes on the breast, and at the battle of Koeniggratz, he received two gun-shot wounds, one in the side, and the other in the left foot, also one shrapnel splinter in the left leg. At the close of his long military service he was appointed postmaster, and served eight years, or until 1879, in which year he came to this country, locating in New York. Here he was employed as salesman for a time, and then moved to Hazleton, this county, where he was engaged as a clerk until 1882; then came to Freeland, and here clerked also about two years, at the end of which time, he embarked in his present business. Mr. Dushek's interests are not confined to the hotel alone, for he is manager of St. Mary's corporative store, and a director of the Citizens Bank of Freeland. He was married in 1871, to Miss Ludmilla Kavecky, and they have four children, viz.: Julius (a student at St. Francis College, Loretto, Pa.), Tilli, John and Otto. Mr. Dushek is a member of the I.O.O.F. and many other Societies. In politics, he is a Democrat.
JAMES DYMOND, farmer, P.O. Orange, was born May 1, 1850, reared and educated in Franklin township. He is the son of Elihu and Nancy (Bates) Dymond, the former born in Franklin township, the latter in England. Elihu was the son of Matthew, who was of Dutch descent, and one of the very early settlers of the county. He was a farmer and lived all his life in this and Wyoming counties, in various townships. He was a worthy man and a patriotic citizen. He served two terms in the army, displaying courage and coolness in time of danger, thus showing his willingness to fight, suffer, or even die for his country. He was honorably discharged, and again returned to agricultural pursuits. His family consisted of thirteen children, by two marriages, eight of whom are now (1892) living. James is the fourth in order of birth by the first marriage; he has always confined himself to farming, and has lived most all of his life in this county. In January 1879, he was married to Miss Martha, daughter of Francis and Lydia Cook. There were seven children born to this union, six of whom are living: Nancy J., Alpha C., Urbane, Lydia B., Ernest L. and Mary A. He has been living on his present place, a fine farm of ninety acres, since 1886. He is a practical farmer and an honest and industrious man. He has held several offices in the town, and is now serving as constable.
JOSEPH DYMOND, farmer, P.O. Lockville, Wyoming county, was born in Exeter township, August 24, 1830, where he was reared and educated. He is a son of Joseph and Mary (Booth) Dymond, the former of whom was born in this county in its early settlement. He was one of its first pioneers, and did much for the growth and development of civilization. He lived to a ripe old age, and reared an interesting family. His son, Joseph, began life in Exeter township as a farmer, on a farm of ninety-three acres. Like his father, he was a hard working and industrious man, and possessed considerable influence in the township, where he was honored with several offices of trust. He was a consistent member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and his life, though uneventful, was fraught with good to all. He lived to be sixty years of age, and reared a family, all of whom grew to maturity, and eight of whom are now living. Joseph is the fifth in the family. He has always confined himself to farming, and has passed all his life in this county. He lived at home until his marriage, May 19, 1861, with Miss Matilda, daughter of Morehouse and Hannah Smith. To this union were born nine children, six of whom are now living; Wilbur, Hannah, Joseph, Zackariah, Harrison N., and Calvin. In 1861, Mr. Dymond removed to his present residence, a farm of 114 acres, which he has improved in every respect. He has erected a fine new house and commodious barn. Mr. Dymond is a practical farmer and a man of some influence in his neighborhood; he has been honored with several township offices.
LUTHER DYMOND, farmer, Lockville, Wyoming county, was born in Exeter township, August 25, 1822, a son of Joseph and Mary (Booth) Dymond, the former born in this county, the latter in Ulster county, N.Y. Joseph is a son of John and Mary (Lauson) Dymond, both of whom were natives of Connecticut, and the first settlers in this county, locating first in Keelersburg, now Wyoming county; from there he removed to Sickler's Hill, where he remained for a number of years, and finally removed to his grandson's present residence, Dymond Hollow, where he occupied a farm of 150 acres of unimproved land, thirty-five of which he cleared. He was a hard-working man of pure principles, and a consistent member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. He lived to be one hundred years of age, his wife to be one hundred and four. His son, Joseph, resided on the old homestead in Dymond Hollow until he was of age, and then went to New York State where he married; after two years' absence, he returned to Dymond Hollow, where he remained until his death, which occurred in 1857, when he was aged sixty-two years. He reared a family of nine children, eight of whom are living. He was a man of muscular frame, who toiled late and early for the improvement of his farm, and the onward march of civilization and Christianization of his country. He was a consistent member of the Methodist Episcopal Church and a Whig in politics. Luther, his son, began life in Dymond Hollow, where he was reared and educated, and always confined himself to farming. On October 4, 1856, he was married to Miss Rebecca, daughter of Samuel and Susanna Snell, and by this union were born nine children, seven of whom are now living: Joseph, Samuel, Abraham, Daniel, Luther, Phebe, and Rebecca. Of these, Joseph married Miss Emily Seitzer; Abraham married Miss Lizzie Jackson; Luther married Miss Minnie Jackson, and Rebecca married Corey Van Tyle. Mr. Luther Dymond is a hard working, honest, and upright man who from a small beginning with a farm of thirty acres, has by economy and prudence, kept clearing, beautifying and adding to his farm acre after acre, until he now owns 180 acres, in good condition, and all accomplished by his own hands. He is a general and practical farmer, and looks well to the latest improvements in his calling. He is a Republican in politics, and has held several town offices with credit. He and his wife are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, of which he is a local preacher, and has been a member forty years, and class leader for twenty-eight years.