[KSGenWeb Archives] [KSGenWeb Project] [USGenWeb Project Archives] [USGenWeb Project]

Archives Logo
ksarchives header
Davis County
Table of Contents
USGenWeb Project

Table of Contents maintained by: USGenWeb Archives

The File Manager for Kansas USGenWeb Archives Project is:
Debra Crosby The Registry (Temporary)

Return to the County Table or visit the Geary County KSGenWeb page.

Davis County is located in the third tier of counties from the northern boundary line of the State, and in the fifth tier west from the Missouri River. Were the township of Milford, and a small portion from the north of Smoky Hill Township taken from the county, its formation then would be almost square. Milford Township is a tract of land about six miles east and west, and nine miles north and south; that, jutting northward from the northwest corner of the county, projects, as it were, into Riley County, of which it was formerly a part. The map of Davis County bears a strong resemblance to the side wall of a church, with a spireless belfry built on top of the west corner, Milford Township representing the belfry. The county is bounded on the north by Riley County, on the south by Morris county, on the east by Wabaunsee County, and on the west by Dickinson County. Davis is a small county containing only 260,480 acres, or 460 square miles. It is divided into six civil townships, namely: Liberty, in the southeast; Jackson, in the northeast; Jefferson, in the center, running the whole length of the county, from north to south; Lyon, in the southwest; Milford, in the northwest, and Smoky Hill in the west, between Milford and Lyon1

Organized in 1855 as Davis County, which name was given for Jefferson Davis--United States Senator and Secretary of war--who became President of the Southern Confederacy. The Legislature changed the name to Geary in 1869, in honor of John W. Geary, who was Territorial Governor of Kansas from 1856 until March, 1857. County seat, Junction City.2

1. William G. Cutler's History of the State of Kansas
published in 1883 by A. T. Andreas, Chicago, IL.
2. History of Kansas, Noble Prentis, (Winfield: E.P. Greer. 1899)

Filename Description File Size Submitter Date
1883.txt Davis County, KS 1883 Pension Roll 12 kb Kenneth Thomas Dec 1997

[KSGenWeb Archives] [KSGenWeb Project] [USGenWeb Project Archives] [USGenWeb Project]

Archives Table of Contents last updated-- Wednesday, 19-Feb-2020 06:11:05 EST

You are our  visitor -- since the counter was installed on August 27, 1998

KS USGenWeb Archives Logo USGenWeb Archives Logo USGenWeb Logo     KSGenWeb Logo

Site orginaly created 1997 by Yvonne James-Henderson Page Contents & Background