Welcome to the New Mexico USGenWeb Archives!

Gina Heffernan is the New Mexico Archives State File Manager. Please contact Gina if you have any questions or comments about the site.

Keep in mind that much of the information on this site took place BEFORE the USA acquired this land in 1848. For much of this information there were only TWO "counties" - Santa Fe and Bernalillo. Everything east of the Rio Grande belonged to Texas from 1836 until it became a state. The original nine counties recognized in 1852 were Bernalillo, Dona Ana, Rio Arriba, San Miguel, Santa Ana, Santa Fe, Socorro, Taos and Valencia. About half of the territory became the Arizona Territory in 1863 and Santa Ana was annexed to Bernalillo in 1876. The other 25 counties were created between 1852 and 1950. There are two other areas referenced on map/census records, Mesilla and Arizona County. Mesilla was a large area in the southwest encompassing parts of Doña Ana, Grant, Hidalgo, Luna and Sierra but the location of "Arizona County" from the 1860 census is not known to me, unless it was part of what is now Arizona.

The purpose of The New Mexico USGenWeb Archives is to provide free online data for genealogical research. These archives are dependent on volunteers who are willing to donate their time by transcribing records and contributing those to the archives. The USGenWeb Project has guaranteed your information will remain free to all researchers.

Do not send copyrighted material unless it is your own and you include a statement of permission to use in the document. Note: Public domain records cannot be copyrighted.

Clickable map of NM San Juan Rio Arriba Taos Colfax Union Harding Mora Quay San Miguel Santa Fe Los Alamos Sandoval McKinley Cibola Bernalillo Valencia Torrance Guadalupe de Baca Curry Roosevelt Chaves Lincoln Socorro Catron Grant Sierra Otero Lea Eddy Dona Ana Luna Hidalgo

Submit Files
Information on submitting files is here

Archives Special Projects